Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

De Gea and his doughnut fingers

• 30-09-2011 9:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭

MU goalie caught shoplifting doughnut
    Super-rich Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea was given a yellow card by Tesco — for pinching a £1.19 DOUGHNUT.
    The Spaniard, 20, was quizzed by security staff after he scoffed an Original Glazed ring treat from a Krispy Kreme cabinet at a store in Altrincham, Greater Manchester.
    De Gea was hauled up after being captured on CCTV helping himself to the treat — but escaped a penalty.
    The sticky-fingered stopper — thought to be on £70,000 a week — wolfed down the doughnut in the magazine aisle.
    But as he headed for the exit without paying, he was tackled by security staff — one of whom spoke fluent Spanish.
    They took the keeper, signed from Atletico Madrid in the summer in an £18.3million deal, to the store's "stop and search" room.
    And they made it clear he had made a right howler by giving him a hairdryer treatment that would have made Man U boss Sir Alex Ferguson proud.
    De Gea strode into the Tesco Extra with two Spanish pals.
    A source said: "They weren't very subtle. They swaggered in chatting loudly in Spanish.
    "The security guards who monitor the CCTV watched two of them take a doughnut each out of the Krispy Kreme cabinet.
    "Incredibly, they then appeared to try to leave without paying — or buying anything else for that matter."
    The source said that when challenged and ushered into the search room, de Gea did not seem to know what was going on and "looked pretty embarrassed".
    Last night a Tesco spokesman said: "A customer was spoken to by our security team and the issue was resolved."
    Police were not called and no further action was taken.
    Tesco has a strict policy of a three-month store ban for alleged shoplifters.
    De Gea is regarded as the best young goalkeeper in Europe and was part of the Spain Under-21 team that won this year's European Championship.
    His United career got off to a shaky start but he has recently begun to impress with some fine saves.
    Sir Alex is fully behind his star signing. He said of de Gea earlier this month: "He's 20 years of age and doesn't know the culture of the country.
    "That's a lot to deal with but he has shown great composure about the whole thing.
    "He's not got himself flapping about the goalmouth. I think he's absolutely outstanding. The boy is tremendous."

wonder was there a penalty cry when he was challenged?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

it's from the sun ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Puntastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Bateman's gonna love this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Des wrote: »
    it's from the sun ffs

I took it from the dailychili website, i refuse to give the s*n any traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Essien wrote: »
    Bateman's gonna love this

Nah, he didn't drop it on the floor before getting it to his mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Kripsy Kreme Original Glazed are 1.20 and are epic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

In other news, John Terry exited a roundabout without indicating.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

Scrumbag...

ya wouldn't catch JT doing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

That was in The Sun FFS.:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

I've no time for shoplifters, stealers and cheats. I hope he is prosecuted to the full extent of the law. Awful thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Whats the maximum amount it should be free to shoplift then?

If he took the magazine he was reading , would that be enough or is that ok too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

I've no time for shoplifters, stealers and cheats. I hope he is prosecuted to the full extent of the law. Awful thing to do.

Yeah totally agree. Death sentance should suffice.

adox wrote: »
    Yeah totally agree. Death sentance should suffice.

I'm not asking for the death penalty I just feel he should be subjected to the full rigours of the law, whatever they may be. Because of his high profile position he was released without charge and I doubt he'll have to serve the three match ban.

Were the shoplifter an 18 year old youth of black skin I doubt Tesco would have been as accomodating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭stesaurus

I'm not asking for the death penalty I just feel he should be subjected to the full rigours of the law, whatever they may be. Because of his high profile position he was released without charge and I doubt he'll have to serve the three match ban.

Were the shoplifter an 18 year old youth of black skin I doubt Tesco would have been as accomodating.

For a doughnut??? My sarcasm detector not quite working today. Are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

You've got to be messing?

It was a ****ing doughnut.

Chill out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Should be banned for life IMO. Disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

They would ban you from the shop and that would be the end of it. So cut the "high profile" crap.

Its £1.20. In my youth I took a €1 can of Red Bull (I was really thirsty and pennyless :pac:), got caught, got banned, end of. Gardai/police would tell the company to cop on if they got a call over such a small monetary value.

s.welstead wrote: »
    For a doughnut??? My sarcasm detector not quite working today. Are you for real?
    Mr Alan wrote: »
    You've got to be messing?

It was a ****ing doughnut.

Chill out.

I'm very real. Why does there have to be a threshold whereby above the threshold stealing is unacceptable. Stealing is either right or it's wrong. In my eyes it's extremely wrong. Bernard Madoff is castigated world wide for stealing yet this will be swept under the carpet. Why is it only 'a doughnut.'? Why does one have to steal a certain amount before it is seen as wrong.

He knew exactly what he was doing, he should be dealt with accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭stesaurus

I'm very real. Why does there have to be a threshold whereby above the threshold stealing is unacceptable. Stealing is either right or it's wrong. In my eyes it's extremely wrong. Bernard Madoff is castigated world wide for stealing yet this will be swept under the carpet. Why is it only 'a doughnut.'? Why does one have to steal a certain amount before it is seen as wrong.

Welcome to ignore...

Obviously on a wind up looking for attention.

Have a guess how much it would cost the tax payer to call out the police, do all the paper work and then prosecute?

MORE THAN £1.20 !

In short, not even worth wasting a phone call on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

LOL
    he ate a doughnut while shopping and didnt pay.

SERIOUSLY STONE HIM TO DEATH.

TheTownie wrote: »
    Have a guess how much it would cost the tax payer to call out the police, do all the paper work and then prosecute?

MORE THAN £1.20 !

In short, not even worth wasting a phone call on.

So in theory I could go around to 100 different shops, steal €2 worth of food each time and I'd never be prosecuted? Why did I not think of this sooner? :confused:
    LOL
    he ate a doughnut while shopping and didnt pay.

SERIOUSLY STONE HIM TO DEATH.

Again I'm not asking for a stoning. Stoning and indeed capital punishment is prohibited under English law. I just feel he should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law, whatever it may be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

So they walked in, talking loudly to each other, committed petty theft and left without buying anything?

Feckin spanish students goalies :mad:

It was a dare I heard.

From Bateman....

Nobody is saying it isn't wrong. But are you really comparing a eating a doughnut without paying to defrauding people out of billions of dollars?

Your claim that he should be "prosecuted to the full extent of the law", for such a petty crime (which may have been accidental anyway) is sheer lunacy.

The doughnut cost £1.20, you think for that £1.20 it would be worth the cost of calling the police, prosecuting DeGea (including the additional costs of trying such a public figure) & administering whatever punishment was found fair?

Really?

If you do, you obviously don't know how the world works.

So in theory I could go around to 100 different shops, steal €2 worth of food each time and I'd never be prosecuted? Why did I not think of this sooner? :confused:

Well first you would be banned from every shop if you did that.

And second he legally couldn't have been prosecuted anyway because he hadn't stepped outside the shop. Doesn't matter whether you put something in your pocket or eat it, until you step outside the door you haven't legally stolen something and can claim you intended paying for it. Thats another reason why shops only ban you in such situations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

FOLKS i GIVE YOU THIS THREAD BY THE ABOVE POSTER !

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056375420

Your a bit of a clown Bamboozling!

Nobody is saying it isn't wrong. But are you really comparing a doughnut to defrauding people out of billions of dollars?

Your claim that he should be "prosecuted to the full extent of the law", for such a petty crime (which may have been accidental) is sheer lunacy.

The doughnut cost £1.20, you think for that £1.20 it would be worth the cost of calling the police, prosecuting DeGea (including the additional costs of trying such a public figure) & administering whatever punishment was found fair?

Really?

The police are there to enforce the laws of the land. Cost should not prevent them from doing there job. I've no problem paying a few extra pound in taxes so long as the police do their job properly. In my opinion De Gea should be getting a summons for his actions.

That was different, that was money I found, the same way finding 50 euro on the street wouldn't be considered stealing.

You've been Bamboozled ! :pac:

The police are there to enforce the laws of the land. Cost should not prevent them from doing there job. I've no problem paying a few extra pound in taxes so long as the police do their job properly. In my opinion De Gea should be getting a summons for his actions.

Everything in life is about trade-offs and this is a very small example of it and I can tell much bigger examples of trade-offs when it comes 'applying the law' so just give up with your terrible argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,861 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

That was different, that was money I found, the same way finding 50 euro on the street wouldn't be considered stealing.

No - you stole it. You knew who it belonged to, and you took it. You are a thief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭adox

Thats disgusting behaviour if true.

Reading the thread its seems unlikely though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Do people never learn? :pac:

TheTownie wrote: »
    Everything in life is about trade-offs and this is a very small example of it and I can tell much bigger examples of trade-offs when it comes 'applying the law' so just give up with your terrible argument.

Doesn't make it right either though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

lol you could not make this **** up..

Here is a guy wanting a guy punished for taking a doughnut and then he thinks its ok to steal 500 quid

Darwin award surely...

Blatter wrote: »
    Do people never learn? :pac:

Sorry :o Would have walk away only for the black teenager stereotype he use to 'prove' his point which pissed me off.

Doesn't make it right either though.

His actions weren't right but the way it was dealt with was the right way to deal with the situation. Simple! Case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Nobody is saying it isn't wrong. But are you really comparing a eating a doughnut without paying to defrauding people out of billions of dollars?

Your claim that he should be "prosecuted to the full extent of the law", for such a petty crime (which may have been accidental anyway) is sheer lunacy.

Really?

Absolutely right, Mr.

However, Tesco should bar him and his fellow thieves from the store and put photos of them stealing in the window to warn others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

"The Bam Man's" never-ending quest for attention continues apace. Someone PM him the word ATTENTION in big letters and it might do the trick. We used do that in school to people like him, only we wrote it on paper in big letters for everyone to see.

I enjoyed the sensational way the article was written though. "They swaggered in." Like Paulie Walnuts heading out to crack a few kneecaps open.:pac:

Absolutely right, Mr.

However, Tesco should bar him and his fellow thieves from the store and put photos of them stealing in the window to warn others.

That'd be fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

As far as the law is considered he would have been dealt with accordingly ,
    As long as the shop (owner) is happy with a verbal warning etc then the matter is closed ,It is down to a the shop whether to press charges or not ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭popzmaster

Again I'm not asking for a stoning. Stoning and indeed capital punishment is prohibited under English law. I just feel he should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law, whatever it may be.

^^ Do not feed

Man nothing really happens when you steal £1.20 worth of crap( or the equivalent rate in Euro). The full extent of the law in this case is fúck all trust me. :D

As an aside I hadn't stolen from a tesco for around 6 years until one day I was humming Shoplifting in Tesco by The Cujo Family and lo and behold walked out with a half pound of butter in my pocket :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

If he is left off with the doughnut soon he will want a bigger buzz, he will be robbing tvs from stores, then breaking into your house in the middle of the night robbing stuff to pay for his heroin addiction.

Well i presume thats what will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

niallo27 wrote: »
    If he is left off with the doughnut soon he will want a bigger buzz, he will be robbing tvs from stores, then breaking into your house in the middle of the night robbing stuff to pay for his heroin addiction.

Well i presume thats what will happen.

Ah now Niallo, you're forgetting he's from Spain, not Merseyside! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

is it not good for a goalkeeper to have sticky fingers :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Sticky fingers and De Gea .

There is a punch line somewhere there .:D

If this is the start of a trend of eating/using items while still in the shop then I would personally like to hand him an electric razor next time he is in a supermarket ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Blatter wrote: »
    Ah now Niallo, you're forgetting he's from Spain, not Merseyside! :pac:

6401703g69.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Funny how so many are willing to take The Suns word on this particular story when it suits them :)