Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pictures of the Irish Rugby team lifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Lovely curls from Heaslip!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Dathai wrote: »

Cen fath?

I'd imagine it was either a high pull or he racked it. 140kg tho, not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Hanley wrote: »
    140kg tho, not bad.

Could even be 145kg if they are the heavy collars.

They look like plastic lockjaws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Squats in trainers. Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Cen fath?

I'd imagine it was either a high pull or he racked it. 140kg tho, not bad.

I thought the same but it just looks like it's going to clip him.

Who cares about what they're squatting in? The pics are clearly for media purposes. Squatting and snatching 40kg? Plaaays!!

I very much doubt they'd be doing any srs lifting during the most important tournament on the international calender considering the frequency of the games.

He's mid-turnover, that bar ain't going any higher!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

squod wrote: »

Yeah idiots. What do they know?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,899 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

squod wrote: »

Yeah idiots. What do they know?

It's the beanie hats that really worry me. How are they supposed to bear Wales if their ears get cold indoors.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

It's the beanie hats that really worry me. How are they supposed to bear Wales if their ears get cold indoors.

I think it's psychological. They avoid showing off their gnarly cauliflower ears until they're face to face. Quite clever really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

it's a high pull, he wouldn't rack it from there in a fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Da Za

As Hanley has eluded to.........

That session was definitely just a recover session, get the blood flowing.

They have the most important match of their careers tomorrow so do you really think they'll be doing heavy Squats in the week leading up to it??

Yeah Barry, what do professional athletes and coaches know?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 92 ✭✭Polygon_window

is that a mere 20kg o gara is squatting well 40 with the bar? Bit light?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Was chatting with Wayne about these pics earlier, reckon MR is hitting a Clean High Pull, as they tend to do that.

Reckon Paulie has a long way to go on his mobility before he can take on the old man at i9 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

look at later photos he's hitter a bit higher :)

srumball wrote: »
    look at later photos he's hitter a bit higher :)

Literally.

You're talking about the 1/4 squats off pins right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,395 ✭✭✭AntiVirus

Great pictures there, you can see loads more here:

http://www.irishrugby.ie/rwc/galleries.php

Can't wait for the match now! Ireland by 10 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭rolexeagle1

Literally.

You're talking about the 1/4 squats off pins right?

What you think the smiley face was for ;)

Sure he's only a small lad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

No, it was actually a personal best 1-rep max for him.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

Great pics!
    It looks to me like they were doing an interval session - not in all pics.
    As for the weight on the db's - 40-50kg at a guess.

Ireland by +1 or more will do me!

My only prediction is we will all lose a bit of weight watching the game!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

:eek:!

I hope the wind is as big a factor as Pope et al were/are making out before the game!

Wales - one hopes cannot maintain this pace for 80 minutes!

Fingers crossed!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭COH

We'd have won today if they had been doing stronglifts instead of fapping about with all that fancy stuff :(

Well that was a disappointment! Really thought we could do it.

France to win by 10 or more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Kadongy

shame they didn't lift their game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Squats in trainers. I tell ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭columok

COH wrote: »
    We'd have won today if they had been doing stronglifts instead of fapping about with all that fancy stuff :(
    More HIIT or dare I say **...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

It was all down to Paul O'Connells mobility.
    He probably didn't look for gnarly bits in the right piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Well spotted, maybe go back and have another look, this time pay attention to the colour of the 10kg plates.

Clue:Green

Mellor wrote: »
    Well spotted, maybe go back and have another look, this time pay attention to the colour of the 10kg plates.

What are you talking about?

Mellor wrote: »

Greens are tens?

Does that mean all tens are green?

Not all greens are tens either. I lied.

50s are mint green.

I'm so confused.

Not all greens are tens either. I lied.

50s are mint green.

I'm so confused.

I've seen 20lb green plates.

20lb

What is this thing?

I think it's how they measure beef.

Beef is measured in Cakes.

What' with ROG doing a one leg squat in those pics anyway?

lulz.

613x459.jpg?fit=scale&background=000000

I'd love to say it's the camera angle. But it really isn't.

lulz.

613x459.jpg?fit=scale&background=000000

I'd love to say it's the camera angle. But it really isn't.

I'd imagine it's something to do wit the fact he kicks thousands of balls a year. But it's still the sort of thing a professional team should be working to correct when it's an imbalance THAT obvious.

Look at his knee and shin position FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

I'd imagine it's something to do wit the fact he kicks thousands of balls a year. But it's still the sort of thing a professional team should be working to correct when it's an imbalance THAT obvious.

Look at his knee and shin position FFS!

I thought his t-shirt said tackle Dolphins at 1st! ROG has managed to disappoint once again!!! :(:P

I assume people have seen this....??

> RONAN O'GARA'S WORLD CUP DIARY
    >
    >
    > Sunday 28th August - Carton House
    >
    > Sneak in an hour watching the Rose of Tralee in my hotel room. The lads
    > slag me about it but it's very important to my sense of Irishness to
    > watch the Rose each summer. I'm very traditional like that. I hope one
    > day that my own daughter will be lucky enough to take part in this
    > marvellous event.
    >
    >
    > Monday 29th August - Carton House
    >
    > Not many people know that I have a tattoo of Roy Keane's face on my
    > ar$e. It gives me great confidence and self-belief when I turn my naked
    > back to the mirror before a match and peer over my shoulder to see my
    > fellow Corkman gazing back at me from between my slender, rosy, hairless
    > ar$e cheeks.
    >
    > I even have a little speech bubble emerging from Roy's face to say:
    > "Take that you c * nt!" which, like Muslims and their Mecca, I always try
    > to keep pointed in the general direction of Jonny S€xton.
    >
    >
    > Tuesday 30th August - Carton House
    >
    > People often ask me: "Rog, where do you get your incredible
    > self-belief?" and I never have to say a word in response. I just turn my
    > back and drop my pants and show them Roy.
    >
    >
    > Wednesday 31st August - Flight to New Zealand
    >
    > F€cking disgusted to find that I've only been given a half-foot of
    > leg-room on the plane to New Zealand. I weigh up my options and consider
    > taking it on the chin but then I look down at my "What Would Roy Do?"
    > wrist bracelet and decide to kick up the most almighty ruckus and get
    > the IRFU President down from the front of the plane to apologise to the
    > squad in person. Deccie tries to calm things down and
    > says: "But sure, Ronan, yer only 5'10" but I wasn't having any of it.
    >
    > "It's the f€cking principle, Deccie! We're professionals! No more of
    > this humble Paddy cr@p!"
    >
    > I eventually swap with Donncha Ryan. It was important to make a point on
    > behalf of the squad. I think the lads appreciated it.
    >
    >
    > Friday 2nd September - Queenstown
    >
    > Spot young Conor at breakfast and pass on the latest stricture from
    > Deccie. "Howya, boy? Deccie says you need to aim at S€xton's ankles when
    > yer passin' to him, ok? None of this namby pamby sh!t to his chest,
    > alright? And that's straight from the Boss, so don't be disobeying now".
    >
    > The lad looked a bit confused but it's important for senior players like
    > myself to keep the youngsters on the straight and narrow.
    >
    >
    > Saturday 3rd September - Queenstown
    >
    > Result! Rala's hooked me up with the Racing Channel in my hotel room.
    > It's great to see the IRFU pushing the boat out for the players. It's so
    > important to be professional in this day and age.
    >
    >
    > Sunday 4th September - In a dark, dark place
    >
    > Lost 20k on the 3.40 from Uttoxeter. Do these f€cking horse trainers
    > know what it does to a fellah when he loses that kind of money just
    > before a World Cup? J@ysus you've got to wonder about the
    > professionalism of some people.
    >
    >
    > Monday 5th September - Queenstown
    >
    > Make myself feel better by repeatedly ringing S€xton's room in the
    > middle of the night and pretend to be David Poc0ck. "I'm coming for you
    > mate!" I whisper into the phone in my best Aussie-African accent.
    > S€xton just says "F€ck off, Rog" and puts the phone down but I could
    > tell he was shook up by it. No mental strength that fellah.
    >
    >
    > Tuesday 6th September - Queenstown
    >
    > Rise at 4am to climb the bungee jump pylon before dawn and hack away at
    > the rope so that it can no longer support the weight of a grown man. Get
    > the shock of my life later that day when I bump into S€xton in the hotel
    > foyer.
    >
    > "I, I - I thought you were going bungee jumping, Jonny?" I splutter.
    >
    > "Ah no, Rog, I went rafting instead. Sure, Rog, are you ok? You look
    > awful white".
    >
    > "Eh, eh, eh, sure, I'm grand, Jonny".
    >
    > Return to my room, my mind in bits. Sure, Roy would never have fu *
    ked up
    > like that.
    >
    >
    > Wednesday 7th September - New Plymouth
    >
    > The thing people need to understand about me is that I'll never for
    > settle for second best. I look at some of these soft Dublin boys and I
    > ask myself: "Do they want it as much as I want it? Do they want it as
    > much as Roy Keane would want it"?
    >
    > I think the answer is obvious but if you're not from Cork, you probably
    > won't understand.
    >
    >
    > Sunday 11th September - New Plymouth
    >
    > Sit smirking in the rain as I watch S€xton make a complete hames of it
    > against the f€cking USA of all teams. J@ysus, I knew Conor looked up to
    > me but he's done me a f€cking big turn there so he has! Try not to laugh
    > at S€xton in the dressing room afterwards. I can't help but notice that
    > he looks totally crushed. I sit there quietly, a smile playing at my
    > lips, and then slowly - oh so slowly! - I turn my ar$e towards him and
    > unleash Roy upon his ugly block-head.
    >
    > Yeah baby! Take that you c * nt!
    >
    > (To be continued...)
    >
    >
    >
    > Day 18
    >
    > People often come up to me and say: "Hey Rog, what the hell happened in
    > Pretoria? Why did you give away the penalty in the last second?" I sit
    > them down and I explain very patiently that in any given rugby team -
    > even at the very highest level - there will often be a number of players
    > who lack mental strength. In fact, often there will be 13 or 14 lacking
    > the requisite mental toughness and only 1 fellah who is as mentally
    > courageous as a lion and prepared to back himself to earn victory for
    > his team by launching an up-and-under in the last minute and then
    > charging head-first at the nearest South African like a demented
    > wildebeest.
    > I encourage you to look at the tape and draw your own conclusions.
    >
    > Day 19
    >
    > I drag Fla off of Paddy Wallace. Again. It's the third time this week
    > I've had to save the poor lad from a spot of unwelcome attention from
    > Fla!
    > "But he's a f€ckin Nordie, Rog! He's a f€ckin' Pr0d!"
    > "I know, Fla, I know, but Uncle Deccie wouldn't be happy. Here, borrow
    > my rebel songs CD and go and enjoy yerself".
    > I find him in the team room later with the tape on at full blast and
    > tears streaming down his face.
    >
    >
    > Day 20
    >
    > People sometimes ask me if I'm jealous of Dan Carter's running ability.
    > And I always say: "When was the last time Carter spiral punted a ball
    > fifty yards into touch off the outside of his right boot during a
    > howling gale and then winked at Chris Ashton?"
    > I'll say no more.
    >
    > Day 21
    >
    > Sidle into the team room and find Heaslip posing in front of the mirror
    > with his head-phones on. He hasn't spotted me, so I watch him for a few
    > minutes as he mimics getting off a team bus and strolling into the
    > stadium as if the cameras are on him.
    > "What are you doin' Jamie?" I eventually ask.
    > He jumps like a frightened cat and says: "Eh, didn't see you there Rog.
    > Nuthin' buddy, just chillin', you know. I'm, like, such a relaxed guy,
    > yeah?"
    > "Ah Jamie. Yer practisin' lookin cool, calm and collected for the TV
    > cameras aren't ya? Don't worry, I won't tell anyone".
    > "Eh, thanks Rog!"
    > "On one condition, that is"
    > "Oh?"
    > "You make sure Deccie knows you'd rather play with me than S€xton"
    > Jamie reluctantly agrees.
    > Selfish? Not at all. I'm the best fly-half in Ireland, so it's all for
    > the good of the team. Would Roy Keane be selfish if made sure he was in
    > the team ahead of Eric Djemba Djemba? I don't f€cking think so. And
    > believe me, Jonny S€xton makes Eric Djemba Djemba look like George
    > bl00dy Best.
    >
    >
    > Day 22
    >
    > People often ask me: "Rog, do you have to be from Cork to have amazing
    > mental strength?"
    > And I always say: "No, but it definitely helps".
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > Day 23
    >
    > Find Donners in the tanning salon and ask him where Deccie is.
    > "Eh, I'm not too sure, Rog. I think maybe he's scouring the streets of
    > Auckland for a copy of the Lion King".
    > "The Lion King?"
    > "Eh, yeah. Like, for motivation, y'know? You know how it gets me and
    > Paulie up for the match. Sure, there's only the Wind That Shakes The
    > Barley that gets us anything like as pumped for a game. It's Braveheart
    > for Paddies, that's what Deccie says about the Lion King".
    >
    > You see what I have to cope with readers? Is it any wonder that Jonny
    > f€cking S€xton is ahead of me in the pecking order when the coach is off
    > his f€cking rocker? Do you think Roy Keane got himself up for
    > marmelising Alf Inge Haaland by watching the f€cking Lion King?
    > I don't think so.
    > J@ysus Christ Almighty, it's enough to turn a man to drink. Or the
    > horses. Ahhh, J@ysus, those beautiful horses!
    >
    > Day 24
    >
    > People often ask me about the Duncan McRae incident. They say something
    > like: "Oh, Rog, weren't you mortified to have the sh!t kicked out of you
    > in front of millions of people?"
    > And I'm always like: "Well, why don't you ring Duncan McRae and ask him
    > how many Heineken Cup Winners Medals he has?"
    > That usually shuts them up.
    >
    >
    > Day 25
    >
    > Dropped 30k on the 2.50 from Ayr. F€cking fuming. Ring Aidan O'Brien
    > from my hotel room and demand to know what he's playing at sending out a
    > horse to perform so sh!te.
    > "You're supposed to be a f€cking professional!" I scream down the phone.
    > "Who's this?"
    > "It's Ronan O'f€cking Gara!"
    > "The rugby player?"
    > "The twice Heineken Cup winning rugby player and Grand Slammer, that's
    > right, you f€cking incompetent €€jit!"
    > "Eh, Ronan, I think you should call me again when you've calmed down".
    > He puts the phone down on me and I sit there in the blackness of the New
    > Zealand night staring into space.
    >
    >
    > Day 26
    >
    > I awaken to the sounds of a pneumatic drill penetrating concrete.
    > Someone has cemented breeze blocks to S€xton's door in order to
    > barricade him into his hotel room. He was screaming for hours before
    > anybody heard him and emerges in such a state that Deccie immediately
    > orders his sedation. I watch from the end of the corridor and swivel my
    > arse towards the ugly f€cker as he's carried past me on a stretcher.
    > Take that you c * nt!
    > I find Conor an hour later and, much to his delight, return his Xbox
    > controller to him. It really is amazing what depths these kids will
    > stoop to nowadays for an hour on the games console!
    > I give the lad an O'Gara wink and head off for a snooze, as happy and
    > content as a pig in sh!t.
    >
    > (To be continued...)

> RONAN O'GARA'S WORLD CUP DIARY
    >
    >
    > Sunday 28th August - Carton House
    >
    > Sneak in an hour watching the Rose of Tralee in my hotel room. The lads
    > slag me about it but it's very important to my sense of Irishness to
    > watch the Rose each summer. I'm very traditional like that. I hope one
    > day that my own daughter will be lucky enough to take part in this
    > marvellous event.
    >
    >
    > Monday 29th August - Carton House
    >
    > Not many people know that I have a tattoo of Roy Keane's face on my
    > ar$e. It gives me great confidence and self-belief when I turn my naked
    > back to the mirror before a match and peer over my shoulder to see my
    > fellow Corkman gazing back at me from between my slender, rosy, hairless
    > ar$e cheeks.
    >
    > I even have a little speech bubble emerging from Roy's face to say:
    > "Take that you c * nt!" which, like Muslims and their Mecca, I always try
    > to keep pointed in the general direction of Jonny S€xton.
    >
    >
    > Tuesday 30th August - Carton House
    >
    > People often ask me: "Rog, where do you get your incredible
    > self-belief?" and I never have to say a word in response. I just turn my
    > back and drop my pants and show them Roy.
    >
    >
    > Wednesday 31st August - Flight to New Zealand
    >
    > F€cking disgusted to find that I've only been given a half-foot of
    > leg-room on the plane to New Zealand. I weigh up my options and consider
    > taking it on the chin but then I look down at my "What Would Roy Do?"
    > wrist bracelet and decide to kick up the most almighty ruckus and get
    > the IRFU President down from the front of the plane to apologise to the
    > squad in person. Deccie tries to calm things down and
    > says: "But sure, Ronan, yer only 5'10" but I wasn't having any of it.
    >
    > "It's the f€cking principle, Deccie! We're professionals! No more of
    > this humble Paddy cr@p!"
    >
    > I eventually swap with Donncha Ryan. It was important to make a point on
    > behalf of the squad. I think the lads appreciated it.
    >
    >
    > Friday 2nd September - Queenstown
    >
    > Spot young Conor at breakfast and pass on the latest stricture from
    > Deccie. "Howya, boy? Deccie says you need to aim at S€xton's ankles when
    > yer passin' to him, ok? None of this namby pamby sh!t to his chest,
    > alright? And that's straight from the Boss, so don't be disobeying now".
    >
    > The lad looked a bit confused but it's important for senior players like
    > myself to keep the youngsters on the straight and narrow.
    >
    >
    > Saturday 3rd September - Queenstown
    >
    > Result! Rala's hooked me up with the Racing Channel in my hotel room.
    > It's great to see the IRFU pushing the boat out for the players. It's so
    > important to be professional in this day and age.
    >
    >
    > Sunday 4th September - In a dark, dark place
    >
    > Lost 20k on the 3.40 from Uttoxeter. Do these f€cking horse trainers
    > know what it does to a fellah when he loses that kind of money just
    > before a World Cup? J@ysus you've got to wonder about the
    > professionalism of some people.
    >
    >
    > Monday 5th September - Queenstown
    >
    > Make myself feel better by repeatedly ringing S€xton's room in the
    > middle of the night and pretend to be David Poc0ck. "I'm coming for you
    > mate!" I whisper into the phone in my best Aussie-African accent.
    > S€xton just says "F€ck off, Rog" and puts the phone down but I could
    > tell he was shook up by it. No mental strength that fellah.
    >
    >
    > Tuesday 6th September - Queenstown
    >
    > Rise at 4am to climb the bungee jump pylon before dawn and hack away at
    > the rope so that it can no longer support the weight of a grown man. Get
    > the shock of my life later that day when I bump into S€xton in the hotel
    > foyer.
    >
    > "I, I - I thought you were going bungee jumping, Jonny?" I splutter.
    >
    > "Ah no, Rog, I went rafting instead. Sure, Rog, are you ok? You look
    > awful white".
    >
    > "Eh, eh, eh, sure, I'm grand, Jonny".
    >
    > Return to my room, my mind in bits. Sure, Roy would never have fu *
    ked up
    > like that.
    >
    >
    > Wednesday 7th September - New Plymouth
    >
    > The thing people need to understand about me is that I'll never for
    > settle for second best. I look at some of these soft Dublin boys and I
    > ask myself: "Do they want it as much as I want it? Do they want it as
    > much as Roy Keane would want it"?
    >
    > I think the answer is obvious but if you're not from Cork, you probably
    > won't understand.
    >
    >
    > Sunday 11th September - New Plymouth
    >
    > Sit smirking in the rain as I watch S€xton make a complete hames of it
    > against the f€cking USA of all teams. J@ysus, I knew Conor looked up to
    > me but he's done me a f€cking big turn there so he has! Try not to laugh
    > at S€xton in the dressing room afterwards. I can't help but notice that
    > he looks totally crushed. I sit there quietly, a smile playing at my
    > lips, and then slowly - oh so slowly! - I turn my ar$e towards him and
    > unleash Roy upon his ugly block-head.
    >
    > Yeah baby! Take that you c * nt!
    >
    > (To be continued...)
    >
    >
    >
    > Day 18
    >
    > People often come up to me and say: "Hey Rog, what the hell happened in
    > Pretoria? Why did you give away the penalty in the last second?" I sit
    > them down and I explain very patiently that in any given rugby team -
    > even at the very highest level - there will often be a number of players
    > who lack mental strength. In fact, often there will be 13 or 14 lacking
    > the requisite mental toughness and only 1 fellah who is as mentally
    > courageous as a lion and prepared to back himself to earn victory for
    > his team by launching an up-and-under in the last minute and then
    > charging head-first at the nearest South African like a demented
    > wildebeest.
    > I encourage you to look at the tape and draw your own conclusions.
    >
    > Day 19
    >
    > I drag Fla off of Paddy Wallace. Again. It's the third time this week
    > I've had to save the poor lad from a spot of unwelcome attention from
    > Fla!
    > "But he's a f€ckin Nordie, Rog! He's a f€ckin' Pr0d!"
    > "I know, Fla, I know, but Uncle Deccie wouldn't be happy. Here, borrow
    > my rebel songs CD and go and enjoy yerself".
    > I find him in the team room later with the tape on at full blast and
    > tears streaming down his face.
    >
    >
    > Day 20
    >
    > People sometimes ask me if I'm jealous of Dan Carter's running ability.
    > And I always say: "When was the last time Carter spiral punted a ball
    > fifty yards into touch off the outside of his right boot during a
    > howling gale and then winked at Chris Ashton?"
    > I'll say no more.
    >
    > Day 21
    >
    > Sidle into the team room and find Heaslip posing in front of the mirror
    > with his head-phones on. He hasn't spotted me, so I watch him for a few
    > minutes as he mimics getting off a team bus and strolling into the
    > stadium as if the cameras are on him.
    > "What are you doin' Jamie?" I eventually ask.
    > He jumps like a frightened cat and says: "Eh, didn't see you there Rog.
    > Nuthin' buddy, just chillin', you know. I'm, like, such a relaxed guy,
    > yeah?"
    > "Ah Jamie. Yer practisin' lookin cool, calm and collected for the TV
    > cameras aren't ya? Don't worry, I won't tell anyone".
    > "Eh, thanks Rog!"
    > "On one condition, that is"
    > "Oh?"
    > "You make sure Deccie knows you'd rather play with me than S€xton"
    > Jamie reluctantly agrees.
    > Selfish? Not at all. I'm the best fly-half in Ireland, so it's all for
    > the good of the team. Would Roy Keane be selfish if made sure he was in
    > the team ahead of Eric Djemba Djemba? I don't f€cking think so. And
    > believe me, Jonny S€xton makes Eric Djemba Djemba look like George
    > bl00dy Best.
    >
    >
    > Day 22
    >
    > People often ask me: "Rog, do you have to be from Cork to have amazing
    > mental strength?"
    > And I always say: "No, but it definitely helps".
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > Day 23
    >
    > Find Donners in the tanning salon and ask him where Deccie is.
    > "Eh, I'm not too sure, Rog. I think maybe he's scouring the streets of
    > Auckland for a copy of the Lion King".
    > "The Lion King?"
    > "Eh, yeah. Like, for motivation, y'know? You know how it gets me and
    > Paulie up for the match. Sure, there's only the Wind That Shakes The
    > Barley that gets us anything like as pumped for a game. It's Braveheart
    > for Paddies, that's what Deccie says about the Lion King".
    >
    > You see what I have to cope with readers? Is it any wonder that Jonny
    > f€cking S€xton is ahead of me in the pecking order when the coach is off
    > his f€cking rocker? Do you think Roy Keane got himself up for
    > marmelising Alf Inge Haaland by watching the f€cking Lion King?
    > I don't think so.
    > J@ysus Christ Almighty, it's enough to turn a man to drink. Or the
    > horses. Ahhh, J@ysus, those beautiful horses!
    >
    > Day 24
    >
    > People often ask me about the Duncan McRae incident. They say something
    > like: "Oh, Rog, weren't you mortified to have the sh!t kicked out of you
    > in front of millions of people?"
    > And I'm always like: "Well, why don't you ring Duncan McRae and ask him
    > how many Heineken Cup Winners Medals he has?"
    > That usually shuts them up.
    >
    >
    > Day 25
    >
    > Dropped 30k on the 2.50 from Ayr. F€cking fuming. Ring Aidan O'Brien
    > from my hotel room and demand to know what he's playing at sending out a
    > horse to perform so sh!te.
    > "You're supposed to be a f€cking professional!" I scream down the phone.
    > "Who's this?"
    > "It's Ronan O'f€cking Gara!"
    > "The rugby player?"
    > "The twice Heineken Cup winning rugby player and Grand Slammer, that's
    > right, you f€cking incompetent €€jit!"
    > "Eh, Ronan, I think you should call me again when you've calmed down".
    > He puts the phone down on me and I sit there in the blackness of the New
    > Zealand night staring into space.
    >
    >
    > Day 26
    >
    > I awaken to the sounds of a pneumatic drill penetrating concrete.
    > Someone has cemented breeze blocks to S€xton's door in order to
    > barricade him into his hotel room. He was screaming for hours before
    > anybody heard him and emerges in such a state that Deccie immediately
    > orders his sedation. I watch from the end of the corridor and swivel my
    > arse towards the ugly f€cker as he's carried past me on a stretcher.
    > Take that you c * nt!
    > I find Conor an hour later and, much to his delight, return his Xbox
    > controller to him. It really is amazing what depths these kids will
    > stoop to nowadays for an hour on the games console!
    > I give the lad an O'Gara wink and head off for a snooze, as happy and
    > content as a pig in sh!t.
    >
    > (To be continued...)

Yeah, i saw it the first time you posted it.

H,

That is hilarious stuff mate!

I am a big ROG fan!

If there are any updates please post them!

Read it twice and had tears the second time laughing so hard!

Loved the bit about the horses and sexton being bricked into his hotel room!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I think this thread is the first time I've seen Paddy Wallace without blood gushing from a headwound :pac: