Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show this week (Sept 30th)

• 28-09-2011 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭

DLB said this morning that he will have all 7 Presidential Candidates on this Friday's show....should be interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,227 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

shinny wrote: »
    DLB said this morning that he will have all 7 Presidential Candidates on this Friday's show....should be interesting!

The big debate is this week so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Lets see how he gets around to asking them about their illnesses.
    This will be interesting,very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Norris will not be there folks.. I'm an idiot who doesnt read things fully.. :o

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/candidates-to-pitch-their-credentials-on-late-late-show-2887898.html
    EACH of the nominees for the Presidency will be interviewed on 'The Late Late Show' on Friday, but not Senator David Norris.The Irish Independent has learned that the contenders will be given a one-to-one interview with host Ryan Tubridy. However, Senator Norris, who was interviewed in a 20-minute slot on the show two weeks ago, will only feature in a live confrontation between the candidates later in the evening.

"Even though Senator Norris spent most of his previous interview on the 'Late Late Show' defending himself rather than outlining his vision for the presidency, his appearance is a point of contention with some of the other candidates. So in the interests of fairness, we have come up with this solution," an RTE source told the Irish Independent last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Doesn't your quote actually confirm that he will be there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I admire your optimism.

Still, it's a good chance to get a drinking game going

Whenever you hear any of these phrases being mentioned finish your Glass/Bottle/Can/Naggin as appropriate.

NB Dial 999 on your phone before you start so that you only have to hit send when the time comes. It'll give you a fighting chance of getting an ambulance.

"President for all the people"
    "Represented Ireland at home and Abroad"
    "Judged on My Record"
    "Legal Advice is that I cannot publish those Letters"
    "Special Olympics"
    "Not going to engage in negative campaigning"
    "Left Fianna Fail/The IRA/Eurovision some time ago"
    "the legacy of Mary McAleese"
    "Nelson Mandela"
    "If I can work with Ian Paisley, I can work with anyone"
    "What's DLB?"

Shots if anyone starts reading poetry/speaking Irish/speaking Hebrew/wants to rename Áras An Uachtaráin

Feel free to add your own.

Skid wrote: »

I admire your optimism.

Whenever you hear any of these phrases being mentioned finish your Glass/Bottle/Can/Naggin as appropriate.

NB Dial 999 on your phone before you start so that you only have to hit send when the time comes. It'll give you a fighting chance of getting an ambulance.

"Judged on My Record"
    "Special Olympics"
    "Nelson Mandela"
    "What's DLB?"

Shots if anyone starts reading poetry/speaking Irish/speaking Hebrew/wants to rename Áras An Uachtaráin

illness and death and upcoming books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

"Judged on My Record"
    "Special Olympics"
    "Nelson Mandela"
    "What's DLB?"

I'd like to add "situation" to the list (or as Mr. McGuinness would say Sit-e-ation).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Don't forget "grown up as a country", "the actions of a small minority"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Cant help thinking this is gonna be crap based on the sheer number of candidates on offer.

if there was just 3 or 4 you could get some meaty stuff out of this but with 7 itll become a borefest way too quick as people have already seen the primetime interviews.

and when it comes to the free for all you can bet itll come down to 3 big hitters hoarding all the time.

thats NOT ryant tubridys fault.

just the way it panned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

Getting in touch with the "grass roots people" and as I heard the other day "a root and branch search".

Whoever uses either of these phrases is a ****ing moron.

Love,
    Dermighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Also Gay Mitchells continual use of the phrase "Social Justice"

I envisage lot of talk about "building" as well... like McAleese "building bridges"..

Possibly
    Mary "Building up her five pensions" Davis,
    David "The only gay in the building" Norris,
    Gay "Not even wanted by the people in his own building" Mitchell,
    Martin "How to take down a building" McGuinness .. etc etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Someone should make a PBB card: Presidential Bullsh1t Bingo Card similar to176275.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,876 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I'd like to add "situation" to the list (or as Mr. McGuinness would say Sit-e-ation).
    oh i have a new one!!!

Tubridys latest "tick" is perfect for a debate ....

"ah who's the messer down the back of the class"

I'm going to drive a nail through my hand every time dana says "for the people"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

So basically we'll get a repeat of the Prime Time interviews...

Same questions, same responses, same waffle...

Given that a large amount of the Late Late audience probably watched Prime Time last night, why on earth is the LLS devoting most of its programme to a "debate" with the 7 candidates.

Tubridy isn't up for a debate - he'll be accused of bias no matter what he says and just hasn't the experience for political debates. It's a farce.

Cant' wait to see DLB's big debate head on him!
    "ooh look at me i'm a big serious debater..."

no you're not you're a bag of right angles in a suit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Dana - if you were president would you sign into law an abortion bill?
    Yes/No will do!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Don't forget 'I'm a job creator'

Paddy Power have a book running on 'First Cliche' of the night.

Wonder where they got that idea, it wasn't on their site yesterday? rolleyes.gif

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/other-politics/next-irish-president?ev_oc_grp_ids=518726
    The people of Ireland 5/1
    President for all the people 6/1
    Aras 6/1
    Experience 8/1
    Peace 10/1
    Abroad 10/1
    Mary McAleese 10/1
    Representing Ireland 12/1
    Inclusive 12/1
    European Union 12/1
    Advantage 12/1
    Letters 16/1
    Human rights 20/1
    Mary Robinson 20/1
    Rugby World Cup 20/1
    Barack Obama 20/1
    Unites States 20/1
    The Queen 25/1
    China 25/1
    Enda Kenny 25/1
    Nelson Mandela 25/1
    Phoenix Park 33/1
    Seven year term 33/1
    West Brit 33/1
    The only poll that counts is election day 33/1
    Media 40/1
    Eamon De Valera 40/1
    Michael Collins 40/1
    26 counties 40/1
    David Cameron 40/1
    Salary 40/1
    Diaspora 50/1
    Gay rights 50/1
    Douglas Hyde 66/1
    Apolitical 66/1
    Anti establishment 66/1
    Bertie Ahern 66/1
    Eurovision Song Contest 66/1
    George Bush 100/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Paddy Power have a book running on 'First Cliche' of the night.

Wonder where they got that idea, it wasn't on their site yesterday? rolleyes.gif

http://www.paddypower.com/bet/other-politics/next-irish-president?ev_oc_grp_ids=518726
    Skid - Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. They must have liked your idea ;)

I have a few more for the list:

"I have the stamina and the energy”

“Aras na Daoine” (I think I might need to have two drinks for everytime 'A na D' is mentioned :rolleyes:)

“I'm probably the only candidate who ever had their own herd number”

“Ryan, can you please give me an opportunity to answer without interrupting me”

“I’ve meet three American presidents”

“I have great faith in the Irish people”

This just in ...

Friday night won't be just about childish antics and everyone shouting loudly, trying to talk over each other ....

Jedward are guests on the LLS on Friday too :)

They should let Jedward interview the candidates instead of Tubs, see how good their media training really is.

I've been quoted 500/1 on any of the guests tomorrow saying:

"Tubridy you're nothing but a complete C*NT"...

However, the odds on somebody saying it in my house is 1/500

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

I don't want to jinx it, but it it's looking like the best so far this season. Not that that's saying much.

"i want to invoke the spirit of (insert dead patriot)....."

"I was talking to the Jedward in the green room, and it reminded me of the spirit of irelands youth"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

MrsD007 wrote: »
    “Aras na Daoine” (I think I might need to have two drinks for everytime 'A na D' is mentioned :rolleyes:)

SHouldn't that be Áras na nDaoine? Also, it's nonsense to imagine it as any kind of "People's Palace" when it's in a massive parkland about a mile from anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I can see Cueball Gallagher getting an easy ride:rolleyes:

Dana or Norris :confused::confused:

gallagher the clean green no poster machine.

He always has a face on him like a bulldog licking piss of a nettle.

tubbers was talking about charlie chaplin today and managed to get in, so im an expert in politics and jfk and all things american,where this derived from a conversation of a charlie chaplin collector came from is beyond me.

I cant wait to see him been told to shut up tonight,he will try bring out his ff head and will be told to (shut up) little boy....

Are you going to be present tonight jonathan?

This may be a ratings boost again but not for tubs,it will be people checking out what BS the candidate has to say.

jimmynokia wrote: »
    Are you going to be present tonight jonathan?

Nah, working tonight Jim.. Just about to head off....

Tough one tonight for Tubridy.. With so many candidate it's probably gonna be hard to get any decent debate going.. It was similar earlier this year with the leaders debate at election time... very hard to get a coherent argument going.. I'll have a look at it later on tonight though..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Why are they having this debate on TLLS?

Do the American presidential candidates have debates on Jay Leno?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

To boost Tubridys ratings which have been falling rapidly.
    Gotta pad out the viewing figures for the advertisers rate card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Their election probably matters a little bit more. I have to wonder what the point of a drawn-out campaign is for our presidential elections. They don't have policies, they don't have power. Maybe it's about who can seem like the nicest person or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Denisejcc

I admire your optimism.

"Judged on My Record"
    "Special Olympics"
    "Nelson Mandela"
    "What's DLB?"

Can we add in

'why do you watch the show if all you do is give out about it'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

What's DLB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

Tzetze wrote: »
    What's DLB?
    there's always one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭cml387

Won't be watching.

Pat Kenny today was questioning how exactly in a Frontline program upcoming he could possibly engage properly with seven candidates.

And of course Tubs jumps straight in with his unerring instinct for car crash tv.

What's on elsewhere?

cml387 wrote: »
    Won't be watching.

Pat Kenny today was questioning how exactly in a Frontline program upcoming he could possibly engage properly with seven candidates.

And of course Tubs jumps straight in with his unerring instinct for car crash tv.

What's on elsewhere?

An Idiot Abroad is on Sky1

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,803 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

What's DLB?

When I first saw it mentioned on here, I thought some boardsie had christened Ryan, Da Little Bollix. As you can imagine, it was with crushing disappointment that I learned it meant something else. It hurts to be let down like this, sign me up for the illness/misery slot, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Jimmyboss

An Idiot Abroad is on Sky1

As distinct from ''An Idiot in Montrose'' on RTE 1:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭andrew cross

Denisejcc wrote: »
    Can we add in

'why do you watch the show if all you do is give out about it'?
    i love blood sports ,and the people here can spill d,l.b blood every friday night,:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,771 ✭✭✭cml387

The Good The Bad and The Ugly is onTG4

Lee Van Cleef has just made his entrance.

What would this film be without Enio Moriccone's score?

Plus the fact I've been watching for 15 minutes and there hasn't been a single word of dialogue so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

PA-3878439-390x285.jpg
    What's DLB?

RyanTubridy02.jpg

What's DLB?

Why did I have to put that question in my drinking game ?? :(

Could be a long night ...

On the campaign trail.

410760666.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭surferdudz

PA-3878439-390x285.jpg

RyanTubridy02.jpg

MMG in action disguise...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Grants fairy

In the immortal words of Jesus " I was hungry and you fed me"
    I am a Christian!
    Are the Irish people ready for a gay president?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭surferdudz

In the immortal words of Jesus " I was hungry and you fed me"
    I am a Christian!
    Are the Irish people ready for a gay president?
    gay I can live with, egotistical , condescending, pompous, no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I smell a disaster tonight:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

cml387 wrote: »
    The Good The Bad and The Ugly is onTG4

But "The Magnificent Seven" is on RTE1 @ 21:30