Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you find other games frustrating/boring/mediocre?

• 03-10-2011 10:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭

Hey guys,

I traded in MW2 a few weeks back and am currently codless. I'm finding it unbelievably hard to get into any other game, and there's only a minority of games i can tolerate. How many of you feel the same? What games do you find engaging?For me I have a small list;

Metal Gear Solid series
    Resistance series
    Gears of War series
    Geometry wars
    FF(7-10)

So, what other games do you play, what do you find good and whats rubbish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

I stoped playing black-ops a long time ago , ment to give it another go recently but the disc was too scratched.
    I havent been on too much recently but i like gears 3 .
    Two games i always go back to are halo wars (360) and rise of nations on the pc .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

I'm back on MW2 after about 9 months on blops. I do find other games dull. Bought Deus Ex and am bored stupid with it after about half an hour. Also got MLB The Show. Couldn't hit ball gave up after ten minutes. Crysis 2 couldn't get into it.

Everybodys Golf World Tour - small but fanatical online community. This and COD are the games I spend most time on. MW2 and Everybody's Golf have saved me a fortune 'cos I didn't buy a game for a year because of them.
    Uncharted Series
    Resistance Series - Can't get into R3 MP though
    God of War 1-3
    Dantes Inferno - actually not bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

GoW3 and Halo Reach mostly these days.
    In the past week I have played Bioshock 2, Darksiders, Hydrophobia, MtG: DotP, Left4Dead 2, Company of Heroes and Minecraft. I also enjoy Frozen Synapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Football manager and Rome total war are my go to games. In terms of immersion and killing time they can't be beat for me.

With FPS you can't really do marathon sessions all the time as the constant intensity kills you and you come away drained and shell shocked. After a certain point I think you're just punishing yourself and you're ultimately just spoiling your enjoyment.

But with the above you can have moments of quiet parts interspersed with major happenings requiring all your faculties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

it can be hard to adjust to a slower paced game after playing COD for so long. I like slower games though, picked up Ico/Shadow of the Colossus yesterday and its a nice change from blowing sh1t up all the time. of recent months I've played (mw2 nonwithstanding)

Gears 3
    Alan Wake
    Red Dead
    Splinter Cell
    Vanquish (more blowing sh1t up but with soooo much style :D )

so a nice mix of games, COD is grand to just jump into and shoot people in their faces for a while. theres no long term commitment or following a story in it you're just playing the MP for the most part (I will play the campaign again before MW3 comes out though) unlike something like say, Heavy Rain or Metal Gear where you're invested in the story and if you go long periods without playing it lose what you were doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

I think I'm the opposite, before cod I was a single player gamer I really loved great stories in games. For the last 3 years up till about 6 months ago all I played was cod until I got Portal 2 and that reminded me how much I enjoyed single player. Since then I've played through Portal 2, Mass Effect 2, Red Dead and currently going through Dead Island. I only really play cod now when someone invites me. It's so much more enjoyable than getting frustrated with all of cod's annoyances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

Thomasheen wrote: »
    I think I'm the opposite, before cod I was a single player gamer I really loved great stories in games. For the last 3 years up till about 6 months ago all I played was cod until I got Portal 2 and that reminded me how much I enjoyed single player. Since then I've played through Portal 2, Mass Effect 2, Red Dead and currently going through Dead Island. I only really play cod now when someone invites me. It's so much more enjoyable than getting frustrated with all of cod's annoyances

+1 on that dude, been going through as many single player games as I can now. I really did miss narative and progression reward from story based games.
    Deus ex is a prime example, would really recomend it if you want a first class single player experience. With Rage and arkham city this month we should have some great singe player days ahead.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 6,337 Mod ✭✭✭✭PerrinV2

yimrsg wrote: »
    Football manager and Rome total war are my go to games. In terms of immersion and killing time they can't be beat for me.

With FPS you can't really do marathon sessions all the time as the constant intensity kills you and you come away drained and shell shocked. After a certain point I think you're just punishing yourself and you're ultimately just spoiling your enjoyment.

But with the above you can have moments of quiet parts interspersed with major happenings requiring all your faculties.

Currently have 08,10, and 11 iterations of that installed on this laptop but this may be the first time in about 12 years I may not be getting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

I'm playing CoD4 loads, I love it!

I still try play as much as I can, playing Ratchet & Clank and C&C at the moment, trying to get back into story modes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

I've kept all my COD games just in case I ever wanted a quick game of any of them.

The only other games I play are Fifa series and Tiger series, tried Halo for 5 minutes (whatever the latest one was) and hated it with a passion. I got bored with Tiger 12 quite quickly, just picked up Fifa 12 and liking it so far.

However, when someone calls me a "Halo jumping cnut!" playing COD, I now understand the reference!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

fallout and gears are big one for me lately. i was excited about black ops but i kinda found it lacking after a few months. not sure if its the actual game itself though or more to do with the fact that modern warfare 2 (despite having played both single and multiplayer on other games) was my first big online game. and everything after that was just kinda boring . rocking gears horde mode though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I am so bored of cod right now, I no longer even look forward to playing it at ridiculous hours of the night playing with boardsies. Hopefully that'll change once MW3 comes out. Just playing FIFA 12 and the BF3 Beta right now, not really into single player games.
    And OP, I used to also find other games boring like you, I only played COD. You'll get bored of MW2 all the time too, it's only a matter of time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

fjsanchez wrote: »
    I am so bored of cod right now, I no longer even look forward to playing it at ridiculous hours of the night playing with boardsies. Hopefully that'll change once MW3 comes out. Just playing FIFA 12 and the BF3 Beta right now, not really into single player games.
    And OP, I used to also find other games boring like you, I only played COD. You'll get bored of MW2 all the time too, it's only a matter of time :D

except using a riot shield/c4 setup to wreck booster games, that sh1t never gets old :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I find the same, FPS games just ain't the same for me, the feeling and movement of COD is better than any other game, well I think so anyways...

But on the other hand, I really enjoyed some other games, I love Call of Jaurez, it was one of the best games I played, I enjoyed the era of it, the feel of it, all things like that..

Mafia 2 was another brilliant game.. The whole story to it was brilliant from start to finish.

I also always find myself going back to such things as GTA and the likes..

Heavy Rain was another great game.. really enjoyed that. and the need for speed games are quite good too...

Anyways, that was more of a ramble than I expected, so yeah...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Im one of those people that actually likes most genres of games. Pretty much all of these games i prefer over CoD... its just they're mostly single player games and the only MP games i like on console are shooters (CoD).

Zelda
    Half Life + CS + TF
    Older battlefield games
    Dragon Age
    The Witcher (Haven't played the second one but i know it's awesome)
    Deus Ex
    God of War
    Metal Gear
    RTS games like warcraft/company of heroes/age of empires
    Demonsouls/Darksouls
    Broken Sword
    Gears of war
    Mass Effect
    Diablo
    Elderscrolls
    Quake
    UT
    + LOADS more

Games im not all that fond of

GTA + Red Dead (I just got bored of GTA too quick)
    Most sports games (Mostly because i get bored really quickly, not because i think they're bad)
    probably a few more obvious ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭tonsiltickler

I just picked up gow3 today. I'm just gobsmacked at how epic it is. I've been missing playing single player games lately. Been looking at skyrim too and hope it'll be good.

Saying that i'm getting excited about mw3, i need some cod in my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I just picked up gow3 today. I'm just gobsmacked at how epic it is. I've been missing playing single player games lately. Been looking at skyrim too and hope it'll be good.

Saying that i'm getting excited about mw3, i need some God in my life!
    The Lord will bring you through these dark gaming days. Amen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I have a few CoD games, albeit not many. I, along with many more i'd imagine, tend to ignore other games in lieu of playing cod in a party.

I was always a more mp rather than sp focussed player, so you could say that it just aggravated the problem :p

Loving GT5 atm, still have to finish UC2 (inb4 teh ade and krudler beatings) as well as a few PS2 games I downloaded out of nostalgia like crash bandicoot, spyro 1 and others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

I'm playing demon souls on the ps3.one seriously fukking annoying game.it is so fecking hard.my 5th or 6th time giving it a go.Its excellent and seriously annoying at the same time.

also playing civ5 on the pc.

will be getting skyrim and bf3 on the pc and mw3 on the ps3 so the 2 games above will keep me going till then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,462 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

It's only been COD for me for the last two years, no point in playing any other games they just bore me

Maxed out BLOPS with 17 days+ playtime (BF3 demo just really did nothing for me)
    I'll start the quest again on MW3

But afraid I won't be buying any other game, probably will sign up to elite as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭hypermuse

If anyone is looking for a timekiller then get elder scrolls: Skyrim when it comes out (11.11.11)...

Its gonna be immense but gotta be somewhat dedicated to it.. you wont get a feel for it if you just give it an hour n that's it!!

more excited bout skyrim than MW3

imo skyrim>BF3>MW3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Thomasheen

Also Saints Row the Third looks like crazy fun to dick around on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

Battlefield Bad Company 2

But then again, COD players will go back to playing with their bouncy ball or riding their little bikes & other kid's stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

mozattack wrote: »

But then again, COD players will go back to playing with their bouncy ball or riding their little bikes & other kid's stuff.
    I haven't played a different game from Bad Company 2 since November 2010 (excluding BF3 Beta)... what the hell am I going to do?

Was thinking MW2 as I can get a loan of it for 2 weeks or so but I hate the look of the game as it is better suited for my 7 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Went back to BC2 yesterday and was bored (first time ever since I bought the game a year ago) so lost to what I am going to do.

Tempted to try Modern Warfare 2 until the 28th. What ya reckon?

:rolleyes::):rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

Feel free to have an open discussion, but less of the CoD bashing, thanks.

edit - just to add, post like that again and you can take a break from this place. Despite all claims by BF fans that their community is more mature than COD, I've seen little evidence to agree with that. You're post is fuel to the fire and you come across as very hypocritical too. So cop on to yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

I find a lot of the FPS to be generally the same format. I currently play a LOT of MW2 online, even tried playing the single player of that recently, and it just couldn't hold my attention, I found it a lot less enjoyable than the MP.

I don't like the format of Gears (the over the shoulder, cover and shoot), nor am I mad about the BF series (have played BC2, while it's a nice break from MW2, it just feels so slow, but I still trhow it on every now and then).

All that aside, I think I could play Fable 2 every day until I die and never grow bored. Absolutely love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,464 ✭✭✭e_e

Deus Ex: Human Revolution, Disgaea 3, LA Noire, Portal 2 and Catherine are the games I've really enjoyed lately. :)

It's really worthwhile to step away from COD every so often and get into something more immersive and atmospheric (but then again I don't mind slower paced games or movies). Having said that I can't get into Battlefield at all. :o