Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen Volvo V70 R Recovered - Hooray for Tabnabs!!!

• 01-10-2011 2:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭

Hi All

Please be aware of this car, a very rare 2004 Volvo V70 R estate, stolen from <SNIP> yesterday evening, at 5.50pm, in an estate full of kids.

These guys stole the keys from inside a house in daylight, (with kids/adults in the house) didn't care, crashing it twice in the <SNIP>, (loosing the front bumper) with kids everywhere. They also were seen driving like lunatics all around <snip>.

A very unusual car, with an even rarer colour, aqua tourquise.

I know it is a small chance, but if you see or hear about this car, please PM me or call the guards. (No sign of it yet)

Thanks a million in advance

Regards

Jason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Throw up a pic if you have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Virgin Media: Jason

Will do thanks

Jason
    Throw up a pic if you have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

This was the car that was for sale in Beshoff's recently?

Very sorry to hear all the same, along with the fact that it is already likely to be in a poor state of disrepair.

It will be hard not to spot it, as it's probably the only one in the country in that colour:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Virgin Media: Jason

Thanks VolvoMan

Yes, the very same car. My neighbour bought it. Stunning car.

I will get an actual photo up ASAP

Cheers

Jason
    VolvoMan wrote: »
    This was the car that was for sale in Beshoff's recently?

Very sorry to hear all the same, along with the fact that it is already likely to be in a poor state of disrepair.

It will be hard not to spot it, as it's probably the only one in the country in that colour:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

**** it, I'm sick of these threads :mad: Scumbags!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Stunning looking car, sorry to hear your troubles.

Seems to be getting far too common now.

Will keep a look out around Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Really sorry to hear about this too, looks to be a stunning car, especially in that colour. Hopefully that rarity will help locate it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 jmll

Everyone on here was a great help to me (thanks again :) ), I'll keep a look out too hope you get it back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Wow this is shocking I have seen so many threads around the place on this topic so far these last few weeks. Will keep eyes and ears open and pass on the info tomorrow to friends to keep eyes peeled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 JamesJimmy

I'm 110% sure I saw this fly by Clarehall shopping centre, and onto the N32. Hope this helps..Cracking car.

I posted something here and it was deleted.

What a fcuking dictatorship this forum is. People should have a right to post here and not be censored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

What a fcuking dictatorship this forum is. People should have a right to post here and not be censored.

Having looked at the deleted post I can completely understand why it was deleted. It was off topic and having a go for the sake of it. In the past I have had to delete some posts that were of a similar vein.

You also know that on thread is not the place to discuss matters like this and I can only assume you ae doing it to troll/get a rise out of mods. Should you wish to discuss this further you can PM me.

JamesJimmy wrote: »
    I'm 110% sure I saw this fly by Clarehall shopping centre, and onto the N32. Hope this helps..Cracking car.

Was it missing the bumper ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 JamesJimmy

RoverJames wrote: »
    Was it missing the bumper ?

Yup, thats why I'm 110% sure that was it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Very sorry to hear this as it's such a nice and rare car.

OP given the car was trashed before even getting out of the estate I reckon there is a high probability it has been burned out in somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Eleganza

Mod edit. Explained in infraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 nedz

Hi Guys

I am the owner of the Car my pride and joy ! Many thanks to you all for taking the time out to post. I am new to Boards.ie and have to say its a wonderful tool for situations like this. All your help is much appreciated.

To anyone who has spotted the car if you could please give an approximate time when it was seen.

Just to confirm yes there is damage to the front bumper and broken rear tail light as it hit my neighbours van and bin lorry trying to escape the estate.

Many thanks again.
    Nedz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

nedz , just in case you are not aware but the poster who claimed to have seen your car is actually a known troll who had re-registered under a different name so I'm afraid you can completely discount the alleged sighting of your car near ClareHall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

IMPORTANT

I'VE SEEN A VOLVO V70 R TODAY

STATION ROAD, NEWBRIDGE - HEADING TOWARDS NEWBRIDGE CITY CENTRE AT APPROX 7:30 PM.

DEFINITELY THE R VERSION - LOOKED MUCH SPORTIER THAN THE ORDINARY V70

AND THE ENGINE WAS DEFINITELY A PETROL 5 CYLINDER. VERY DISTINCTIVE SOUND.

REGISTRATION STARTED WITH 04-D-78... COULDN'T SEE THE REST SINCE IT JUST PASSED BY VERY QUICKLY.

ONE NOTE THOUGH: IT WAS SILVER, NOT AQUA TOURQUISE - POSSIBLE RESPRAY? (IT WAS QUITE DARK THOUGH SO IT MAY HAVE JUST BEEN THE LIGHT PLAYING AROUND)

Sorry about the caps, but I think this is very important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

On south side Dublin alert today......will keep an eye out. Distinctive car.

JamesJimmy wrote: »
    Yup, thats why I'm 110% sure that was it.

Just for the owner - this poster is a troll re-reg'd. While I would like the information to be accurate based on past form I wouldn't be too hopeful.

Thanks lads,
    I have passed relevant info over to the Garda .
    It will look a silver/gray at night under steet lighting.

Now to deal with Insurance today ,Yeppie!

Thanks again guys.
    Nedz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Sorry for your troubles nedz, the R is a special motor.
    Its getting so you can't even aspire to owning something nice any more, vermin like this take the joy out of it.
    Hope the insurance people treat you right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭anthony4335

With the amount of cars been posted as stolen, it might be an idea to make a sticky thread ,and a gallery of all the cars missing on one page, might make it easier to help track the cars down. you could keep a print out close on hand, or if you think you see one it would make it quicker and easier to verify.
    Sorry to hear of your loss, hope you find it soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

With the amount of cars been posted as stolen, it might be an idea to make a sticky thread ,and a gallery of all the cars missing on one page, might make it easier to help track the cars down. you could keep a print out close on hand, or if you think you see one it would make it quicker and easier to verify.
    Sorry to hear of your loss, hope you find it soon.
    People won't view a sticky, they're more likely to look at a bumped thread on the front page imo.

Hi guys,

I would like to give a huge Thank You to all friends and neighbours whom have offered help and even a loan of replacement cars off so many generous people , it gives sollace to the fact good people outnumber the
    scum that crawls out there.

Nedz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

I cycle in and out of the city centre every day so will keep an eye out. A V70R would definitely stand out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I am somewhat bemused at the level people will go to in order to Troll. :eek:

@nedz: I am in Swords until Thursday so will be keep an eye out and call the Gardai if I see it. Sorry for your loss.... It'd put you off owning a nice car :(

Much thanks to you all again.

Couple of possible sightings now. Garda have advised if anyone thinks they see the car driving around please call emergency services immediately on 999.

Just to re-cap its aqua tourquise (flash green) Volvo V70 R
    Damage to rear tail light on right hand side and damage to front bumper so far as I know !

Here's hoping ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I know the car from Howth. I honestly thought it would slip under the theft radar being a sleeper wagon. Awful shame it's in the wrong hands now, hopefully they don't damage the car too much, I'm not too bothered about them.

Are tracking devices any use ? would it have helped or are they easly got around ,under ground car parks etc.??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

nedz wrote: »
    Are tracking devices any use ? would it have helped or are they easly got around ,under ground car parks etc.??

Wired correctly (Fail safe battery etc) and well hidden, they are worth every penny. But serious car thieves will defeat them. Underground car parks are no good as eventually the car has to be moved. The best units store weeks of information and send it by SMS / GPRS when possible.

They come into their own when coupled with remote immobilization. Realistically you have about 20 mins from the theft to start tracking. Becomes much harder after that.

Will invest for next car. pref. on the safe return V70R if it's not destroyed by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Mark#1

Sorry for your trouble nedz.

Keep an eye out on the for sale sites - IRL & UK. A car like that will obviously stand out a mile.

The power of the www - I just put a deposit on a V70 yesterday, and the dealer I'm buying from had heard about yours being stolen.

Good luck.

Mark

If nothing becomes of your V70R and you don't mind the loss of cargo space, then this could be a good replacement: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2593842

A proper bargain.

Best of luck with the new v70 Mark#1 ,great motor .
    Thanks Volvoman thats one bargin ,lot of car for very little money ,unfortunately need load space .

Cheers lads,appreciate it.
    Nedz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

If nothing becomes of your V70R and you don't mind the loss of cargo space, then this could be a good replacement: http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2593842

A proper bargain.

Oh my god that is absolutely gorgeous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭aido 1976

UPC: Jason wrote: »
    Attached.

I seen a very similar car yesterday in Tallaght (No Joke)
    When I seen it, something flashed into my head. It was not until later that I remembered I had seen the OP thread of this very distincitive car / colour.

It was the exact same colour Volvo estate and a 04.

Sorry I dont have any more info, but if I see it again I will be calling 999

It was in the Springfield area of Tallaght that I seen (A) car matching the colour and model, dont think many are around, definitely not in the light green metalic colour.

Oh my god that is absolutely gorgeous!

Indeed.

I'd buy it in a heartbeat if I could.

aido was it same as pic on earlier thread??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭pafro

Hi

Sorry, to hear about your R.

I am a proud owner of a 2005 V70 R AWD and I think I would kill the f***er if he got caught.

Also, I wasnt aware, that there are other V70 R AWD (2003-2006) owner in this country.

I really hope your car will be found.

Wil have a look out anyway.

Regards from Cork

nedz wrote: »
    aido was it same as pic on earlier thread??

Yes, exact same.

Right I have had enough of this, these sh1theads taking all these fine cars. After the rugby early tomorrow morning I'm taking out the Alfa for an early morning burn and have a hunt for this car... quite a distinctive car too!

It's driving me mad that people do this...:mad:

166man wrote: »
    Right I have had enough of this, these sh1theads taking all these fine cars. After the rugby early tomorrow morning I'm taking out the Alfa for an early morning burn and have a hunt for this car... quite a distinctive car too!

It's driving me mad that people do this...:mad:

12torino.large1.jpg

EPM wrote: »
    12torino.large1.jpg

Lol very appropriate, damn I get so annoyed seeing these threads I's like to try and do something and as a college dosser I have plenty of free time! Will head out in the general direction of tallaght I think and even just keep my eyes peeled. A good reason to give the Alfa a proper drive too...

166man wrote: »
    ...........Will head out in the general direction of tallaght I think and even just keep my eyes peeled.......

Why Tallaght?
    If 'twas in Tallaght out in the open it would have been discovered my now I reckon. When it's been missing this long I would think it's safe to say it's either well out of the way or locked up safely somewhere for use in a robbery or similar.

If I was you I'd sooner head off to Tallaght now and make for the Playhouse rather than go spinning around there at mad o' clock in the morning :pac:

RoverJames wrote: »
    Why Tallaght?
    If 'twas in Tallaght out in the open it would have been discovered my now I reckon. When it's been missing this long I would think it's safe to say it's either well out of the way or locked up safely somewhere for use in a robbery or similar.

If I was you I'd sooner head off to Tallaght now and make for the Playhouse rather than go spinning around there at mad o' clock in the morning :pac:

Tallaght because a poster posted that he saw a very similar car earlier today. I would also like to take the Alfa for a proper spin and to try help look around anyway for the OP's car.

I'm just fed up with reading these threads about peoples prized cars being taken and to be honest if it was my own car it would make me feel better knowing somebody might be out looking for it. Might as well like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 WhiteMike

A car just like this undertook me at the Shamrock Rovers stadium heading towords Aylesbury just after 10 this evening, same distinctive colour and back reg plate hanging at an angle. It turned around at the roundabout at the bottom of the road and drove back towords the N81 again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

WhiteMike wrote: »
    A car just like this undertook me at the Shamrock Rovers stadium heading towords Aylesbury just after 10 this evening, same distinctive colour and back reg plate hanging at an angle. It turned around at the roundabout at the bottom of the road and drove back towords the N81 again.

My housemate said he saw one very similar go by our window in Kiltipper around 10ish last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

To Tallaght it is folks!, i live up past Jobstown, wiil keep a look out.

Hope it turns up soon.