Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martin McGuinness Individual Interview Late Late Show... your opinions?

• 30-09-2011 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭

Individual Interview Late Late ... Some people say that his history should exempt him from the Presidential race, others say that this is a major reason as to why he should be included. ...how do you think he did?

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

He looked nervous but didn't get too distracted by the shamateurish attempts from Tubs...

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Charm contest better things to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He had an interview with Tubs before, so he was hip to him. He did fine like any other interview. He always carries himself well, and is a good orator.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Did the best he could but its hard to shine when your constantly getting inturupted. See how quiet tubs was after it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

He held his own without providing any of the required answers or facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

I didn't like how he wouldnt answer questions properly, but I equally didn't like how Tubbardy didn't let him say what he wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭niallers1

I think he gave MMcG a harder time than all the others.
    But that was to be expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

Showed strength towards the end, as you would expect from someone who has faced the RUC's finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Did a very good job playing to the left and hard left, further solidifying the core vote and doing a nice bit to expand it a bit. He's not playing to win here, he's playing to get a good showing for a SF candidate. Nothing wrong with that, but don't expect him to make a big play for the middle class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 von dreyse

These six people he is going to take off the dole;

What are they going to do?

Will we have to give them a pension then in seven years time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭blahfckingblah

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    thats politicians for you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,764 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

He held up well under a targetted rte agenda to play him in the worst possible light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

von dreyse wrote: »

Wondered this myself, hilariously half baked idea.

Don't really think it'd play too well with Sinn Fein core base either.

The thought of coming off the dole to do some work would bring them out in a cold sweat

One of the better ones in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

It sounded funny as he said it , but of course as President he can appoint a few people to various jobs :

But it is likely that for the 6 men off the dole , there will be another 6 men joining the dole queue .

As President he could appoint :
    1. Attorney General
    2. Comptroller and Auditor General
    3. Commissioned Officers of the Defence Forces
    4. Judges
    5. Gerry Adams
    6. Gerry Kelly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Did any one else notice that Tubridy was blatantly ruder and more abrupt with McGuinness than he was with any of the other candidates? My sister and I both commented on it. I generally like Tubridy but he let his quite obvious anti-McGuinness sentiments prevent him from being what one could call an impartial chairperson.

I think McGuinness did well not to rise to Tubridy or Gay "22 counties" Mitchell's bait. On the night I think he was one of the best. Still only my third preference, mind. But I think a few people who were previously anti-McGuinness possibly warmed to him tonight.

I think McGuinness did well not to rise to Tubridy or Gay "22 counties" Mitchell's bait.

I don't think it was a case of not rising to it - it was just a question that he didn't want to touch because he'd have ended up lying based on his constant ridiculous refusal to refer to this state - the one he wants to be president of - by name.

It was the first time in ages that a politician started to say what I was thinking, and Mitchell goes and screws it up!

Idiot!

He'd have had McGuinness on the ropes if he hadn't screwed it up, and instead everyone was laughing at his screw-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

no surprise,didnt answer question as expected

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭finty

I think McGuinness did well not to rise to Tubridy or Gay "22 counties" Mitchell's bait. On the night I think he was one of the best. Still only my third preference, mind. But I think a few people who were previously anti-McGuinness possibly warmed to him tonight.

McGuinness and his ilk are old pros at not rising to stuff like that..........just like the are pros at evading answering questions and generally concealing their past.

How any democrat could countenance voting for someone who with his mates spent most of their lives trying to undermine this state is something I struggle with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

This is laughable, it is most likely not possible for him to refuse most of the presedential salary and he most likely knows this already.

He is on record in court proceedings in his terrorist cases here in the Republic as saying he does not recognise the Irish Courts and does not recognise the state which jailed him twice for membership of the IRA and possession of enough explosives and ammunition to wage a small war.

How could any true patriot vote for such a liar and terrorist??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

It was the first time in ages that a politician started to say what I was thinking, and Mitchell goes and screws it up!

Idiot!

He'd have had McGuinness on the ropes if he hadn't screwed it up, and instead everyone was laughing at his screw-up.

Much as I dislike Mitchell I had thought he was a more polished and capable public speaker than he showed tonight. Making an amateur mistake that had everyone laughing was a big surprise. I know slips of the tongue can happen to anyone but that little screw-up will probably haunt him, personally if not politically.

The issue of McGuinness and the state's name will undoubtedly come up again though; I can imagine Vincent Brown asking him to name the country and see what he says, or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Did any one else notice that Tubridy was blatantly ruder and more abrupt with McGuinness than he was with any of the other candidates? My sister and I both commented on it. I generally like Tubridy but he let his quite obvious anti-McGuinness sentiments prevent him from being what one could call an impartial chairperson.

Well I think all presenters are bound to play hard ball with old Marty, he is after all credited with being an ex member of the Provisional IRA, who were a ruthless outfit, and who were a serious threat to this State! so fair play to Tub's and any other presenter who quizzes McMG on his murky past pre the peace process. The position of President of Ireland is not to be taken without your past being very well vetted, and God knows McGuinness's past has many dark shadows pre 94'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I though he performed fairly well but the six lads off the dole thing seems a bit gimmicky, But he is more than capable of being a good president.

Idiot!

Much as I dislike Mitchell I had thought he was a more polished and capable public speaker than he showed tonight. Making an amateur mistake that had everyone laughing was a big surprise. I know slips of the tongue can happen to anyone but that little screw-up will probably haunt him, personally if not politically.

The issue of McGuinness and the state's name will undoubtedly come up again though; I can imagine Vincent Brown asking him to name the country and see what he says, or something like that.

My worry is that McGuinness will use Mitchell's faux-pas to deflect from any future similar question, saying that at least he knows how many counties are in the state, unlike other candidates......so that valid question has now been negated. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

It is my opinion that he lied about leaving the IRA in the seventies.

Nobody believes this .

So it boils down to , do we want a liar in the office, who probably was leader of the IRA until recently.

I have never voted for the shinners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Once again he came across as an very articulate and intelligent man,and certainly has the charisma to be a president With the amount of pressure he comes under he did and is doing very well.

foggy_lad wrote: »
    This is laughable, it is most likely not possible for him to refuse most of the presedential salary and he most likely knows this already.

He is on record in court proceedings in his terrorist cases here in the Republic as saying he does not recognise the Irish Courts and does not recognise the state which jailed him twice for membership of the IRA and possession of enough explosives and ammunition to wage a small war.

What true patriots are you talking about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,671 ✭✭✭Penfailed

raymon wrote: »

Nobody believes this .

I believe it.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

He never said he would refuse any of the salary. He said he would use it to put money back into the state by doing something like hiring six people.

Because a true patriot would be a patriot to the whole of Ireland not just the south. A true patriot would see him as a freedom fighter, for the freedom of Northern Ireland not a terrorist, they would see the Loyalists in NI as terrorists. You say he is a liar, can you prove one thing he has lied about or is that just your guess?
    raymon wrote: »

Nobody believes this.

I certainly believe it. Have you never heard of innocent until proven guilty? He would be some idiot if he was a member of the IRA while clearly actively working to stop them and their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

finty wrote: »
    McGuinness and his ilk are old pros at not rising to stuff like that..........just like the are pros at evading answering questions and generally concealing their past.

How any democrat could countenance voting for someone who with his mates spent most of their lives trying to undermine this state is something I struggle with.
    Sure no one has been undermining the Gombeen state for decades now as good as FG and FF :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Unlike Gay "22 counties" Mitchell !!!!

GarIT wrote: »
    He never said he would refuse any of the salary. He said he would use it to put money back into the state by doing something like hiring six people.

Because a true patriot would be a patriot to the whole of Ireland not just the south. A true patriot would see him as a freedom fighter, for the freedom of Northern Ireland not a terrorist, they would see the Loyalists in NI as terrorists. You say he is a liar, can you prove one thing he has lied about or is that just your guess?

I certainly believe it. Have you never heard of innocent until proven guilty? He would be some idiot if he was a member of the IRA while clearly actively working to stop them and their actions.
    He has said he will only take a normal industrial salary so is he going to take the lot now and use the balance on some hair brained provo scheme to give six former terrorist thugs jobs in the Áras?

IMHO a true patriot is someone who will fight for the republic of Ireland and our constitution but mcGuinness does not recognise the state or it's courts and will only fight for a united Ireland to include the six counties under British rule.

He still uses the propaganda language of someone at war as do the sinn fein party here from the top down to the very bottom of the organisation where those who inquire about membership feel they are joining some paramilitary group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Definitely a liar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

My worry is that McGuinness will use Mitchell's faux-pas to deflect from any future similar question, saying that at least he knows how many counties are in the state, unlike other candidates......so that valid question has now been negated. :(

The question is irrelevant. It's only important to nit-pickers who are looking for ways for McGuinness to trip up. The state's name is Ireland. He has never rejected this. It's no secret that he views the nation of Ireland as having 32 counties, like the majority of the people on this Island. Build me a bridge and get over it.

Garda and army intelligence suggests he is lying about when his membership of the IRA ended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

Garda and army intelligence suggests he is lying about when his membership of the IRA ended.

it never be ended with his past,once a liar,always a liar,more will come yet, long way too go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

He still uses the propaganda language of someone at war as do the sinn fein party here from the top down to the very bottom of the organisation where those who inquire about membership feel they are joining some paramilitary group.

So does RTE, listen to any news or political program, Its refered to as "the north" never (or very rarely) Northern Ireland. Similarly the British government often refer to us as The republic. Its word play.

I wouldnt personally be voting for MMG, But he is savy he wont be caught out or tripped up by amatures like Tubbs. He came across well. And for someone who grew up in a time like he did in a place like he did , it says alot for him to be in the position he is in now. He is constantly working with and complementing Unionist leaders of late. So he was in the IRA, whats the issue if he left in 74 or 84? There is a past in NI (the north :p ) that very few are free from blame. At least he is standing up and admitting, allbeit partly that he played a part in this but wants to move on with things. If his unionist counterparts can accept this why do we insist on branding him a terrorist and undermine everything he says on that basis. I disagree with plenty of his hard left ideals, that would be my greatest issue with him. Nothing else.

So does RTE, listen to any news or political program, Its refered to as "the north" never (or very rarely) Northern Ireland. Similarly the British government often refer to us as The republic. Its word play.

I wouldnt personally be voting for MMG, But he is savy he wont be caught out or tripped up by amatures like Tubbs. He came across well. And for someone who grew up in a time like he did in a place like he did , it says alot for him to be in the position he is in now. He is constantly working with and complementing Unionist leaders of late. So he was in the IRA, whats the issue if he left in 74 or 84? There is a past in NI (the north :p ) that very few are free from blame. At least he is standing up and admitting, allbeit partly that he played a part in this but wants to move on with things. If his unionist counterparts can accept this why do we insist on branding him a terrorist and undermine everything he says on that basis. I disagree with plenty of his hard left ideals, that would be my greatest issue with him. Nothing else.
    I don't want someone who stated in an irish court he does not recognise the state or the courts and subsequently the laws of the land becoming president.

He has spoken well in all his interviews in that he has not resorted to any nasty outbursts or threatening language but he has not provided answers to the majority of questions asked of him. All we hear is how he done so much for peace etc etc etc well I say he did a hell of a lot more to kill than to protect and even Dana has done more for peace in the north than him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

For someone on £300/week MMcG did very well, much in contrast to RT who earns > €5k was abysmal and often rude to many of the candidates.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

thats politicians for you :P

Yeah... so f*ck that then. :)

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

He has said he will only take a normal industrial salary so is he going to take the lot now and use the balance on some hair brained provo scheme to give six former terrorist thugs jobs in the Áras?

IMHO a true patriot is someone who will fight for the republic of Ireland and our constitution but mcGuinness does not recognise the state or it's courts and will only fight for a united Ireland to include the six counties under British rule.

lol, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

charlemont wrote: »
    I though he performed fairly well but the six lads off the dole thing seems a bit gimmicky, But he is more than capable of being a good president.

Never said how he'd get them off the dole did he?

He was in the IRA you know. :P

I think he needs to cut out that crap alright and that wage nonsense. It doesn't impress me one bit TBH and he isn't the worst candidate though I wouldn't vote for him anyway given his past.

I thought he did very well on the Cloyne report question.

Also quite odd that Mitchell didn't get asked this question or offer to answer like Norris particularly since we know his religious beliefs so it is something that really he needs to answer as much as Dana did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,671 ✭✭✭Penfailed

even Dana has done more for peace in the north than him.

Ah...no, no she hasn't.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

O villain, villain, smiling, damned villain!
    My tables,--meet it is I set it down,
    That one may smile, and smile, and be a villain;
    At least I'm sure it may be so in Ireland;

With apologies to The Bard.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

So does RTE, listen to any news or political program, Its refered to as "the north" never (or very rarely) Northern Ireland.

"Northern Ireland" is becoming more common. This may be due to Irish government ministers who now nearly always call it "Northern Ireland". The change happened during Bertie Ahern's time in office, and it is welcome.

Similarly the British government often refer to us as The republic. Its word play.

But "Ireland" is ambiguous.

She has done All kinds of everything but that.:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

dlofnep wrote: »
    The question is irrelevant. It's only important to nit-pickers who are looking for ways for McGuinness to trip up. The state's name is Ireland. He has never rejected this. It's no secret that he views the nation of Ireland as having 32 counties, like the majority of the people on this Island. Build me a bridge and get over it.
    He isn't running to be the president of a 32 county state.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    He isn't running to be the president of a 32 county state.
    well since he objects to the election only being open to people from (only saying this too annoy some) the 26 counties, he is running to be president of ireland with a focus to opening it to 32 counties.

Dana has done more than convince a major paramilitary to call a ceisefire and decommission all of its weapons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 fitflip

I cant understand how with his past in the ira and the constant bull**** how he is even in this race. Im sure if he was not part of sein fein and the ira he would make an excellent pres. a very perssonable man.