Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best runners to avoid shin splints?

• 07-10-2011 12:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭

I've started jogging but am having issues with extremely sore lower legs after 10 or 15 mins (which is all the jogging I can manage at the moment anyway!). My description of the pain to the lads makes them reckon it's shin splints.

So anyway I'm looking to get good runners (without spending a fortune - literally beginning running from scratch) that could help me avoid the shin splints.

Only place I can think of in Dublin is Elvery's - anyone have any suggestions of places or shoes?

Suggestions on jogging programmes for beginners, but are more challenging than simply walk/run/walk/run would be great also. Cheers

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I could recommend runners that suit my gait, but which might be awful for you, everyone has a different running style, some are neutral, some pronate etc. So you need to get a pair from a shop that can analyse your running style (gait analysis) and sell you the right shoe. But if I was in your shoes, pardon the pun, I would visit a physio rather than getting advice 'from the lads'. It could be money well spent.

C25K is the usual recommended plan, have a look if you havent already. Cant recommend anything else as I was from the 'just go out the door and start running' school at the beginning. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

Oryx wrote: »
    I could recommend runners that suit my gait, but which might be awful for you, everyone has a different running style, some are neutral, some pronate etc. So you need to get a pair from a shop that can analyse your running style (gait analysis) and sell you the right shoe. But if I was in your shoes, pardon the pun, I would visit a physio rather than getting advice 'from the lads'. It could be money well spent.

C25K is the usual recommended plan, have a look if you havent already. Cant recommend anything else as I was from the 'just go out the door and start running' school at the beginning. :)

Well I don't know that it's actually shin splints - it could just be very unfit lower (running) leg muscles! I also don't even know if i jog correctly.

So basically just go somewhere that'll fit them rather than off the shelf?

Could you also point me to some diagrams of post-run stretches I should be doing? All i know is the one where you pull a foot up behind you, and the one where you try and tip your toes :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Well I don't know that it's actually shin splints - it could just be very unfit lower (running) leg muscles! I also don't even know if i jog correctly.

So basically just go somewhere that'll fit them rather than off the shelf?

Could you also point me to some diagrams of post-run stretches I should be doing? All i know is the one where you pull a foot up behind you, and the one where you try and tip your toes :pac:

Defo go see a decent therapist if you're having that much pain!

If you're going for new runners, elvery's do gait scanning but you'd be better going to a specialist shop like runways on parnell st. or Amphibian King in Bray!

Burkatron wrote: »
    Defo go see a decent therapist if you're having that much pain!

If you're going for new runners, elvery's do gait scanning but you'd be better going to a specialist shop like runways on parnell st. or Amphibian King in Bray!

Nah, I'm only just reading up on everything now - it looks like I launched into it way too fast. I'm gonna go back to the c25k thing which i'd never heard of and just work through that.

I'll check out those shoe shops though cheers.

One other thing - is it ok to go cycling on your "rest" days of c25k?

Just pay attention to what the cycling is doing to you as well. If youre well used to it, there wont be a problem, but if your not it may add to your stiffness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

running technique anyone??

I'm as untechnical as they come, but I do notice that if I ever run flat footed for any reason (numb feet from running through icy water, perhaps) or up steep hills, it kills my shins.

So what, on your toes?! I know not to land heel first, but it would be a fairly well planted foot print other than that.

I'm also aware that I keep my feet/legs quite taught which isn't right, and i make an effort to loosen that towards more of a "swing".

If you try to run on your toes youll likely feel it badly in your calves. By flat footed I think Im talking about the same thing as your taut, as in the ankles are stiff. What surface do you run on?

Also I should have said earlier, we have a great Athletics/Running/Tri forum where you will get shed loads of help.

I have the option of mildly uneven grass (grass/mud sods here and there), smooth tarmac, or 3 - 5 degree inclined sand. I've tried them all and haven't really decided which i like best!

I reckon the taughtness is definately a factor - finding it hard to get out of the habit though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Heel striking is not the most efficient way to run but that's how most people do it. You may be just wearing the wrong type of footwear or have just built up the distances too fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 saccharine

I used to get horrible shin splints when I first switched from running on a dreadmill to running outside. I got them under control by doing this before every run: http://dai.ly/9AYBxc (sorry, it's in Polish, but basically you repeat 18-20 times in a series slowly, and then pulse 18-20 times). I also have CEP compression socks - they are technically made for running, but I use them after a run, and love to sleep in them if my legs feel really bad. They definitely help with shin splints.

I am a forefoot runner, and have been really struggling to switch to midfoot running due to calf pain (not shins) - I blame it on years of wearing high heels. I run in Brooks Glycerin shoes, which are for neutral runners. I got fitted for them in a running store, as there isn't one-size-fits-all, and I would recommend that you if want to get more serious about jogging.

As for stretching, there's a tone of advice up on Runner's World, for example here: http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-263-266-11461-0,00.html. I also use a foam roller myself, because I am injury-prone and need to be extra careful, but you don't really need that at the very beginning. Good luck! I hope you will fall in love with it. Off for a little jog myself :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

Transform wrote: »
    running technique anyone??

Absolutely he should learn correct running technique but that takes quite a while for your body to adapt to with all the muscle imbalances we develop over the years or am I wrong? Would starting off with a decent pair of motion control runners not be the short term solution?

BTW I'm trying to get away from mid stability runners! They fixed my back problem but between them & swimming made my ankles ridiculously weak! 6 sprains in a year, soooooo much rehab had to be done to get my ankles balanced again! Next purchase is pair of INNOV8's with the 3 cushion layer! Then hopefully in time I'll be able to go barefoot/minmalists!
    saccharine wrote: »
    I also use a foam roller myself, because I am injury-prone and need to be extra careful, but you don't really need that at the very beginning.

Just on this....the sooner you start the better! Foam rolling & band work should be used as prehab aswell as rehab!

Cheers all. Got a gait analysis done today - slight overpronation on my right foot and heavy enough heel striking so he recommened nike lunarfly which feel great so we`ll see how we go!

The running's going grand but i have a new question, the outside and underside of one of my feet is getting very fatigued feeling.

As a kid I'd bad arches (still do i think but don't notice it at all day-to-day) and needed those insole things - are there any that would suit running shoes? I feel like my foot needs to be cradled more or something..

The running's going grand but i have a new question, the outside and underside of one of my feet is getting very fatigued feeling.

As a kid I'd bad arches (still do i think but don't notice it at all day-to-day) and needed those insole things - are there any that would suit running shoes? I feel like my foot needs to be cradled more or something..
    This is getting kind of close to medical advice, as noone here can see your foot and even if we could were not podatrists!

I think in this case a bit of real world advice would not go astray. You could try the shop where you got the shoes, or better still a physio.

No it's not. I won't be going to a physio :D

It's either run with a fatigued foot or try out some insoles - just wondering where/what should I look at? Presumably elverys would also have this sort of stuff

Could also be the fact that I'm only beginning running and that shoe is designed to even out my slight over pronation - which is the foot getting fatigued. Maybe I'll just push on with C25K and see what happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

No it's not. I won't be going to a physio :D

It's either run with a fatigued foot or try out some insoles - just wondering where/what should I look at? Presumably elverys would also have this sort of stuff

If you're experiencing shin splints and determined to carry on with running, you will probably need a good relationship with your physio, not an offhand attitude to seeing one. A good physio will be able to offer you a sustainable solution to the problem, hands-on treatment and exercises in your own time, not just point you at off-the-peg shoe inserts which will probably turn out be a fairly hit and miss band-aid attempt to solve the problem, with as much potential to make it worse as solve it.

Just checking in.

Two sessions into week 5 now and feel like I'm finally finding my stride. Really struggled with session 1 and 2 of weeks 3 and 4, but all my various aches, pains, and tightnesses seem to have suddenly lifted as I've got used to the regular runs.

Hopefully things will keep improving and I won't come up against any brick walls!