Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sinead O’Connor threatens to kill Pope

• 27-09-2011 8:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭

From The Catholic League:

SINEAD O’CONNOR—”KILL THE POPE”

Irish singer Sinead O’Connor is warning Pope Benedict XVI not to come to Ireland, and if he does, she wants him shot. She warned on Twitter there will be a “f***in bloodbath” if the pope visits Ireland.

Catholic League president Bill Donohue comments on her outburst:

Sinead O’Connor has a long history of Catholic bashing, so in one sense her latest foray is not unusual. What’s new, however, is her advocacy of violence. Given her precarious condition, it is not likely she could shoot straight, but her violent appeal may trigger others to act. That is the danger.

O’Connor is not doing well. The cops were recently summoned to her home after she Tweeted about suicide. She needs long-term help. In the meantime, whatever family or friends she has would do well to get her to ramp down her rhetoric and at least pretend to be normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Keaton

Plowman wrote: »

The language used could incite violence and certainly helps create a climate of fear.

It could also be taken as a thinly veiled threat. She already tore up a picture of the Pope so there is no knowing what could happen if an unstable individual had access to a gun and went to visit the Pope should he visit. This kind of outburst may help fuel such deranged individuals. However, I am sure his security people do a great job.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Keaton wrote: »
    However, I am sure his security people do a great job.
    They would want to do a whole lot better than they did before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Plowman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Best of luck to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Gingko

I wish this thread wasn't started. Sinead O' Connor has had mental health issues for some time. She needs support and proper help. Not this kind of nonsense. She is a talented individual that has very much lost her way in life. Her heart is in the right place for sure. She is a danger to herself and nobody else at the moment. Let's hope she pulls through this current mess in her life.

As for the Pope? Let that lot die off in time please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Keaton wrote: »
    She already tore up a picture of the Pope job.

A different Pope! It's not like he's Dr Who :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Sensationalism at its finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Sinéad O Connor is not nearly as mental as she likes to look. But she does enjoy winding up the media for a laugh, and they almost always take the bait.

lol at this:
    She already tore up a picture of the Pope so there is no knowing what could happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I think SOC is just trolling.
    SOC is just doing it for deh funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Sinéad O Connor is not nearly as mental as she likes to look. But she does enjoy winding up the media for a laugh, and they almost always take the bait.

lol at this:
    Exactly......... a non story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭gimmebroadband

In any other Country, joking or not, that would be a terrorist threat, and she would've been arrested swiftly!!

Then again she's probably using 'shock' to resurrect her flagging career!

BY JIM DeROGATIS POP MUSIC CRITIC

Though the quality of her music has never lagged, Sinead O'Connor's career never fully recovered from the misunderstood 1992 incident when she tore up a picture of the Pope on "Saturday Night Live."

In any other Country, joking or not, that would be a terrorist threat, and she would've been arrested swiftly!!

Then again she's probably using 'shock' to resurrect her flagging career!

BY JIM DeROGATIS POP MUSIC CRITIC

Though the quality of her music has never lagged, Sinead O'Connor's career never fully recovered from the misunderstood 1992 incident when she tore up a picture of the Pope on "Saturday Night Live."
    What threat? The only quote in the article is ''****ing bloodbath''. I'm assuming if she did actually threaten to shoot the pope then the article wouldn't have left that quote out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭The Quadratic Equation

I blame John Waters and his half mullet.
    She was never the same since Waters was at her.

Americans seem to perceive it as a terrorist threat, see post 16.

http://forums.catholic.com/showthread.php?t=602036

Well if some randomer on an American forum says so then it must be true.

An American seems to perceive it as a terrorist attack. Many Americans have acquired a slightly skewed perspective on that subject in recent years, but hopefully the majority would see sense and not get their knickers into a twist about such a non-story as this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Onesimus

Seriously though, americans are mad. They would sue you for making fun of their shoe laces thats how fried they are.

Everything is a terrorist threat to americans these days, their government pumped nothing but fear into them after it too. One minute they are watching tele and they get a flash of ''green'' for all is ok ''yellow'' for almost in danger. It was rubbish. The government over there control them with fear.

Cut a loud fart these days and they will dive for cover thinking your a terrorist. It's their governments fault for driving that type of fear into them.

All I can say to the above thread is LOL.

BUT her qoutes on twitter even if she is just joking, can incite hatred of the Pope into one of her mad loony fans and they will kill the Pope thinkin they are doing it in her honor.

Some twisted people out there. What she tweeted was dangerous.

Onesimus

Onesimus wrote: »
    Seriously though, americans are mad. They would sue you for making fun of their shoe laces thats how fried they are.

Everything is a terrorist threat to americans these days, their government pumped nothing but fear into them after it too. One minute they are watching tele and they get a flash of ''green'' for all is ok ''yellow'' for almost in danger. It was rubbish. The government over there control them with fear.

Cut a loud fart these days and they will dive for cover thinking your a terrorist. It's their governments fault for driving that type of fear into them.

All I can say to the above thread is LOL.

BUT her qoutes on twitter even if she is just joking, can incite hatred of the Pope into one of her mad loony fans and they will kill the Pope thinkin they are doing it in her honor.

Some twisted people out there. What she tweeted was dangerous.

Onesimus

Perhaps she want's the Pope out of the way so that she sit on the Papal Chair, she being a onetime 'priestess' and all!:D:D

Well if some randomer on an American forum says so then it must be true.

And if a randomer takes Sinead at her word and shoots the Pope or a priest for that matter ........isn't inciting to hatred illegal?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Offhand, legally the only factual scenario she could be charge, say with assault (fear of violence), is if she were twittering whilst in the physical possession of an incideniary device.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Here's hoping that as O'Conner strikes the Pope does a R2 block move followed by Down Down Up Down fatality move. FINISH HER!

mk10dw.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Keaton,
    Don't you christians have rules about lying?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

dvpower wrote: »
    Keaton,
    Don't you christians have rules about lying?

"you christians"? Have a bit of cop on to yourself and stop denigrating - which includes making smartass/loaded statements - people because of their religion, especially on a christianity board.

Zombrex wrote: »
    Here's hoping that as O'Conner strikes the Pope does a R2 block move followed by Down Down Up Down fatality move. FINISH HER!

mk10dw.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

I hope president Obama gets shot dead also for the holocausts he's carried out over the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

loltastic thread

Seriously folks, get a grip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

O'Connor is a media attention seeking whore. Pure and simple.

hinault wrote: »

That's something I think we can all agree on.

I saw in the paper about her laughing at Dana going into the presidential race and calling it ridiculous, and it just struck me as being kind of sad. Dana has proven that she is at least a respectable person who will stand up for the right things, is intelligent enough, and that is all you really need in a presidential candidate for Ireland. It's not the taoiseach of the country. There was no surprise at all to it either, she was going to stand the last time.

Whatever talents Sinead O' Connor might have had and whatever points she may have had in the past, I think she has just lost it now.

You might not be a fan of her various media mischiefs, her talent remains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭alex73

On hit wonder... Nothing Compares 2 , its all that stands to mind for me. Then she just drifted from one incarnation to another. Lately every time I see her on tele she has revinvented herself to something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭The Quadratic Equation

Wasted talent is worthless. She's more famous for her strops and hysteria, than her talent.
    That's "celebrity" culture today for you.

I'm going to hazard a wild guess you guys aren't Electric Picnic goers. I can't say I'd have been her biggest fan, but her performance shut me up pretty lively. Not to mention she was uncommonly gracious and funny with the crew. So yeah, I've a lot of regard for her now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

I hope president Obama gets shot dead also for the holocausts he's carried out over the years.

How Christian of you

Zombrex wrote: »
    How Christian of you

It's Christian to prefer one guilty man to die rather than hundreds of thousands of innocent people.

Err, it is? :confused:

Would it be christian to give up one's own life to save hundreds of thousands of people?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I must agree with Zombrex. Sacrificing is a voluntarily act. I hope President Obama has a healthy term of office (until replaced in Jan 2013 by President Palin :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Perhaps she want's the Pope out of the way so that she sit on the Papal Chair, she being a onetime 'priestess' and all!:D:D
    In order to do that, she would have to mate with the pope first

On a serious note, I'm against murder, and if anything did happen to the pope or Obama as sugested, it would just make a martyr of them.

From an Atheist perspective the current pope is the best thing since a slice of Dawkin's realism, the pope has probably turned more people, away from the Roman church in Ireland, than any other person.

Long live the Pope and keep up the good work of churning out us Atheists.

Would it be christian to give up one's own life to save hundreds of thousands of people?
    That's not what you said.

You said it's christian to prefer one man to die rather than thousands. Surely it's christian to prefer none die at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Jaysus she really will do anything for attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

alex73 wrote: »
    On hit wonder... Nothing Compares 2 , its all that stands to mind for me. Then she just drifted from one incarnation to another. Lately every time I see her on tele she has revinvented herself to something else.

girl had talent

That's not what you said.

You said it's christian to prefer one man to die rather than thousands. Surely it's christian to prefer none die at all?

It is exactly what I said. "It's christian to prefer one man to die rather than hundreds of thousands".

If you don't understand what a simple phrase like "rather than" means or are unwilling to take a moment to read a sentence properly, then you really need to go somewhere else never mind be attempting to contradict someone. Now you ARE wrong to have misinterpreted it like that, that is the truth, it is NOT an opinion. It is NOT something we can all debate and have an opinion on. I am not trying to "fight" you for the sake of "winning", I am just relaying the truth.

Now please, go in peace and troll no more.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Festus

Has anyone noticed how the last time she appeared to be attractive was when she tore up the picture of the pope and since then she has turned in to a fat ugly heifer?

Apparently the only way she can attract anything male now is by suggesting she enjoys taking it up the gicker.

Sh1t, one day her kids are going to read this!

It is exactly what I said. "It's christian to prefer one man to die rather than hundreds of thousands".

If you don't understand what a simple phrase like "rather than" means or are unwilling to take a moment to read a sentence properly, then you really need to go somewhere else never mind be attempting to contradict someone. Now you ARE wrong to have misinterpreted it like that, that is the truth, it is NOT an opinion. It is NOT something we can all debate and have an opinion on. I am not trying to "fight" you for the sake of "winning", I am just relaying the truth.

Now please, go in peace and troll no more.

LOL, you call me a troll because you realise you made a boo boo.

Here is what you originally said...

And when questioned on it you followed up with...

Now in the first quote, you said it's Christian to prefer one man die rather than thousands of innocent people. Clearly you were speaking of Obama here as you said this in response to this post.

Now, preferring a man to die (guilty or not) is a lot different than giving your own life, as you mentioned in the second quote, anyone with 2 brain cells can clearly see this.

The second quote may be considered ''christian'', the first is certainly not. Just think, what would Jesus do?

"you christians"? Have a bit of cop on to yourself and stop denigrating - which includes making smartass/loaded statements - people because of their religion, especially on a christianity board.
    You ask me to stop denigrating and 4 posts later you agree that Sinead O'Connor is a whore. Nice one.

Anyway, the idea that Sinead threathened to kill the pope is dishonest, hence the question about lies.

You ask me to stop denigrating and 4 posts later you agree that Sinead O'Connor is a whore. Nice one.

I said stop denigrating people because of their religion. You know, like discrimination against a group of people because of their religion? Persecution? Surely you've heard of this concept? I never said not to denigrate people because of their acts which is perfectly fine to me: we all have faults. And if you can't understand basic grammar then you can't communicate with me just like that previous poster. I also never said that Sinead O'Connor is a whore.
    Anyway, the idea that Sinead threathened to kill the pope is dishonest, hence the question about lies.

I agree that Sinead O' Connor never threatened to kill the pope. I was going to post how I strongly believe she didn't say anything like threatening to kill him, however then I saw people inciting violence and murder toward the pope so I wanted to make a point about how I would rather Obama be killed than hundreds of thousands of innocent people including the pope. Also, what is the point in adding your own lie by saying I said Sinead O'Connor is a whore?

Where was I denigrating anyone because of their religion? At most I was denigrating the op for failing to display honesty, a trait that I think Christians hold dear.

Anyway, I'm sure Sinead would never threathen to kill anyone, not even Obama, who apparently doesn't deserve to live:(

Edit: In post #29 you agreed with hinault that she is a whore.

Festus wrote: »
    Has anyone noticed how the last time she appeared to be attractive was when she tore up the picture of the pope and since then she has turned in to a fat ugly heifer?

Apparently the only way she can attract anything male now is by suggesting she enjoys taking it up the gicker.

Sh1t, one day her kids are going to read this!
    Or worse, your kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

hinault wrote: »

I suppose in years gone by she would have been locked up in a Magdalene 'Laundry' for being a media whore.....

denigrating the op for failing to display honesty, a trait that I think Christians hold dear.

I agree with this. OP also said: "Irish singer Sinead O’Connor is warning Pope Benedict XVI not to come to Ireland, and if he does, she wants him shot."... I think you could legitimately be put in jail or fined for stating that someone said that if it's not true. It's outrageous dishonesty, unless she somehow did say something like that.
    Anyway, I'm sure Sinead would never threathen to kill anyone, not even Obama, who apparently doesn't deserve to live:(

I would argue that Bin Laden deserved to live as much as Obama, yet you had people rejoicing in the streets at his death. The US is all about violence and war and has been for years.