Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway sayings

• 22-09-2011 11:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭

Howya Luveens - Whos next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭GalwayGaillimh

Like you know Like!

Si Deus Nobiscum Qui Contra Nos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Argh ah Jaysus like

"I do be" in stitches laughing at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Ya mong.

Ya gomey.

Some feen.

Subla.

You're sh*tehawkin' now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

You're PURE wrong, hes a PURE mong etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Dya know now who she is...

Ah sure..

I do be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Placebo Effect

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Ya mong.

Ya gomey.

Some feen.

Subla

You're sh*tehawkin' now!

Born & reared in Galway City & never heard any of them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

You serious??? :eek::confused:

From the hills of Glenina to the valley of Shantalla that stuff is used.

You serious??? :eek::confused:

From the hills of Glenina to the valley of Shantalla that stuff is used.

YEP..

Born & reared in Galway City & never heard any of them??

Go way from around meeeeeee, ya handicaped! You're some gomey never havin' heard of those words.

Are you one of those soft feens from Taylors Hill or whaaa?

Subla!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

fo shizzle my nizzle, bitches!

a galway classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

look at the cut of yer wan..

suss lads!!!

sham, its cowld

Oh, God blessus and saveus!

Would ya go away outta that.

Never heard of 'subla'!

Feens and bures...

Will ya shift yer man?

Will you shift my friend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭beeintheknow

subla sounds to me like a corruption/derivation of soubelline.

There was a thread like this on here a while back and that was utter rubbish too.

"The head on yooo" beeintheknow..

Here's the old thread from last year, FYI.

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Go way from around meeeeeee, ya handicaped! You're some gomey never havin' heard of those words.

Are you one of those soft feens from Taylors Hill or whaaa?

Subla!

I think it may be an age thing...I'm late 30's and 'gomey' or 'subla' or 'feens' I've never heard..in the last few years I've heard 'feeks' , is that the same as 'feens'?

Seems to be younger generation slang...not old Galway,

I think it may be an age thing...I'm late 30's and 'gomey' or 'subla' or 'feens' I've never heard..in the last few years I've heard 'feeks' , is that the same as 'feens'?

Feek!! Forgot that one!
    Gomey head on ya was pretty common when I was a kid..
    Ya haaaandicap (terrible) reminds me of Lurgan Park ... that's where I first heard kids using it! Also 'mowldy'.. (as in mouldy)

feen and bure is traveller 'caint' or 'cant' talk, feen is man, beaur is woman

Jaysis yer wan is some feek!

Ah that's just cat-malodean, you're talking packets!

im 37, heard all these growing up in galway,very common, guess its where u went to school / lived etc

beag , thats another one.. to rob something

lorc.. a car..

Ha ha, forgot about feek and mouldy.

If you were beaging someting you would also be macin' it. You could also be macin' a feen;

Come'ere youngflaa...do I owe you a batin'? What size runners are ya? Gis a go of your mobile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

"Are ya wide Sham?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He's a good ladeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Would ya go way from round me ya gowl bag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

"Somebody maced my drink"

Some good ones on:
    http://slang.ie/

Here...are ya goin lushin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭BESman

These seem more like general slang you'd hear in most parts of the country, or at least the west, amongst younger folk. Surprised scan hasn't been mentioned. Or shape.

As in "Howya scan, you pullin a lushin shape tonight?"

I've also been told in other parts of the country that they don't understand "anymore". Other counties say "from now on" instead of "anymore". Weird...

Anyway, I think Galway is a bit unique in that the accent is kind of flat and not very distinctive and there isn't a huge amount of indigenous phrases or words. Try living in Dublin, Limerick or Cork. Extremely thick accents and a language of their own to go with it. Galway doesn't really have that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭whineflu

barone wrote: »
    im 37, heard all these growing up in galway,very common, guess its where u went to school / lived etc

Yeah I went to Marys in the late 80s. Only the boarders from Tuam used to say sham, feen and feek but they gradually spread to everyone over the years. Possibly Travellers who got housed spread that too.
    Also words like "gomey" and "crush" are all new slang. The nacks came up with them and the Jez boys start using them to sound "street". My ould lad never even heard of a lot of them and he is old school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

whineflu wrote: »
    Also words like "gomey" and "crush" are all new slang.

I first heard the word "gomey" 20 years ago and 'twas probably old then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Referring to a structure in place for over 25 years as "the new bridge" and everyone knowing where you mean.

Thats pretty Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

BESman wrote: »
    I've also been told in other parts of the country that they don't understand "anymore". Other counties say "from now on" instead of "anymore". Weird...

You're kidding... I'll have to carry out a straw poll at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

"Bowsie"

used in a sentence: "Will ya get away from around me ya Bowsie"

I was chased by the shades last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭conaire1

Pull a horse through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,238 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Just catching up with this thread now but only 5 and two halfs of the ones mentioned here are Galway city (its 'howaya' not 'howya' and 'handicap' not handicapped).

A lot of the other ones mentioned are Tuam or Traveller words.

Another city one which hasnt been mentioned is 'mong' which was very popular during the 70s*.

* Just to note I hate the words 'mong' and 'handicap' and Ive never used them. They go into the same category as the 'C' word for a very liberal me but just posting them as they are words that are used.

Just catching up with this thread now but only 5 and two halfs of the ones mentioned here are Galway city (its 'howaya' not 'howya' and 'handicap' not handicapped).

A lot of the other ones mentioned are Tuam or Traveller words.

Another city one which hasnt been mentioned is 'mong' which was very popular during the 70s*.

* Just to note I hate the words 'mong' and 'handicap' and Ive never used them. They go into the same category as the 'C' word for a very liberal me but just posting them as they are words that are used.

u didnt get out much did ya ya sham?

them words were used all over,not just by the travellers.

gomie

who's goin ta kumarket for some lush!!

Which words?
    I didnt say which 5 and two half were City words. Loved Kumarket. First place in Galway to do cheap milk. Also the fact he actually created employment by having a real person collecting deposits for the trollys.

Which words?
    I didnt say which 5 and two half were City words. Loved Kumarket. First place in Galway to do cheap milk. Also the fact he actually created employment by having a real person collecting deposits for the trollys.

Mike Kumar was a bit of a legend in his time, most of Ballybane youngsters got a bit of work in there at some time and he was generous guy as well.

Ya bowsie was common for a little bit, but I think it drifted down from Dublin and drifted back again pretty sharpish.

Auld shtock...

Actually, I keep meaning to ask my grandmother what 'me ould segocha' means...she's old Galway and says it a lot, and I have heard it used by others..Anyone know?

Old Galway sayings thread here

Auld Shtock is a 'Shantla' expression I think.
    The other one Ive never heard except on TV. I thought it was an American 'Oirish' expression.

LOL! Just clicked on your link now.
    Good old Dr McManus. Another person who will go down in Galway (boards) history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭renmorescout

Have a go at reading this,, if you can, you must really be " Auld Stock"

http://www.kennys.ie/booktalk/old-galway/howsa-goan-luveen.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Most of these phrases aren't exclusively Galway. They can be heard quite often in Drogheda and Arklow, and I'd imagine the rest of the country bar Dublin too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Have a go at reading this,, if you can, you must really be " Auld Stock"

http://www.kennys.ie/booktalk/old-galway/howsa-goan-luveen.html
    Very good, and very true when you add the accent in your head to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

As the fella/man said
    what's the craic horse/horsebox

Ya crushin' into town later for a bottle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

[Quote=LadyMayBelle;

Ya bowsie was common for a little bit, but I think it drifted down from Dublin and drifted back again pretty sharpish.

Auld shtock...

Actually, I keep meaning to ask my grandmother what 'me ould segocha' means...she's old Galway and says it a lot, and I have heard it used by others..Anyone know?

Old Galway sayings thread here[/Quote]

Bowzie is definitely a Dub one afaik (auld triangle etc), and so is (originally) auld segotia. Joyce used it in his 'bukes'! I think remember hearing its origins were from Irish (like 'mot' from cailín maith). It means me old pal or you yourself. Possibly from seo duitse?

Giz a lush of that coke/buckfast