Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Staying In On Saturday Night

• 01-10-2011 6:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭

Even though I very seldom go out on this night, or any night, I somehow feel it is odd to stay in on Saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Me too, I'm unemployed so it's not like weekends are a drastic change of pace or anything but I always feel like I should doing something fun

Cept I'm on my own in the house and pretty broke. I do have In The Loop though, and some anime yoke about a castle. Might be an auld three cans, two movies, 0 friends night.

Yaaaaaaaaaaay :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I could have gone to see Batman but didn't cause I had plans with girlfriends and didn't want to be bitchy and ditch them for my boyfriend. But then they ditched me last minute anyway :( So stuck in alone now with my new outfit still in the bag.

Feel sorry for me.

Me too, I'm unemployed so it's not like weekends are a drastic change of pace or anything but I always feel like I should doing something fun

Cept I'm on my own in the house and pretty broke. I do have In The Loop though, and some anime yoke about a castle. Might be an auld three cans, two movies, 0 friends night.

Yaaaaaaaaaaay :(

Is it Howl's Moving Castle? I love that film. Howl is a ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Unemployed and no friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I couldn't stay in on a Friday if I was in jail, but almost always stay in on a Sat. Love me Fridays, but needs me recovery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I don't. I rarely go out at all. Tonight is CS:S & TF2 night.

Is it Howl's Moving Castle? I love that film. Howl is a ride.

Sure is! I suppose I'll watch it so, I've found those Studio Ghibli movies to be a bit of a mixed bag but come on like, how bad can a movie with a moving castle be? Especially if I'm pissed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Staying in for the first time in months. I've decided to ditch the partying and get myself fit and this is a part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Final year of PhD means rarely if ever go out on a Saturday night, Sunday is my 6th working day of the week and I hate being all groggy cause I do nothing. So woop, woop, home alone!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

how bad can a movie with a moving castle be?

Rule 34, though can't find a video :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Does anyone want to do this RHCSA studying for me?
    Anyone?
    Please??

Awww :(

amacachi wrote: »
    Rule 34, though can't find a video :(

They're out there man. Those castles are durty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Did the dog on it last night and sat up drinking wine with English friend last night 'till 8am this morning so slept for much of the day. He woke up this morning to find a smashed melon on the ground...I smashed a melon on his kitchen floor and can't remember doing it! ARGH! Absolutely hate that feeling that you've justed wasted most of your day and your weekend. Was supposed to go to a house warming tonight but just made an excuse..want to get up early tomorrow and seize my day. I've got my crazy pants and a hoodie and I'll probably head across the road for a nice bar of chocolate in a sec if I could be arsed and study the auld Spanish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭puddinboxxx

have my little dude every second weekend so im more than happy to be at home watchin scooby doo with him :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Staying in is the new going out. Especially if you're broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I hear you my fellow broke brethren. Not having any monies sucks.:(

I even bought myself some peach sparkling wine for the night :(

Might just drink it anyway. Alone and crying in bed. Sure what else would ya be doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

sat night can suck if you dont have the means/company/opportunity to go out.

but its good to remember that not EVERYONE goes out and partys.
    the sick, the old, the broke, people with problems....the lazy etc etc
    count your blessings

although many do party most hearty sat night is a bit false too.

theres no rule to stop you going to the city alone and just observing a little if really bored ....... but just dont get caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Might just drink it anyway. Alone and crying in bed. Sure what else would ya be doing?

Why would you be crying? 'cos you're in on a Sat or 'cos you've only peach wine to drink??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

If you do, drink it through a straw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

"Sure what else would you be doing" haha

Wine makes me cry. I get very weepy after a few too many glasses. Something that might be getting me down is amplified by a million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Better than working. Bah, three hours to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

I try and stay in as much as possible, people are scary and when i have a few beers i can start hearing there thoughts :( well its not there thoughts its voices in my head but it scares me too much so i stay in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Better than working being at my place of work. Bah, three hours to go.

Work harder, dammit :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

Also either the Tele either presumes there no-one is in watching it, OR they are in league with the drinks industry to force everyone to go out.

I console myself that at least I wont be hungover on Sunday, but that is the only useful thing about Irish Sundays, they are only good for a hangover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

4leto wrote: »
    Even though I very seldom go out on this night, or any night, I somehow feel it is odd to stay in on Saturday night.

it feels weird for me because i'm so popular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Better than working. Bah, three hours to go.

Nearly 2 hours tic toc!

Hot damn my change jar stretched further than I thought! Bottle of wine, AND a can, AND nibbles, yeehaw! Must have been at the self-service thing for about ten minutes, thank god the place was nearly empty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

If you did the stats, i'd say i've been out about 5% of saturday nights in the last 3 years. I'd say one in five (20%) would be good, wouldnt enjoy being out so much that it gets repetitive

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

have my little dude every second weekend so im more than happy to be at home watchin scooby doo with him :D

Those precious moments don't last long as they grow up fast.
    Make the most of them and fair play to you. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

I could have gone to see Batman but didn't cause I had plans with girlfriends and didn't want to be bitchy and ditch them for my boyfriend.
    Ditching girlfriends for the boyfriend= no no no. Ditching girlfriends for BATMAN= yes yes yes. Whole other story!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

I'm living on my own in France and don't know anyone to go out with yet.
    >pathetic<

Off the booze til xmas (broke/trying to lose weight) so I planned to do some college work.

I'm on boards. Says it all really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

How so Joe wrote: »
    >pathetic<

Any Irish pubs near?
    You'll soon be chatting and making friends hopefully.

>pathetic<

Just go out on your own, you may meet someone and if you don't its still a change of scene.

I have no quibs about going out on my own, but I do remember the first time it felt awkward but then you do it again and you get comfortable with it.

Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Do you stay in and be bored on the weekends?

or are you forced to stay in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Im held at gunpoint :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Matthew23

it can be a good chance to stay in and masturbate. i cant **** in my room because my mom always walks in without knocking and shes always upstairs. when my rents go out at weekends and my brother and sisters are gone i can have a naked **** and not worry about getting caught. and i can sleep naked too!

go out for cans with the lads midweek tho...

Biggins wrote: »
    Any Irish pubs near?
    You'll soon be chatting and making friends hopefully.
    I've had a look, but all the Irish pubs seem very French, and my French isn't great. But it's on the books. Once I screw up the courage to go out on my own!
    Just go out on your own, you may meet someone and if you don't its still a change of scene.

I have no quibs about going out on my own, but I do remember the first time it felt awkward but then you do it again and you get comfortable with it.

Go for it.
    I don't know why I thought it would be a good idea to come over here on my own considering how dependent on human company I am, but it's a bit late to complain about it now. Going out on my own, I always find really strange and awkward. But I'll give it a go - I've no other options!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

I am so happy to be chilling on the couch right now. I can hear the boys aka the BF and his son in fits of laughter upstairs. Good times. Would not want to be out in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭jluv

Sat night out not all it's cracked up to be. But Sat night in with €6 bottle of wine,x factor and boards especially anyone following Duggy747's thread(although he's gone out now!) is not so bad. And Sun will be a much brighter day than it would be with massive hangover:)

I've had a look, but all the Irish pubs seem very French, and my French isn't great. But it's on the books. Once I screw up the courage to go out on my own!

I don't know why I thought it would be a good idea to come over here on my own considering how dependent on human company I am, but it's a bit late to complain about it now. Going out on my own, I always find really strange and awkward. But I'll give it a go - I've no other options!

Ah you can do it! Imagine now if you go out on your own in France, going out on your own in Ireland will be a pure doddle, you're getting more out of this than someone who has no bother going out on their own would. And jesus like, you moved to another country where you don't speak the language all on your own, even if you don't manage to go out or anything that's still pretty ballsy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭RobitTV

Some people cant afford to go out i suppose. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

What makes it worse is that my apartment's attached to a bar so all I can hear is music and people having fun :(

Ah you can do it! Imagine now if you go out on your own in France, going out on your own in Ireland will be a pure doddle, you're getting more out of this than someone who has no bother going out on their own would. And jesus like, you moved to another country where you don't speak the language all on your own, even if you don't manage to go out or anything that's still pretty ballsy
    Ah, but I've no reason to go out on my own in Ireland, there's plenty of people who'd head out with me.
    I'm only here for a couple of months anyways, 'cause I'm in college until Christmas. So it's not all bad!
    Also, as previously stated, staying in on boards ain't too bad. =)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Im drinking a cup of tea and eating a biscuit and watching match of the day,thats about as exciting as it going to get tonight for me :)

Ah, but I've no reason to go out on my own in Ireland, there's plenty of people who'd head out with me.
    I'm only here for a couple of months anyways, 'cause I'm in college until Christmas. So it's not all bad!
    Also, as previously stated, staying in on boards ain't too bad. =)

Ah right, had for some reason imagined you were over there after uprooting your life after bad break-up/job loss/other crisis of some sort :D Boards of a Saturday night is pretty decent really, I can hear a ****ty club from my living room and I'd much rather be here tbh. All the cool kids are at home and online on the weekends dontchaknow

Im drinking a cup of tea and eating a biscuit and watching match of the day,thats about as exciting as it going to get tonight for me :)

LOL
    Snap,, well toast instead of a biscuit, perhaps next Saturday I will go mad and have a biscuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

I'm in tonight because I over did it last night and am still not able to eat.

FML, and all self-inflicted.

That and the rugby is on tomorrow :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

LOL
    Snap,, well toast instead of a biscuit, perhaps next Saturday I will go mad and have a biscuit.

Well im working tomorrow and im wreaked so i cant wait to go to bed :)