Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Bible, Creationism, and Prophecy (part 2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Masteroid

J C wrote: »
    The Bible recounts the deeds of many fallible men ...

As do the Sun and the Daily Star...
    David was a King and yet he was an aduterer ... and a murderer. Moses was a prophet and a leader of Israel ... yet he was self-willed and headstrong ... and the Bible presents him 'warts and all'

Yes, God has shown Himself to be a terrible personnel manager by his choice of representatives here on earth. He consistently favours evil men and women, Abraham, Moses, Samuel, Saul, David, Lot's rapist/incestuous daughters, Paul (inventor of Christianity) and even Mary, she willingly submitted her son to a life of suffering. The list is endless.

As I have said before, if the roles of God and Satan were reversed then the bible would make far more sense.
    He broke the tablets of stone upon which the Ten Commandments were written by God in a fit of rage when he came and found the Israelites adoring a golden calf idol ...

What God has put together let no man put asunder.

Anyway, what did God have against the Egyptians? Weren't they 'sons of Adam' and 'daughters of Eve' too? How come God is okay with me expressing my free-will but not okay with the Egyptians expressing their free-will? The Romans, Christians and Muslims were perfectly free to express their will, oppressing, persecuting and displacing the Jews from that land which God has given to them but no staffs have turned into serpents, no plagues or murder of the first-born of an entire generation, nothing.

What did God have against the Egyptians that He doesn't have against the Christian nations of the world?

Think about it, God is guilty of 'match-fixing' and 'team nobbling'. A bunch of aggressive Jews attack Egypt for no reason, lose the fight and are taken prisoner.

God must have lost a large bet on that outcome and so directly interfered in matters of men.

The strange thing is that only Moses and the Egyptians actually directly experienced God. Even as the rescued Jews worshipped the false idol, God stayed quiet. It was Moses who was frustrated with his people, not God.

All of this is according to Moses of course. Moses indicates that God operates a double standard.
    and the Ten Commandments weren't sufficient for him ... he had to add his own detailed 'control freak' laws ... and their all too Human punishments ... that were shown up for the hypocracy that they represented by Jesus Christ ... who said it like it was (and is) in regard to laws and lawmakers. Jesus said that lawmakers make heavy (legal) burdens for (ordinary) men to carry... but they lift not a finger to help !!!

And Moses becomes less and less godly.

The human author of the bible becomes less and less credible.
    Moses may have been the first fallible lawmaker ... but he certainly wasn't the last!!!:)

Not the first either. The Egyptians had civil law millenia befor Moses' birth.

In any case, by your own logic and in your own words, the bible is not a trustworthy source since even Moses failed to represent God as God willed him to.

And in that respect, you are quite correct. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,615 ✭✭✭✭J C

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    If you had a choice which would you choose (medicine or prayer) in a life threatening situation?
    Both ...
    ... as there are no circumstances that I can think of, where it would be an either/or situation.:D

doctoremma wrote: »
    Somehow, it is obvious that smoking would cause health issues, that the Earth moves around the sun. The fact - and it is fact - is that these things weren't obvious at all. They only seem so now when we consider the weight of scientific study behind them and the insertion of these facts into our picture of the world.

Unless, of course, you are saying that had you been an ancient astronomer, studying the star movement across the heavens, you would have been straight there with the premise that the Earth is the object moving? Forgive me if I doubt that.
    If there was any confusion on the issue of smoking causing health issues and geocentrism ... it was largely caused by scientists/philosophers who maintained these illogical positions ... just like many scientists today still illogically maintain that pondscum can spontaneously 'lift itself up by its own bootstraps' via selected mistakes and deep time to become man!!!:eek:

A 5-year old could tell you that smoking is bad for you, that the universe couldn't physically orbit the Earth every 24 hours ... and therefore it is the Earth that is rotating relative to the Universe ... and pondkind will remain pondkind ... in the absence on an input of intelligent design!!!:)

Note to self ... we need more 5-year olds talking to Evolutionary Biologists.:eek:

doctoremma wrote: »
    JC, your capacity for hindsight bias is blinding, in all senses.
    ... but Emma ... I always speak so highly of you!!!:D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Gumbi

If there was confusion on the issue of smoking causing health issues and geocentrism ... it was caused by scientists/philosophers who maintained these illogical positions ... just like many scientists today still illogically maintain that pondscum can spontaneously 'lift itself up by its own bootstraps' via selected mistakes and deep time to become man!!!:eek:

A 5-year old could tell you that smoking is bad for you, that the universe couldn't physically orbit the Earth every 24 hours ... and therefore it is the Earth that is rotating relative to the Universe ... and pondkind will remain pondkind ... in the absence on an input of intelligent design!!!:)

Note to self ... we need more 5-year olds talking to Evolutionary Biologists.:eek:
    I asked 2 5 year olds if smoking was bad for you. One said yes. I asked why "cos my mom told me so". The other said "I don't think so". I asked why, he said "cos they make my dad happy".

As always, your assertions are b*llocks.

K_user wrote: »
    Hey JC :D
    Hey K !!!:D
    Have to say I find this all rather fascinating.
    The Bible is indeed the most fascinating book that was ever written.
    So according to your good-self the Bible is completely right, open to interpretation and was written by people with a fertile imagination?

For example:
    Gen 32:30 “For I have seen God face to face, and my life is preserved.”
    John 1:18 states, “No man hath seen God at any time”

Both are in the Bible, plain as day. Yet you have stated that only John’s account is correct, that Jacob was prone to flights of literary fancy. So that begs the question, how much else is pure imagination? And who decides?
    It's true that Jacob wrestled with a man ... and Jacob (erroneously) claimed he was God ... but it was possibly an angel ... as his adversary never identified himself ... and he couldn't see him, as it was night.
    ... so, there is no contradiction between Gen 32:30 and John 1:18 ... you just need to read them carefully as well as the surrounding verses that explains the context of both verses.:)

James 1:13 “For God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man.”
    Gen 22:1 “And it came to pass after these things, that God did tempt Abraham”

And again, your interpretation is that God only test, not tempts with evil. But it is written that he tempts. Your interpretation versus what is written?
    The context of Gen 22:1 was God's test of Abraham ... and it was only a test as He prevented Abraham from sacrificing Isaac.

And then we have the definition of evil to contend with. What is it? “Thou shall not Kill” is one of the commandments set out by God. Is to break Gods word evil? Yet it is written that God ordered Abraham to kill his own child. Ok, he didn’t have to go through with it. But if killing is a sin, why would God order someone to kill? Consistency?
    It was a test ... to see whether Abraham was obedient to God to the point of sacrificing his son. It wasn't a temptation to do evil ... such as Satan does - and rejoices in, when the evil act is committed.

"Now it came about after these things, that God tested Abraham, and said to him, Abraham!' And he said, 'Here I am.' 2 And He said, 'Take now your son, your only son, whom you love, Isaac, and go to the land of Moriah; and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains of which I will tell you”

And that is the only problem with that piece, because we know that Abraham had another son, Ishmael, who was a teenager at the time. So did God get it wrong? Or was it just a slip of the tongue?
    Ishmael was a son conceived with Sarah's maidservant Hagar ... and thus wasn't an Israelite, as jewish ancestry is determined via the maternal line.
    Isaac was the only Israelite son that Abraham had .. and he is the common ancestor of all Israelite Jews today.
    Ishmael is the common ancestor of todays Palestinian people ... quite ironic and sad, when we see what is happening between Israel and Palestine today ... as they are all Abraham's children.
    The problem is that the Bible was written by many different people, years apart, many of whom didn’t actually witness what happened. That’s why there is no consistency. And with the best of intentions, man gets things wrong, man has, as you have already said, a fertile imagination.

Again your interpretation of something that was written, then corrected, but left in the Bible.
    The words of the Bible are true ... and because of this, they present a 'warts and all' account of historical events.
    Jacobs fertile imagination ... has nothing to do with the true account of his wrestling match ... written by the author of Genesis.

Yes, they are turns of phrase today, but the Church was very firm on what was the truth back in the 1600’s.

You see back then it was absolutely unthinkable that a mere member of the public could interpret the Bible. But Galileo said publicly that the interpreters of the Bible could make mistakes, and that it was a mistake to assume that the Bible had to be taken literally. Heresy and Inquisition followed.
    And to know how serious it was to question anything in the Bible check out what happened to poor Giordano Bruno.
    The Roman Catholic Church was as wrong about the Bible as they were about the Universe ... on the geocentric issue.
    However Galileo was found innocent the first time. Course when he chose to write a book on the movement of the Earth and the stars, he was threatened with torture, until he publicly confessed that he had been wrong to say that the Earth moved around the Sun. And he was confined to house arrest until his death.

So here is the problem, you say that in this case the Bible isn’t to be taken literally, that its clearly established that the Earth is round and that it travels through space. However the Church had a very different view up until someone popped a large camera up into space and said “look, Galileo was right”.
    A plain reading of the Bible doesn't say anything about the astronomical position of the Earth ... but the fact that it is a sphere is confirmed in Is 40:22

Is 40:22
    It is he that sitteth upon the circle of the earth, and the inhabitants thereof are as grasshoppers; that stretcheth out the heavens as a curtain, and spreadeth them out as a tent to dwell in:

So again it has to be asked, who gets to decide when and where the Bible is wrong? And at what point will people stop taking it so literally? At what point do people stop believing 2000 year old writings of men with fertile imaginations?
    A plain reading is the correct approach.

I think I’m pretty ok on my Biblical knowledge thanks. I can see it for what it is. I understand where it came from. Its historical importance, and how it can be used in modern context.

However I don’t depend on it to explain the origins of the world and how life came into being. We have science for that. :D
    We do indeed have science for that ... Creation Science.:D

Gumbi wrote: »
    I asked 2 5 year olds if smoking was bad for you. One said yes. I asked why "cos my mom told me so". The other said "I don't think so". I asked why, he said "cos they make my dad happy".

As always, your assertions are b*llocks.
    These childrens' critical thinking skills may need further development.

Children of Creation Scientists, who have been taught good critical thinking skills, from a young age, would instantly spot that smoking is a dangerous, unhealthy habit, that is similar to sticking your head up a smoking chimney!!!:eek::D:)

Masteroid wrote: »
    As do the Sun and the Daily Star...
    ... but Rupert Murdock isn't God!!!:D

Yes, God has shown Himself to be a terrible personnel manager by his choice of representatives here on earth. He consistently favours evil men and women, Abraham, Moses, Samuel, Saul, David, Lot's rapist/incestuous daughters, Paul (inventor of Christianity) .
    Perhaps the explanation is that God didn't have any better people to choose from ... and everybody else, at the time was worse!!!:eek:
    and even Mary, she willingly submitted her son to a life of suffering. The list is endless
    Mary willingly submitted herself to God's will.
    The suffering endured by Jesus was caused by the sin of Humanity ... including you and me!!!
    As I have said before, if the roles of God and Satan were reversed then the bible would make far more sense.
    It would only make sense to Satan ... who wants to be God.

What God has put together let no man put asunder.
    Good advice.
    Anyway, what did God have against the Egyptians? Weren't they 'sons of Adam' and 'daughters of Eve' too? How come God is okay with me expressing my free-will but not okay with the Egyptians expressing their free-will? The Romans, Christians and Muslims were perfectly free to express their will, oppressing, persecuting and displacing the Jews from that land which God has given to them but no staffs have turned into serpents, no plagues or murder of the first-born of an entire generation, nothing.

What did God have against the Egyptians that He doesn't have against the Christian nations of the world?
    God decided to give the Jews the Land of Israel ... for the ultimate production of the Saviour of the World ... and the Egyptians decided to defy God on this ... and they lost.
    Think about it, God is guilty of 'match-fixing' and 'team nobbling'. A bunch of aggressive Jews attack Egypt for no reason, lose the fight and are taken prisoner.

God must have lost a large bet on that outcome and so directly interfered in matters of men.
    God has a sovereign will ... that He can choose to exercise, if He deems it necessary.
    The strange thing is that only Moses and the Egyptians actually directly experienced God. Even as the rescued Jews worshipped the false idol, God stayed quiet. It was Moses who was frustrated with his people, not God.

All of this is according to Moses of course. Moses indicates that God operates a double standard.
    God operates a sovereign standard ... doing as He sees fit ... in accord with perfect love, perfect mercy and perfect justice.

And Moses becomes less and less godly.

The human author of the bible becomes less and less credible.
    Moses was a fallible Human, just like you and me ... but he wrote Genesis under the direct inspiration of God.

Not the first either. The Egyptians had civil law millenia befor Moses' birth.
    You are, of course, correct ... Moses was neither the first ... nor the last person to try and control his fellow man via law!!:)
    In any case, by your own logic and in your own words, the bible is not a trustworthy source since even Moses failed to represent God as God willed him to.

And in that respect, you are quite correct. ;)
    It is trustworthy ... Moses promulgated the civil and ceremonial law ... and defined the punishments ... and this is true.

These childrens' critical thinking skills may need further development.

Children of Creation Scientists, who have been taught good critical thinking skills, from a young age, would instantly spot that smoking is a dangerous, unhealthy habit, similar to sticking your head into a smoking chimney!!!:eek::D:)
    Ah. Excuses excuses. It's not innate knowledge that smoking is bad for you. That's simply the truth.

... so you think that smoke ... which irritates your eyes and lungs ... and can kill you, in very high concentrations, is somehow good for you ... and you need a scientist to tell you that it is bad???:):D

You need to listen to a 5-year old creationist, with excellent critical thinking skills ... to set you straight on this!!!!:):D

... they could also set you straight on the invalidity of Spontaneous Evolution, as well ... if you were to ask them.

.... mbeep ... mbeep!!!!:D

... so you think that smoke ... which irritates your eyes and lungs ... and can kill you, in very high concentrations, is somehow good for you ... and you need a scientist to tell you that it is bad???:):D

You need to listen to a 5-year old creationist, with excellent critical thinking skills ... to set you straight on this!!!!:):D

... they could also set you straight on the invalidity of Spontaneous Evolution, as well ... if you were to ask them.

Sigh. You. Just. Don't . Get. It. :/

You're so full of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭Masteroid

Moron.

The Elizabethans thought that smoking was actually good for them.

Moron!

Moron.
    ... you need to improve your self-esteem!!!:)
    The Elizabethans thought that smoking was actually good for them.

Moron!
    The Elizabethans were confused about many things!!!!:D:)

Sigh. You. Just. Don't . Get. It. :/
    ... and nobody else does either :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

.. creationist, with excellent critical thinking skills ...

Oxymoron

Sin City wrote: »
    Oxymoron
    Nonetheless ... its true ... that Creationists have excellent critical thinking skills ... while the inability of Spontaneous Evolutionists to recognise intelligent action in living organisms, indicates that their critical thinking abilities need a good 'brush up'.:)

It requires intelligence (and a willingness to use it) to recognise the product of other intelligence.

To quote Einstein ... science without religion is lame ... and religion without Science is blind!!!

... I give you Dr Georgia Purdom, Creation Scientist.

Dr. Purdom graduated with a Ph.D. in Molecular Genetics from Ohio State University in 2000. Her specialty is cellular and molecular biology.
    Dr. Purdom’s graduate work focused on genetic regulation of factors important for bone remodeling. She has published papers in the Journal of Neuroscience (under her maiden name Hickman), the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research and the Journal of Leukocyte Biology. She is a member of the American Society for Microbiology and American Society for Cell Biology. Following graduation, Dr. Purdom served as a professor of biology for six years at Mount Vernon Nazarene University in Ohio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

Aaaand she is still wrong.
    (Is it wrong of me to think shes kinda cute ?)

tommy2bad wrote: »
    Aaaand she is still wrong.
    Where is she wrong?
    tommy2bad wrote: »
    (Is it wrong of me to think shes kinda cute ?)
    ... only if it turns to lust!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭The Concrete Doctor

Nonetheless ... its true ... that Creationists have excellent critical thinking skills ... while the inability of Spontaneous Evolutionists to recognise intelligent action in living organisms, indicates that their critical thinking abilities need a good 'brush up'.:)

It requires intelligence (and a willingness to use it) to recognise the product of other intelligence.

To quote Einstein ... science without religion is lame ... and religion without Science is blind!!!

... I give you Dr Georgia Purdom, Creation Scientist.

Dr. Purdom graduated with a Ph.D. in Molecular Genetics from Ohio State University in 2000. Her specialty is cellular and molecular biology.
    Dr. Purdom’s graduate work focused on genetic regulation of factors important for bone remodeling. She has published papers in the Journal of Neuroscience (under her maiden name Hickman), the Journal of Bone and Mineral Research and the Journal of Leukocyte Biology. She is a member of the American Society for Microbiology and American Society for Cell Biology. Following graduation, Dr. Purdom served as a professor of biology for six years at Mount Vernon Nazarene University in Ohio.
    You gave us "Dr" Purdom. I throw her straight back to you. She makes statements which are simply not true. I don't know if this is edited or whether she is being controversial for the sake of the creationists mindset.
    She says that genetic information is lost in the process of natural selection. This can happen but it is not the rule. Genetic information changes. It is not always lost. Evolution does not have to be a gain or a loss, it just has to be a favourable change.
    This is the wikepedia definition of gene change:
    A single-nucleotide polymorphism (SNP, pronounced snip; plural snips) is a DNA sequence variation occurring when a single nucleotide — A, T, C or G — in the genome (or other shared sequence) differs between members of a biological species or paired chromosomes in a human. For example, two sequenced DNA fragments from different individuals, AAGCCTA to AAGCTTA, contain a difference in a single nucleotide. In this case we say that there are two alleles. Almost all common SNPs have only two alleles. The genomic distribution of SNPs is not homogenous; SNPs usually occur in non-coding regions more frequently than in coding regions or, in general, where natural selection is acting and fixating the allele of the SNP that constitutes the most favorable genetic adaptation.[1] Besides natural selection other factors like genetic recombination and mutation rate can also determine SNP density.
    Making statements such the one she makes about dinosaurs evolving into birds is also being selective with the truth. But that is what you do JC.
    We could "give you" thousands of real scientists (such as David Attenborough), but you come across one Cookie like this one and hey presto, my point is proven!
    As I said JC, you have zero credibility!

If there was any confusion on the issue of smoking causing health issues and geocentrism ... it was largely caused by scientists/philosophers who maintained these illogical positions ... just like many scientists today still illogically maintain that pondscum can spontaneously 'lift itself up by its own bootstraps' via selected mistakes and deep time to become man!!!:eek:

That same five year old probably talks more sense than you JC. I wonder what he would say if you asked him if a man could round up 2 of every animal in the world and herd them in to one big boat. Oh, and don't forget, little lad, you can't use any aeroplanes to get them from South America and Australia. He'd probably think about it and say, "I don't know, tell me how he did it."

Illogical? Just a tad. Considering it took John Wayne weeks to get a herd of cattle across one state in the US. And they weren't bouncing, running as fast as a Cheetah, nor did they want to eat him for dinner.

You have some neck to talk about illogical positions JC.

You gave us "Dr" Purdom. I throw her straight back to you. She makes statements which are simply not true. I don't know if this is edited or whether she is being controversial for the sake of the creationists mindset.
    She says that genetic information is lost in the process of natural selection. This can happen but it is not the rule. Genetic information changes. It is not always lost. Evolution does not have to be a gain or a loss, it just has to be a favourable change.
    Information is almost always lost when it is selected ... and the greater the selection pressure the greater the loss.
    The ultimate example of genetic information loss is an artificially selected creature such as a pedigree animal, like a poodle ... where they lose all of the other 'dog' information ... and become only capable of reproducing other poodles!!!:)
    This is the wikepedia definition of gene change:
    A single-nucleotide polymorphism (SNP, pronounced snip; plural snips) is a DNA sequence variation occurring when a single nucleotide — A, T, C or G — in the genome (or other shared sequence) differs between members of a biological species or paired chromosomes in a human. For example, two sequenced DNA fragments from different individuals, AAGCCTA to AAGCTTA, contain a difference in a single nucleotide. In this case we say that there are two alleles. Almost all common SNPs have only two alleles. The genomic distribution of SNPs is not homogenous; SNPs usually occur in non-coding regions more frequently than in coding regions or, in general, where natural selection is acting and fixating the allele of the SNP that constitutes the most favorable genetic adaptation.[1] Besides natural selection other factors like genetic recombination and mutation rate can also determine SNP density.
    That's how genes change allright ... but the greater the selection pressure the greater the info loss.

Making statements such the one she makes about dinosaurs evolving into birds is also being selective with the truth. But that is what you do JC.
    ... but ye guys do say that Dinos evolved into birds ... what can I say ... it never happened !!!!

We could "give you" thousands of real scientists (such as David Attenborough), but you come across one Cookie like this one and hey presto, my point is proven!
    As I said JC, you have zero credibility!
    Dr Purdom is a conventionally qualified Creation Scientist ... and David Attenborough is a legendary science film-maker.
    ... can't we all live and let live ... and respect each others rights to have the academic freedom to scientifically pursue the evidence wherever it may lead?

That same five year old probably talks more sense than you JC. I wonder what he would say if you asked him if a man could round up 2 of every animal in the world and herd them in to one big boat. Oh, and don't forget, little lad, you can't use any aeroplanes to get them from South America and Australia. He'd probably think about it and say, "I don't know, tell me how he did it."
    Firstly they only needed two of each Kind (rather that the many species that are now part of each Kind). Secondly, all of the animals were available locally on the single continent that likely was the antediluvian landmass at the time.
    Thirdly it was an enormous great ship ... that wasn't surpassed in displacement tonnage until the mid 19th Century
    Illogical? Just a tad. Considering it took John Wayne weeks to get a herd of cattle across one state in the US. And they weren't bouncing, running as fast as a Cheetah, nor did they want to eat him for dinner.
    John Wayne wasn't facing the Great Flood ... to which animals would instinctively have reacted, by substantive behaviour changes.

Think less John Wayne ... and more Morgan Freeman.:D

You have some neck to talk about illogical positions JC.
    The truth will set you free ... but first you need to stop denying it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

Think less John Wayne ... and more Morgan Freeman.:D

Morgan Freeman is an atheist. :p

Firstly they only needed two of each Kind (rather that the many species that are now part of each Kind). Secondly, all of the animals were available locally on the single continent that likely was the antediluvian landmass at the time.
    Thirdly it was an enormous great ship ... that wasn't surpassed in displacement tonnage until the mid 19th Century

JC your utterings are like the ramblings of a deranged mind. Two of every kind? That involves two of every animal that existed, including those which became extinct since. But there you go again, using the words "most likely". JC it is most unlikely that 7-8000 years ago, all of the continents were one land mass. It is unlikely that Lions walked up a ramp with gazelles talking to each other as they went. It is unlikely that Noah went to the frozen North Pole, and asked two Polar bears to come with him, 'cause it was going to rain. Your illogical beliefs are as likely as Noah recruiting a few Leprechauns to help him with the round up. How do you know he didn't, by the way? How do you know that the poor little Leprechauns didn't get wiped out in the flood, along with the Unicorns? is it because the Old Testament doesn't mention it? The same Old Testament which encouraged us to have slaves, kill our cheeky kids and to Stone people who strayed, until they were very dead. JC, I don't mind that you believe all those things and I'm sure that you don't mind if I think you are one card short of a full deck!

Information is almost always lost when it is selected ... and the greater the selection pressure the greater the loss.
    The ultimate example of genetic information loss is an artificially selected creature such as a pedigree animal, like a poodle ... where they lose all of the other 'dog' information ... and become only capable of reproducing other poodles!!!:)
    That's how genes change allright ... but the greater the selection pressure the greater the info loss.

... but ye guys do say that Dinos evolved into birds ... what can I say ... it never happened !!!!

Dr Purdom is a conventionally qualified Creation Scientist ... and David Attenborough is a legendary science film-maker.
    ... can't we all live and let live ... and respect each others rights to have the academic freedom to scientifically pursue the evidence wherever it may lead?

What's a "conventionally qualified Creation Scientist"? Can you have a creation scientist who is conventionally qualified in regular science, but rejects anything that suggests the world is over 10,000 years old, rather than apply regular, non creationist, scientific reasoning to the topic? ie, one who looks at the facts, not the Bible! especially a section that you discount when it suits you.

Isn't it interesting to see you, once again, say information is almost always lost. Of course its not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

What's a "conventionally qualified Creation Scientist"?

Someone who picked up his "degree" after doing a dodgy backstreet course.

pauldla wrote: »
    Morgan Freeman is an atheist. :p
    He does a great portrayal of God in Evan Almighty!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭maguffin

Creation science or scientific creationism is a branch of creationism that attempts to provide scientific support for the Genesis creation narrative in the Book of Genesis and disprove generally accepted scientific facts, theories and scientific paradigms about the history of the Earth, cosmology and biological evolution. It began in the 1960s as a Fundamentalist Christian effort in the United States to prove Biblical inerrancy and nullify the scientific evidence for evolution. It has since developed a sizable religious following in the United States, with creation science ministries branching worldwide. The main ideas in creation science are: the belief in "creation ex nihilo"; the conviction that the Earth was created within the last 10,000 years; the belief that mankind and other life on Earth were created as distinct fixed "baraminological" kinds; and the idea that fossils found in geological strata were deposited during a cataclysmic flood which completely covered the entire Earth. As a result, creation science also challenges the geologic and astrophysical evidence for the age and origins of Earth and Universe, which creation scientists acknowledge are irreconcilable to the account in the Book of Genesis. Creation science proponents often refer to the theory of evolution as "Darwinism" or as "Darwinian evolution".

The overwhelming consensus of the scientific community is that creation science is a religious, not a scientific view, and that creation science does not qualify as science because it lacks empirical support, supplies no tentative hypotheses, and resolves to describe natural history in terms of scientifically untestable supernatural causes.
    Creation science has been characterized as a pseudo-scientific attempt to map the Bible into scientific facts.

What's a "conventionally qualified Creation Scientist"? Can you have a creation scientist who is conventionally qualified in regular science, but rejects anything that suggests the world is over 10,000 years old, rather than apply regular, non creationist, scientific reasoning to the topic? ie, one who looks at the facts, not the Bible! especially a section that you discount when it suits you.
    The reality (and you know it even if you won't admit it) is that life had a supernatural origin ... and we have nothing even remotely approaching a non-intelligently directed creation of life hypothesis.
    ... and all this talk about Darwin and Evolution is just 'whistling past the graveyard' that is latter-day Evolutionism.:)
    Isn't it interesting to see you, once again, say information is almost always lost. Of course its not!
    ... it certainly seems to be lost on you guys!!!:p

wrote:
    Originally Posted by The Concrete Doctor
    What's a "conventionally qualified Creation Scientist"?

PopePalpatine

Someone who picked up his "degree" after doing a dodgy backstreet course.

If that's picking up a "degree" after doing a dodgy backstreet course ... I'll eat my hat!!!!:eek: