Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary McAleese veiws on her

• 26-09-2011 10:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭

Whats AH veiws on herself after her 14 years in office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

polod wrote: »

Views on her what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

An excellent president who performed her duties with great aplomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Meh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

I met her once. She was very nice. She hasn't had any scandals so that's good. But apart from her recent meeetings with the British queen and the paddys day events, I know sweet f all of what she has done.
    She's nice though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I'm looking in her window now and she's not at home.

*zips trousers back up*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

would smash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Both thread title and post need a re-view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,809 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I always thought it was such a shame she never got her own tapestry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

An embarrassment to be honest. Her predecessor was 10 times a better representative of the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Panoramic mostly.

deman wrote: »
    An embarrassment to be honest. Her predecessor was 10 times a better representative of the country.

Thats such a bullsh1t statement. What's so embarrassing about her presidency?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

She started badly (you have to go to the Dublin Horse Show when President you know) got worse - Unionists/Protestants are Nazis moment and then recovered and had her finest moments at the Somme and in May.

Probably a bit too much travelling on behest of the states economic interests.

I'm looking in her window now and she's not at home.

*zips trousers back up*

Hows yer bollix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Daniel S

She was a great president. If we could have her for another term or until we get decent candidates that would be great. We have to keep it fair though, so she has to go.

/End thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Probably viewed as average at the moment but in 10 years time we'll probably regard her as the best or second best president we ever had.

I believe she'll be hard act to follow. I think it difficult to see how any of the current candidates could surpass her but perhaps the next president may surprise us all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

And she will be ten times better than her successor!

THE POWER OF 10!!! SHAAAAZZZZAAM!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Did an average job considering the massive salary she gets paid. For €250,000 a year I'd want wonderwoman in there and I'm not kidding.

We could've hired four Polish presidents for that kind of money. One for each province. They'd clean the place n'all for that......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,285 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Our best president so far, proved that the role of president does matter. I feel she represented the Irish people very well. As many have said, such a shame she can't stay on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I voted for Adi Roche at the time and thought that M.McAleese would be a disaster. Happy to admit I was wrong. In 14 years there were a couple of mistakes (bound to be) but she handled the office with dignity.

Did an average job considering the massive salary she gets paid. For €250,000 a year I'd want wonderwoman in there and I'm not kidding.

We could've hired four Polish presidents for that kind of money. One for each province. They'd clean the place n'all for that......

A tad harsh. I'd certainly struggle to think of a better replacement.

I voted for Adi Roche at the time and thought that M.McAleese would be a disaster. Happy to admit I was wrong. In 14 years there were a couple of mistakes (bound to be) but she handled the office with dignity.

Mistakes are bound to happen. It would be unfair to expect anything else. That could happen to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Her predecessor used the position to shill herself to the UN.
    Once she had mooched her job preaching around the world she was off down Chesterfield Ave. as fast as her legs could carry her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Her pathethic fawning over the Queen of England changed my opinion of her.
    Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Kasabian wrote: »
    Wow.

I think there was a bit of mutual fawning going on there, with each of them trying to out-fawn the other.

Kasabian wrote: »
    Wow.

At least someone has moved on.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Pretty much sheer indifference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Probably the first President that has had more direct contact than any of her predecesors with more citizens throughout the length and breadth of the country and beyond.

Well done President McAleese, an exemplary performance which did our country and it's diaspora proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

A good person but unfortunately she would sign anything her FF colleagues ask of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Did an average job considering the massive salary she gets paid. For €250,000 a year

Her salary is totaly ludicrous but that's hardly her fault to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

i don't think she did a bad job but I don't see the reason for the media fawning over her and the idea that she was brilliant.

Luckily for her Enda Kenny made her husband a senator so they can continue to milk the tax payer for (many) a free lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Pointless role. Put the €250,000 in education.

You mean "into education".
    I can see why you would make that particular point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

padd b1975 wrote: »
    You mean "into education".
    I can see why you would make that particular point.

ho ho ho....you sound like the life and soul of any party

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I completely forgot about her to be honest. All I've seen her do is shake people's hands at matches.

ho ho ho....you sound like the life and soul of any party
    I have been known to partake of a sherry from time to time.

I completely forgot about her to be honest. All I've seen her do is shake people's hands at matches.

Surely that says more about you than the president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You'd have loved Paddy Hillerys time in the Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Pretty much the only thing I know about her is where she's been living the past seven years, and fairly quietly living at that. Has she actually done anything of note?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

She lived in a park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

orourkeda wrote: »
    Thats such a bullsh1t statement. What's so embarrassing about her presidency?

That's my own opinion. I'm not asking you to agree with it. The question was about people's views. She did become less embarrassing as time went on though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Ah she was grand. She's no Mary Robinson but she didn't do anything out of the way either. Gave a speech at my school when I was in 2nd year and she was a very charismatic and interesting public speaker. It certainly did Ireland no harm that she was in the Áras for 14 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

WHOOP WHOOP! Thats the sound of McAleese!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

She's a Fianna Fáiler.

/thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

She was an ok president. She did embarrass the country on a few occasions and like what has been said before she was on a fantastic wage and possibly could have done more.

I think the last two presidents did a lot more work for their crust than the doddering old fools that were in residence before them. Didn't De Valera only stick his nose out of the front door a couple of times and drive his old Cadillac around the grounds, and no further?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think the last two presidents did a lot more work for their crust than the doddering old fools that were in residence before them. Didn't De Valera only stick his nose out of the front door a couple of times and drive his old Cadillac around the grounds, and no further?

According to Bob Geldof in his autobiography, Dev turned up at Blackrock College and faced the wrong way while the national anthem was playing. Dev the Doddery. I can see Michael D. doing something similar if he gets in.
    Paddy Hillery used to joke that he had the best golf handicap of any head of state on the planet. Them were the days.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Thought she left 7 years ago?!

Either way, that sum's up my views on her. Anon.

According to Bob Geldof in his autobiography, Dev turned up at Blackrock College and faced the wrong way while the national anthem was playing. Dev the Doddery. I can see Michael D. doing something similar if he gets in.
    Paddy Hillery used to joke that he had the best golf handicap of any head of state on the planet. Them were the days.

He'd be a cert for the part of the dormouse at the Mad Hatter's Tea-Party in the next remake of Alice in Wonderland.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Some rather awful gaffs, like comparing some in the North to Nazis.

Didn't she also cow-tow on behalf of us all for the offense the Mohammed cartoons caused?
    I found this particularly annoying as I was too young to vote her in 14 years ago and none of us got a vote 7 years ago (I suppose it's not really her fault no one stood against her).

Also a bit too happy clappy religious for my tastes, dunno how much of that is her having to follow policy and how much is personal beliefs but I'd rather that it was left out.