Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What car do you miss the most?

• 25-09-2011 10:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

I miss my Merc, since I was little I've had a fascination with Mercs, and big cars in general, I finally bought one, and I sold it about a month later due to a pestering friend, lol.

I did it wrong though, 17's would of been more than enough, the 18's ruined it.

35269_10150219627180176_805400175_13632543_6536089_n.jpg

Saw it about a week ago with the origional wheels on it (Not the actual ones, as I sold those seperately).

312158_10150812824050176_805400175_20984195_1412070698_n.jpg

I'll miss the ZT me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

As I've stated many times before, I sincerely miss my punto. If anyone sees 01 c 590 grey punto tell the owner I'll buy it off them! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Miss my 993 C4S...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

I still miss my Honda civic coupe, she was fast, fun and gave zero trouble in 2 years except for a new battery. I'd buy it back today if i hadn't seen that some young lad has changed loads of stuff on it and is carrying his mates everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

+1 for the Punto! I miss my 8 valve one :( twas a great yoke altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

ksimpson wrote: »
    Miss my 993 C4S...

Wow that's very pretty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

ksimpson wrote: »
    Miss my 993 C4S...

Some machine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

My E36 318is

n507049942_382191_6801.jpg

Loved it to bits!

unkel wrote: »

Is that a leaky oil patch I see before me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

brembo26 wrote: »
    +1 for the Punto! I miss my 8 valve one :( twas a great yoke altogether!

Mine was 8v too! :(:D I think this thread may turn a lot of us into whimpering pining bitches! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Is that a leaky oil patch I see before me :P

Nope, didn't use a drop of oil. Superb car. Sorry it had to go :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭bridgemond

I missed my E30 alot. Had it for around a year and sold it to get another car I wanted. Had that car for a month and really wanted my E30 back. So I bought another E30 but it was never the same as my first one. So one day on donedeal I saw my first E30, She was at the other side of the country and went up and got her back, Even though I cant drive it for another year or so:(

100_0046.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭tuborg_man

I miss my x type 2.5,
    not a normal car for a then 22 year old, also miss the job that made paying the insurance possible.
    405685772a4257455639b13703267l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

My old lads, '96 Mondeo 1.8TD SLX, Dark Aubergene. 96C1714?

Can still remember to this day, the day some muppet hit us head on. :mad: The car was repaired and traded in.....

Where are you?

Actually my first car aswell is still knocking about somewhere in Limerick so I'm told, a Blue 3-door 92 Fiesta. 92C553?...... Anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

Nope left out the last digit :P Actually dunno why I did that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

My e39 525. I was told that most e39 owners end up regretting selling, and I should have listened up.

This caught my eye - exact same colour as mine, only a touring version (have found myself really wanting an estate recently!). Very cool:

no-image-large.gif

Edit - ridiculously priced!

That's an uber cool estate!

Nothing like Marlow one though <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭alfa beta

I missed my alfa gtv so much I bought it back from the guy I sold it to!!

(4 years after he bought it from me in the first place)

It's not often you own the same car twice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Actually, forgot to mention my 89 mini. Well, I've nostalgia for it because it was my first car, looked cool and I put a lot of cash into it. But it was a completely unreliable POS underneath all the bits I stuck on it :(
    Nothing like Marlow one though <3

Which one is that?

I'm sure he has posted pics before, or will post them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

This was my first car, which I got when I was 19.
    It's obvious that I miss her.

That looks hilarious flying around! Almost cartoonish haha :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Dannyboi3k

My Glanza. The latest car I had. Never gave an ounce of trouble only the battery. Was showroom condition, only 92,000 kms when I bought it almost three years ago and a very very healthy spec list to boot. Very quick car and alot of fun.. :o:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

That looks hilarious flying around! Almost cartoonish haha :)

Post man Pats weekend car:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Wedgie

My old Alfa 164.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

My E36 320i, fantastic car, never gave a days trouble, cost me a small fortune in tyres though

f3b3ib.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

similar to this

Jeep_Grand_Cherokee_WJ_34h.jpg

In my native country, gorgeous 4.7 v8 petrol engine , 4X4, .... if somebody think it is petrol killer, than it is not true. Outside city, on motorway - 10 l/100 km, in city, obeying rules(which is hard with this engine) - under 18 l./100 km. Really nice youke to drive, and comfortable. miss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Theres a fair few i miss...

I used to have a red mk1 Punto, 98d69089 :) it was a brilliant little car, never a minutes bother! Sold it to a woman in ashbourne in 2008 and i used to see it driving about regurarly there :) havnt seen it in a while... I regret ever selling it, even if i did get 4 times what i paid for it thats nothing compared to sentimental value, anyone know its whereabouts?

Speaking of mk1 Puntos, my dad got one new in 1997 and 11 years later a total b*lox in an asshat rammed him and his car under a lorrey. Were all still annoyed to this day that happened :mad: the engine still lives on in my car though...

He also used to have a 1980 Alfa Romeo Giulietta 1.8. An absolute animal of a car to go in its day! Sold in 1993 and I still havn't forgotten it :)

I used to have an Impreza SW, what a hoot of a car! It had to go due to a mashed cv joint, i want another one...

Also used to have a Seicento, cheeky yoke in a car park! Its still round the house, just not in my name anymore :(

I'm sure I've forgotten a few, or maybe they were best forgotten!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

my accord euroR and accord sir-t

never should have gotten rid of either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Daved_XB

The car I miss most is my 1975 Australian Ford Falcon XB GT Coupe.... luckily i never sold her... she's been locked up safe & sound in Australia for the last year whilst I've been living here.. miss driving her a lot...

IMG_0434.jpg

IMG_0416.jpg

IMG_0433.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Probably a 1991 W124 300TE Automatic, sadly written off when it had 890,000km on the clock. Brilliant car, never broke down once, and great memories of holidaying in the back of it with the GF.

Honourable mentions to

1968 Porsche 912
    1962 VW Transporter
    1987 BMW 524td (E28)
    1988~ Opel Senator 3.0
    1991~ Lotus Esprit
    1958 BMW Isetta, think it was 58. I built a small caravan for it, great fun and a total fanny magnet strangely enough :).

My E34 320i, fantastic car, never gave a days trouble, cost me a small fortune in tyres though

Thats an E36 ;).

My E34 320i.......

You must have been a huge fan of the E34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

bijapos wrote: »

Thats an E36 ;).

Bah, no coffee on board this morning :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

My 1995 E34, such a magnificent car.

81344940.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Miss my stupidly big L200, Cheap tax, cheap insurance, cheap serviceing. Miss the comfort, the leather seats. Miss the Goodrich tyres that'd grip anything. Miss the growl of the piece of shit engine that threw a conrod one cold january night. :(

Shes out there somewhere with a new engine in her.

P1000138Large.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

My Cal Look VW Beetle. Looked like this one except it was dechromed and running on 8 spoke EMPI polished alloys. I'd just completed a 4 year nut and bolt restoration ,had it on trhe road 3 weeks and had a farmer run into it...writing it off

63ragtopbeetlebody.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Had one of those in blue, it's like driving a big sofa, will never be as relaxed again:

800px-123_280e_0477110307_14wik.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Simply a drivers car, drove it to college everyday for two years and enjoyed every single trip, always took the back roads over the motorway as it was what the car was made for.

637BF6DA64DA4FB6B3D796F1974A278E-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭sept09baby

I miss my Panda :(

Bought it new in 2005 and it I didn't need space for babies, buggies and 4 dogs I'd still be driving it. Loved every minute I had it

First car was a Seicento and it was a great little machine to start off with - could park it anywhere and fun to zip around in. Always have my eye out for cheap ones going - trying to convince my little brother to get one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

bridgemond wrote: »
    I missed my E30 alot. Had it for around a year and sold it to get another car I wanted. Had that car for a month and really wanted my E30 back. So I bought another E30 but it was never the same as my first one. So one day on donedeal I saw my first E30, She was at the other side of the country and went up and got her back, Even though I cant drive it for another year or so:(

Bet that whole escapade ended up costing you quite a few quid?!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

I miss my 07 Mazda 3 MPS the most.

scaled.php?server=820&filename=mpscrechey.png&res=medium

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭bridgemond

Bet that whole escapade ended up costing you quite a few quid?!;)

Yup cost a nice few quid. I got the silver one back for a grand price but I lost about 1k on the other white E30. Then getting the silver one down from donegal was a **** as I had to organize people to drive me up and a buddie to drive it back as I am banned off the road.

Ah sure its only money and I have learned not to sell stuff I like hahaha:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

I miss this (all except the fuel bills..don't miss them)
    5481204693_e75fd7a34b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I miss my 07 Mazda 3 MPS the most.

scaled.php?server=820&filename=mpscrechey.png&res=medium

Please tell me that I'm not to only one getting that pic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Haven't owned a car long enough to miss one but my Dads old Alfa 166 facelift model would definitely be a contender. 135k km and no real problems to note.. Would really like it back too.. IMO the last of the proper Alfa's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

EPM wrote: »
    Please tell me that I'm not to only one getting that pic:D

Nope :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I miss my E30 the most that I parted with over 11 years ago and for some reason my Carina e executive...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

My 97 Vectra 2.0Di. Big, unexciting, lazy, underpowered lump but I loved it. I was the 2nd owner, had it for nearly 5 years, sold it in '05. I checked it on one of those car check websites last year and it was on its 7th owner at that stage:eek:.