Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is a Great Country

• 02-10-2011 1:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

Despite the shite that's piled upon us.

Despite the doom & gloom bollox that's served up to us daily on a plate by the Tv & radio.

Despite all that, we are a sound bunch of people.

Just thought I'd say that because no-one else seems to be saying that these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Its not too bad at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

It would be a great country if you didn't have to live here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I thought it was the Chinese who were "a great bunch of lads" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Did you just get laid...... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

That's because it's bollocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

charlemont wrote: »
    Its not too bad at all.

It's not at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

i like cake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I'd prefer to live here than anywhere else. Such nice people, friendly, funny, and positive... for the most part anyway.

Ireland is pretty great! 'cept Leitrem. Hardly a county at all!

robbie_998 wrote: »
    i like cake

I like cheese.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Despite the doom & gloom bollox that's served up to us daily on a plate by the Tv & radio.

Just thought I'd say that because no-one else seems to be saying that these days.

Ah fook it - I will just post this
    IS this one of those moments where in a few hours time you will wake up feeling flustered and hung over and sleepy thinking, with your hand to your head, WHAT THE FCUK WAS I POSTING ON BOARDS.IE LAST NIGHT!!!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭HazDanz

I like cheese.
    robbie_998 wrote: »
    i like cake

And I like cheese cake.

Ireland is sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Well said Sir.

Tis a great accident of birth to be born here and a good start in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

irelands never had a proper chance where it was just left the fock alone.

its like a drunk thats fallen down right outside his door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I like cheese.

you need a fianna fail government

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Don't believe all you read in the papers.

mackg wrote: »
    you need a fianna fail government

No one needs a Fianna Fail government.

Not ever,

Not really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Someone put on the kittle there.

Fago! wrote: »
    I'd prefer to live here than anywhere else. Such nice people, friendly, funny, and positive... for the most part anyway.

Leitrim has a scary amount of sexy women in it.

Seriously - it gets dissed, but it has more than it's fair share of fair maidens to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Spread wrote: »
    Don't believe all you read in the papers.

or see or hear, especially on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

We are a great country.

Fu*k anyone that would tell you different.

Live rugby in Hi Def on TV, Live MMA on UFC.tv, netbook on the lap in a positive thread about Ireland, few cans,

This feels good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Leitrim has a scary amount of sexy women in it.

Seriously - it gets dissed, but it has more than it's fair share of fair maidens to it.

Would they be from the fair in Ballinamore, would they? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

No one needs a Fianna Fail government.

Not ever,

Not really.

Thought you said you liked cheese? they were giving the stuff away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 I enjoy piss

I believe in a united Kildare. our day our daily bread will come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Well I suppose we believe that we're great but I'm not sure do the rest of the world feel the same way. I experienced plenty of Anti Irish abuse worldwide in my travels, most noticeably in Sydney where I was turned down for jobs because I was Irish on 3 separate occasions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭s20101938

I beg to differ. Irish people on the whole, are belligerent as5holes. A bunch of smart ar5es, "slagging" is the height of their cultural wit. They have persecution and inferiority complexes, and they never shut the fukc up about being Irish, like anyone cares.

They are also ugly as sin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭fat__tony

s20101938 wrote: »
    I beg to differ. Irish people on the whole, are belligerent as5holes. A bunch of smart ar5es, "slagging" is the height of their cultural wit. They have persecution and inferiority complexes, and they never shut the fukc up about being Irish, like anyone cares.

Tough crowd!

You're just jealous because you have no friends and everyone hates you.

Just had a quick sconce at your posts and found some of your congealed bile...
    As you're using the term "wan" and "fella" I'll assume you're all skangers. If so, please march to the pier at Kingstown (Dun-o'-the-Leary-Shire) and walk the plank while I sip English Breakfast tea from the Sailing club and laugh. We are returning to England's fold from whence we came. Till we have built Jerusalem, in Englands green & pleasant land. Magnificent England our generous protector I swear loyalty to the Queen and Tony Blair.

God Save our gracious Queen
    God save our glorious Queen....

understood, skangers?

G
    T
    F
    O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 FurryFace

I think its a great country too compared to some of the ****holes some poor folk call home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 swabby

She'd be a great little Country if you could only put a roof on her!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭ballsacky

Who **** in your coco pops?jog on like a good man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Well I suppose we believe that we're great but I'm not sure do the rest of the world feel the same way. I experienced plenty of Anti Irish abuse worldwide in my travels, most noticeably in Sydney where I was turned down for jobs because I was Irish on 3 separate occasions.

You know, I hear some Irish people say this but I've been around the block (;)) and I've only experienced anti-Irishness twice, both by two fat English feckers for absolutely no reason. Probably because I'm always respectful and try to be a good ambassador when abroad.

How do you know you were turned down because you were Irish? They'd hardly say it to you...would they?

In fairness now, Australia is not always known for it's tolerance of foreigners...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Ireland's not half bad, it's ALL BAD!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

I love this country and wouldn't live anywhere else.

Anybody posting otherwise in this thread please visit www.aerlingus.ie and get the fcuk out of here.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

A bunch of smart ar5es, "slagging" is the height of their cultural wit.

Slagging is an actual skill in Ireland!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Fago! wrote: »

You must have been stood up by a Leitrim woman...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭The Quadratic Equation

Blondini wrote: »
    I love this country and wouldn't live anywhere else.

Anybody posting otherwise in this thread please visit www.aerlingus.ie and get the fcuk out of here.

Thank you.

Spoken like a true FF/FGer

Gladly, except your wonderful corrupt scum left me jobless, in negative equity, in a permanently unfinished estate, in a house so badly built it's only fit for knocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Ireland is a horrible country. As soon as i can afford it i'm out of here. The people are ignorant and seem to think everyone owes them something. They are so bitter whenever someone get a tiny bit of success or comes into a bit of money. Without drink most people are awkward and introverted. The majority of extra-curricular activities revolve around drink. There is murder in almost every town, village and city at pub/club closing time every weekend. Junkies and scum roam the capitals city centre.

Others go on about the "Fighting Irish" and how we wouldn't let the Brits take us over and how proud they are to be Irish, while getting screwed to the wall by successive governments. Whinging and moaning about how its the banks fault that they took a massive mortgage on a 2 bed shoebox.

And the whole Irish attitude of "Whats in it for me" that goes from the politicians at the top to the man on the street. Its pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

OUTSTANDING especially after watching that gutsy win over those mamma mia Italians. I only wish I was in New Zealand.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

cjmcork wrote: »
    Slagging is an actual skill in Ireland!:D

I would venture that it is even an art form.

Ireland is a horrible country. As soon as i can afford it i'm out of here. The people are ignorant and seem to think everyone owes them something. They are so bitter whenever someone get a tiny bit of success or comes into a bit of money. Without drink most people are awkward and introverted. The majority of extra-curricular activities revolve around drink. There is murder in almost every town, village and city at pub/club closing time every weekend. Junkies and scum roam the capitals city centre.

Others go on about the "Fighting Irish" and how we wouldn't let the Brits take us over and how proud they are to be Irish, while getting screwed to the wall by successive governments. Whinging and moaning about how its the banks fault that they took a massive mortgage on a 2 bed shoebox.

And the whole Irish attitude of "Whats in it for me" that goes from the politicians at the top to the man on the street. Its pathetic.

Good riddance. Close the door on your way out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Thanks whore

The last thing Ireland needs now are whinging citizens forced to live here. So off you go, and best of luck with your search for Nirvana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

The last thing Ireland needs now are whinging citizens forced to live here. So off you go, and best of luck with your search for Nirvana.

I'm not looking for Nirvana, just somewhere that the Governments sole function isn't to make as much money for themselves and f*ck the people. Where you can go for a night out without having to deal with drunk, ignorant, agressive pricks and where junkies intimidating tourists/taking over parts of the city isn't tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭rasper

I've been abroad many, many years and believe that Ireland is definitely one of the best countrys especially peoplewise.
    I find the people who moan and whinge the most are the ones that don't vote, suffer from the "entitled to" syndrom and lack greatly in any community spirit.
    Yes, we're in trouble at the moment (savage negative equity myself, but still in a job), but if the Euro holds up then we'll pull out of it, yes we have our issues like every country/nationality but at the end of the day, overall we're good people

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Ireland is a drunken nation who don't value education and is bitter towards people who actually work. Ireland is a country where jealousy is rife and we're more interested in not remembering the weekend than we are with actually trying to improve ourselves. We have a stupidly iggnorant view on patriotism where we think we're great but have no real basis for doing so. We don't properly protest any of the ***** thrown down on us, opting instead to moan online and in personal conversations, while electing more idiots year after year. We have a drink problem, a teenage pregnancy problem, an emigration problem and benefit problems accross the country but we ignore this cause it would be difficult to change it.

And worst of all, you can't bring these points up to discuss them and try and change the country for the better, or you get flamed (case and point; the replies below).

I'm not looking for Nirvana, just somewhere that the Governments sole function isn't to make as much money for themselves and f*ck the people. Where you can go for a night out without having to deal with drunk, ignorant, agressive pricks and where junkies intimidating tourists/taking over parts of the city isn't tolerated.

Well if you don't know, you'd better ask Mommy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

ah shur......tis grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Look it's O.K. not being Irish, I'm sure some people somewhere on the planet will still love you. So you don't have the famous Irish charm, wit or intellect, but not being cool is O.K. you know.

Don't worry you'll get by somehow I'm sure and if you're socially retarded, people will accept you for what you are. So don't worry and just get back into your pram like a good little baba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Well then THEY'RE the assholes - that's not to say there aren't a lot of Irish people who act the eejit abroad.

If you're Irish (and it wouldn't surprise me if you were, but arrogant enough to pretend you're not part of the Irish people - you get that a lot here) then you've demonstrated the bolded bit beautifully.

I like Ireland - life is very easy-going, but I personally can't see anything overall fantastic about it. It has great bits, it has not so great bits. We have our particular quirks that make us uniquely Irish - some good, some not so good. I'd agree with the inferiority complex stuff, which manifests itself either as "Ireland is brilliant, don't you dare say otherwise" or "We Irish are a bunch of begrudging, backwards bla bla".
    I personally don't see the need to read too much into nationality.