Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adele or Alanis Morrissette

• 21-09-2011 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭

Was listenin to the radi this morning and am Fcukin sick of hearin everyone singin poxy adele!

Someone like you is a good song and all but ya havent heard breakup music until ya hear Alanis Morrissette - That particular time

Anybody agree??

That song is unbelievable.

Adele is great and all but I have to hear her singin again I think I will be removing my speakers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

definately neither.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Not a fan of either, Robyn makes better heartfelt sad pop love songs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Is death an option ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Alanis Morrissete's first 2 albums are great...kinda went downhill after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Bertser

Alanis Morrissette by miles, Adele is gash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

ya havent heard breakup music until ya hear Alanis Morrissette

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Robyn makes better heartfelt sad pop love songs..

thats it! both of you hand in your man cards immediately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Not a fan of either, Robyn makes better heartfelt sad pop love songs..
    *cuts off ears*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Adelis Morrisette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭garysully1986

Hahaha Death is definately an option!

Yeah I appreciate good lyrics and all but Adele is getting slightly overplayed! If I have to hear that feckin album again I think I might crack!

Ya cant hate Alanis but back in the day Jagged little pill was unreal! Wat an album!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Absolutely neither. Adele has a better voice, but she's basically a watered-down, more marketable version of Amy Winehouse. Her lyrics are rubbish too. Alanis Morrisette has neither good lyrics or a particularly good singing voice in my opinion. I wouldn't voluntarily listen to either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Shouldn't this be in the Boring Singers Forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

should have been posted in celebrities and showbiz, but a thread about adele wouldnt 'fit' in there

isnt it ironic, dont ya think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

These boys would kill adele and alanis morrisette in a fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Both are ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Adele reminds me of Catherine Tate's 'dirty old nan' character.

FatherLen wrote: »

I'll ask my missus for mine back

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

orourkeda wrote: »

Well, 75% of them would. Don't think Dimebag is too handy in a ruck these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

To be fair Robyn has a lot of love from the indie crowd, Pitchfork especially love her, she is successful but its unfair to group her in with garbage like Adele really. She along with lykke li and a few others do make good pop music.:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

OSI wrote: »
    At least Alanis looks like she was capable of ever being in a relationship to write break up songs.

Adele looks like she should be writing songs about how she never got the shift.

Also, Adele is 21. I don't know any 21 year olds who found and lost the loves of their lives at that age. I'm suspicious about her 'heartbreak' songs.

I bet ya's are all on youtube now looking up Alanis Morrissette - That particular time, And ya's are trying to type between your tears!!!!

:D:D:D:D:D

You're really comparing two different genres of music there, Fat Rock vs Period Rock.

If I had to choose I'd go for the angstier Period Rock, so Alanis.

Also, Adele is 21. I don't know any 21 year olds who found and lost the loves of their lives at that age. I'm suspicious about her 'heartbreak' songs.

The only time she suffers real heartbreak is when she runs out of pies, which isn't very often.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Was listenin to the radi this morning and am Fcukin sick of hearin everyone singin poxy adele!

Someone like you is a good song and all but ya havent heard breakup music until ya hear Alanis Morrissette - That particular time

Anybody agree??

Meh! Beginners.
    Joni Mitchell - Both Sides Now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Rosedust84

I dunno Adele kinda freaks me out... All those songs about her ex anyone else and she'd be labeled a stalker lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Like both but Fiona Apple trumps both when it comes to bitterness, bad men and miserable break-up music. She's had three great albums and is also genuinely a bit mad, which is a plus.

Alanis Morissette had one of the best albums of the '90's but everything she has released since then has been very hit and miss. Adele only has two albums under her belt - her best may be yet to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I think Adele V Michelle McManus would be more apt. Both fat, Ginger, moan bags that won't be around next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 myself69

But Adele is a fat whale...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I think Adele V Michelle McManus would be more apt. Both fat, Ginger, moan bags that won't be around next year.

Because Michelle McManus was everywhere this year?

myself69 wrote: »
    But Adele is a fat whale...

So?
    So is a lot of opera singers - don't stop them from sounding brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Like both but Fiona Apple trumps both when it comes to bitterness, bad men and miserable break-up music. She's had three great albums and is also genuinely a bit mad, which is a plus.

http://www.hark.com/clips/cffkpwbhfk-ya-aint-fiona-apple

Wow, never realised I had the same opinion as alot of boardsies, Lets start a team and hunt down Lady Gaga next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Biggins wrote: »
    Meh! Beginners.
    Joni Mitchell - Both Sides Now...
    I could have sworn that was called Clouds.

I'm sure Adele is crying into her giant piles of cash about how fat and ugly she is. :pac:

I wonder how the guy who dumped her feels. He's quite the inspiration whoever he is. I don't think so many record sales have been fueled by a break up since Stevie Nicks and whatshisname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

definately neither.

yeah this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

Is Alanis Morrissete still alive? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭MGMTea

Wouldn't be my favourite artist ever but I'd pick Alanis, just because Adele is on the radio 24 ****ing 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Adele is on the radio 24 ****ing 7.

I wish nothing but a rest from her tooo oh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭Dub Ste

Adele on my mickey,Alanis on my face.............wrong forum ???????:D

Adele's also got a mouth like a drain.
    She swears like a particularly foul-mouthed trooper

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/music/8430164/Adele-shes-stopped-us-in-her-tracks.html

ejmaztec wrote: »

And she's a head like a kitchen sink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

orourkeda wrote: »

Eh no they wouldn't Adele would just sit on all of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Adele is good and has a good voice so be intresting to see how many top 10 hits she's gonna have. As for that other Cnut Alanis Morrissette she's painful to listen to, she sounds like a cat getting a cement block wedged up its hole, fcukin horrible to look at as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Blur.
    No Oasis.
    No Blur.
    No Oasis........Oasis.
    Definitely Oasis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Unique User Name

If I have to choose between the two I'd f*ck Alanis Morrissete.

Was that the question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Back in the day when my heart wasn't all boarded up with cement, I'd have a good auld teenagery banshee wail through snotty tears over some spotty-faced rapscallion with a rat's tail and bleached fringe (twas the rage circa '96) along to Tori Amos' Cruxify...not sure if it has anything to do with heartache but she's not a happy camper...

She could probably equip several public toilet blocks with her body-parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I really like Alanis Morissette. Hands Clean is in my Top 25 Most Played on i-tunes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

To be fair Robyn has a lot of love from the indie crowd, Pitchfork especially love her, she is successful but its unfair to group her in with garbage like Adele really. She along with lykke li and a few others do make good pop music.:o:o

"With Every Heartbeat" is one of my favourite songs of the past decade.

And as for others making good pop music, Ladyhawke's debut album should have sold millions. I wish she'd hurry up and release the follow-up.
    Wow, never realised I had the same opinion as alot of boardsies, Lets start a team and hunt down Lady Gaga next!

Whether you like her music or not, Gaga has made herself into a cultural phenomenon. And even though her lyrics may seem a bit insipid to some, she has genuinely become an idol for others, particularly young people.

There was a really sad case recently about a 14 year old boy in Buffalo who committed suicide after years of homophobic bullying. One of the things that had helped him cope, before it all became too much for him, was Lady Gaga. He had made a video on Youtube for the It Gets Better project where he had quoted lines from "Born This Way" and it made him feel better about himself.

People give out about pop music a lot these days but in my mind there's a big difference between the likes of Justin Bieber, Rebecca Black etc., who are studio engineered to sell records, and the likes of Lady Gaga who do at least write their own songs, create their own image and have had to work for everything themselves. She's become an easy target for music snobs, and I definitely see why she's not everyone's cup of tea, but I do think Lady Gaga is genuinely one of the best pop-music artists around right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Back in the day when my heart wasn't all boarded up with cement, I'd have a good auld teenagery banshee wail through snotty tears over some spotty-faced rapscallion with a rat's tail and bleached fringe (twas the rage circa '96) along to Tori Amos' Cruxify...not sure if it has anything to do with heartache but she's not a happy camper...

Lol memories there.
    If its misery/anger/men are ****e ye want Jewel is yer woman. Not sure which songs tbh but think any will do
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTcDSbaGqIM