LIVELINE Thread - (05/10/11 to 14/02/2012)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Who would have thought Eddie would write for such a quality newspaper as 'The Star'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Not only has the emperor got no clothes, he's short his skin and most of his vital organs as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

telekon wrote: »
    The raising of the VAT rate is a big ruse...watch as the government drops the VAT rate back to 21% in 2015 right before the next election...:rolleyes:

if they were serious about getting this country they would drop it to max of 20%

and

for service intensive , say, restaurant drop to 5%

but civil servants cant think on their feet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Joe loves giving out about public sector pensions, cos he's no longer entitled to a public sector pension (now that he's a contractor)... He's not so aggressive about attacking public sector wages, as he is earning a multiple of most of the higher paid public sector workers.. And as such is vulnerable and open to accusations of hypocrisy himself..

(in short, he's a bit of a b*ll*x)

Because we'll just keep borrowing to pay and taxing to pay the borrowing costs...it all falls apart long before any of us see a f*ckin' cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Yep, good man Joe. Talk over her there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭sudzs

(in short, he's a bit of a b*ll*x)

A bit????

Wertz wrote: »
    Because we'll just keep borrowing to pay and taxing to pay the borrowing costs...it all falls apart long before any of us see a f*ckin' cent.

Its a vicious circle with no end in sight. This country is f*cked.

sudzs wrote: »
    A bit????

Didnt want to get barred from Radio forum (again) for using the full b*ll*x.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I'm always wary about agreeing with Eddie Hobbs, but he is 100% right.

The public sector pension model is archaic, over generous, and bankrupt.

Its a vicious circle with no end in sight. This country is f*cked.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15748696

Very interesting way of seeing who owes what to who in the banking web...and pensions or other stuff doesn't figure in to that.

According the Irish one each on of us owes just short of €400,000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

mmm. fudge.

Who did he say.. Chris Cringle?

Oh ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Wow. No VAT on golf club fees? If that's not unjust I'll eat my hat.

Any of ye photoshoppers out there might be able to do something with Joe Duffy's latest ego trip ...

0005358e.jpg

Wertz wrote: »
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-15748696

Very interesting way of seeing who owes what to who in the banking web...and pensions or other stuff doesn't figure in to that.

According the Irish one each on of us owes just short of €400,000.

Even worse than I thought. I wish you hadn't posted that. At least I have a fresh rant for the pub later tonight. :(

One of the girls in the office.... :rolleyes:

Jaysus I'll pay her a fiver to shut up.

Well done.

Wow. No VAT on golf club fees? If that's not unjust I'll eat my hat.

Have you any idea how much of a necessity golf is to business in this country?
    Tax breaks for people who built them and their associated hotesl too don't forget.

Joe is a patronising git... :(

I love a bit of Dino's. Well done, well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

"How many people do you employ?"

Oh lots, cardiovascular specialists, gym managers...

Also, I would prefer if Joe charged for all these ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

no wonder ad revenue is going through the floor - just ring Joe for free instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Ah the old health food store in a small irish town...theres a sustainable business model..

Skid wrote: »
    Any of ye photoshoppers out there might be able to do something with Joe Duffy's latest ego trip ...
    0005358e.jpg

I'll do up something ... This is just too good to pass it by... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

"Well done, well done"

Well done for stealing his idea Joe.

"Lala land"

You get a "Well done" for having a name now? :confused:

As was said before, your man's original idea was nothing like the plug-fest into which Joe Duffy has turned 'Fiver Friday'.

Even worse than I thought. I wish you hadn't posted that. At least I have a fresh rant for the pub later tonight. :(

To click from us to Greece is the real shaker. and they're the ones in red? pffft

Of course the only reason we owe that much is the banking guarantee and private debt piled into the sovereign. 1096% of GDP.