Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kell Brook

• 08-10-2011 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭

What do ye reckon lads?

Seems to be a decent enough fighter, untested relatively speaking. But he has decent skills, versatile at the level he has fought at so far.

I suppose its a question of how much room for improvement there is, and can he step up to world level. I think he can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭clubwelly

I'm watchin him now. Looks good but you don't know until he steps up in opposition level. The sky commentators are going about a match up with Andre Berto but Khan keeps mentioning fighting brook at 147 back in the UK.

Bad stoppage but Brook was beating him hands down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

clubwelly wrote: »
    I'm watchin him now. Looks good but you don't know until he steps up in opposition level. The sky commentators are going about a match up with Andre Berto but Khan keeps mentioning fighting brook at 147 back in the UK.

nah, Khan said he wont fight Brook because he hates Brooks' promoter Eddie Hearn,

coincidentally Eddie Hearn is also McCloskeys' promoter, Khan said Hearn acted inappropriately after the McCloskey fight

if you ask me, Khan sees the fight as a danger and wont take it unless his hand is forced by a mandatory challenge or something similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

I think Kell is an awkward enough style for Khan but I don't see him as a big risk.

Kell's on the way up and he's using Khan's name for leverage, similar to what Khan did with Ricky, and all those ageing legends.

I'm not really bothered with Brooks until he fights someone of worth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

nah, Khan said he wont fight Brook because he hates Brooks' promoter Eddie Hearn,

coincidentally Eddie Hearn is also McCloskeys' promoter, Khan said Hearn acted inappropriately after the McCloskey fight

if you ask me, Khan sees the fight as a danger and wont take it unless his hand is forced by a mandatory challenge or something similar

Khan doesn't have to take it. It makes no real sense. Khan is a star, and is at LWW now. Kell is still belOW Khan as regards being a known fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I still can't make my mind up on Brook. He certainly has talent, though I don't think it's quite as good as the Sky commentators make it out to be. He always seems in good shape and usually seems sharp, but I just don't know for sure yet. He may prove to be the real deal, but there's just something there that makes me think he could be one of these 'nearly men'.

I hope I'm wrong, for what it's worth.

walshb wrote: »
    Khan doesn't have to take it. It makes no real sense. Khan is a star, and is at LWW now. Kell is still belOW Khan as regards being a known fighter.

you're right,

thats why i think the fight will only make sense when they're both world champions at 147.

id personally put my money on Brook. Im probably falling into the sky propaganda machine, but i just dont think Khan is all that, and i dont even think he's mixed it at real world level either if im honest. Thats not saying Brook ha either mind, but for all the press Khan gets, i just dont see why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

you're right,

thats why i think the fight will only make sense when they're both world champions at 147.

id personally put my money on Brook. Im probably falling into the sky propaganda machine, but i just dont think Khan is all that, and i dont even think he's mixed it at real world level either if im honest. Thats not saying Brook ha either mind, but for all the press Khan gets, i just dont see why

He's definitely mixed it at World level with the likes of Maidana, Kotelnik and Judah but he hasn't fought a superstar or a top champion yet and they're the ones that will define his career.

Just on Brook, he looks like a good fighter but like others here he i haven't really buzzed off him yet and i can't make out if he's going to make it at the top. I'm looking forward to when he fights named opponent.

you're right,

I'd give Brook a slim chance. That is the KO. I cannot see him matching Khan as regards points. He would need the KO. If Khan develops even more and is strong I don't see him losing to Kell Brook. Khan's speed, feet and volume would have Brook mostly on defence.

Boooourns wrote: »
    He's definitely mixed it at World level with the likes of Maidana, Kotelnik and Judah but he hasn't fought a superstar or a top champion yet and they're the ones that will define his career.

Just on Brook, he looks like a good fighter but like others here he i haven't really buzzed off him yet and i can't make out if he's going to make it at the top. I'm looking forward to when he fights named opponent.

fair enough points there boooourns.

but i just dont rate Maidana, Kotelnik, or Judah that highly

im not saying Brook has fought better, jaysus no. But there hasnt been one fight that Khan has been in, where he wasnt expected to win, his opponents are basically hand picked for him.

im probably doing Khan a bit of dis-service here, because he is extremely talented, but i just dont think he's really been tested yet either.

im not saying Brook has fought better, jaysus no. But there hasnt been one fight that Khan has been in, where he wasnt expected to win, his opponents are basically hand picked for him.

im probably doing Khan a bit of dis-service here, because he is extremely talented, but i just dont think he's really been tested yet either.

I have noticed a trend in your posts where you're just not a fan, i have a feeling where you can't wait till the day he's lying flat on his back with the ref counting to 10.

He went looking for Bradley, who was number one in their division. Bradley dodged it. That was a 50-50 fight at the time.

He's chasing a fight with Mayweather, a man much more talented, a fight he's not expected to win, and with a genuine superstar in the sport.

I saw elements of cherry picking when he was coming up (Barrera and Salita stand out for different reasons) but now that he's made it I don't really see it. He seems to be looking for the biggest fights... financially, and competitively.

I do tend to stick up for Khan, because I pretty much hated him for years, until I saw him start to fight people I deemed of worth.

He's still a moron, anything that comes out of his mouth grates me, the only intelligent things I've heard him say in the press had been force fed to him by people with more than two brain cells to rub together. He just doesn't seem like a very bright boy, but he has all the natural attribute to be a hell of a boxer.

Boooourns wrote: »
    I have noticed a trend in your posts where you're just not a fan, i have a feeling where you can't wait till the day he's lying flat on his back with the ref counting to 10.

i dont care whether he gets sparked again or not.

but as i said, i personally dont rate his opponents, and i wont go singing his praises until he does.

i was the same with Ricky Hatton as well, well, i always liked Ricky, but thought he was only fighting bums, which we now know that was down to Warren, and not so much Hatton

once Ricky started fighting the top tier talent, i was his biggest fan, and i was close to tears when Paquaio knocked him out.

so its not some english bias or any other juvenile stuff like that, i just dont rate Khans opposition

i dont care whether he gets sparked again or not.

but as i said, i personally dont rate his opponents, and i wont go singing his praises until he does.

i was the same with Ricky Hatton as well, well, i always liked Ricky, but thought he was only fighting bums, which we now know that was down to Warren, and not so much Hatton

once Ricky started fighting the top tier talent, i was his biggest fan, and i was close to tears when Paquaio knocked him out.

so its not some english bias or any other juvenile stuff like that, i just dont rate Khans opposition

I always liked Hatton, but when he did fight the best he was badly beaten. Apart from Tsyzu, who was not at his best, Hatton didn't mix it with anything great.

Khan still has to meet great fighters. But, today the only greats at 147 are Manny and Floyd. At 140 lbs Khan is
    the best as far as I can see. What's he to do to please you at 140 lbs, his weight class? Not his fault if the men
    at 140 lbs are just not all that good.

As pointed out, Bradley didn't want the fight. Khan is going to move up soon anyway.

I always liked Hatton, but when he did fight the best he was badly beaten. Apart from Tsyzu, who was not at his best, Hatton didn't mix it with anything great.

Khan still has to meet great fighters. But, today the only greats at 147 are Manny and Floyd. At 140 lbs Khan is
    the best as far as I can see. What's he to do to please you at 140 lbs, his weight class? Not his fault if the men
    at 140 lbs are just not all that good.

As pointed out, Bradley didn't want the fight. Khan is going to move up soon anyway.

we'll have to agree to disagree so

i remain to be convinced, ill leave it at that

we'll have to agree to disagree so

i remain to be convinced, ill leave it at that

We aren't disagreeing. I agree that the talent is not great, but why blame Khan?

i can blame Team Khan or those dodgy feckers in Golden Boy

either way, he's a glorified Muslim cash cow for his promoters, and they'll do anything in their power to keep him beating the right people at the right time, while making it look to the layman that he's really beating up top notch opposition

So you don't think Maidana tested him???

Have you seen that fight?

megadodge wrote: »
    So you don't think Maidana tested him???

Have you seen that fight?

yes, i saw it, Maidana is a brusier, he's not a good technical boxer though imo.

That's completely avoiding the question.

So...

Are you saying Maidana didn't test Khan?

Kotelnik is though, he's beaten Maidana, outboxed Alexander (where he was robbed), the guy relies on his pure technical skill to get where he is yet Khan outboxed him for 12 rounds. Khan is a great at 140lb and he's going to step up to 147lb to prove himself, as much as i dislike him and his team he's brilliant to watch and he wants to take on the best.

Maybe one of the reasons he hasn't been tested properly is because the competition are simply not as good as him.

Though the competition out there is pretty good in and around that weight, Alexander, Bradley, Ortiz, Peterson is handy enough too.

megadodge wrote: »
    That's completely avoiding the question.

So...

Are you saying Maidana didn't test Khan?

i didnt avoid the question.

IMO opinion a "test" ,would be a fight against someone thats deemed equal to you.

in no terms is Maidana equal to Khan. Sure he hit Khan with a good shot, but at the end of the day, it is a simple "fist fight" and you are bound to get hit.

by that way thinking if i had a fight on the street with Khan and hit him hard, then i would have "tested him?"

If Khan can't find an equal at that weight doesn't that make him great?

if you wan to call someone great for being one of the best in a poor division, then so be it

im moving on from this thread :)

It isn't a poor division though, and up until a few of the guys starting moving up to 147, it was probably one of the better weight divisions for competition.

Like one of the other guys mentioned, you just don't seem to like Khan one way or another, so no point trying to change your mind when it's decided before he steps a foot in the ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

the poor bugger will need to be good with a voice like that, very unfortunate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭osullic

the poor bugger will need to be good with a voice like that, very unfortunate

I assume you're referring to Kell Brook and not Khan.
    Its hard to know with all this off topic Khan stuff...

22/29 posts are not about Kell Brook.
    Does the boxing forum have no mods?

osullic wrote: »
    22/29 posts are not about Kell Brook.
    Does the boxing forum have no mods?

Threads can deviate. No big deal. Khan is relevant to this discussion. Pitting him against Kell is the relevancy.

Damn, forgot I am no longer a mod:(

Threads can deviate. No big deal. Khan is relevant to this discussion. Pitting him against Kell is the relevancy.

Damn, forgot I am no longer a mod:(

True,if the posts were about a possible match up between the two but when they are about how shít/good Khan is or how shít/good Khan's division.. maybe they should be in a Khan thread.

For the record I think Kell is a long way away from a fight with Khan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭Henno30

Brook twisted his ankle and it looks like the Alexander fight is cancelled again.

Alexander might just move on at this stage. It's getting ridiculous. Matthysse v Peterson can be the main event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

ffs serious. I was looking forward to that fight

You are kidding?? That's the reason the first fight was cancelled