Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Edinburgh V Munster Fri. 30th - Not on TV

• 27-09-2011 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭

Munster welcome back influential trio

From RTE.ie
    BJ Botha, Marcus Horan, Ian Nagle - return to the Munster squad for Friday's RaboDirect Pro12 clash with Edinburgh in Murrayfield.

Botha suffered a calf strain in training in the run up to last weekend's game in Cardiff, while Horan succumbed to a bout of illness.

Nagle has been out of action after sustaining a shoulder injury in the pre-season game against London Irish in Thomond Park Stadium in late August.

Also added are Simon Zebo, Paddy Butler and Dave O'Callaghan while James Coughlan and skipper Peter O'Mahony, who both retired injured in the course of Friday's Cardiff game, are also included in the 29-strong squad.

Munster squad v Edinburgh in RaboDirect Pro12 League in Murrayfield on Friday, 30 September at 7.30pm:

J Murphy, S Deasy, S Zebo, T Gleeson, D Barnes, L Mafi, D Hurley, D Howlett, P Stringer, D Williams, I Keatley, M Horan, J Hayes, W du Preez, J Ryan, S Archer, BJ Botha, D Fogarty, M Sherry, B Holland, M O'Driscoll, I Nagle, D Foley, D O'Callaghan, P O'Mahony, N Ronan, T O'Donnell, P Butler, J Coughlan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Is it not on BBC Scotland or the likes??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

Second game this year not televised and we're not even out of September. Not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,979 ✭✭✭✭phog

Is it not on BBC Scotland or the likes??

STV broadcast highlights of the Glasgow game on the Sunday night around 22:45.

One of the radio stations, I think it was BBC Radio Scotland did a live radio broadcast.

Edited to add the link - this was the link for Glasgow V Munster game earlier this month, might be worth a try on Friday night.

budhabob wrote: »
    Second game this year not televised and we're not even out of September. Not good.

I doubt any of the home matches involving Scottish or Italian teams will be broadcast with the exception of Glasgow V Edinburgh and Edinburgh V Glasgow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'd like to see:
    du Preez, Sherry, Botha, Nagle, Micko, O'Mahony, O'Donnell, Coughlan;
    Stringer, Keatley, Hurley, Mafi, Barnes, Howlett, Murphy

Bench: Fogarty, Horan, Hayes, Foley, Ronan*, Williams, Deasy, Zebo

Some might have Zebo ahead of Hurley but without Hurley last week we would have lost. I'm itching to see Botha play a good 50/60 minutes.

*Would like to see Butler or DOC2.0 get gametime but Ronan will be there because he's an Ireland reserve. I don't begrudge him though, he's been very good so far this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

AFAIK BBC Alba is cash strapped and obviously if they're not going to show this game live with currect Celtic league champions they're going to show little else which is a real pity. Ironically STV will have highlights of this game and their programme is the only one in any of the Celtic regions that shows action from all the games from each round of the Rabodirect. Unfortunately they're not on the Sky EPG and have to be added under 'other channels' which makes it a pain to record. I have actually thought of investing in a Freesat PVR whereby I could input Central Scottish postcode and get STV on the EPG and so record with full PVR facilities as STV's programme is excellent. Why either RTE/TG4 or BBC NI do not do a similar highlights programme I don't know. BBC Wales' Scrum V generally only show matches featuring Welsh teams although the programme is still worth watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

Neither the Munster nor Leinster game is being televised this weekend. An absolute joke and I really don't have any confidence in the way the Pro12 is being managed in this regard. For the sake of the wider promotion of the game, it's important that all games be aired. Two of the biggest performers in the league, and repeat winners, since the league's inception and we can't see them play. Shambles.

I'd love to see the game on TV but its the home nation that provides coverage hence we do really get to see games in Italy or Scotland. I guess the broadcasters there just dont see the value in it and tbh, looking at the crowds attending you can almost agree with them and if the Welsh supporters dont get behind their teams then we could have a similar issue with the 4 Weslh teams in the next few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Hard to be too bothered about not seeing it though with all the rugby on at the moment. Rather miss out on a few games now than in a few months when there's nothing else on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

phog wrote: »
    I'd love to see the game on TV but its the home nation that provides coverage hence we do really get to see games in Italy or Scotland. I guess the broadcasters there just dont see the value in it and tbh, looking at the crowds attending you can almost agree with them and if the Welsh supporters dont get behind their teams then we could have a similar issue with the 4 Weslh teams in the next few years.

True enough - although the Leinster game is at home. As was the last one against Glasgow which wasn't aired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

The echos reverberating around Murrayfield must play havoc with the sound ;-)

I'll be there anyway, first chance to take a look at the pitchside standing area, not that it will make much difference to the empty place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Get the feeling that RTE/TG4/S4C are all saving money during the RWC - no coverage of Leinster game or of Ospreys vs Connacht. These games have timeslots which could surely have fitted into the respective channels but with RWC on it seems there has been unfortunately a bit of cost cutting. At least in a few weeks time near normal service should be resumed. Also with no proper coverage of matches in Italy since collapse of Dahlia TV Rabodirect Pro 12 is getting a poor deal IMHO re TV. The league can only suffer as a result of less exposure.
    Edit: Just noticed Ospreys game on Friday not Sunday so I guess it couldn't be covered by S4C as Saturday evening/Sunday afternoon are their slots.

Munster: S Deasy; J Murphy, T Gleeson, L Mafi, D Hurley; I Keatley, P Stringer; W du Preez, D Fogarty, J Hayes; D Foley, M O'Driscoll; T O'Donnell, N Ronan, P Butler. Replacements: M Sherry, J Ryan, S Archer, I Nagle, P O'Mahony, D Williams, D Barnes, S Zebo.

From munsterrugby.ie

Murphy switched to wing and Deasy goes to FB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

He's clearly trying to give everybody a run which would explain POM and Barnes on the bench.

Disappointed that Zebo is still on the bench, would have preferred Murphy at FB and Zebo on the wing

Good to see Butler starting. Hope he does well.

Risteard wrote: »
    He's clearly trying to give everybody a run which would explain POM and Barnes on the bench.

Disappointed that Zebo is still on the bench, would have preferred Murphy at FB and Zebo on the wing

Good to see Butler starting. Hope he does well.

I think he's looking at the FB position as he knows he's without Jones til the New Year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

phog wrote: »
    I think he's looking at the FB position as he knows he's without Jones til the New Year.

Understandable, it would be foolish to rely solely on Murphy without a back up. Though Murphy's played a lot so far this season (every game?) He could have fit Zebo on the wing IMO. He might also slot Earls into FB when he comes back considering Hurley has been impressive so far.

Anyway, nothing really to complain about, hopefully they go out and make it 5 from 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

A lot weaker on paper...imo. Hopefully still enough to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭ambid

Shame Barnes and Jarvis (in Connacht) are both only on the bench this week. I'd prefer to see young Irish qualified guys getting a series of starts.

It's also fecking up my fantasy pro12 team - but that's maybe not quite so important for the future of Irish rugby :)

Edinburgh:
    15 Jim Thompson, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Matt Scott, 12 James King, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Gregor Hunter, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Stuart McInally, 7 Roddy Grant, 6 David Denton, 5 Sean Cox, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Lewis Niven, 2 Steven Lawrie, 1 Kyle Traynor.

Replacements: 16 Alun Walker, 17 Robin Hislop, 18 Shaun Knight, 19 Esteban Lozada, 20 Hamish Watson, 21 Chris Leck, 22 Phil Godman, 23 Tom Brown.

Munster:
    15 Scott Deasy, 14 Johne Murphy, 13 Tom Gleeson, 12 Lifeimi Mafi, 11 Denis Hurley, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 Paddy Butler, 7 Niall Ronan, 6 Tommy O'Donnell, 5 Mick O'Driscoll, 4 Dave Foley, 3 John Hayes, 2 Denis Fogarty, 1 Wian du Preez.

Replacements: Replacement 16 Mike Sherry, 17 John Ryan, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Ian Nagle, 20 Peter O'Mahony, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Danny Barnes, 23 Simon Zebo.

I'm very annoyed another game isn't being televised. I really like the look of the team, there's a good mix of experience (Hayes, Micko, Ronan, Stringer etc) along with the younger guys.

As another poster said, we need to look at another fullback option. Deasy has blown hot and cold for a while, if he produces he's a handy guy to have on the bench because of his versatility.

I'd love to see how Paddy Butler gets on but it's not on TV.
    We have been advised by Edinburgh Rugby that the match will be broadcast live on BBC Radio Scotland (and on the BBC website). Those with SKY Boxes can tune into Radio Scotland by going to services, system setup, add channels, enter the following 11954 H 27.0 2/3, save and go to “Other Channels” to listen.

Televised highlights will be shown on a Sunday night highlights programme on STV at 11pm and are also on their online player (www.stv.tv/player), however you may not be able to view the player depending on your location, so check in advance to avoid disappointment. To add STV as an extra channel on your Sky box, follow the same procedure as above, using the following codes: 10906 V 22.0 5/6.

We are aiming to have live twitter updates @munsterrugby, as will Edinburgh Rugby @edinburghrugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

That Tony McGahan is a cute hoor. He makes all the big selection changes when there are no cameras around to see how it pans out.

I'm really looking forward to read/listen to see how Butler goes at 8. I really hope we see a backrow of POM/Butler/TOD tried a bit this season. I'd love to see DOCv2.0/Butler/POM at some stage too but, that is still ~a season away IMO.

It's a big game for Deasy. He needs to prove him a good HC squad Player but, I've a feeling that he will never get past the level Gleason is currently at ie. a decent squad member.

We need to sort out or second row options too. We have way too many talented players (7 by my count) vying for 3 spots in a squad. Getting them all decent gametime will really test McG's management.

O'Connell: 32 in October. Will stay at Munster till he retires.
    O'Callaghan: 33 in March. Signed 3 year contract last season.
    Micko: 33 in October. Out of contract at the end of this season* but I can see him staying on for another year if he keeps up last season's form.
    Ryan: 28 in December. Don't know his contract situation.

Holland turned 26 last month, I reckon he needs to leave Munster at the end of this season otherwise his career will pass him by, because DOC and POC will be automatic first choices for at least the next 2 years. Holland is a very good player and can cover 6 like Ryan, perhaps he could replace the immortal Michael Swift at Connacht when he retires? He's definitely good enough for Pro12 level.

Foley (23) and Nagle (23 next month) are the likely replacements for the OCs.

*http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2011/0316/munster.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Leinster will swap you Jordi Murphy and Kevin McLaughlin for Nagle and Foley.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

O'Connell: 32 in October. Will stay at Munster till he retires.
    O'Callaghan: 33 in March. Signed 3 year contract last season.
    Micko: 33 in October. Out of contract at the end of this season* but I can see him staying on for another year if he keeps up last season's form.
    Ryan: 28 in December. Don't know his contract situation.

Holland turned 26 last month, I reckon he needs to leave Munster at the end of this season otherwise his career will pass him by, because DOC and POC will be automatic first choices for at least the next 2 years. Holland is a very good player and can cover 6 like Ryan, perhaps he could replace the immortal Michael Swift at Connacht when he retires? He's definitely good enough for Pro12 level.

Foley (23) and Nagle (23 next month) are the likely replacements for the OCs.

*http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/2011/0316/munster.html

Hopefully MOD, good as he is, gets less and less gametime as the season goes on. I think he would be a great acquisition for Connacht for a season or two - he will be great at helping any young locks coming through. Nagle or Foley should be well able to replace him as they are both very good in the lineout.

Holland is a very good Pro12 player but, Ryan fills the exact same role to a higher level and Shane Buckley/DOCv2.0 should do the same in a season or two. So, I think that Holland would be useful for another year or two.

The way I see it. Our HC squads could/should contain DOC,POC,Ryan and Nagle. Then for the pro12, we could look at a starting pairing of Ryan/Holland and Nagle/Foley with MOD involved, when needed, to give experience.

Its going to be a fine balancing act but, I don't think we need to go the way of a Ruddock/Foley swap - No chance they are getting Nagle and Ruddock looks like he is being enticed with the captaincy, so his leaving looks less likely- as POM looks to be stepping up this season, with TOD then Butler looking to be following behind.

Link to Radio Scotland, being broadcast on MW starting at 19:05

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Leinster will swap you Jordi Murphy and Kevin McLaughlin for Nagle and Foley.

Cheers.

Speak for yourself. Kevin McLaughlin!

Teams are out on the field, almost ready for kick-off

3 points to Edinburgh

6 Nil :(

C'mon Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Will23

thanks for the updates mate, btw where are you getting them?

edit: you're at the game?!

Will23 wrote: »
    thanks for the updates mate, btw where are you getting them?

edit: you're at the game?!

9 Nil to Edinburgh.

Live Radio here

C'mon lads....

Try for Edinburgh

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Dammit Munster! You're going to ruin my accumulator!!

16 - 3

all we need now is a few more scores :)

Keatley misses a drop goal attempt

16 - 6 now

Either John Hayes is the only Munster player the commentators know or he's playing like a young fella, he seems to be everywhere :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Time to up it now.

Half time
    Edinburgh 16, Munster 9

7 down eh? C'mon Munster, let's be havin' ya..... :D

2nd Half has started, Edinburgh on our try line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

How this game isn't televised is beyond me. Serious backwards step for the league that so many games aren't being covered by TV. Even Leinsters home game tomorrow isn't being televised despite RTE headquarters being half a mile away. Don't forget to pay your television license people, value for money. Fair City is on instead.

19 - 9

[Jackass] wrote: »
    How this game isn't televised is beyond me. Serious backwards step for the league that so many games aren't being covered by TV. Even Leinsters home game tomorrow isn't being televised despite RTE headquarters being half a mile away. Don't forget to pay your television license people, value for money. Fair City is on instead.

I'm willing to let it slide during the RWC. Though as far as I can tell RTÉ have no crews anywhere seeing as Leinster is the only home game and they're not showing that.

Munster in trouble, another try for Edinburg from their own 22 (I think)

26 - 9

lots of changes for Munster

Edinburgh's 2nd try was scored with a forward pass in the lead up to it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I'm willing to let it slide during the RWC. Though as far as I can tell RTÉ have no crews anywhere seeing as Leinster is the only home game and they're not showing that.

The worst thing is that rte arent even showing that many world cup games

Well they only have rights to the Ireland games but I guess they feel one RWC game a weekend should replace a Pro12 game.