Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst Accents

• 08-10-2011 5:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭

Hate the Louth accent with a passion, it's awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

dundalk.

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Limerick cityyyyyyyyy

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Cork, it's feckin' desperate. Never understood why apple put their applecare call centre there. You'd be better off sticking it in India, more people would understand them. Second to that is the nasally scumbag dublin accent, you know, the really bad one. Thankfully it isn't that common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I take it yous won't be bewking a holiday in Draaaawda or Arrrrrdreeeeee so hai?

It gets worse the further north you go.

A basterized mix of the worst of Dub and Nordie, hai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Louth.

/thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

that nasal dublin twang "staaaaaaaaawrrry busssss"
    kill it with fire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

lazygal wrote: »
    Hate the Louth accent with a passion, it's awful.

Maaahhss baaahh

Translation

Mars Bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

It's easiest to take the piss out of the Dundalk accent, but the so called D4 ''can of Cowke'' is the most cringe-worthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Has to be Derry or Roshcommon.

The Derry crowd are incomprehensible and Roscommon is like Ireland's answer to Alabama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

Most Dublin accents. The vast majority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Cork, it's feckin' desperate. Never understood why apple put their applecare call centre there. You'd be better off sticking it in India.

Work sent me down to Cork for a training course a few years back. Went out to get a bit of food at lunchtime. Heard Eastern European migrant workers speaking English with a Cork accent :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭carveone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ah Tipp well
    Are you well?
    Well?
    The weather is well? Do you find it well?
    Well

The gardai pick up plently in Templemore
    Is that your vaaay-hay-cul?

mikemac wrote: »
    Ah Tipp well
    Are you well?
    Well?
    The weather is well? Do you find it well?
    Well

The gardai pick up plently in Templemore
    Is that your vaaay-hay-cul?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Ardee? Ard on the ears more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Bride2012

Dundalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Gee Bag wrote: »
    Maaahhss baaahh

Translation

Mars Bar

Good god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭julyjane

Wexford accents, the deeper into Wexford you go the worse they get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Hon Lowry boi, whop ya boya..... YEEEEHAWWW!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Has to be Derry or Roshcommon.

The Derry crowd are incomprehensible and Roscommon is like Ireland's answer to Alabama.

lol. I've never heard the character of a county summed up so succinctly. You are absolutely spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

Dublin accents, without a doubt.

All of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭php-fox

Polish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Most Dublin accents. The vast majority.

The bleeeden cheek of ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

... Lower Drumcondra Road,

...dat's desprite so it is...desprite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Waterford town. Brutal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Bride2012

Naomi00 wrote: »

All of them
    Some are nice, Glasnevin/Drumcondra area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Naomi00 wrote: »

All of them
    My American Girlfriend says my accent is beautiful, although she is teaching me how to do th's without sounding a bit inbreed :pac:

Waterford town. Brutal.

Waaaherrferd. Biy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Fizgig Bandicoot

A strong Wexford town accent. Howiye hun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

julyjane wrote: »
    Wexford accents, the deeper into Wexford you go the worse they get

Ive worked in a call center in the past, so ive heard nearly all the accents around Ireland. By far, the worst in my opinion is the wexford accent. No matter how intelligent they may be, they will sound sound simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Skullsri

Naomi00 couldnt agree with you more you took the words out of my mouth..d4 area is definatly the worst..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Waterford town. Brutal.

Best accent in the country boy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

A strong Wexford town accent. Howiye hun?

I can never understand why everyone in Wexford town assumes that the person they are talking to is a Rangers supporter or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Dub accents..

This thread needs a poll

/ end thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭cocalolaman

Wexford, son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭board.eddy

what besides dublin, come on the dubs have the biggest scum accent ever, and they have that fake d4 accent. can i vote for dublin x1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

Any from the north imo are annoying .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

The accent on the shower of tossers that frequent Thomond Park in the last few years.!! and all claiming that they were among the 150,000 present when Munster beat the All Blacks. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Cicero wrote: »
    ... Lower Drumcondra Road,

...dat's desprite so it is...desprite

Can you be a bit more specific :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The Donegal accent is irritating in men but sexy in women.

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Can you be a bit more specific :pac:

http://g.co/maps/3tmda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

drawwwwdaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭eastbono

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Work sent me down to Cork for a training course a few years back. Went out to get a bit of food at lunchtime. Heard Eastern European migrant workers speaking English with a Cork accent :eek:

Obviously well integrated into the community.... thats Cark for ye bye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

The Newbridge,Kildare accent is not all that great. Or noh awl thah greah as it is usually heard

daithi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

The Donegal accent is irritating in men but sexy in women.

So I'm told...Donegal Hi, It's different up there Hi!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Wicklow town, twice as bad as Wexford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Arklow.

End of story!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

That stupid fake made up,wannabe American D4 accent by the way which didnt exist in the 80s and 90s.IT DRIVES ME MAD:mad: