Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do people say about your Classic?

• 24-09-2011 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭

Me?

I've got a Rover P6B (the one with the V8 :cool:)

Like most of us here, sometimes, total strangers can come up to us & pass comment on the cars we drive.

I get.

'I bet she's heavy on petrol'

Or

'Our Doctor used to have one of them'

There's a few others, but you get the drift.

What do random strangers say to you when they see you with your classic?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

Best one I had for the Fiat 850

"My Dad says I was conceived in the back of one of them":D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

What is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭Bumpstop

Noone ever passes comment on my tr7, they just move away as the rust spreads.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

"My Dad had one the same as that".... (doubtfull!)
    or (if I'm in the 3.0S) Ford never made a 3 litre Cortina, must be a fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

...." you could have got a new car for that money"........:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

Whats the tax on that thing?...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭V480

When I had the old Volvo I used to mainly get sniggers and abuse about driving an 'old' car, as opposed to say a 05 or 06 Avensis or something. I remember one particular time I came into work devestated when my car was vandalised during the night. My co-workers thought it was hillarious that I was so upset about it.

V480 wrote: »
    my car was vandalised during the night. My co-workers thought it was hillarious that I was so upset about it.

MMMM..did you question the activities of your "workmates" then....;)

I always think that people that dont appreciate classics are the same people that would put their parents in a home......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

As I like all things British Leyland the best comment I had was from a local mechanic who reckons I'm a masochist :D

Everyone else is just taking about rust, overheating, breakdowns and lots of whys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Daved_XB

The one I get the most in the Challenger (in fact happened this morning when I was filling her up)

"Is it Diesel??"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Daved_XB wrote: »
    The one I get the most in the Challenger (in fact happened this morning when I was filling her up)

"Is it Diesel??"
    I'd nearly just agree and tell them she is packing a TDI

Restored a Suzuki GT 750 kettle a few years back ..filling it up one day and a guy came over to me ..."jasus thats a lovely bike....12volt is she..?..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

When I got my forst old Renault(15 GTL) the very first show I went to gave me the very first comment
    "Jasus your brave". Not what you want to hear on your first outing.

Fuego----"I got my first shag in one of them"!

18 Turbo
    "She got you hear ok then",, by the same wanker who said it again and another show. I've yet to see him bring his 900 Turbo that he keeps raving about.

And then there is the guy who keeps popping up at every show---""-I used to have one of them"!,to every car he sees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Any of the Datsuns, i know its the old cliche but at every show someone will say,
    'they were rotten yokes'
    'they had great engines but you couldnt keep the body'

About the laurel 200L 'That was a ministers car'

Or my particular favorite from an old mechanic ' They used to rust in the brochures!'

A friend had his 100A at a show one day, a guy waks past with his girlfriend telling her what the cars were and he said, 'Look at the lovely Hillman Imp'

Its always entertaining at shows.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

'Ya tink ye're so coo-el, don't ya!' - roared at a friend of mine in a Pagoda by a young wan on a sunny day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭aidhan

When working at a Datsun dealership years ago the Datsuns were brought in for warranty assessment..The service manager trying to play down one particular car (120y) saying "sure it isn't that bad like" Yer man says.. "sure jaysuz you can nearly do the plugs an points without opening the bonnet" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

johnf2020 wrote: »
    When I got my forst old Renault(15 GTL) the very first show I went to gave me the very first comment
    "Jasus your brave". Not what you want to hear on your first outing.

Fuego----"I got my first shag in one of them"!

18 Turbo
    "She got you hear ok then",, by the same wanker who said it again and another show. I've yet to see him bring his 900 Turbo that he keeps raving about.

And then there is the guy who keeps popping up at every show---""-I used to have one of them"!,to every car he sees.

The most common question on my 280ce is "how much would one of them be worth now " to which I usually reply , "whatever one pays for one" :D Leaves em scratching their head and none the wiser !;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭ants09

have a E30 and well once i heard somebody shout " i love your fecking car"

also people ask me how she like on petrol !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭mamakevf

What I usually hear is ' There's not many of them left'.

One chap at a show said ' Ye completely ruined the car putting those alloys on it' followed by ' are ye selling it?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

'Must of cost ya a fiver just getting her outta the garage!' :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

From a mate of mine:

"Congratulations on buying the ugliest Porsche ever made."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

"is it armoured/amphibious"
    "is it heavy on juice" (12-14mpg)
    "why don't you put a diesel in it?" :mad:
    "where did you get it?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 PulpitNeil

"My grandad had one of them when I was young."
    "My dad had one of them when I was young."
    "I had one of them when I was young."
    "Smashing car, they go forever."

It's a Morris Minor. :D

Then of course there's people assuming it's heavy on petrol, difficult to get through the NCT (!), expensive to tax (!) and unreliable. Ah well, let them think what they like. I'm happy in the knowledge that any money I spend restoring/repairing/improving her is less than they're losing in depreciation in their modern cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

aujopimur wrote: »
    What is it?

Thats what I get a lot. Also mine is black but kept well polished and one fella asked me what black was it 'cause he'd never seen a car so black before :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Justjens

"Hope it rains!" Fecking eejits were sitting on a fence, like most louts, loitering outside! Don't think irony is in their vocabulary.

"OMG!" once, not sure if it was because of the grey haired git in a nice car, or the car, I favour the latter!!

Both while in my TR4A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

Whenever I park my Dino at the local coffee shop I enjoy sitting back to hear lots of "wows", "awesomes" and such compliments, sometimes when I'm bored I park it badly then it all quickly changes to stuff like "This rich a-hole cant even park" much to my amusement :D

Aguy once asked if my Corsair was two-cylinder (it was a V4 and he was looking at one side of the engine.... :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Wolseley 16/60 so people mention remembering people who had them, one remembers an old lad who towed a horsebox with one.

Best is from my Dad whose brother, a building contractor, who bought one new in green. It was been driven in Dublin city centre by one of his friends with him and others some time afterwards, who had a little too much drink taken, and therefore got confused, or somehow decided to ignore lights, whereupon going through one junction was struck by a taxi and turned over. No injuries except to the car, which after a poor enough repair, had to be scrapped as it didn't drive right.

Most comment are in the 'nice car' range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

Recently I was asked "Where do you put the coffin in ? "
    Photo0739.jpg

Ohh how original :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

is that a general lee, gobshi*es cant see the difference in a black car with white stripes and an orange car with a rebel flag.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

"Princess anne had wan a dem" Scimitar
    "Wheres Scooby" Chevy van

Recently I've been wondering if my estimation of the general public as being 98% morons, isn't a wee bit generous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭charlie1966

aujopimur wrote: »
    What is it?

You stole my line?:D that is what is usually asked 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Redrocket

back to reality for me....

practically everyone's brother, father, uncle owned a capri or a mk2 escort estate, and i need to be told.
    nothing is for sale, do you see a for sale on it? no... are you gonna buy it if it was? no..

maybe i need to buy less common cars :)

sometimes people dont get to say anything, but when you see them doing any combination of smiling when you drive around a corner, giving you a thumbs up, flashing their head lights, all of the above at once, it says all I need to hear :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

JoeySully wrote: »
    Recently I was asked "Where do you put the coffin in ? "

Ohh how original :P

I usually find putting the coffin in the ground works best. There is a bad smell otherwise after a week or so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I'm also in the "My father/uncle/brother/neighbour had one of them years ago" camp as I've a Mk2 Escort. My usual answer is they probably didn't as this model wasn't sold in Ireland by Ford (it's an early 2 door Ghia).

I've also been asked is it for sale (well, can you see a for sale sign on it?) and I've been told by one individual that it's a rust bucket to my face (nice fella that!)

That been said, there has been a few genuine fellas with questions about part availability, fuel consumption and general good will.

That been said, I took it for a spin one day and I was filling up after a rather hard drive over The Healy Pass and Cods Head stages. I checked the oil and topped it up as the engine is a bit of a heavy breather when worked hard (I do like the smell of hot Castol RS engine oil). Anyway , this fella come over and says that there must be something wrong with "that Sierra engine" as I'm topping up the oil. I politely told him to f*** off as he obviously hasn't a clue as he can't recognise a hot crossflow when he sees it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭andreas_220D

why does she smell like a chipshop?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

shagman wrote: »
    "Princess anne had wan a dem" Scimitar

I thought over the years she had 7...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭se conman

I have my '59 DAF ya 126 parked outside my house in a housing estate and constantly get the question "Are you in the army ?" My answer is " NO , this is my everyday car" THEN I get the looks "looney"

se conman wrote: »
    I have my '59 DAF ya 126 parked outside my house in a housing estate and constantly get the question "Are you in the army ?" My answer is " NO , this is my everyday car" THEN I get the looks "looney"

ah thats bad, so what if youre a looney, we dont mind do we lads?:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

I used to get

'how can you do that to such a Nice Car' When people saw my 300SE, in fairness it was a wreck, Wing and bonnet in differnt colours, broken Windscreen, Sunroof stick half open, Car Filled with empty bottles Chip wrappers and fag boxes, not one straight pannel and for a long time the Passenger door had no glass and a Huge dent where some tool in a Ute had reversed into me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

corktina wrote: »
    ah thats bad, so what if youre a looney, we dont mind do we lads?:D

We all have our troubles! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

I brought the 505 to work on Saturday and the receptionist said to me--"Would you not feel like a tool driving around in that"?---and that comes from a 20 something who wouldnt be exactly shy:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭mustang68

"How much would this be" is the question I get all the time, it sometimes makes me sad that people just think of the in cash terms, not the work put in or the effort of the original design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭chevyv8

heres a few more i am asked regularly.
    is she heavy on petrol?
    is she fast?
    do the law stop you?
    my favourite one , i was asked this once , did you drive it from america??
    told him i drove it from mississippi through the states up to alaska, across the beering sea into russia, across russia , into turkey , up and around italy across europe into france , boat to england , through england to wales , from holyhead over to dun laoghaire.. :D:D
    next question he asked in all seriousness was ....did it use much petrol..
    god made them and sends them towards us classic car owners.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭ScabbyLeg

I used to get

'how can you do that to such a Nice Car' When people saw my 300SE, in fairness it was a wreck, Wing and bonnet in differnt colours, broken Windscreen, Sunroof stick half open, Car Filled with empty bottles Chip wrappers and fag boxes, not one straight pannel and for a long time the Passenger door had no glass and a Huge dent where some tool in a Ute had reversed into me.

I'd love to see a pic of that :D

Reminds me of the Dude's car in the Big Lebowski. "...1972 Pontiac Lebaron, green with some uh, some brown, uh, rust coloration."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

that was very much the Look I was going for, anyone can have a Nice s Class Merc, but I found it more reflective of my Character at that time to have a Battered and abused S class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Mechanic say's recently, Jaysus we used to strip those things out race them 'round a field and crash them!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 536 ✭✭✭ahal

Well if you want to call my 480 classic (more 'modern classic' imo) the most common question is "what is it?"

A couple of people went "Is that a Honda Civic?" but I promptly kicked them in the face :pac:*

* Only joking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 jonnynitro

first thing i here is "my grannie/mother/teacher" had one of them just like yours

its a mk1 fiesta so plenty of people remember them and had them as a first car
    so i usually hear manys a story about disco runs back in the day or night !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

is it easy to drive?
    sure my dog can drive her

260185_10150706971775341_791955340_19732642_5289581_n.jpg