Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does Craig Doyle on ITV keep referring to Ireland as part of the "Home Nations"

• 24-09-2011 10:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It's soooo 1949.

Get over it Doyle.

Home nations me arse.

Quit referring to the Ireland Rugby team as a "home" nation and don't forget you are Irish.

Grrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Maybe he is reading the autocue

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Rugby is a Brit-sport is why. Same as cricket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Why does it bother you so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

He's such a super smug git.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Because he's a tosser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Totally mad about himself. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭netnerd

because Ireland continues to have a single team representing the entire island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Does it really matter? We are always referred to as part of the Home nations, we have players in the Lions... we have players in english leagues. It's not football ya know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,480 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Even your man Shane Byrne (your man with the big 80's mullet) was on Sean Moncriffe yesterday afternoon and refered to Ireland as being one of the home nations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

vicwatson wrote: »

Quit referring to the Ireland Rugby team as a "home" nation and don't forget you are Irish.

Grrrr

You should try forgetting that Craig Doyle is Irish sometimes,it's great. Do it all the time myself.

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    You should try forgetting that Craig Doyle is Irish sometimes,it's great. Do it all the time myself.

Best point made so far!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

As soon as the Irish Rugby squad start to use the IRISH National Anthem instead of that other stupid poxy song, I might take an interest in anything they do.

Rugby.......... Reserved for public school boys imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Ghandee wrote: »
    As soon as the Irish Rugby squad start to use the IRISH National Anthem

Why would they do that when they don't represent solely the Irish nation? Do you want to ditch Ireland's Call and play both AnF and GSTQ? Because that;s the only alternative.
    Quit referring to the Ireland Rugby team as a "home" nation

It is one of the Home Nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

france and italy are probably classed as the home nations also, so its nothing to do with "britain".

doesnt bother me anyway, its a sporting thing, rather than a historic thing and its a thing of nothing. home nations just means close to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It is one of the Home Nations.

Calling Wolfetone, where are you ? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

france and italy are probably classed as the home nations also, so its nothing to do with "britain".

Nope, the home nations traditionally means the constituent nations of the UK, and only includes the Republic when dealing with all-island sports teams. It's not new, though, and Craig Doyle isn't the progenitor. Anyway, it's non-controversial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Eh, no they arent

Calling Wolfetone, where are you ? :D

Ah will ya stop, he'll be turning purple with the amount of people who don't give a sh1te!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry WT, but ya know it's true ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

'Mainland Britain' was one that suggested that ireland is an Island off Britain.We need a Pres. to remind the world who we are.Britain is ONLY an Island LIKE ourselves.

For the purposes of rugby,Ireland is one of the "Home Nations".If we weren't, we'd never have the opportunity of beating England to take the Triple Crown again!So I don't really see the fuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

What does home nations mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Chill out OP, it's just a sporting thing. Other sports do it too. Rowing has a annual "Home International" regatta with England, wales, Scotland and Ireland. Not controversial in any way IMO. I'm almost certain hockey have a home nations international series too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He refers to Ireland as part of the "Home Nations" so that someone can start a moaning thread on here, which will contain 800+ pages of rants from the usual suspects.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Awaits Kev ps3 and Wolfe Tone....

Chill out OP

No, you go and chill out.:)
    What does home nations mean?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Home_Nations

Rugby Union -

"In 1883, the first Home Nations Championship was played between England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. At this point in Ireland's history, the country was still under British rule and therefore these teams were referred to as the Home Nations"

Both ITV and Craig Doyle are INCORRECT in including us a Home Nation. Simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭augustus gloop

those hoors of protestants are over dere tinkin of ways to fecking vex the lot of us poor hoors over here in the recession, be jeasus will the fookers every leave us alone!

cliffnotes..... its 2011 people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 715 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

paddyandy wrote: »
    'Mainland Britain' was one that suggested that ireland is an Island off Britain.We need a Pres. to remind the world who we are.Britain is ONLY an Island LIKE ourselves.
    Yes and in geographic terms Ireland is a mainland - so the Brits should be careful to state just which 'mainland' they are talking about ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 715 ✭✭✭HellsAngel

Dean09 wrote: »
    Because he's a tosser
    The fella's a tosser and super smug git and a West Brit, I cann't stand him in those ads for cable TV. Reminds of Gay Mitchell when I think of it.......

Get the **** over it

HellsAngel wrote: »
    Dean09 wrote: »
    Because he's a tosser
    The fella's a tosser and super smug git and a West Brit, I cann't stand him in those ads for cable TV. Reminds of Gay Mitchell when I think of it.......

Someone should get a West Brit drinking game going around here.It seems to be the universal insult this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

No, you go and chill out.:)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Home_Nations

Rugby Union -

"In 1883, the first Home Nations Championship was played between England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. At this point in Ireland's history, the country was still under British rule and therefore these teams were referred to as the Home Nations"

Both ITV and Craig Doyle are INCORRECT in including us a Home Nation. Simple as

You're INCORRECT, simple as. It is not a Rebublic of Ireland rugby team. The Irish rugby team represents the island of Ireland part of which is British. And that home nation championship you quoted is now the Triple Crown. Do you suggest that Ireland should not have win that as they are not a "Home Nation"?

It is not a Rebublic of Ireland rugby team

Rebublic ?:rolleyes:
    Do you suggest that Ireland should not have win that as they are not a "Home Nation"?

:confused::confused::rolleyes: The tournament you refer to is now called the six nations championship.
    You're INCORRECT, simple as. It is not a Rebublic of Ireland rugby team.

Am aware of that, point is is that we are no longer part of the United Kingdom and therefore it is disingenuous and disrespectful to call the Republic of Ireland part of the home nations when clearly WE ARE NOT. SIMPLES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

erm guys...........Craig Doyle is a nob,

pay no attention to him,

just enjoy the rugby:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Er, guys, home nations means nothing more than referring to a group of sporting bodies in close geographic proximity to each other and who play each other regularly. It's not like the word 'nation' us the appropriate descriptive word for England, Scotland and Wales either!! It amuses me that some people read politics into every little innocuous thing and that it annoys them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

One thing guaranteed to get the Irish up in arms is if they feel they are being lumped in with the Brits. Honestly:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

go down to Limerick and say that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Phonehead wrote: »
    One thing guaranteed to get the Irish up in arms is if they feel they are being lumped in with the Brits. Honestly:rolleyes:

typically English response there

*lights blue touch paper and retires ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

Is there any purpose to threads like these other than to attract the token '800 years tiocfaidh ar la west brit rabble rabble' responses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

Rebublic ?:rolleyes:

:confused::confused::rolleyes: The tournament you refer to is now called the six nations championship.

Am aware of that, point is is that we are no longer part of the United Kingdom and therefore it is disingenuous and disrespectful to call the Republic of Ireland part of the home nations when clearly WE ARE NOT. SIMPLES

Sorry for the typos.

The Irish Rugby team is part of the home nations. The Republic is not. Therefore Mr Doyle like him or not is not incorrect.

Ireland, Scotland, England and Wales play for the home nations championship (Tripple Crown) within the Six Nations.

You really are Simples:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

disrespectful to call the Republic of Ireland part of the home nations when clearly WE ARE NOT. SIMPLES

1. Yes we are. The Home Nations, in rugby union, are England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland. Nothing political about it.

2. The rugby team also represents Northern Ireland, which is, like it or not, part of the UK. Referring to them as not being so is disingenuous.

3. Disrespectful? I think the UK is a great place! Happy to be associated with it!

Some people just look for problems because they can't get through the day without rehashing the same flawed argument to the same flawed debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

As soon as the Irish Rugby squad start to use the IRISH National Anthem instead of that other stupid poxy song, I might take an interest in anything they do.

The Irish National Anthem is for the Republic of Ireland, the Rugby team represent the island of Ireland. How many times does this have to be explained to people before they understand.

Some people just look for problems because they can't get through the day without rehashing the same flawed argument to the same flawed debate.

Sure perhaps you shouldn't participate then :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I wish we were british, then we wouldnt have to listen to this ****e

It would make it easier alright, irish presenters could refer to us as they like, but we are what we are so.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Namlub wrote: »
    Is there any purpose to threads like these other than to attract the token '800 years tiocfaidh ar la west brit rabble rabble' responses?

Yes. We also get to call Craig Doyle a cúnt. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Both the nationals anthems for the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland should be played.

Keith Doyle is at ITV so we should be happy with that. He is.

Meanwhile you can re-arrange the words of Ireland's call to sing about the economic collapse.

Ireland, Ireland.
    Together standing small.
    Shoulder to shoulder
    we watched Ireland's fall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I suppose its his home nations, he from here and he lives there.

He also does his stupid fkucen ads here.

To be honest I like the guy, he is good at what he does and he is one of our own.

But if you want to make your audience feel good about themselves which is a lot of been a TV presenter is about, take all success as your own within reason, also dis the failure back. So when we inevitably lose (Rugby does break our hearts with expectations) we will be Ireland again.

Go Craig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I wouldn't pay any heed of anything that sap Craig Doyle says. Anyway, fair play to the Rugby boys because they are an All-IRELAND team after all. Unlike the partitionist wimps in the FAI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

cabbage leaves don't grow on trees.

I suppose its his home nations, he from here and he lives there.

Lives in Wicklow !;)

Keith Doyle is at ITV so we should be happy with that

Absolutely, but we were on about Craig Doyle !:D