Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen: Jimmycrackcorns EK4 97-CE-5610

• 27-09-2011 11:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,732 ✭✭✭

Stolen from Citywest Luas Stop not less than half an hour...anybody who happens to be out keep their eyes peeled. It's a silver Honda Civic EK4 with the reg above...thanks!

It's got 17 inch alloys and a loud exhaust...not too distinguishable really :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Free bump.

Hope it's found in one piece soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Balls :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

A photo would help if anyone has one to put up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

From last October according to the site so it might look different to this now:

IMAG0017.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Thanks to all above.

Yep she is gone. Luas park and ride has a whole new meaning.
    I would have parked at the shopping centre if I wasn't working silly hours.

The car is cursed since day one :(

Last High Res photo:
    http://lh3.ggpht.com/-7nJk5pgo6ww/TLLrnhJCxPI/AAAAAAAAAUM/Km-gvtHQXHY/s912/IMAG0017.jpg

Has a badge now.

Alarm took 10 minutes to bypass and it was buried behind the clocks in the dash.

There goes my no claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

sorry to hear jimmy.

i lost 3 years ncb in jan from my chaser gettin took. had a clifford alarm on it.

guards said no matter what the alarm, some of the 'new breed' of youngsters can get the car within minutes.

hope she turns up mate, even if it ends up like the chaser, made a few grand braking what was left.

finegrs crossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Thanks to all above.

Yep she is gone. Luas park and ride has a whole new meaning.
    I would have parked at the shopping centre if I wasn't working silly hours.
    Alarm took 10 minutes to bypass and it was buried behind the clocks in the dash.

There goes my no claims.

When I had two cars stolen years ago my NCB was not touched as I had an alarm/immobilizer fitted.

Are you sure you will lose yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

**** buzz jimmy..

i do be about clondalkin myself and that car would stick out very well.

if i see it i shall report back here straight away (phone as i see it) and if its still stolen onto the gardai it is straight away !

i do be about rathcool and newcastle too aswell as naas road and what not.

good luck man !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

theft does not usually effect ncb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

A guy I work with had his wife's Micra stolen from Lucan on Friday, taken without the keys.

Turned up last night somewhere around Liffey Valley, still (mainly) in one piece. As the area's aren't a million miles apart, wonder if there is any connection?

Always worth having a drive around a few places to check.

I'll keep an ear out for it around Tallaght.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Might not make it this far north but ill keep an eye out in dundalk, i take a look at nearly all civics that pass me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WestWing

R.O.R wrote: »
    A guy I work with had his wife's Micra stolen from Lucan on Friday, taken without the keys.

Turned up last night somewhere around Liffey Valley, still (mainly) in one piece. As the area's aren't a million miles apart, wonder if there is any connection?

Always worth having a drive around a few places to check.

I'll keep an ear out for it around Tallaght.

Without wanting to upset the residents of Shancastle (opposite Liffey Valley car showrooms), i hear that is a good a place as any to look for "missing" cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

my car had alarm / immobiliser and i still lost my ncb, was with travellers through 123.ie

was i wrong to just accept it

edit** scratch that, just went back and read the email they sent me
    Unfortunately as your No Claims Bonus was not protected you will lose 2 years for any claim which is made, regardless of whether it is an accident or a theft claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 SimonF

dharn wrote: »
    theft does not usually effect ncb

all depends on the insurance company, I lost 3 years NCB with Quinn when mine was stolen.
    Sorry to hear about it mate, its heartbreaking, fingers crossed it turns up in good nick.

SimonF wrote: »
    all depends on the insurance company, I lost 3 years NCB with Quinn when mine was stolen.
    Sorry to hear about it mate, its heartbreaking, fingers crossed it turns up in good nick.

I'm with Quinn only insurer that would touch me. 4 years NCB :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I'm assuming the value is enough to need a claim?

Is value of car > NCB savings?

I know you had the supercharger + other mods on it so probably a redundant question...

IrishZeus wrote: »
    I'm assuming the value is enough to need a claim?

Is value of car > NCB savings?

I know you had the supercharger + other mods on it so probably a redundant question...

All mods actually fitted to the car are declared on my policy.

The supercharger and ecu are thankfully in the press as I just hadn't the time to get them on the car. All my gauges and the wideband sensor are also in the press as they are not needed for normal driving. I also have my next set of tyres in the shed in Clare.

I don't know what the market value of the car is, or where i stand with Quinn yet as they are due to call be back all day. I'm also unsure of where I stand insurance wise if the car is not recovered or is.

Cost benefit of claiming and all the mess ill have to work out when i get there.

I don't want to think about it for now. The amount of money and time iv sank into the car in the last year just to keep it roadworthy and safe is a scary figure on its own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭gs300

I'll take a spin around the clondalkin area and see if there is any sign of it.

Hope it turns up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

If I was you I'd be checking breakers yards and done deal for parts from the car. Especially if it has a decent engine, that could be worth a quid second hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Thats depressing stuff. nice car. Will keep a look out around Tallaght.

Thanks very much guys.

Still no sign or word on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

The Micra I mentioned yesterday was found parked in one of the Liffey Valley shopping centre car parks. Might be worth a spin around them all?

It's not too badly damaged either, just needs a new front driver's wing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Sorry to hear JCC. I'll keep my eyes peeled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Sounds like theres a gang out there shopping to order, a friends b16 DC2 Integra was stolen last night from Celbridge, and I heard of another taken from Newcastle yesterday. It might be worth keeping an eye out on the likes of Donedeal etc, to see if it pops up for sale.

Tiny sliver of good news.

My no claims is protected, provided nothing else happens between now and end of policy I should be able to drive cars over 1litre.

Also iv had allot of helpful phone calls/help and support
    *Offers of loan cars
    *One Boards member who showed me all the hot spots in the area last night

Just to say there are some very good people out there and I couldn't be more grateful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I've had my ear to the ground all day and nothing.

Another red teg was taken last night in Celbridge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Nice car, hope you get some good news !

I'll keep an eye out around Lucan/Leixlip/Maynooth.

One thing I have noticed recently is an increase in the number of 'unmarked' towtrucks hanging around - usually Transit-based.

Funny that someone mentioned Shancastle before... not sure if that's where stolen cars end up, but when I was in the Garda station looking at their 'usual suspects' photos, a good percentage of the local scumbags had addresses in Shancastle.

As of this morning still no update.

Same no update.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Really sorry to hear about this man. Will keep an eye out.

Bump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

I'm still on the look out as a go about my business day to day out and about.

really hope it turns up buddy

Same no update.

Morning bump no luck as of today.

Meeting insurance this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

I can only guess how sick you feel. Hopefully the thieves get what they deserve in the long run.

Heres hoping you get the car back in decent nick or get a decent result with the insurance company.

I'm putting 100 quid reward for anyone who finds the car.

No questions asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭vectra

No questions asked.

If I were to see/find your car i most certainly would NOT take any money from you.
    You have been through enough as it is.
    Keeping my eyes peeled even though It most likely wont find it's way down this far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

No questions asked.

Sorry to here about your car, hope you get it back. My Dad said there were about 4 blokes looking at mine Sat night, first time in a long time I forgot too box it in the garden. Won't be making that mistake again, although you would be half tempted to stay up and wait too see if they come back and ring the Garda and then get a look at there faces. Scum all around.

Friend of mine recently sold his Type R cause he was sick of the constant treat to security, boxing it in. Bad form when you can't park a car somewhere without worries.

Like there are some places I would be going to and I would take my Da's car because there is no way I would leave my car there. But some people don't have this option.

And to be honest, most alarms are useless. A good kill switch or disconnect the spark plugs if your parking in a iffy spot. Even at that, one of my mates got attacked with a hammer for his car, there ****ing out of control the scum these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

You must be going up the wall.

Have you check local "dodgy areas".

My car was robbed a few years ago, turned up down the road around the

corner from where i live, bonnet up, jump leads attached to a spare

battery! Think they were distrubed while trying to jump/start it.

Hope some word of it turns up soon.

No questions asked.

morning bump

No news other than i'm meeting the assessor today:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

No news other than i'm meeting the assessor today:(

Sucks dude, I've had cars nearly robbed on me...I wouldn't take the 100 quid off you either...Hope you get it back in one piece..

Its stories like these that prompted me to get a tracker in the car.

Food for thought:

http://www.dealextreme.com/p/gps-dualband-gsm-realtime-spy-anti-theft-vehicle-tracker-22968

Got one of these and they work very well, just program, lob in a prepay sim and wire up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Seems a handy thing to have eringobrath, when I'm getting my next car a Jap probably.. Ill be investing in a decent alarm and a tracker too..

The amount of theft around lately is a joke tbh.

Hopefully it turns up Jimmy, I've been keeping an eye but nothing so far :(

Morning bump.

No news or sightings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 nedz

Hi JimmyCC

Keep the faith and keep bumping up posts we found our car today all through the help and support of boards and all the lads on here. Will keep eyes peeled and I hope it turns up for you.

Nedz

nedz wrote: »
    Hi JimmyCC

Keep the faith and keep bumping up posts we found our car today all through the help and support of boards and all the lads on here. Will keep eyes peeled and I hope it turns up for you.

Nedz

Thanks,

I spent the weekend away with the misses to just not think about it and to get some rest as iv been working 14 hour days for the past two weeks.

There may have been a sighting in balbriggen, nothing definite but guards notified.

hopefully soon there will be some news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,247 ✭✭✭rameire

I actually saw a car like yours on thursday at about 5.50pm.
    it was on the mad cow junction, either coming from the m50 southbound or from the city side going outbound on the N7.
    it may have merged over and headed into clondalkin by the bridge, but I had passed it by that point.

I though your car was a saloon until i took a look at the pic there, so thought nothing of it.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

I can 100pc confirm the grey civic in the kiltipper area is not my car. Though it does look similar.

No other news. :(

Update:
    Rang this morning again.

ME:
    Just ringing to see if there is any news on my car.

GARDA:
    What's the Reg?

Me:

GARDA:
    Its stolen.

Me:
    I'm fairly sure it is. Any sightings or any update at all?

GARDA:
    Nothing bar the initial report. :(

Moral of the story boards and car clubs are better at finding stolen cars. There is a website idea for me. :(

bump nothing to report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

This is really sh!t dude, I feel rotten for you.

I've been keeping an eye out around Maynooth since I heard about it, hopefully someone will spot it somewhere