Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NFL Week 5

• 07-10-2011 1:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭

May as well get the ball rolling.
    Bye: Clev, Dal, StL, Mia, Wash, Balt
    Sunday, October 9
    Philadelphia @ Buffalo, 6 pm
    Kansas City @ Indianapolis, 6 pm
    Arizona @ Minnesota, 6 pm
    Seattle @ NY Giants, 6 pm
    Tennessee @ Pittsburgh, 6 pm
    New Orleans @ Carolina, 6 pm
    Cincinnati @ Jacksonville, 6 pm
    Oakland @ Houston, 6 pm

Tampa Bay @ San Francisco, 9:05 pm
    NY Jets @ New England, 9:15 pm
    San Diego @ Denver, 9:15 pm

Monday, October 10:
    Green Bay @ Atlanta, (SNF), 1:20 am

Tuesday, October 11:
    Chicago @ Detroit, (MNF), 1:30 am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Sunday, October 9
    Philadelphia
    @ Buffalo, 6 pm - I think the Eagles will be up for this one and need the win
    Kansas City @ Indianapolis, 6 pm - Home advantage, Painter looked ok last week
    Arizona @ Minnesota, 6 pm - Vikes aren't as bad as 0-4 suggests I don't think
    Seattle @ NY Giants, 6 pm - Should be straightforward for the Giants
    Tennessee @ Pittsburgh, 6 pm - Tough one to call, Big Ben on one leg might not be able to get it done
    New Orleans @ Carolina, 6 pm - Saints should have enough to win
    Cincinnati @ Jacksonville, 6 pm - Bengals have been good in defense and should be able to expose a rookie QB
    Oakland @ Houston, 6 pm - Another tight one, I'll go with the Raiders to just shade it over the Andre-less Texans

Tampa Bay @ San Francisco, 9:05 pm - Tampa on a short week, travelling to the west coast against an improving 49ers
    NY Jets @ New England, 9:15 pm - I don't think the Jets passing attack is good enought to expose the Pats weakness
    San Diego @ Denver, 9:15 pm - Chargers need to start building some momentum, should have enough to win here

Monday, October 10:
    Green Bay @ Atlanta, (SNF), 1:20 am - Really looking forward to this, hard to see the Falcons stopping Rodgers in the Dome

Tuesday, October 11:
    Chicago @ Detroit, (MNF), 1:30 am - A real test of how far the Lions have come, Suh's potential to actually kill Cutler just swings it for them. GO LIONS :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Really looking forward to the TV games this weekend.

Sorry I won't be predicting scores for the others as I don't really know enough yet, but I'd expect the Eagles and Patriots to win their games which will be shown on Sky. Green Bay will beat Atlanta in what should be a cracker and I think Detroit will beat Chicago comfortably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I realy like the Titans +3 against the Steelers

SNF and MNF TV games are great this week
    RIP Jay Cutler :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

after last sunday :eek: i really hope the eagles get back on track this week, they should but i taught the same last week to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Philadelphia @ Buffalo, 6 pm - Philly need this, Buffalo arent as good as their record suggests
    Kansas City @ Indianapolis 6 pm - They've been close lately, they'll have to win sometime
    Arizona @ Minnesota, 6 pm - Minnesota are bad but not 0-4 bad, they'll have something they want to prove
    Seattle @ NY Giants, 6 pm - Seattle are a poor side which is masked somewhat at home. on the road it becomes apparent how bad they are
    Tennessee @ Pittsburgh, 6 pm - Really dont like the look of the steelers this year, their offensive line is opening nothing up for the run and getting big ben killed while cracks have begun to appear in their defence
    New Orleans @ Carolina, 6 pm - Cam and the Panthers will push them but this is still a team that won a superbowl two years ago against the leagues worst team last year
    Cincinnati @ Jacksonville, 6 pm - This is a good matchup for the bengals, just like san francisco was. therefore, they'll **** it up, because its the bengals
    Oakland @ Houston, 6 pm - Raiders to pull out an emotional victory

Tampa Bay @ San Francisco, 9:05 pm - San Fran arent that good and i think Tampa are a solid and well coached enough side that they'll get away with it.
    New England, 9:15 pm - The pats arent the same as last year, but the jets havent the firepower to keep up nor has their defence got going enough to shut the pats down. Pats want revenge for the playoffs too, they'll win it
    San Diego @ Denver, 9:15 pm - Gonna go out on a limb and say we actually pull this one out. San Diego have put in their traditional early season shift and struggled against useless teams at home. However, they'd generally win the home games in their early season struggle but run into serious problems on the road. I like how we match up, Rivers has been a bit off lately and we look to be getting players back like Champ Bailey, their Defence has weakened significantly since Rivera took off to Charlotte and our Special teams are incredibly ranked no.1 in the NFL right now while SD's woes in that department are well known

Monday, October 10:
    Green Bay @ Atlanta, (SNF), 1:20 am - I think the Falcons will be really up for this and are very hard beat in the Dome. Having said that, i just think Green Bay are too good for them

Tuesday, October 11:
    Chicago @ Detroit, (MNF), 1:30 am - Funeral arrangements for mr. cutler along with details of Suh's manslaughter charge will be released on tuesday morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Very excited now, nothing better than a Pats - Jets gameday especially seeing as the Colts game means very little this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Anybody else think the picture quality of Gamepass today isn't as good as normal??

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    Very excited now, nothing better than a Pats - Jets gameday especially seeing as the Colts game means very little this year.

I read today that Rex Ryan has never lost 3 games in a row. Jets are also 3-2 against the Patriots during Ryan's tenure.

Should be a great game, but from what I've seen of both teams so far this year I'd have to say the Patriots will win.

If Sanchez has another poor game then he'll be torn to bits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Ronaldinho

Ronaldinho wrote: »
    Anybody else think the picture quality of Gamepass today isn't as good as normal??

Strange - switched from Chrome (which I normally use) to IE and it's grand.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SAINTRON

As Bart Scott says; 'Can't Wait'. Fear a hiding for the Jets though but should make for great viewing....:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Colts are @ Chiefs by the way.... Just in case any of you want to change your picks now. :pac:

A win please... I don't think my head or table can take much more punishment after countless slammings in the previous four weeks.

Looked better last week with Painter as QB. Some nice passes but the D-Line is just very flimsy at the moment which is a big concern.

Hopefully Vinateri has his kicking boots on this week. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Excited for this week I must say.

If Cromartie has a bad game, I will laugh uproariously for the rest of the week. Here's hoping...

Go Patriots!

That_Guy wrote: »
    Colts are @ Chiefs by the way.... Just in case any of you want to change your picks now. :pac:

A win please... I don't think my head or table can take much more punishment after countless slammings in the previous four weeks.

Looked better last week with Painter as QB. Some nice passes but the D-Line is just very flimsy at the moment which is a big concern.

Hopefully Vinateri has his kicking boots on this week. :rolleyes:

Is it not in Indy? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭SAINTRON

If Cromartie has a bad game...

Has he ever had a good game ? The lankiest liability in the league.

Oops. We are at home. The schedule I printed off has us at Chiefs.

EDIT: Painter 3 for 3 at the moment in passing. Having a nice start so far. Hopefully he can keep it up.

TD Colts but Painter burns 2 timeouts on the drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Three tackles missed. Jesus it's like groundhog day for eagles fan.

Juan Castillo is out of his depth.

Surely the Vikings won't throw this lead away? :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Steve Smith with an amazing catch and run for the panthers. XP was blocked though !

I've only recently got into the sport as I've said a few times on here, but the Eagles have been on Sky a few times and I've read a lot of stuff at the start of the year about them, mostly all building them up as some sort of Manchester City of the NFL. It seems to me that:

1) Their offensive line is very poor, the defence constantly gets at Michael Vick.

2) Andy Reid isn't very good at all at calling plays. He goes for the wrong option most of the time.

3) Vick isn't as good as he's been hyped up to be this season.

Like I said I'm only new to the sport so could well be talking a load of shite :pac: but I thought I'd throw my 2 cents in anyway!

Cue the Eagles going on to win this game comfortably :pac:

Adrian Peterson already has 3 touchdowns !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Is anyone else having trouble with gamepass?

It keeps freezing every min or so...

I've restarted the tab and router but no joy,

Trying to watch saints/panters

53 yard FG for Vinatieri.

Paully D wrote: »
    I've only recently got into the sport as I've said a few times on here, but the Eagles have been on Sky a few times and I've read a lot of stuff at the start of the year about them, mostly all building them up as some sort of Manchester City of the NFL. It seems to me that:

1) Their offensive line is very poor, the defence constantly gets at Michael Vick.

2) Andy Reid isn't very good at all at calling plays. He goes for the wrong option most of the time.

3) Vick isn't as good as he's been hyped up to be this season.

Like I said I'm only new to the sport so could well be talking a load of shite :pac: but I thought I'd throw my 2 cents in anyway!

Cue the Eagles going on to win this game comfortably :pac:

have to disagree, if he got proper protection, he'd do serious damage

Thank god for that Vick TD pass, really needed it after him throwing 2 picks !

67 yard TD thrown by Painter. Beautiful.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Curtis motherfúcking Painter. Great pass my son.

An eagles TD and a REDZONE TD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Jesus, anyone see that photographer getting flattened in the Vikings game? :pac:

jaysus that eagles defence is muck :mad:

It is painful to watch.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    It is painful to watch.

Fred Jackson is over on the sideline saying your username over and over!

They just can't defend runs at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Haruki

Is that Brian Billick co-commentating on the bills/eagles game ?

Haruki wrote: »
    Is that Brian Billick co-commentating on the bills/eagles game ?

Yes.

Yes, he's great to listen to
    Works for Fox

Bench Vick tbh

i'm losing the will to live :eek:

Jesus Christ what the **** is going on with this team ? This O-line is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Haruki

He's very very good !! But not as good as Collinsworth of course, he's the best !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Bills defence the best in the League???? Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatttttt???

Go Bills! Great to see them making another statement. Love seeing this sort of breakout season for them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

I wanna see Vincey for the second half. There really is nothing to be lost at this stage. Awful. My fourfold is out the window now anyway.

Curtis Painter - inspired fantasy waiver week pick up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

Curtis Painter - inspired fantasy waiver week pick up :D

I was in for him as well haha saw who they were lined up against and wanted him :D I actually liked him last week and so many gave him bad rep. He played alright I felt. Think its unfair folk are trying to compare their backups to Peyton ye know. Besides he looks like sunshine from Remember the titans :D

Who are you and what have you done with the Colts? :pac:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I had to bench Williams this week and he finally starts playing, 69 yeard TD run

DeAngelo Williams finally shows what the Panthers paid him for :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Bills playing inspired defence. George Wilson having a stormer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

DeAngelo Williams finally shows what the Panthers paid him for :)

Or the Panthers realising once and for all they can't continue to throw and throw and throw and at some point going to your run game is smart :D