Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Next President

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

Agreed.

terrible candidates.

norris is getting shown up to be extremely dodgy.

davis and cronyism.

mcguinness and ...

gallagher and dodgy business but thats not uncommon at his level.

mitchell has an outside chance.

dana needs a new hobby.

i like micky at 4/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

i like micky at 4/7.

So does Norris, but I heard its more like 24/7 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Haha I always thought Aston was a bit fruity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

MDH now 11/8 with paddypower

Lads am I correct in thinking I saw Gallagher at 25/1 about a week ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭JimmyAlfonso

I doubt you saw 25/1.

I checked PP the night of the prime time debate (weds?) and I think MDH was about 4/7 and Gallagher was 5/2. Doubt he'd have gone all the way in to 5/2 in 2 or 3 days? Maybe there was a early week poll though that changed that.

It may have been two weeks ago.

Before that poll that came out originally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Lads am I correct in thinking I saw Gallagher at 25/1 about a week ago?

Could easily have been out that far three weeks back. He's 8/15 now, very short price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

So does Norris, but I heard its more like 24/7 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭DB74

Gallagher was generally 25/1 on the morning of 05-Oct (40/1 in a couple of places). Then 2 opinion polls came out which gave him ~ 20%. He was best price 2/1 about 2 days later.

DB74 wrote: »
    Gallagher was generally 25/1 on the morning of 05-Oct (40/1 in a couple of places). Then 2 opinion polls came out which gave him ~ 20%. He was best price 2/1 about 2 days later.

Hope he had a few quid on himself...

Or rather, hope Dana had a few quid on him given she might have to pay for her entire campaign herself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,240 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I put 2quid on him at 50 and 40 during the first debate. When I checked after VB he was 5/2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭AstonMartin

Best person for the job imo and a sound lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

I see MMG is out to 16's might be worth a tenner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

with days to go, gallagher is the favourite and god we're gullible. I'll be lumping on MDH @7/2 tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Great bet Michael D 7/2.
    If that Seán Gallagher is elected, then i think we deserve everything we get in this country and i dont want to hear any one else moaning.
    Are people that foolish to back a F.F hack and that is all he is a FF candidate in everything but name.

at at the start, i thought he only entered the race because of his ego or a joke and the fact that he is ahead inthe polls speaks volumes how stupid we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

going to lump on md 7/2. gallagher will implode next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭REFLINE1

7/2 On MDH is ridic value imo- all over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Have to agree, how can a 1/4 shot during the week suddenly go to 7/2 after a couple of opinion polls which could be way off on the day.
    MD is a better bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Derek!

Are they takin bets on the next president bein a big arsehole?
    cause i'm pretty sure that's the way it's gonna be

MDH Now 7/4 (pp) and 2/1 (bs)

I'd say Boyles are planking themselves after paying out on MDH on Friday :eek:.

Put a few quid on MDH at 2.8 on Betfair today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

im thinking 100 on michael d,surely these opinion polls are skewed.When it comes down to it the voters are going to be middle aged to older people.

E100 on mdh
    E2 cover bets on mcguinness and norris (never know)

Not one person i have asked have said they will vote for Gallagher and ive asked a good few people from all backgrounds, lots going for Michael D, so yes i think these polls are skewed.

Newstalk poll has MDH ahead. 5/2 biggest now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Backed MDH at 5/2 with PP after reading this thread.
    Heres hoping.

I'd back it but I have my ****ing balance on Shams,and the match is postponed.

Does my bet roll over to the rescheduled game?

I'd say it does but you could try ringing and get it cancelled.
    You could say u were going tonight and cant tomorrow.

Most bookies have a 24 hr rule which means the bets stand if the game is played within 24 hours.
    I'm sure you could cancel it if you ring them but I'd say it will only work for singles as you could want collecting on a double/treble and the bookie may want to stand the last leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

get on higgins fast, gallaher been tore apart on the frontline debate

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Backed MDH at 5/2 with PP after reading this thread.
    Heres hoping.

6/4 now with PP, just had a few pound on myself

Just tried to have more on higgins, says price changed to 4/7 and suspended

Betting now suspended, Sean G is toast now after the frontline.

8/11 MDH with PP.
    What a market :eek:.

Everybodys suspended betting now :eek:

This 5k cheque is going to be trouble for SG tomorrow.

So now we know how everyone on the gambling forum is voting...

What happened Gal???

How in the **** does Betpack not have the Irish election?

Jonjo whats your opinion on backing Gallagher in the morning to cover stakes on Higgins or let it ride ?.

Everyone saying he has blown it yet Higgins 1.74 on betfair and Gallagher 2.66 as l type.

PP now offering 8/11 Higgins and 1/1 Gallagher.

If the match isn't played within 24hrs the bet is void?

Lumped money on MDH yesterday. Looking good after tonight.

Jonjo whats your opinion on backing Gallagher in the morning to cover stakes on Higgins or let it ride ?.

Everyone saying he has blown it yet Higgins 1.74 on betfair and Gallagher 2.66 as l type.

How much have you on Higgins?

€115 at 5/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jemmyboy

I say sit tight on it now.......if anything sg is only going to drift more!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

this must be money in the bank shame its not at least evens.Didnt get a chance to get cash on this and wont be able to get any on it till wednesday so hopefully he wont come in that much!!

€115 at 5/2

Let it role.

jemmyboy wrote: »
    I say sit tight on it now.......if anything sg is only going to drift more!!!

He's in to 2.22 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Thanks to this thread (and a friend) I've a small bit on Higgins at 11/4 with PP.

Friend has been saying for weeks that Higgins is the only one who looked like a president (sound reasoning) and was planning on lumping on at 4/9 a couple of weeks back but didn't have the funds. AFAIK when Higgins dropped to 11/8 he got him then so fingers crossed for him, me and the majority of people in this thread :D