Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Uk top speed limit to increase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Most people do that speed at least anyway in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Sure we are at 75.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

So, taking the extra 10% a lot of people seem to add on to the limits, that'll mean a lot of traffic moving at 88mph... hopefully lightening won't strike or they may end up back in 1955 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

BuzzFish wrote: »
    So, taking the extra 10% a lot of people seem to add on to the limits, that'll mean a lot of traffic moving at 88mph... hopefully lightening won't strike or they may end up back in 1955 :eek:

1955??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Sesshoumaru

MugMugs wrote: »
    1955??

Back to the Future?

Good films.

I'm still confused ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Good.

If people are that worried about fuel efficiency, they'll slow down. Speed alone does not cause accidents on motorways. It's that simple.

Most people here are bombing along at 130km/h in my experience and that's slightly over 80mph. Once people don't try to do it in their Peroduas all is hunky dory.

I do think that the UK should hurry the hell up and decimalise things like every other country in Europe, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i imagine jezza is creaming himself right now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have being arguing for years that our Motorway limit should be at 130km/h and quite alot of our N Roads should be upgraded with overtaking lanes every 10km's for 3 km's and raise their speed limit to 115km/h, what wastes fuel is not driving fast; but rather being stuck behind some old fart in a Yaris doing 60km/h. My car is most efficient on the motorway at 120km/h

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Stinicker wrote: »
    what wastes fuel is not driving fast; but rather being stuck behind some old fart in a Yaris doing 60km/h. My car is most efficient on the motorway at 120km/h

Most cars are more efficient at 80 or 90, but driving around at 80 is a tremendous waste of time, and therefore money. I'd save about €7 an hour in fuel driving slowly, but no-one in their sane senses would take a second part time job driving to earn €7 an hour.

sdeire wrote: »
    Good.
    I do think that the UK should hurry the hell up and decimalise things like every other country in Europe, though.

Oh god no ! I buy UK motors for their good value, good spec and MPH. I cant do KM... I'm weird like that.
    I have being arguing for years that our Motorway limit should be at 130km/h and quite alot of our N Roads should be upgraded with overtaking lanes every 10km's for 3 km's and raise their speed limit to 115km/h, what wastes fuel is not driving fast; but rather being stuck behind some old fart in a Yaris doing 60km/h. My car is most efficient on the motorway at 120km/h

Promote the use of N roads ?

Good god no man ! Then you would be taking all that lovely Toll traffic away from the Motorways that are heavily tolled despite us paying for them anyway !

What would the state pocket do without that disgusting revenue ?? (except the M3 because the NRA are still subbing the toll operator due to low revenue) :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Sweet.

Oh god no ! I buy UK motors for their good value, good spec and MPH. I cant do KM... I'm weird like that.

Promote the use of N roads ?

Good god no man ! Then you would be taking all that lovely Toll traffic away from the Motorways that are heavily tolled despite us paying for them anyway !

What would the state pocket do without that disgusting revenue ?? (except the M3 because the NRA are still subbing the toll operator due to low revenue) :eek:

Good N roads for areas not served by Motorway like most of the North West and North Midlands similar with routes from Rosslare to Limerick and into Kerry etc. Eg. Kerry to Cork could be upgraded to Dual Carriage way or else improve the current road allowing for to make speed on it and afford safe overtaking manoeuvres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Pah!

You should see the speed the border jumpers do on the M1.... 80 is a blip on their speedometer

Vicxas wrote: »
    Pah!

You should see the speed the border jumpers do on the M1.... 80 is a blip on their speedometer

Much like "visiting" traffic on the A1 aswell so ? Because it's certainly not a one way affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

quite alot of our N Roads should be upgraded with overtaking lanes every 10km's for 3 km's and raise their speed limit to 115km/h

Quite a lot of our N roads barely have a hard shoulder, never mind a third lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I have being arguing for years that our Motorway limit should be at 130km/h and quite alot of our N Roads should be upgraded with overtaking lanes every 10km's for 3 km's and raise their speed limit to 115km/h,

115km/h on N roads.
    That would be the fastest in EU.

I agree that sometimes I was doing even 160km/h on N roads and still considered it safe, but general speed limit must take under consideration all types of drivers in all types cars, in all types of roads in all types of conditions.

115km/h on N roads would be way too much in general.

I even think 100km/h i too much for most N roads.

At the same time I would increase motorway limit to at least 140km/h and put plenty of gardai patrols to motorways to make sure no one is blocking right lane, no one is parking on hard shoulder, no one is tailgating or undertaking, etc...

It BeeMee wrote: »
    Quite a lot of our N roads barely have a hard shoulder, never mind a third lane.

But that all it is and I am bit unsure but I don't think you are actually allowed to drive in there but obviously some courteous drivers quite often lorrys will use use it to allow safer overtaking of them. Quite often the hard shoulder is too narrow or contaminated with debris to safely drive in and I'd like to see them widened and made into proper driving lanes with a rule of "Keep left unless over taking" to allow for a safe overtaking place every 8 - 10kms.

Australia has this on many of its single lane roads and it makes driving a dream, at least if you get in behind the slow fecker you know you will have a safe place to go around him within a few clicks if you can't do it straight away.Over taking lanes and changing some junctions and better enforcement could see many roads upgraded to 70mph (110-115km) and allow for a better system without the need or expense of a Motorway.

If Ireland was to follow the Internationally defined need for a Motorway then quite alot of our new Interurbans would not have been built as they wouldn't have warranted the Motorway and something like I am describing above would have been built in the UK for example.

Not criticizing the motorways they are great and one of the few good things to come out of the celtic tiger and the FF years but they were not built for need but rather as parish pump pet political projects with a FF Hack "delivering" the Motorway to his area at a time when we were awash with borrowed cash. The led to a deficit of roads in parts of the country and if a few of the National Routes were re jigged like this it would give the next best thing to Motorway for a fraction of the price, and an increase in the speed limit with overtaking lanes would save even more lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

But that all it is and I am bit unsure but I don't think you are actually allowed to drive in there but obviously some courteous drivers quite often lorrys will use use it to allow safer overtaking of them.

The point is the costs to develop a N road without hard shoulders into a 3 lane road will be a lot higher that a road with hard shoulders that already has most of the width required. A lot of N roads either don't have hard shoulders at all, or just a token gesture of one or two feet.

Quite often the hard shoulder is too narrow or contaminated with debris to safely drive in and I'd like to see them widened and made into proper driving lanes with a rule of "Keep left unless over taking" to allow for a safe overtaking place every 8 - 10kms.

The only 2+1 roads that I know of are outside Carrick-on-Suir and outside Cahir. The Cahir one is only a couple of miles at most and doesn't really need it.

The one outside Carrick is a lot better: the overtaking lane alternates between the two directions of travel every 2-3km or so and is quite decent. Mind you, I've yet to see it mentioned in the speed-camera thread despite it being regularly patrolled.

AFAIK these 2+1 roads were pilot schemes, with some other stretch up the country somewhere?

I personally think they're a great idea (except for the wire dividers) but I suppose money stopped progress...

Road outside Cahir just where the overtaking lanes "swap"

Carrick on Suir to Mooncoin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Good.

If people are that worried about fuel efficiency, they'll slow down. Speed alone does not cause accidents on motorways. It's that simple.

Most people here are bombing along at 130km/h in my experience and that's slightly over 80mph. Once people don't try to do it in their Peroduas all is hunky dory.

130km/h is hardly bombing it on a motorway. Maybe auntie gaybo might think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,627 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Not intending to be pedantic but the proposal is for the England and Wales speeds to increase. The Scottish Parliament and NI Assembly have devolved authority over road maitters. It would be hilarious if the "national" road speeds were different between England and Scotland. As many of you will know, 70 is generally signified not by a red circle with "70" but by the back slash. Confusion would reign....

Marcusm wrote: »
    Not intending to be pedantic but the proposal is for the England and Wales speeds to increase. The Scottish Parliament and NI Assembly have devolved authority over road maitters. It would be hilarious if the "national" road speeds were different between England and Scotland. As many of you will know, 70 is generally signified not by a red circle with "70" but by the back slash. Confusion would reign....

Assuming our model was based on theirs due to our "closeness"

Didn't the "Back Slash" signify "National Speed Limit" which WAS 60MPH ?

And Motorway always had the "70" sign ?

Is this not the same in the UK ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Strange that they are doing this. Very surprised the green lobby did not come out shouting about carbon footprint increase.

Was it Spain that decreased it's speeds to get lower carbon emissions and avoid kyoto fines ? Not that it makes a blind bit of difference in practice.

Assuming our model was based on theirs due to our "closeness"

Didn't the "Back Slash" signify "National Speed Limit" which WAS 60MPH ?

And Motorway always had the "70" sign ?

Is this not the same in the UK ?

In the UK, the slash signifies national speed limit applies which differs according to the type of road and vehicle. Can vary from 30 to 70 depending on these two factors (30 in a litup urban area, 70 on a separated dual or more carriageway - irrespective of whether motorway or A road).

Marcusm wrote: »
    It would be hilarious if the "national" road speeds were different between England and Scotland.

Why?

On the Continent you have different speed limits between every country, and some of the countries are actually way smaller than England or Scotland.

Just when you cross a border you see such tables:

F.E this is Poland:
    281px-Ograniczenia_pr%C4%99dko%C5%9Bci_w_Polsce_od_2011.svg.png

Germany:
    DSC01426.JPG

Belgium

1154710468_365fa74dc5.jpg

Slovakia:

rs_display_rychlost.php?mpz_id=167

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    130km/h is hardly bombing it on a motorway. Maybe auntie gaybo might think so.

Don't get me wrong - suffice to say I'm not going to post my average motorway speed on an internet forum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

mickdw wrote: »
    Sure we are at 75.

alot more then that depending on traffic

To CiniO:

I appreciate the continental examples, in fact I've just come back from a driving trip through France, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. The amusement comes more from it being a further wedge between two parts of what remain the same country and before anyone tells me, I also have experience of contiguous US stateswith different driving rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Don't get me wrong - suffice to say I'm not going to post my average motorway speed on an internet forum ;)

Why not? Mine is 190kph.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

robbie7730 wrote: »
    Mine is 190kph.

They do speed trap on the motorways, you know. I got done at 172 on the M4.

They do speed trap on the motorways, you know.

I know, but i dont really average 190kph, the 120 does me fine, some do seem to though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

EPM wrote: »
    Most people do that speed at least anyway in the UK.

Indeed. This would be great news for me if it happens because even now if I drive at 78 mph I can get fined whereas if I drove at my usual ~85 mph I'd be within the 10% limit :) Even at 90, I have a second or so to get to 88 :) Happy days.

Mind you, the Government haven't green lighted this yet, it's going through a consultation and report process first...

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Indeed. This would be great news for me if it happens because even now if I drive at 78 mph I can get fined whereas if I drove at my usual ~85 mph I'd be within the 10% limit :) Even at 90, I have a second or so to get to 88 :) Happy days.

You will just go the extra few mph over time though, or at least many will, so the usual 80 to 85 might become 90 to 95 if the limit is increased to 80mph. If your clock says 85, chances are your only actually doing 80 or so anyway, unless your going by the satnav thing. The car speedo usually over reads a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

robbie7730 wrote: »
    You will just go the extra few mph over time though, or at least many will, so the usual 80 to 85 might become 90 to 95 if the limit is increased to 80mph. If your clock says 85, chances are your only actually doing 80 or so anyway, unless your going by the satnav thing. The car speedo usually over reads a little.
    From my experience with the satnav there's only a 2 mph difference at this sort of speed in my car. Not much in it at all. So my ~85-87 mph is actually around ~83-85.

As for going over that speed over time, I probably won't have to I'll just be able to use the middle lane more instead of the outside lane as I have to be in now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

The only 2+1 roads that I know of are outside Carrick-on-Suir and outside Cahir. The Cahir one is only a couple of miles at most and doesn't really need it.

AFAIK these 2+1 roads were pilot schemes, with some other stretch up the country somewhere?

Castlebayney bypass is 2+1 as well. Terrible stretch of road. Very short overtaking lanes in places. Junctions coming on to the main lane of the road with no filter lane and having to turn left at junctions from the main lane. They are a very poor design of road.
    They are planning upgrading the junctions already and the road is only opened two or three years.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    From my experience with the satnav there's only a 2 mph difference at this sort of speed in my car. Not much in it at all. So my ~85-87 mph is actually around ~83-85.

Yea it varies from car to car. They are just required to not under-read by law.
    As for going over that speed over time, I probably won't have to I'll just be able to use the middle lane more instead of the outside lane as I have to be in now.

Its probably not a bad thing though, the proposed increase. Its a lot safer doing the 80mph on the motorway than the 50 or 60 on any other road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

Will be very useful for people using the motorways overnight, or during lower traffic volumes.

130km/h would work well in Ireland for the nearly-empty stretches on the Dub - Galway/Limerick/Cork routes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

But if speed kills, then why are they thinking of raising the speed limits so :confused:???

Answer: its just an excuse to generate revenue when they need it :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

Good.

Who the funk cares about MPG?!! :p

The concept of MPG was created by the devil!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭Shane732

D_murph wrote: »
    But if speed kills, then why are they thinking of raising the speed limits so :confused:???

Answer: its just an excuse to generate revenue when they need it :rolleyes:.

Let them try and generate revenue in the UK - I've an Irish reg so when I'm up the north there's no speed limits!!

Jez... I just want to go out and let loose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Fair play to the british government to do this ,technology in cars has changed a lot since 1965( ABS ,ESP etc.) when the original motorway speed limit was set , cant see ours going up to 130 sure the M50 its 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Shane732 wrote: »
    Let them try and generate revenue in the UK - I've an Irish reg so when I'm up the north there's no speed limits!!

Jez... I just want to go out and let loose!!

I have a first hand story of an irish reg car stopped north of Newry for speeding. He was arrested and brought to the station because they had no proof of address. They could not verify his address with the reg as it was irish. He had no ID with him. Kept him for 2 hours before letting him off. They warned him to pay the fine in the alloted time or expect to be arrested next time they stop in the UK. As a regular visitor for buisness, he coughed up. They can make life very difficult for you at a whim.

I am in the North 1 or 2 days a week every week. They have stepped up checks on A1 near Hillsborough and M2 approaching Armagh. I have also seen tag team system where a police van with camera is used for the locals and an unmarked unit is further up the road specifically for the southern reg cars. M1 not really policed too heavily. New tactic is a very irish one of car on the preceeding exit ramp just before the Newry exit just like you see on M8 every day. Unmarked Focus RS out of Newry is hard to spot without the lights on and unmarked Golf GTI on M1 out of Belfast.

Must be said our new unmarked avensis out of Naas is very hard to spot as there are no extra aerials and the light cluster is well hidden on the dash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

Just a quick question what is speed limit on the dual carriage way in the north is it 70 mph too ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭William Powell

maxfresh wrote: »
    Fair play to the british government to do this ,technology in cars has changed a lot since 1965( ABS ,ESP etc.) when the original motorway speed limit was set , cant see ours going up to 130 sure the M50 its 100

Still the same old human drivers though.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

polod wrote: »
    Just a quick question what is speed limit on the dual carriage way in the north is it 70 mph too ?
    Correct - 70mph unless otherwise specidied. It is usually identified on DCs as the traditional end of speed restrictions sign (below).
    87.jpg

As for any thought of the limits ever increasing here, sure it won't make that much difference because some dickhead will still be tootling along in the "fast" lane at 80km/h and is getting more and more irate at the amount of agressive drivers on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,120 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Anyone who's crossed the border should have noticed that the A1 changes from NSL to signed 60 at a number of occasions, yet I'm amazed the number of people who assume NSL *is* 60 on it...

We're not going to increase to match the UK I'd imagine, what with our motorway limits having increased with metrification - and no money to replace signs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭polod

kbannon wrote: »
    Correct - 70mph unless otherwise specidied. It is usually identified on DCs as the traditional end of speed restrictions sign (below).
    87.jpg

As for any thought of the limits ever increasing here, sure it won't make that much difference because some dickhead will still be tootling along in the "fast" lane at 80km/h and is getting more and more irate at the amount of agressive drivers on the roads.

thanks yeah because ya don't really see any speed limit signs up there apart from the 30 and 40 mph ones

polod wrote: »
    thanks yeah because ya don't really see any speed limit signs up there apart from the 30 and 40 mph ones

Speed limits signs are everywhere where is any special speed limit.

If no signs are present, it means that general speed limit apply.

That's the case in almost every country in EU (except from Ireland).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

The point is the costs to develop a N road without hard shoulders into a 3 lane road will be a lot higher that a road with hard shoulders that already has most of the width required. A lot of N roads either don't have hard shoulders at all, or just a token gesture of one or two feet.

The one outside Carrick is a lot better: the overtaking lane alternates between the two directions of travel every 2-3km or so and is quite decent. Mind you, I've yet to see it mentioned in the speed-camera thread despite it being regularly patrolled.

I personally think they're a great idea (except for the wire dividers) but I suppose money stopped progress...

Road outside Cahir just where the overtaking lanes "swap"

Carrick on Suir to Mooncoin

2+1 locations include a section between Mallow and Cork and also in Monaghan. These roads are road safety disasters and no more will be built. That is now NRA policy. Instead, 2+2 roads will replace existing N road stretches. A 2+2 looks like this.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Sure what would the NRA know about road safety?
    They are the group that for years told us that we didn't need motorway rest stops, who think the cheese wire along the central divide is good enough (feck any bikers that hit it).