Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby's popularity in this country soaring

• 07-10-2011 2:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

This article in the Telegraph is thought provoking. Should we be hoping the soccer team screw up again? I would love rugby to be the number one sport in this country and the popularity of our game has progressed massively in the last 10 years, however if the soccer team qualifies for tournaments it could turn some people back to the cheater's game. I dream of an Ireland where everyone is rugby mad like New Zealand!!
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/republic-of-ireland/8811607/Andorra-v-Republic-of-Ireland-Giovanni-Trapattonis-side-must-qualify-for-Euro-2012-to-rekindle-public-interest.html

A victory against Andorra in the 850-capacity Estadi Comunal d’Andorra la Vella, coupled with the not unrealistic prospect of Russia losing to Slovakia in Zilina, will leave Giovanni Trapattoni’s players facing Armenia in Dublin next Tuesday needing a win to top Group B and qualify for a major tournament for the first time since the 2002 World Cup.

Yet Ireland has fallen out of love with its football team and it will require a return to the top table to reclaim the public's affection.

The days of Jack Charlton’s players bringing the country to a standstill in the 1980s and 1990s, when Paul McGrath, John Aldridge, Niall Quinn and Roy Keane enabled the Irish to punch above their weight, are a fading memory.

Ireland will instead grind to a halt at 6am on Saturday morning, when Brian O’Driscoll and his rugby union team-mates face Wales in Wellington, aiming to take the country into the semi-finals of the Rugby World Cup for the first time in the country’s history.

Unless the unthinkable happens to the footballers on Friday, and they lose to the team lying joint-bottom in 203rd place in the Fifa world rankings, the only story making the headlines in Ireland on Saturday will be those involving the oval ball.

With Ireland hit harder than most by the Eurozone crisis, financial strains and apathy have combined to leave thousands of tickets unsold for next week’s clash against Armenia at the Aviva Stadium.

Yet there are only 'full-house’ signs when the rugby team plays in Dublin and Trapattoni’s players are conscious of the need for football to emerge from its slump and recreate the glory days.

Ireland midfielder Stephen Hunt said: “For the last two or three years, it has been hard to create a feel-good factor.

“I’m not stupid enough to say the football has been great, but we all want what the rugby team want — to give the country a lift.

“I have nothing against the rugby team. I’ve enjoyed every minute of the World Cup, but they are in and around the Irish media much more than us and that helps them to a certain degree.”

A disconnect between players and supporters has been highlighted as a factor in the football team's loss of popularity, with the accessibility and easy nature of O’Driscoll often compared to Robbie Keane’s preference for a low profile, but the footballers insist they are not in competition with the rugby team.

Fulham defender Stephen Kelly admits, however, that only way to turn the tide is by qualifying for Euro 2012.

Kelly said: “I want Irish people to be enjoying football again and getting behind us like they did in the ’90s. I did it as a kid, supported the team and went to games, got off school early to watch matches. I loved that.

“But if we qualify for something, it will change. Sport in Ireland is a very passionate thing and we’ve seen that in the last few weeks with the rugby lads. It’s given everyone a lift.

“My wife was out watching the Ireland v Italy game at 9am last week with her friends in London, cheering them on because we’re Irish. When the country is doing well you get behind them, no matter what sport it is.”
    Having earned a crucial 0-0 draw against Russia in Moscow last month, Ireland’s route to qualification is simple.

If Russia lose in Slovakia, victories against Andorra and Armenia will guarantee Ireland a place at Euro 2012.

However, if Russia earn at least a point tonight, they will qualify with a victory against Andorra on Tuesday, leaving Ireland to claim a play-off spot with two wins.

Andorra comes first, however, and goalkeeper Shay Given admits Ireland simply cannot afford to slip up on Friday night.

Given said: “We’re confident, but it’s going to be a tricky game and pitch. We have to try and get the win no matter how it comes about.
    “One, four, five nil, it doesn’t matter. We just need three points.”

Republic of Ireland: Given (Aston Villa); O’Shea (Sunderland), St Ledger (Leicester), O’Dea (Leeds), Ward (Wolves); Duff (Fulham), Whelan (Stoke), Andrews (Ipswich), McGeady (Spartak Moscow); Doyle (Wolves), Keane (LA Galaxy, capt)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

I hope after this rugger nonsense is over, that the public get behind the soccer team for the Euros

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Maygitchell banned for 7 days for trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Can we not be succesful at both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

It's a fad.

Look at the numbers who turned up in Donnybrook to welcome home the Leinster HEC win a few months back.
    5,000 people turned up from 12 counties?

Compare that number to the numbers who went in to Merrion Sq to greet the Dublin GAA football team.
    40,000 people from one county turned up.

Rugby trails both GAA and soccer in this country.

I'm all for sports getting support but GAA and Soccer will always be way ahead of rugby in terms of support in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

To be fair the majority of soccer "fans" in Ireland support English Premiership teams over the Irish national soccer team or the LOI.

So the fact that people have a high interest in the Irish rugby team over the Irish soccer team is no surprised. If more people supported the Irish rugby team over English premiership teams then it would be worth talking about.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

I hate saying this, But Victory often makes people jump on the bandwagon. Irelands been very lucky in the last few years, Having had 2 teams thats won the Heineken cup, A Grand slam Victory, Magners Leagues and Triple crowns. When people see such success, they start to get very interested.

Its great in a way. I remember going to Ireland games with my dad in the 90's, (when Ireland were not the powerhouse of a team they seem to be at the moment) and friends of mine would be asking why we bothered.

(esp hard at the time when coming home from a 40 point defeat to England) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

hinault wrote: »
    It's a fad.

Look at the numbers who turned up in Donnybrook to welcome home the Leinster HEC win a few months back.

Compare that number to the numbers who went in to Merrion Sq to greet the Dublin GAA football team.

I'm all for sports getting support but GAA and Soccer will always be way ahead of rugby in terms of support in my opinion.

I don't think you are taking into account the tens of thousands who were still in transit when the welcome home shindig was on. Leinster routinely fill up the Aviva yet our international soccer side can only half fill it. Dublin of course are going to pack the city for an AI celebration, Dublin are the best supported sporting team in Ireland (over 1 million souls in one county) More worrying for the GAA is the complete lack of support other counties are bringing, for example Wexford hurlers only a few years ago were followed by 30k yellowbellies, now if they brought half that to a game they would be doing well. Leinster also for Magners games get 18k at the RDS - what Irish soccer team has that support:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Phonehead wrote: »
    I don't think you are taking into account the tens of thousands who were still in transit when the welcome home shindig was on. Leinster routinely fill up the Aviva yet our international soccer side can only half fill it. Dublin of course are going to pack the city for an AI celebration, Dublin are the best supported sporting team in Ireland (over 1 million souls in one county) More worrying for the GAA is the complete lack of support other counties are bringing, for example Wexford hurlers only a few years ago were followed by 30k yellowbellies, now if they brought half that to a game they would be doing well. Leinster also for Magners games get 18k at the RDS - what Irish soccer team has that support:confused:

The Aviva wasn't packed with just Leinster fans this season.
    Quarter and semi finals were against two of the best supported teams in world rugby (Leicester and Toulouse).
    Both of these teams have huge travelling support.

As regards the soccer team, support has wained a bit in recent years but during the glory years 1988-1996 Lansdowne Road was packed to the rafters.
    Literally tens of thousands of people travelled to Germany in 1998, Italy in 1990 and USA 1994.
    Not in it's wildest dreams could rugby hope to compete with that level of support.
    If we get to Euro 2012, support levels will return.

The GAA? I take your point about counties like Wexford. They've not had much success at hurling in recent years (1996 was their last Hurling All Ireland) but their football supporters came to Croker last year.

Don't get me wrong I like rugby and it's great to see success and people following the sport but rugby doesn't have the same widespread appeal as the GAA and soccer. granted it has broadened it's base in rural Leinster and in some GAA strongholds in Munster but it lags far behind.

GAA and soccer had huge support for decades. I remember going to league of ireland games in Milltown and Dalymount and the grounds would be packed
    (in the 1970 and 1980's). And you'd have aul lads there saying that the crowds numbers were bigger in the 1950's and 1960's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

against two of the best supported teams in world rugby (Leicester and Toulouse).

Toulouse don't. When I was living there, they were playing a game in Montauban, literally a half an hour away, and none of my die-hard Stade fan friends were arsed to go. There were maybe 2,000 in the Aviva for the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

Quarter and semi finals were against two of the best supported teams in world rugby (Leicester and Toulouse).

Leicester had around 5,000 there and Toulouse only around 3,000 so it was pretty much mostly Leinster fans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

It's a fad.

The issue there was everyone was on the ferry, when the Leinster team where in Donnybrook I was on a ferry full to brim of Leinster supporters on the way back across the Irish sea. Everyone I know that went to the game couldn't make it back in time to get to Donnybrook so I would not be using that as a good yard stick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

You are having a laugh, I dont know about the Leicester game but for the Toulouse game there was a small section, game was sold out and then more tickets became available because Toulouse sent the tickets back. I think if I remember there was around 8-10k season ticket holders last season for Leinster and over 12k this year.

For the Toulouse game all the season ticket holders where offered additional tickets so I know all my mates that are not season ticket holders got tickets off me as well.

I used to go to a lot of the Irish games years ago, well in fact all of them that I could get a ticket, but since Stan the man got in and then Trap I don't have any time for it. The game against Slovakia that was on tele, sat down with young fellow to watch and it bored me to death, couldn't watch the second half. Poor soccer and poor tactics!!! simple as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Why was somebody banned for saying "rugby nonsense" yet the OP called soccer a "cheater"s game"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Rugby forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

"Ireland will instead grind to a halt at 6am on Saturday morning".

As opposed to doing what?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Fans have a habit of jumping on bandwagons - which is fine, until you can't get a ticket for a game:)

For me, as a coach and ref, the real test is at the junior level and from my experience we're seeing an unrpecedented increase in new players joining clubs.

This year, we've also been seeing a relatively large number of "newbies" joining in their early to mid teens when normally you expect kids' sporting preferences as players to be relatively well settled. Interestingly, we've had quite a few recruits from local soccer clubs - I don't think that's to do with the demise of soccer, it's more to do with playing opportunities. Plus many of these kids are coming from families where no one else (brothers, fathers etc) play rugby.

My big fear is that the Leinster Branch and the IRFU will screw up by not positively supporting the permanent recruitment and retention of these players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Kayless

Yeah even now Id say to my mates "going to watch the rugby" and get mad stick for it, but its laughable, when they support English premiership teams still I think rugbys the future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

One of our customers works with disadvantaged kids (in Athlone).

Was chatting to them last week and they commented that all the kids there are now playing RUGBY in the streets.

No doubt prompted by the RWC performances.

While Athlone has a rugby heritage the area the kids are in tradtionally a soccor area with a great distaste (being kind) for rugby!

Whether this will continue into the future is unknown, but the IRFU seem to be doing a great job breaking down barriers.

peterako wrote: »

Was chatting to them last week and they commented that all the kids there are now playing RUGBY in the streets.

No doubt prompted by the RWC performances.

While Athlone has a rugby heritage the area the kids are in tradtionally a soccor area with a great distaste (being kind) for rugby!

Whether this will continue into the future is unknown, but the IRFU seem to be doing a great job breaking down barriers.

I think that might to do with the fact that Athlone was a large British garrison. Soccer for the squaddies - rugby for the officers:)

Anyway - that's the type of thing the branches should be capitalising on. They should throw some money at it and get a "street league" going - get the kids out to Buccaneers or the RTC for some semi-organised tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I'v noticed kids in estates around me playing more and more rugby these days.

It's great to see the sport start to lose the elitist image it had for so many years in Dublin and surrounding areas.

I was going to matches right through the 80's and Landsdowne was always packed. Add the new fans now and Rugby has a serious following.

I've nothing against soccer but it get's really irritating watching grown men dive, clutching their ankles and grimacing in pain from the smallest knock, then up and running 2 minutes later after doing the obligitary limp. It's become so irritating that I can barely watch a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Jaysus. wrote: »
    Should we be hoping the soccer team screw up again?

No. For most of the general public its not one or the other or indeed the other.
    however if the soccer team qualifies for tournaments it could turn some people back to the cheater's game.

Why would success in soccer lead to an increase in support for Athletics and Cycling. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Essentially, we're a nation of event junkies. You can be sure if the football team qualified for the European Championships, they'll be receiving massive coverage at the tournament and the country will "grind to a halt" at those matches too. When the rugby team weren't doing so well and we squeaked an unimpressive victory against the USA, there was far, far less hype surrounding things. Rugby is, of course, increasing massively in this country in terms of popularity and that's mostly down to professionalism and the fantastic work of the likes of the branches and the IRFU. It's only 7 years ago that Leinster and Munster were getting 3-4k to games. Right now though, it's the WC and rugby interest is at its peak and enjoying its day in the sun. It's a showcase for the game and of course public interest is at a maximum. In a couple of months, something else will be enjoying coverage. If an Irish person wins gold in the Olympics they receive massive coverage or if they win the Tour de France or win a golfing major. If the IRFU has taken 10% of those previously not interested in the sport and converted them into long term supporters, it will be a great achievement. A WC is a great showcase for the game but it cannot be used as a measure of the popularity of a sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

There's a massive growth in people who watch rugby. Very little growth in people who play rugby.

How many new clubs in the last ten years? You could count them on one hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

stovelid wrote: »
    Why was somebody banned for saying "rugby nonsense" yet the OP called soccer a "cheater"s game"?

don't worry that has been rectified, and he will be sitting out the next while

*mod warning, any disrepect to ANY sport or their supports will not be tolerated

also I plase don't feed trolls, report them instead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

There's a massive growth in people who watch rugby. Very little growth in people who play rugby.

A quick scan of the Leinster branch handbook for the year shows a decent handful of teams that have been founded since the turn of the century. It's a fairly decent return when you think about it given that basically all of them were in areas where rugby traditionally lags far behind GAA: North Meath RFC, Ratoath RFC, IT Carlow, West Offaly Lions, Midland Warriors and Normans RFC (Kilkenny). It's very hard to found new teams in Dublin when, for the most part, nearly everyone lives within a few miles of a well established club that has been on the go for anything between 50 and 150 years. Emerald Warriors and Tallaght RFC are the exceptions. The expansion of the game in non-traditional areas has been quite solid. When you compare it to the development of the game previously, it's very good. Only two teams were founded in the 90s.

Establishing new clubs is a poor measure of the sport's development - I think the number of new players still playing after 1.5 seasons is a better measure.

At the moment the youth and mini sections of a lot of clubs are under severe pressure because of the volume of younger players wanting to get into the game - unless there's more coaches, more (and better) facilities and more competition, these kids will drift away again.

I'm not advocating a building boom, but local authorities could be approached about converting a few of their pitches to rugby; a few more development officers could be appointed; tag compeitions for older new players should be organised etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

There's a massive growth in people who watch rugby. Very little growth in people who play rugby
    On the contrary, youths rugby system has grown in all four provinces. This compliments the Schools system and in the not-too-distant future there is a larger and younger playerbase.
    Minis rugby is also massive. Not just in established rugby areas but 'newer' areas such as the likes of Tallaght, Donegal, Dingle etc.
    The success of the sport at grass roots level isn't measured by the amount of clubs but by the size of the playerbase and reach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,616 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Telegraph article is unfair on soccer, especially when talking about 'full houses at the Aviva'. It's not comparing like with like.

If the soccer team had 5 competitive home games every 2 years against say Spain, Germany, England, Italy and Holland and these games were for the Championship of Europe then there would be full houses.
    Instead the soccer team has to play 2/3 home qualifiers a year against the likes of Andorra, Albania, Kazakstan and various unattractive Eastern European teams.

Imagine if the rugby team, instead of playing the 6N and the Autumn Internationals, was instead playing qualifiers against the rugby teams of Georgia, Romania, Russia, Ukraine etc. How many full houses would there be there then?

JustinDee wrote: »
    On the contrary, youths rugby system has grown in all four provinces. This compliments the Schools system and in the not-too-distant future there is a larger and younger playerbase.
    Minis rugby is also massive. Not just in established rugby areas but 'newer' areas such as the likes of Tallaght, Donegal, Dingle etc.

The success of the sport at grass roots level isn't measured by the amount of clubs but by the size of the playerbase and reach.

Sorry to disagree, but I've always felt the school system hindered rugby's development because it created (and still creates to a much lesser degree) a perception that to play at an elite level you have to have gone to certain schools.

Sean O'Brien should be carried shoulder high around the provinces after the RWC - no so much for his heroics on the pitch, but to show kids that rugby is about talent and hard work, not what school you went to.

EDIT - just to add, I think the schools "drag" on the clubs - how many players exit the club system when they go to secondary school, never to re-enter or in some cases never to play rugby when they finish school and university? From personal experience I know quite a few lads who went the "school route" and were heartily sick of the game once their SCT campaign was completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

I think it's moving out of the posh schools and into the run of the mill schools and that's where the real growth is coming from.
    When I started in secondary school we played gaelic football only, after first year we had a hurling team, after 3rd year a soccer team & in 6th year we had a rugby team. Historically we were always a gaelic football school, nowadays Rugby is just as if not more important in the school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Was doing some substitute teaching last year in a very small rural primary school in North Meath and to my amazement at breaktime all the kids were playing rugby, this is the type of place where 10 years ago the majority of kids wouldnt have even known what a rugby ball looked like, found it really heartening to see something like this.

I dont buy into all this soccer vs rugby or Gaa vs rugby. The most important thing is that kids at a young age have a healthy choice of sports to play. Until recently in the majority of the country the choices for kids were to play soccer or play GAA, if you didnt like either you just didnt play sport, simple as. The fact is that some kids due to their physique may be more suitable to rugby so its important that the option is there for them to play it. The more kids you have active and playing any sport at a young age the more beneficial it will be to all sports.

On a side note woudnt it be great to be an impressionable 8 year old watching this Irish side at the minute.

shuffol wrote: »
    On a side note woudnt it be isn't great to be an impressionable 38 year old watching this Irish side at the minute.

FYP:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I for one hope both excel, but I do have to admit I find it easier watching a team of world class players with a real chance of winning a world cup rather than watching a team who are excited to just qualify. To each their own I suppose. I am still very excited about the Armenia game.
    I rarely miss a big Leinster occasion and I wasn't there. Neither were most of the players families. Reason of course being I was still travelling back on the boat with thousands of other Leinster fans.
    What a mad thing to say... What exactly is your point, that because Leinster allowed a few away supporters they couldn't have filled it themselves with Irish fans? I suppose the 83,000 who turned up to watch Leinster play Munster in Croke Park were all foreigners or something then? And considering the vast vast majority of those at Leinster games this year were Leinster fans I really don't understand what point, if any, you were trying to make here.

That's like me saying Ireland never filled a stadium because there were foreign supporters there?!
    As regards the soccer team, support has wained a bit in recent years but during the glory years 1988-1996 Lansdowne Road was packed to the rafters.
    Literally tens of thousands of people travelled to Germany in 1998, Italy in 1990 and USA 1994.
    Not in it's wildest dreams could rugby hope to compete with that level of support.
    If we get to Euro 2012, support levels will return.
    Hmm... They expect 30,000 Irish fans at the Quarter Final on Saturday, and the Irish have the second biggest number of supporters at the World Cup, ahead of Australia... and yet we couldn't manage "tens of thousands" in our "wildest dreams?" Think you need to check your facts on that one.
    GAA and soccer had huge support for decades. I remember going to league of ireland games in Milltown and Dalymount and the grounds would be packed
    (in the 1970 and 1980's). And you'd have aul lads there saying that the crowds numbers were bigger in the 1950's and 1960's.
    You mean just as Shannon or Garryowen fans will tell you they could get attendances up to 20,000 for club games in the early 90s?

You obviously aren't 100% sure what you're talking about, but thanks for at least trying. I hope that the Irish team can qualify for a world cup, just as I hope the Irish rugby team can win one. It would just be more for an Irish sports fan like me to get excited about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Jawgap wrote: »
    Sorry to disagree, but I've always felt the school system hindered rugby's development because it created (and still creates to a much lesser degree) a perception that to play at an elite level you have to have gone to certain schools
    Not really. Ireland is sadly and traditionally a very tribalistic country and the Irish love their divisions. What makes people take notice is success of a team they can find an affinity to. The majority of clubs have always been there. It is down to a lot more than perceived bugrudging snobbery that certain people choose certain sports.
    Schools and youths are running in tandem and broadening the younger playerbase.
    Sean O'Brien should be carried shoulder high around the provinces after the RWC - no so much for his heroics on the pitch, but to show kids that rugby is about talent and hard work, not what school you went to
    The likes of Shane Horgan have already exemplified that anyone good enough can make it in professional rugby.
    EDIT - just to add, I think the schools "drag" on the clubs - how many players exit the club system when they go to secondary school, never to re-enter or in some cases never to play rugby when they finish school and university? From personal experience I know quite a few lads who went the "school route" and were heartily sick of the game once their SCT campaign was completed.
    It doesn't matter where they're playing, so long as they're playing. The biggest hurdle is converting a schools player to a club player. This is not unique to Ireland. Australia has been suffering big-time since early 21st century to find players due to its over-reliance to schools. Hence the plucking of RL juniors such as Elsom, Giteau, O'Connor, Palu, Beale etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Isn't it all just rugby though whether club or school?
    If you are good enough (skillwise/have the physique) you have the potential to make it with a little bit of opportunity and then going ahead and taking that opportunity.

The ways that schools rugby has held us back that I see are:
    - Traditionally up to recently added a barrier of exclusivity to the game (not so much anymore)
    - Weaker counties schools don't receive same opportunities like Blackrock/Clongowes who are training like a professional academy. So skillful players end up 18 years of age physically behind their compatriots at more exclusive schools.
    - Has promoted an emphasis on physical training which is leaving smaller late developing players behind even whithin the same school.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

I know this is a rugby forum but are you lot serious??
    There is very little interest in the Rugby World Cup and Ireland's involvement in it.

I remember living in England during the 2002 world cup and going to an early door pub to watch Rep of Ireland V Germany (1-1) 7am ko. I don't see much of this type of enthusiasm going on, even in Ireland for your heroes. Certainly you could never compare the rugby experience with Italia 90 or USA 94.

Rugby is still an elitist sport!!!
    Look where the squad members are coming from.
    Clongowes Wood College are very well represented.
    I rest my case!!!

From Cork City PBC and CBC, the only fee paying schools in the city, are represented. This has been the same since the sport began.

It's not the Ulster boys or the Irelands Call thing that makes me feel disassociated with the team, it's that I honestly feel that the players do not represent me/my family and where I come from in Cork.

So when the OP comes out with statements that rugby's popularity is soaring I laugh. I won't be getting up to watch your 'heroes' tomorrow.
    If they were playing in my back garden I'd draw the curtains.

My team, the Republic of Ireland, play tonight.
    I won't miss that one or any game that they play in.
    I mightn't be able to afford to go to the Aviva Stadium as much as I'd like but my support for my team is still unwavering.

Interesting to see how many of Trap boys went to posh schools???

Also, I couldn't let the opportunity pass without commenting on the "cheaters sport" comment. What a laugh!

Nobody cheats in Rugby??
    Nobody changes the ball before a goal kick???
    Nobody cheats in the scrum???
    Nobody tries to stick their fingers in another player's eye???
    Nobody ever deliberately makes a high tackle???
    Nobody ever uses fake blood to fool the ref into allowing a blood sub???

In athletics and cycling there have been numerous cases of drug cheats.
    Similarly in NFL and baseball.

Yet Football is the one described as the cheaters sport :confused:
    All players in professional sports are looking for an edge and thus will try everything to help themseves to win. Please don't believe that the Corinthian amateur spirit still lives within rugby union.

Enjoy your experience in what to me is a mickey mouse tournament unworthy of the term "World Cup".
    Only 8 countries could be described as anyway decent.
    And rugby is a very minor sport in all but 1 of those 8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭snotboogie

I'm a huge fan of soccer and rugby but the attitude of some football fans since the Australia game has disgusted me. I've heard lads call the tournament mickey mouse (its bigger than the European championships by almost every measure; total attendance, average attendance and tv ratings) and talk as if rugby is strictly an elitist sport. The insecurity is baffling :confused:

Still I'll be going to the Armenia game and cheering the lads on. If we get to a RWC semi final and qualify for the Euro's it would be the biggest 5 days ever in Irish sports. Lets put preferences to the side and cheer on both teams!

Wow above poster hit every cliche!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

This article in the Telegraph is thought provoking. Should we be hoping the soccer team screw up again? I would love rugby to be the number one sport in this country and the popularity of our game has progressed massively in the last 10 years, however if the soccer team qualifies for tournaments it could turn some people back to the cheater's game. I dream of an Ireland where everyone is rugby mad like New Zealand!!

i like rugby but much perfer soccer , is it not possible to be happy that both teams are doing well , whats with all the brinksmanship

as for wishing ireland was rugby mad like new zealand , i lived in NZ for a while over a decade ago , i found thier obsession to be a bit sad , cultish tbh , seeing sean fitzpatrick advertising everything from airport lounges to tv shows became tedious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭trackguy

I rest my case!!!

Your case has just been thrown out so
    disassociated with the team, it's that I honestly feel that the players do not represent me/my family and where I come from in Cork.

They represent Irish people every bit as much as the soccer team. It's sad you feel that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

There is very little interest in the Rugby World Cup and Ireland's involvement in it.

I remember living in England during the 2002 world cup and going to an early door pub to watch Rep of Ireland V Germany (1-1) 7am ko. I don't see much of this type of enthusiasm going on, even in Ireland for your heroes. Certainly you could never compare the rugby experience with Italia 90 or USA 94.

I rest my case!!!

From Cork City PBC and CBC, the only fee paying schools in the city, are represented. This has been the same since the sport began.

It's not the Ulster boys or the Irelands Call thing that makes me feel disassociated with the team, it's that I honestly feel that the players do not represent me/my family and where I come from in Cork.

So when the OP comes out with statements that rugby's popularity is soaring I laugh. I won't be getting up to watch your 'heroes' tomorrow.

I mightn't be able to afford to go to the Aviva Stadium as much as I'd like but my support for my team is still unwavering.

Also, I couldn't let the opportunity pass without commenting on the "cheaters sport" comment. What a laugh!

Nobody cheats in Rugby??

All players in professional sports are looking for an edge and thus will try everything to help themseves to win. Please don't believe that the Corinthian amateur spirit still lives within rugby union.

Enjoy your experience in what to me is a mickey mouse tournament unworthy of the term "World Cup".

I believe there's space for all tastes in sports, I hate when people post stuff like this attacking other sports. It just makes everyone feel bitter and to be honest I don't see how you're getting any benefit from posting tihs mate.

Speaking for myself only, there's things wrong with every sport. Simulation has been a problem in football for years but it is creeping into rugby too. I wish the authorities would start banning players for it now to set a anti-diving precedent. I will say there are a lot of things football could learn from rugby, respect for the referee for one.

Please don't tell me that the popularity of rugby isn't soaring, of course it is. Of course it's a lot to do with it being the sexy sport at the minute, some people are 'take it or leave it' fans whose interest will drift from one sport to another. Nothing wrong with that, not everyone is obsessed with sport. To call the tournament "mickey mouse" is laughable to be honest, it's a mammoth sporting event.

If you don't like rugby, fair enough. But for goodness sake don't come over here and criticize the sport we love on this forum. As I said there's space for all sports and we should respect that. Personally I find soccer a tad boring at times but a great game is riveting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

please stop trolling and have a week off

Swanner wrote: »
    I'v noticed kids in estates around me playing more and more rugby these days.

It's great to see the sport start to lose the elitist image it had for so many years in Dublin and surrounding areas.

I was going to matches right through the 80's and Landsdowne was always packed. Add the new fans now and Rugby has a serious following.

I've nothing against soccer but it get's really irritating watching grown men dive, clutching their ankles and grimacing in pain from the smallest knock, then up and running 2 minutes later after doing the obligitary limp. It's become so irritating that I can barely watch a game.

reports of players feigning injury in soccer have become more annoying than real examples of this actually happening , rugby is irritating in its own way too , like the fact that the ball is out of play for the majority of the match or how needlesly complicated the sport is , rugby is a conservative law abiding game where as soccer is liberal and free spirited , its no coincidence that soccer is huge in places like brazil and rugbys stronghold is in W.A.S.P countries along with the proffesional classes in the remaining countrys who play the game

I for one hope both excel, but I do have to admit I find it easier watching a team of world class players with a real chance of winning a world cup rather than watching a team who are excited to just qualify. To each their own I suppose. I am still very excited about the Armenia game.

I rarely miss a big Leinster occasion and I wasn't there. Neither were most of the players families. Reason of course being I was still travelling back on the boat with thousands of other Leinster fans.

What a mad thing to say... What exactly is your point, that because Leinster allowed a few away supporters they couldn't have filled it themselves with Irish fans? I suppose the 83,000 who turned up to watch Leinster play Munster in Croke Park were all foreigners or something then? And considering the vast vast majority of those at Leinster games this year were Leinster fans I really don't understand what point, if any, you were trying to make here.

That's like me saying Ireland never filled a stadium because there were foreign supporters there?!

Hmm... They expect 30,000 Irish fans at the Quarter Final on Saturday, and the Irish have the second biggest number of supporters at the World Cup, ahead of Australia... and yet we couldn't manage "tens of thousands" in our "wildest dreams?" Think you need to check your facts on that one.

You mean just as Shannon or Garryowen fans will tell you they could get attendances up to 20,000 for club games in the early 90s?

You obviously aren't 100% sure what you're talking about, but thanks for at least trying. I hope that the Irish team can qualify for a world cup, just as I hope the Irish rugby team can win one. It would just be more for an Irish sports fan like me to get excited about.

has it occurred to you that the irish ( for the most part ) and the australians are travelling from the same place , australia , half of ireland is in sydney or melbourne or perth at the moment , every other nations supporters have a huge journey to travel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I came from a GAA background and my grandmother lived in Manchester and was United fan, so became obsessed with football. I support Man United and home club Cork City and been to most ALL Ireland finals that Cork have played missed two off top my head. Also keen International soccer supporter who be nervous tonight watching them as well as at 6am tomorrow.

I started playing rugby when in College in Wales and played AIL with Dublin club for year before my knee just had enough.

Personally I would love for Ireland to win Rugby WC and for our Footballers to to Qualify for European Championships next year. I have seen the lift Dublin and it's people got from Dublin winnning all Ireland last month there was a buzz around the place that I have not seen before.

Would that not be fantastic for the whole country and give the type of lift this country needs in these hard times if our Rugby and Footballers do well?

Anyway I am a sportsperson. Even though I was crap at Athletics in school I still watch any Irish person in olympics or whatever and be shouting at TV if they had chance at winning something and would always love see Irish person do well be it Rugby, Cricket, Football, Darts or whatever.

There is begrudging in every sport including rugby, but thankfully most people overlook these things and ignore them.

I rest my case!!!

Nobody cheats in Rugby??

ive a memory like an elephant , the ireland germany group match at the 2002 world cup had an 11 am kick off , not 7 am , south korea and japan are only around eight or nine hours ahead , unlike new zealand which is eleven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭snotboogie

irishh_bob wrote: »
    reports of players feigning injury in soccer have become more annoying than real examples of this actually happening , rugby is irritating in its own way too , like the fact that the ball is out of play for the majority of the match or how needlesly complicated the sport is , rugby is a conservative law abiding game where as soccer is liberal and free spirited , its no coincidence that soccer is huge in places like brazil and rugbys stronghold is in W.A.S.P countries along with the proffesional classes in the remaining countrys who play the game

Yes this also explains why the freeflowing game of American Football enjoys huge popularity in pretty much every American ghetto. Becuase it must be either that or the prevailing WASP culture among African American's that has reulted in 70%+ of the top level players being black....

What you are saying is a nonsence, if a sport is good enough, exposure is the main factor in its popularity among a culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

irishh_bob wrote: »
    has it occurred to you that the irish ( for the most part ) and the australians are travelling from the same place , australia , half of ireland is in sydney or melbourne or perth at the moment , every other nations supporters have a huge journey to travel

He's talking about Irish travelling to Germany or Italy from Ireland. Perth to Wellington is 5,000 kilometres. Dublin to Rome is 1,500. So I really don't see how that makes the fact that we are the second best supported country at a tournament on the other side of the world any less impressive or any less indicative of how well supported rugby is in this country.

JustinDee wrote: »
    Not really. Ireland is sadly and traditionally a very tribalistic country and the Irish love their divisions. What makes people take notice is success of a team they can find an affinity to. The majority of clubs have always been there. It is down to a lot more than perceived bugrudging snobbery that certain people choose certain sports.
    Schools and youths are running in tandem and broadening the younger playerbase.

The likes of Shane Horgan have already exemplified that anyone good enough can make it in professional rugby.

It doesn't matter where they're playing, so long as they're playing. The biggest hurdle is converting a schools player to a club player. This is not unique to Ireland. Australia has been suffering big-time since early 21st century to find players due to its over-reliance to schools. Hence the plucking of RL juniors such as Elsom, Giteau, O'Connor, Palu, Beale etc.

I was going to use Horgan as an example but I couldn't remember if he went to Gormanstown or not - I see he went to Mary's in Drogheda.

The big difference between schools and clubs is the amount of contact time kids get with coaches and the intensity of the competitions they play in - as a system of bringing through and creating potential elite players for provinical and national sides you probably couldn't develop a better system.

But as a system for churning out players to stock the first and junior teams of clubs up and down the country it's less than ideal.

Horgan and O'Brien are good examples of "talent will out" but I wonder how many potential stars have been lost to the game because they didn't get the level of coaching and games that someone who went to a traditional rugby school? No doubt their loss to the national and provincial teams is a gain for some other team- but it does beg the question if a better system couldn't be developed.

BTW - this is not meant as an anti-rugby-playing school post - more a questioning of wether the system, as configured, is good at recruiting, retaining and developing players throough to their full potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

peterako wrote: »

Amazing what a little bit of success brings. I was living in Germany when a 17 year old Boris Becker became the first German to win Wimbledon. The next day, suddenly every kid in the area seemed to have grown a tennis racquet and was out whacking balls at each other. I hadn't remembered seeing a racquet in the place before.

But I don't think even the Irish soccer team qualifying for next year's finals will reverse the trend in that game. The international game is dying. The clubs, especially the big clubs, are winning out. And the worst thing that brings is the self-important disdain many Irish soccer fans have for the game at a local level.

Why can't the FAI be more like Chelsea? Why can't Dalymount Park be more like the Emirates? Why should I lower myself to support a team containing Glenn Whelan and Paul McShane? I support UNITED. I'm better than that.

For cheering on a local team, the GAA will always have the edge. For seeing an Irish team (a genuine Irish team, comprising mainly players born, raised and living here) succeed on an international stage Rugby currently is the best choice. Soccer is for the globalised generation who prefer to derive fulfillment from watching a team that has done nothing to earn their affection other than deploy a hefty global marketing budget.

They're welcome to it.

snotboogie wrote: »
    Yes this also explains why the freeflowing game of American Football enjoys huge popularity in pretty much every American ghetto. Becuase it must be either that or the prevailing WASP culture among African American's that has reulted in 70%+ of the top level players being black....

What you are saying is a nonsence, if a sport is good enough, exposure is the main factor in its popularity among a culture.

basketball is the big sport in the american ghettos and besides american football is not rugby , i never mentioned american football so you point is bogus