Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland V Wales == Early Start of Sky puls?

• 06-10-2011 12:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27 dizzler

im in a conundrum that im sure many of you are.

6am kick of is bloody early and knowing my luck i wont be able to sleep on the friday night. i dont want to wake up at 5.45 on sat morn and crawl down to the couch to watch the game thru sleepy eyes. its hard to make an athmosphere when ur on your on at 6am. im sure il be roaring at the tv by the end of the game but i want to have the excitment at a pinnacle for when the game is about to kick off! not half asleep.
    if i watch it on ITV+1 it just wont be the same as it is essentially a recording. (i dont have sky plus and i live in the uk).

so, what is the best way to prepare for the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

My game plan:

Go to bed early on Friday night (prob 11, won't be able to sleep before that anyway), get up at 5.30 and have a shower, coffee and bowl of porridge with a constant supply of tea throughout the game. Then back to bed before I have a match of my own at 3, followed by the Leinster v. Connacht game, followed by some well deserved all-round celebratory (I hope) pints!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Early evening snooze, get up around 4 am

+

guiness.gif

= Win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Similar conundrum... so my solution is, few beers Friday eve, enough to get me to sleep, alarm for 05:00 up, heating on shorts and Welsh jersey... snorker sarnie and a can... of what (Heineken probably, although a Brains would go down better but I can't get it anywhere) I haven't decided... supp and spill while watching cheering... screaming / crying the game...

Same again for the English match then mope about and go to pub...

And all agreed with missus, either way win or lose I'll need a drink.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

7am start here so I'll be up and hoping nobody else is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Get what sleep you can, get up and watch it same as the rest of us. It's not exactly an issue; you've nowhere else you need to be except bed. Watching something that isn't live never gives the same buzz. If Ireland win, you want to be able to celebrate it, ring people, read the reports etc. If you're an hour behind everyone you don't get to share in that. I couldn't imagine watching the game any other way but live. The excitement of watching a recording would never amount to the same feeling.

Also, 6am? Come on. If you can't get out of bed a little earlier than the majority of people do regularly for possibly the biggest game in the nation's rugby history then there's something wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

My plan:

5:30: Wake
    5:35: Turn on TV in kitchen, put kettle on
    5:38: Coffee
    5:40: Turn on TV in living room
    5:45: Wake daughter up (she's two)
    5:48: Give daugher breakfast in kitchen - switch channel to Nick Jnr
    5:50: More coffee
    5:53: Settle in front of TV in living room, joined by daughter on couch whenever she's finished brekkie.

8:00: Reflect on win(?) and watch opening salvos of FRA v ENG

8:30: get in car, go on holiday, listen to rest of game on Radio en route to Airport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,430 ✭✭✭GiftofGab

Should this not be in the 'personal issues' forum? It is a big dilemma after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

My plan...get up just before 6 and go back to bed after. Its really not that difficult.

Theres something a lot easier about getting up earlier for something like this than getting up for say work or something, and knowing that it'll be finished by 7.30 and it'll still be early enough to go back to bed if one so wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Have a few friends over friday night, few beers n' smokes to help knock me out, up at 5.30, set up the projector, then contemplate if I could eat or not due to nerves... Kettle on and then settle for one of the hardest to call matches of the tournement....

C'MON IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

I can only imagine what this place will be like if we get to a final!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Noo wrote: »
    My plan...get up just before 6 and go back to bed after. Its really not that difficult.

Theres something a lot easier about getting up earlier for something like this than getting up for say work or something, and knowing that it'll be finished by 7.30 and it'll still be early enough to go back to bed if one so wishes.

Going back to bed after a match like this just seems... strange. Would you not be so wired you won't sleep for 48 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Going back to bed after a match like this just seems... strange. Would you not be so wired you won't sleep for 48 hours?

indeed

tbh I am likely to sky+ it and just watch it at a bit more reasonable time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

It's a no-brainer! Just get out of bed you lazy bunch! :-)

I got up at 6am for the Russia game! (yes, I know... I'm a hero) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

.ak wrote: »
    Have a few friends over friday night, few beers n' smokes to help knock me out, up at 5.30, set up the projector, then contemplate if I could eat or not due to nerves... Kettle on and then settle for one of the hardest to call matches of the tournement....

Leave half a smoke in the ashtray. Will sort out the nerves and the appetite in no-time.

As for coffee, I had 2 before the Russia game and it was a bit of a mistake as I had to squeeze my sphincter from the 10th minute through to halftime, before blowing out wine, beer and fajita sharts from the night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Get out of the feckin' bed - get up off of yizzer holes and watch the feckin' match.

Happily for me, this time the match is actually on at a good time - 1:00am (I'm five hours behind Ireland) so I'll be sitting down with a few tins, watch the match and go to bed. The only thing is that it's going to be damned difficult to sleep - no matter what happens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

There is no way in hell I would ever not watch this game live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

Well, I'm getting up at 04:45, shower and cereal, followed by a short drive into town to watch the game in a pub in town with a few other Irish. Beer and breakfast rolls will be the order of the morning! Back in bed before noon for a snooze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,284 ✭✭✭✭LXFlyer

For goodness sakes - just (for one Friday) go to bed by 11pm. Get up for 0545, watch the game, and then at some stage during the day go for a nap! That is what I'll be doing.

I could not imagine not watching this game live.

Reading some of the posts online you would believe that getting up at 6am is impossible! As someone who gets up every weekday morning at 6am and enjoys his weekend lie-ins, I think I'd be prepared to make that sacrifice for one morning!

Oh i completely agree. But just knowing I can simply go back to bed always makes it so much easier for me to get up. Pretty sure the adrenaline will be pumping and i'll be too wired to but its always good to know when in that 6am sleepy state.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

i don't see they big deal it's about an hour earlier than usual?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I'm planning on getting up for the game and making myself a big dirty fry with a cup of tea. Once the game is over it will be back to bed for a couple of hours or more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

Jasus!

Only one other person is going to watch the second quarter final!

I will be watching both of them live but I will probably record the two Sunday games and start watching them at 9am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭EASYbeingCHEESY

Sky + :eek::(
    jaysus ill be so wired come saturday evening ill have trouble sleeping.
    I could hardly sleep the night before the Italian game,was up nearly every hour,Got to 3 oclock and didnt bother I had to get up get washed and ready and put on my rugby shirt:pand watch the earlier matches.

as for going back to bed afterwards whats the point,after a match like this your not going to be able to sleep,Plus the England v France game should be a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

Obv. up and lepping around the living room like a mad eejit (Ted) from about 5.30

nice option is that after the saturday jobs are done its Munster Ospreys then Leinster Connacht down the local for celebratory / drown sorrows apres match banter. Few Welsh regulars in there too.... :)

so a LOT of rugby this weekend.... WE CAN DO THIS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Switch off mobile phone, record games before going to bed at normal 2.30AM Saturay morning.

Up at a leisurely 11.30am/12noon, go downstairs and flick through both games bypassing major injury stoppages, lineout delays, halftime adbreaks, substitutions, TVMO stuff etc.
    Rejoin normal world about 2pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Ah finally it's handy that I work for myself and have crazy hours. Last night I fell asleep about 7am and woke up at 3pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Switch off mobile phone, record games before going to bed at normal 2.30AM Saturay morning.

Up at a leisurely 11.30am/12noon, go downstairs and flick through both games bypassing major injury stoppages, lineout delays, halftime adbreaks, substitutions, TVMO stuff etc.
    Rejoin normal world about 2pm.

Gladiator_Thumb_Down_01.gif

Sky + :eek::(
    jaysus ill be so wired come saturday evening ill have trouble sleeping.
    I could hardly sleep the night before the Italian game,was up nearly every hour,Got to 3 oclock and didnt bother I had to get up get washed and ready and put on my rugby shirt:pand watch the earlier matches.

I think you'll have more trouble sleeping saturday evening from all the pain of kicking yourself for missing the match live that morning :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭EASYbeingCHEESY

ahh your right!Im all ready feeling the nerves,im getting my days mixed up :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

get up, watch the game, scream your head off if they win so you ruin the result for the lazy neighbours who didn't get up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

My is as it has always been for this world cup. Wake up between midnight and 3am, watch Ireland vs Australia and Wales vs South Africa to get hyped. Watch the match at 6am, spend the day celebrating. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Sky+ plus I'm afraid!

Btw..has anybody seen that advertisement on ITV where the England team are there with this guy in the morning as he gets up to watch one of the games. Tis very good, can't find it on youtube.

Hope to god Ireland can get through! First semi-final would be the pinnacle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Am I the only one doing an all nighter?
    Going to a going away party Friday night for a friend and most of us are all planning to power through!
    Shouldn't have any problem sleeping after the game whatever the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

first world problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭daaave

dump the 3 kids over to mammy's friday night,few bottles in the local,hit the bed for normal 1.30am. 3hour power nap-set up projector, call into town,pick up the mates and any other random celebrants that the zafira can fit.back to mine,plenty of beer followed by some more beer.

you can sleep when your dead.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭littleman

my plan,get up 5.45.kinda walk the gf,throw the dog out the back,put the kettle on,make tea,switch on the 50inch tv in the sitting room and try not to wake the rest of the house up,head back to bed,convince the gf to watch the lenister game and then head to the pub to either celebrate or drown my sorrows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Game is on at 1am Sat morn Boston time...so i'm gona hit a 'couple' of bars beforehand then head over to a friends and order pizza and booze and watch the game...then celebrate on the empty streets of Boston at 4am.

• get up at 5:50am, stick the tv on but not too loud so the new flatmates don't freak out at me. Have the laptop on the coffee table in front with Skype set up to home so I have someone to watch the freakin thing with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭MrDerp

Am I the only one doing an all nighter?
    Going to a going away party Friday night for a friend and most of us are all planning to power through!
    Shouldn't have any problem sleeping after the game whatever the result.

Half time is your enemy, you'll have your blood up for the first half and the come down at half time, combined with alcohol, might push you into sleep. I strongly recommend you spend half time on your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭munster_mafia

Have the mattress pulled out into the living room, I'll wake up at 5.30 have a coffee and something to eat, put on Itv. Wake herself at 5.58 throw the leg over and be ready for the anthems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Off to a stag in Cork today so the plan is to push on through...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I think I'll set the recorder just in case..........

(Russia game, hadn't intended to get up. Woke at 20 to 7 - grand I'll get up now for the 2nd half...next thing looked at clock and it was 9:05 :()

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Wisesmurf

- Start the pints at about 6 tonight. Going to the darts in Citywest and hopefully catching the football game too (how the f*** did I forget the darts and soccer overlapped)

- Push through 'till about 2:30 and hope to be well oiled

- Home for the 3 hr power-nap and set the "superalarm clock" (tactical elbow in the ribs from the missus, who will be going to bed early ensuring she gets up and therefore, I get up)

- Half-time fry up

-

-

- Profit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

I'm up NOW for the match. Now to find random strangers outside to scrummage against for the next 21 hours. Might throw in a few choke tackles too. Oh, and a dirty aul fry up at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i think its a case of having to get up early, it'll be difficult to not to know the score..what with neighbours beeping horns cheering if we win ..or utter silence if we lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Trevor Kent

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Off to a stag in Cork today so the plan is to push on through...

Hmmmm its not the stag of a certain Rugby mad, Mountain biking mad teacher is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

1. Go to bed Friday night around 11
    2. Get up at 5, have a shower (cant function without one)
    3. 5.30 head into Clohessys bar in Limerick with a few mates.
    4. Watch match while eating a big duuurty fry
    5. Head home and watch the England France Game
    6. Probably have a snooze till around 1.
    7. Do whatever i need to do and watch the Leinster Game
    8. Head to Thomond Park to watch Munster Play Ospreys.
    9. Go to town and get plastered at the fact all Irish teams won (hopefully)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

cronin_j wrote: »
    1. Go to bed Friday night around 11
    2. Get up at 5, have a shower (cant function without one)
    3. 5.30 head into Clohessys bar in Limerick with a few mates.
    4. Watch match while eating a big duuurty fry
    5. Head home and watch the England France Game
    6. Probably have a snooze till around 1.
    7. Do whatever i need to do and watch the Leinster Game
    8. Head to Thomond Park to watch Munster Play Ospreys.
    9. Go to town and get plastered at the fact all Irish teams won (hopefully)

Go to schools match mid morning, AIL game in afternoon and its rugby all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Go to schools match mid morning, AIL game in afternoon and its rugby all day!

Shannon 1st are in Cork playing Con so that rules that out. Although their u21's are playing cresent in Connagh at 2.30