Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The American dream, imported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Ireland or rather Irish people are too passive to do anything about the situation.

Example:
    France, attempt to raise retirement to 60, riots in the streets.
    Ireland, actual retirement raised to 67, nothing.

Greece, austerity measures on working class to bail out banks, riots.
    Ireland, austerity measures on working class to bail out banks, nothing.

USA - Head of financial institutions arrested and put in prison.
    Ireland - Head of financial institutions given huge bonuses and allowed to retire with large pensions.

After a mere 70 years we have lost our sovereignty, nothing happened.

This week alone the energy companies have hiked up the prices of gas and electricity even though the price of oil has dropped.

Mortage interest rates have gone up (EBS customers will know this).
    Insurance rates have increased.

The working class are getting squeezed more and more, and still nothing happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭Jimmy Garlic

stoneill wrote: »
    The working class are getting squeezed more and more, and still nothing happens.

We have allowed a club to establish itself and play a one sided game. They sh1t all over this county and invoke patriotism if suits the agenda. The political class is willing servent to the banker class. They both shower manna on their cronies lower down the ladder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

It seems like only the unemployed have all the answers and I say this cause when I was unemployed for a period I got into this take down the system and conspiricy stuff. But as soon as I got a job I didnt care anymore.

But you have to ask yourself a question - Now that you know whats wrong with the system what are you doing about it? probably nothing!

Oranage2 wrote: »
    It seems like only the unemployed have all the answers and I say this cause when I was unemployed for a period I got into this take down the system and conspiricy stuff. But as soon as I got a job I didnt care anymore.

But you have to ask yourself a question - Now that you know whats wrong with the system what are you doing about it? probably nothing!

What's your point exactly, only the unemployed are pissed off?.. You are trying to set up a strawman.

The 'system' in this country stinks like an open sewer.. It doesn't matter if you are employed or unemployed, it smells the same either way.

People en masse will do something about it when the stink becomes overwhelming.

What's your point exactly, only the unemployed are pissed off?.. You are trying to set up a strawman.

The 'system' in this country stinks like an open sewer.. It doesn't matter if you are employed or unemployed, it smells the same either way.

People will do something about it when the stink becomes overwhelming.

I'm saying there are obvious problems but what are you doing about it.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I'm saying there are obvious problems but what are you doing about it.

Plenty, you?.

Nothing - I went to the budget day protest thats about the extent of it.

I wish I could do something but everything is pretty pointless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

Americans like to clap and talk a lot but that's cheap, action's what counts.

10 years of money has made irish lazy, those with the smarts and could help are long gone.....got the whiff of that sewer long before the cover blew off. Course the rest had their snouts stuck so deep in the trough they could only smell the stink of their own a$$ $h*t. Someday they're gonna pull their snouts from that trough and find the air ain't so pretty no more.

What today's Ireland is stuck with are the dregs, the lazy couch slouching dregs who take no less than money for nothin', happy days!

Dregs definition
    1. The remnants of a liquid left in a container, together with any sediment or grounds.
    2. The most worthless part or parts of something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

This has more tact

The next few weeks will be interesting (and no, I am not talking about the clown competition president joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

books4sale wrote: »
    What today's Ireland is stuck with are the dregs, the lazy couch slouching dregs who take no less than money for nothin', happy days!

Give over. What a lazy generalisation.

markesmith wrote: »

Stock and trade of agents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

books4sale wrote: »
    Americans like to clap and talk a lot but that's cheap, action's what counts.

I don't think your average American is a George Carlin fan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭books4sale

markesmith wrote: »

:D:D

Gotcha..hook ..line...sinker!

Another good days fishing.

:cool:

Ah I thought this was gonna be about that thing where you push in on someone's chest until they pass out, the real American Dream...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

The vid is a total moronic rant, the chap is a paranoid idiot who hasn't a clue about economics.

4leto wrote: »
    The vid is a total moronic rant, the chap is a paranoid idiot who hasn't a clue about economics.

Seeing as you seem to be clued in on economics.. Tell us how it works. Refute Carlin.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Seeing as you seem to be clued in on economics.. Tell us how it works. Refute Carlin.
    +1, although a product of the 60's counterculture and exaggerated for effect, he makes quite a bit of sense. When you see many many people sitting in cubicles at the new coal face, paying off mortgages at rates that would make the most immoral usurer blush, when you see the financial system, the very system that got the world into shíte in the first place, advising politicians he doesn't look too "paranoid" or "moronic".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Wibbs wrote: »
    +1, although a product of the 60's counterculture and exaggerated for effect, he makes quite a bit of sense. When you see many many people sitting in cubicles at the new coal face, paying off mortgages at rates that would make the most immoral usurer blush, when you see the financial system, the very system that got the world into shíte in the first place, advising politicians he doesn't look too "paranoid" or "moronic".

He is saying that politicians don't do anything and that big companies are in charge of and are controlling everything and that they are suppressing education to stop people figuring it out. That is paranoid and moronic. It's the same as all this illuminati or bilderburg group nonsense.

It has always been that way, the velvet glove has come off the iron fist and everybody is ripe. I hug no trees.

Maybe they who are critical about the rant should recommend something else to look up or read, maybe something form the ted talks or the like, that presents a different point of view.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

He is saying that politicians don't do anything and that big companies are in charge of and are controlling everything and that they are suppressing education to stop people figuring it out. That is paranoid and moronic. It's the same as all this illuminati or bilderburg group nonsense.
    Oh I'm no "it's the lizards you know" eejit. However I would be someone who believes that politics and policies, especially in the US is heavily influenced by interest groups to further their own ends. It's not a conspiracy, it's not that organised and often different interest groups are at odds, but there is an unhealthy amount of influence nonetheless.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Ireland or rather Irish people are too passive to do anything about the situation.

Example:

Ireland - Head of financial institutions given huge bonuses and allowed to retire with large pensions.

This week alone the energy companies have hiked up the prices of gas and electricity even though the price of oil has dropped.

Interesting. How much has the rioting and mob behaviour clawed back for Greece and France? I presume thank to the riots both countries are now back in the black.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Oh I'm no "it's the lizards you know" eejit. However I would be someone who believes that politics and policies, especially in the US is heavily influenced by interest groups to further their own ends. It's not a conspiracy, it's not that organised and often different interest groups are at odds, but there is an unhealthy amount of influence nonetheless.

Oh yeah, lobby groups do have some influence, how much I don't know but there is a big difference between what you are saying (completely sane) and what he is saying (down right stupid).

A lot of Carlin's et all stuff is based on the premise that people, the ordinary joe, whatever you call them CAN'T access education and CAN'T better themselves. The salient point is millions WON'T and DON't want to educate themselves and better themselves. Personal choice has been rubbed out of the narrative (by both sides) on the current economic climate. I never saw roving gangs of securitate rounding up helpless workers and giveing them unwanted mortgages. I didn't see see the sheep being rounded up and forced to take Eircom shares. People, individuals have to start accepting their role and responsibility in the crisis. They bought into the hype; their hubris and avarice stoked the fires of all the bubbles across the world. There is no grand government conspiracy to keep the people down. Trust em governments would like if everyone in their country could own the two houses and the BMW, elections would be a lot easier fought. Everybody, from G.W Bush down to the poorest beggar on the streets of Monrovia wants a handy number. Nobody actively seeks hassle.

One other point; I see all this guff about coalfaces and cubicles. What utter bollix. There were no 'lols' and After Hours down a coal seam, just a 10 hour shift in a chamber 18 to 20 inches high by two foot wide one hundred yards long, lying on your belly in a pool of water that was seeping through the bed rock above you whilst holding a hundred weight drill that was churning up coal dust that would ultimately take ten to fifteen years off your life expectancy.

Your are missing a very big point that he and others like him make, Why do you believe consumerism and what are middle class values are the best, why do think " bettering yourself " is better and something to aspire to.
    Many people are happy to be working class and feel proud of there background for example.

A lot of Carlin's et all stuff is based on the premise that people, the ordinary joe, whatever you call them CAN'T access education and CAN'T better themselves. The salient point is millions WON'T and DON't want to educate themselves and better themselves. Personal choice has been rubbed out of the narrative (by both sides) on the current economic climate. I never saw roving gangs of securitate rounding up helpless workers and giveing them unwanted mortgages. I didn't see see the sheep being rounded up and forced to take Eircom shares. People, individuals have to start accepting their role and responsibility in the crisis. They bought into the hype; their hubris and avarice stoked the fires of all the bubbles across the world. There is no grand government conspiracy to keep the people down. Trust em governments would like if everyone in their country could own the two houses and the BMW, elections would be a lot easier fought. Everybody, from G.W Bush down to the poorest beggar on the streets of Monrovia wants a handy number. Nobody actively seeks hassle.

One other point; I see all this guff about coalfaces and cubicles. What utter bollix. There were no 'lols' and After Hours down a coal seam, just a 10 hour shift in a chamber 18 to 20 inches high by two foot wide one hundred yards long, lying on your belly in a pool of water that was seeping through the bed rock above you whilst holding a hundred weight drill that was churning up coal dust that would ultimately take ten to fifteen years off your life expectancy.

Isn't that the eugenical point of view?.. A 'fu*k them, they are not with the system' point of view?. You were never on the face of any mine. I would be surprised if you could heat beans in a microwave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

mariaalice wrote: »
    Your are missing a very big point that he and others like him make, Why do you believe consumerism and what are middle class values are the best, why do think " bettering yourself " is better and something to aspire to.
    Many people are happy to be working class and feel proud of there background for example.

I think that people "happy to be working class" aren't particularly happy, and only express this "happiness" to cover up the fact that they didn't advance beyond it.

Ireland would still be full of illiterate peasants if all of those happy ancestors had no wish for advancement..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think that people "happy to be working class" aren't particularly happy, and only express this "happiness" to cover up the fact that they didn't advance beyond it.
    Rose tinted glasses aside , many who do advance byond it are proud of their roots while many others are the worst kind of pretentious snobs ..

People don't seem to be happy with what they got anyway, aspiring to live a consumerist lifestyle have giving people a huge amount of stress and doesn't appear to have made people any more content.

Isn't that the eugenical point of view?.. A 'fu*k them, they are not with the system' point of view?. You were never on the face of any mine. I would be surprised if you could heat beans in a microwave.

You know Me!!!!?????

I actually have been down a mine, I may not have worked in the mine but I saw how they worked and let me tell you, keyboard warrior, to compare it to modern office work is frankly retarded. My father employs two ex-miners and from their anecdotal evidence comparing working in a pit to office work is idiotic. I suppose they can't heat a tin of beans either. You're a big, hard man, no question. Tough too.

Edit:

How is it 'eugenical' to ask people to aspire to be better? How is it 'eugenical' to expect people to look out for themselves? Why has the government to babysit everybody and poke and prod them into bettering themselves? Why when people fail it's the government's fault and when they succeed they did so in spite of the government.

If people started to take more personal responsibility the world would be a better place. It is easier to always have a bogeyman keep us down though.

I can't stay and chit chat I need to fetch the butler to open my beans.

Always had a soft spot for France Gall ...

Latchy wrote: »
    Rose tinted glasses aside , many who do advance byond it are proud of their roots while many others are the worst kind of pretentious snobs ..

Absa-feckin-lutely! The new-money up-themselves tasteless gobsh1tes.

I find that most of the old-money types have no airs or graces at all, because they don't have to prove themselves, and just get on with it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

People have seriously taken to the recently acquired notion that we are born into this world only to be happy.It's a very new idea.We suffer from wishes that often cannot be balanced with hopes and there is angry frustration with the disappointments that often follow.We're all on treadmills of one kind or another and always trying to give the impression that 'all is well can't complain' because we don't want to be seen to be failing evidenced by the amount of laughing that is visible when people are together.We have followed the american dream and that's the advertising ...the eye candy and ignored basic essentials like law and order and strong institutions that are the pillars of nationhood.We are on the rocks and presently have'nt a clue as to who we are or where we are going but ar aigh linn anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Oh yeah, lobby groups do have some influence, how much I don't know but there is a big difference between what you are saying (completely sane) and what he is saying (down right stupid).

Agree with cushion, there is a big difference between what you are saying and how he presents it, a bit rich going on about Americans being unaware of the facts and then presenting them in a distorted, sensationalist manner. Guy looks to me like he is just trying to sell tickets for his show.

Ireland would still be full of illiterate peasants if all of those happy ancestors had no wish for advancement..

Not everyone who falls into the category of working class is deprived, some people are probably quite happy raising their kids and pursuing their interests. I really don't think your in a position to make that kind of generalisation.

Absa-feckin-lutely! The new-money up-themselves tasteless gobsh1tes.
    Well... there will be a % of that particular group who know the price of everything and the value of nothing but their pretentitious is usually exposed in tacky housing design ,bad fashion clothes and taste in everything ...having money doen't equal good taste or good manners .

The pretentious snob I had more in in mind is the one who aspires to rub shoulders with the great and good ,rich and famous and once he/she achieves that ( by hook or crook ) assumes every other person , who's working class or not, wants same .

I remember once talking to this lady about winning the lottery and she said ''oh imagine ... I would be able to mix with this and that ( name dropping ) famous person '' . ( people I wouldn't want to be in a lift with and share air space ... never mind mix with )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Example:

The fluoride they pump into our water is probably to make us passive.
    Time for a nap.

mackg wrote: »
    I really don't think your in a position to make that kind of generalisation.

Having been brought up in a working-class environment in the UK, I think I probably am.:P