Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social Housing?

• 08-10-2011 5:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

1st time posting, not sure if im in the right place??

How can I find out if a house near me is social/hse or privately rented? Had a nightmare with one of them today, kicking the ball off my window on purpose and wouldnt move when I asked him too. Actually feel intimidated, jesus when I was younger if an adult asked me to move I wouldnt dare answer back....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Ring the doorbell and ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If you feel intimidated or threatened then call the Gardai or talk to the kids parents, whether or not the house is owned by the council is moot is it not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 firemansammie

Tough cookies, dont think I want to draw them on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Beat him mercilessly to make an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Maybe its just that the person in question is a prick and nothing to do with that the house is privately owned or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Tough cookies, dont think I want to draw them on me.

Yeah, I know where you're coming from, parents are a lot harder to deal with these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Maybe its just that the person in question is a p[SIZE="2"]ric[/SIZE]k and nothing to do with that the house is privately owned or not.

I think OP is wondering can he complain to the council to get them moved.... not discriminating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Even if they are council tenants it's going to take a lot more then this to get them moved.
    You'll need months of records and more serious incidents before the council will do anything

Halloween is coming OP, I'd leave a hurley inside your hallway and I can see some fireworks coming through your letterbox, sorry

Lidl and Aldi sell cheap CCTV some days and you can record to a computer. Could be very affordable for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

snubbleste wrote: »
    Ring the doorbell and ask.

I thought nobody answered the door these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    I thought nobody answered the door these days ?

We do, we just poke a shotgun through the crack until we know who it is...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Next time he is kicking the ball off ur window calmly walk out the front door to where he can see you, squat and take a dump you won't be seeing him again after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

No, Misty Cheese. I'm sorry, I don't know a "Social Housing".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Build a little dungeon and lock the fucker in it for 20 years.

That'll learn 'im.

Or just kick the little fúcker in the sack.

Don't take this literally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You get cheeky kids from all backgrounds OP.

Could you drive your car over one of them by mistake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

jus go and tell the parents and give him a chance. If it happens again after that take it further or like someone else said kick him in the sack! Ya shouldn't be afraid to approach your neighbours about a problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭B0 SELECTRA

use your brain if you cant out smart a child there isnt much hope for you :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

first thing would be try the parents call around be friendly or just ignore it kid will get bored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Yeah, polite word with the parents is your first step. Don't blast him with piss, don't call in the citizen, don't play atari jaguar with his ma.

Just a polite chat with his folks. And if it continues.. Fritzl him.

The only viable option is to ride the mother/father and record it, then show it to the little cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

This is all I could find.

https://www.prtb.ie/public_registrations.aspx

You should have a word with the parents first, even if they do slash hook you. Then you'll know if they are reasonable or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 firemansammie

Thanks for the responses.
    I know I should call to the house, but im nearly 8 months pregnant and really dont need the stress of it, especially as I dont know how they will act. I was too slow and should have recorded it. Im not expecting them to be moved after one complaint but I just want it noted.
    We work really hard to keep our house and pay our mortgage every month, it just pisses me off that people can have so little respect for the area they live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

It was a feckin' ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

1st time posting, not sure if im in the right place??

How can I find out if a house near me is social/hse or privately rented? Had a nightmare with one of them today, kicking the ball off my window on purpose and wouldnt move when I asked him too. Actually feel intimidated, jesus when I was younger if an adult asked me to move I wouldnt dare answer back....

Well you cant smack the little gimp or you'll be the one getting done. Get down to his level physically and ask him nicely not to do it again. Doesnt matter a dam if the house is privately rented or social housing, ass holes are ass holes.

If he does it again, tell him you'll wait for him after school, wait for all his mates to come out with him and say loudly "if i ever catch you with your tongue down my sons throat again i'll bate ya". The ghey fear factor should do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

It was a feckin' ball!

Bad attitude.

Maybe they had intent & intend to continue.

I live on an estate myself & now & then the local youths can get a little 'exhuberant' at times, taking liberties, etc...

So far it's been grand.

I just go out to them and ask 'What's the scene with 'whatever', or 'Is there a problem here lads?'

Things calm down pretty quickly then.

I'm a bit lucky that I can approach situations like this well.

I could well imagine, though for a woman on her own, it could be quite stressfull though.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭donalg1

Well you never said you was pregnant tis easy then. When you have the baby keep the after birth and if he does it again with the ball force feed him. Or smear sh** on ur window defo won't kick his ball at it

Not a bad attitude at all. A bounced ball led to the OP asking were the kids doing it from social housing.

Kids have been bouncing balls against stuff since the ball was invented. Windows have been broken, kids have scarpered for their lives, parents have paid for repairs and the kids have had to do extra chores as payback. And those kids cames from all backgrounds. The ball does not discriminate.

Why is everyone so frightened of their neighbours? Perhaps saying hello to each other might help. Maybe, the kids will say hello to you too, rather than think of you as the posh one who thinks she is better because she bought her house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭bayern282

these twats used to be industrial schooled and ****ed off to north wales with a one way ticket back in the day.

no need to be lectured on the ''good old days'', i know what went on, but think the pendulum has swung too far the other way these days, years ago there was a large working class and a smaller % of neer do wells, but it's the other way round now.

the class system and crony capitalism's ultimately to blame

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

It was a feckin' ball!

It's feckin glass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Next time the little **** pisses you off go mental, shout and roar about beating him to death with his mothers severed leg.

Kids hate that kinda abuse and if their parents come knocking act as nice as pie and make the kids out to be liars.

And if ya can set the kids up by giving them stuff like dvds or something. Then go round and claim they stole it. Once the kid gets a reputation as a compulsive liar you can do what ya like and nobody will believe em. Kid wont mess with ya if he knows he's getting a kick in the hole and nobody gives a shít.

Gotta outsmart him ya see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    It's feckin glass!
    And in three years time it could be brick through the glass if the little scummer isn't controlled now as a kid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

You should knock in to the parent and tell them that you asked him to stop and he would not. Be friendly about it and you will be grand. If it gets heated then walk away and call the guards. Don't let it go or it will get worse.

If the kid knows you will knock in then you are causing the parents hassle then they will advise him to pick another person or window to abuse like any scummer parent would. The inconvenience of getting up to answer the door will be punishment enough.

Better then you losing your temper with the little **** down the line and having a bogey situation with the parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Ask the kid if he wants a kickabout then when you see an oppurtuinity go over the top of the ball with two feet. The result will be a redcard but at least he will be out of action for a while giving you a bit of peace.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I can tell you two stories about what I experienced in similar circumstances. I dont recommend doing either of these btw.

About 8 years ago something similar where I was living. Now i was renting so i didnt give a feck but my housemate owned the ranch so he was having none of it. The teenagers were as blatantly ignorant but they assumed it was ok to play football on the road with cars parked everywhere. Anyway my housemate lost it with them one day, went out with his swiss army knife, grabbed the ball and put the knife through it. They never played ball outside again.

The other story was a bit more serious. Was only a young teenager at the time. There was a gang accumulating where I was living that used to cause havoc for the local kids and occasional vandalism. Gardai were involved but were effectively powerless but to be fair to the gardai, they did housecalls to those affected to show they were supportive. But essentially there was nothing they could do. A neighbour took the law into his own hands one day. Put on a balaclava and grabbed a hurley and ran after the whole gang. He grabbed the ring leader and pinned him against a wall while shouting pretty abusive threats at him.

Needless to say they werent seen again.

For the record, nobody involved in either story was from social housing! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Whilst I have the utmost sympathy with the OP, have similar problem neighbours; it's disheartening to see a significant proportion of replies that advocate violence and sexual battery in the face of brattish behaviour. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Have you a partner or husband/boyfriend that could go over to his parents and explain that your 8 months pregnant and that their son kicking a ball against your window is stressing you out. Even the meanest thickest parents will have sympathy and ask their son to quit what theyre doing. It cant do any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Taking things into your own hands can be risky, you could be unlucky and take things into your own hands and find yourself being victimised by this youths parents or relations.
    Generally you'll be met by parents who are either horrified that their little Johnny could do such a thing or parents who just cannot even begin to accept that their child could ever be anything other thatn an angel, ie you're lying.
    If you're in an area with a high level of anti social behaviour sadly you could be in a situation where the parents of this lout are every bit as ignorant and abusive as their son.
    Judge the situation yourselves, the Gardai should be the ones who deal with situations like these. Ideally you should try to record this little sh1t in the act, video evidence makes it easier for the Gardai to deal with these situations, most camera phones are common enough, put it to use.

The idea of giving the young lad a kicking might seem satisfying but all the people suggesting this course of action don't have to live with the consequences you may have to face.
    All the best, hopefully you can resolve this soon.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Dead Kennedys

That'll learn 'im.

Some really good schematics on www.joseffritzl.com

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Why would you make the asumption that he comes from social housing:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Not a bad attitude at all. A bounced ball led to the OP asking were the kids doing it from social housing.

Kids have been bouncing balls against stuff since the ball was invented. Windows have been broken, kids have scarpered for their lives, parents have paid for repairs and the kids have had to do extra chores as payback. And those kids cames from all backgrounds. The ball does not discriminate.

Why is everyone so frightened of their neighbours? Perhaps saying hello to each other might help. Maybe, the kids will say hello to you too, rather than think of you as the posh one who thinks she is better because she bought her house.

Or maybe they are just little c**ts and should be beaten. So shut it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Why would you make the asumption that he comes from social housing:confused:
    The scumbag factor :D

Why should westendgirlie shut it, her point holds alot more reasoning than anything your response displays.

I come from a social housing background, a park full of the finest people that you could want to meet, we had broken windows, kids that needed a shoe up the hole, I was one, but a quick conversation with the parents usually did the trick. People who forty years later are still friends and neighbours, parents who have watched their kids grow up together and develop life long friendships.

Kasabian wrote: »
    Why should westendgirlie shut it, her point holds alot more reasoning than anything your response displays.

I come from a social housing background, a park full of the finest people that you could want to meet, we had broken windows, kids that needed a shoe up the hole, I was one, but a quick conversation with the parents usually did the trick. People who forty years later are still friends and neighbours, parents who have watched their kids grow up together and develop life long friendships.

Jesus, where in my post did I mention anything about there being anything wrong with a social housing background? I come from one myself, but westendgirlie is as insulting with her "try say hello to them" & "rather than think of you as the posh one who thinks she is better because she bought her house"

The woman is pregnant ffs, and these little bas**rds are smacking a football off the window. Whether they come from social housing or not, its not something you say "oh youngsters will be youngsters". When they have a bit of respect, maybe she will start saying hello!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

...When they have a bit of respect...
    Hmmmm... respect, you say?
    ...So shut it.
    Clearly not glass social housing you were brought up in.

Jesus, where in my post did I mention anything about there being anything wrong with a social housing background? I come from one myself, but westendgirlie is as insulting with her "try say hello to them" & "rather than think of you as the posh one who thinks she is better because she bought her house"

The woman is pregnant ffs, and these little bas**rds are smacking a football off the window. Whether they come from social housing or not, its not something you say "oh youngsters will be youngsters". When they have a bit of respect, maybe she will start saying hello!

I was referring to your eloquent manner in telling her "Shut it"

The rest was me reeling in the years.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Hmmmm... respect, you say?

Clearly not glass social housing you were brought up in.

Yes El Weirdo, respect.
    Maybe, the kids will say hello to you too, rather than think of you as the posh one who thinks she is better because she bought her house.
    It was a feckin' ball!

Kasabian wrote: »
    I was referring to your eloquent manner in telling her "Shut it"

The rest was me reeling in the years.

What year would that be then? :D

Is there a problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Tone down the aggressiveness or youre gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Thanks for the responses.
    I know I should call to the house, but im nearly 8 months pregnant and really dont need the stress of it, especially as I dont know how they will act. I was too slow and should have recorded it. Im not expecting them to be moved after one complaint but I just want it noted.
    We work really hard to keep our house and pay our mortgage every month, it just pisses me off that people can have so little respect for the area they live in.

OMG a child outside playing ball in the fresh air - WHAT is the world coming to. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

OMG a child outside playing ball in the fresh air - WHAT is the world coming to. :rolleyes:

What a trite response.
    How would you feel in that persons situation?

Glazers Out!