Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Google+ now open to everyone... do you give a shyte?

• 20-09-2011 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭

I don't see the point. I got an invite fairly soon after the testing stage launch, it was interesting to have a look around G+ at the features and stuff... for about 3 seconds. There was an initial excitement in my "friends" group but now there's a deathly silence with all their activity gone back to facebook. The last activity on G+ was two weeks ago and that was somebody posting about how quiet it is.

Do you give a shyte? I don't think I'll use it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Pointless site, google desperately trying to play catchup when facebook have disappeared over the horizon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's dirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Whats Google+ ? Is it like Sky+ ? Can you pause, rewind and record the internet ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I care so little I nearly didn't open this thread.

Skunkle wrote: »
    Whats Google+ ? Is it like Sky+ ? Can you pause, rewind and record the internet ???

Regrettably, no. That would make it useful, as oppeosed to the cart of crap it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

Not even half a shyte.

I am amused at what a colossal fail it seems to be, though. That part of it I like. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I noticed a lot of my hipster friends rejoicing at Google+ and trying to get people to switch from Facebook. I joined it myself when i got an invite from one of them and tbh it doesnt seem anything special.

The only good new feature that i noticed was the circle thing and that seems to have been implemtned by Facebook now. Can't see it toppling facebook anytime soon.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Why don't they add a feature where chrome just opens 10 different porn sites when I start private browsing?

That'd be useful. Where as Google+ is a crock of smelly ould man's $hite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Yup, I give a 'shyte'. Several in fact.

Google+ has a much higher signal to noise ratio than Facebook, and while I use both currently I'm using Google+ a hell of a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Broads.ie

So it seems not one shyte was given that day...

Google have some cool things going on these days, but G+ is definitely not one of them.

Oh well. I wonder will they go back to the drawing board (for the 3rd time) or just give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I like it but more people need to join and use it for it to be better.

Broads.ie wrote: »
    So it seems not one shyte was given that day...

http://thingist.com/user_uploads/3213623821591170754.jpg

Google+ has a much higher signal to noise ratio than Facebook, and while I use both currently I'm using Google+ a hell of a lot more.

What does that even mean and why would normal people care about it?

SV wrote: »
    What does that even mean and why would normal people care about it?

Less automated messages about farmville, more people actually sharing stuff that's interesting.

Not that you couldn't have figured this out yourself if you though for a second or two.

stuff that's interesting.
    This is the subjective part.

If many people agree with you, then it should be taking off any time now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I joined it but I really was just being a hipster. It seems decent enough like, I'll probably start actually using it now that it's open and more people could join.

Also, not sure if it's true but somebody did tell me that Google will not automatically own/store everything you put up like photos etc the way facebook does. AFAIK facebook stills owns and can use anything on your profile even if you delete it. So if all that hearsay and information I've never bothered to verify is true that's a big + for Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Does it pck up RTE 2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Sad. Very sad. They're both just noise. Unless your antenna is picking up SETI or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Wait a few months and it'll be just as bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Lady von Purple

I was invited, set up my account and deleted the whole thing in the space of an hour. The photo uploading system is much easier and user-friendly than facebook's but besides that, useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

They missed their chance and then the boat sailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

It's a much simpler version of Facebook which I like, I also like the way circles are implemented. To be honest the only downfall I see is the chat and the fact that Facebook has the monopoly and will most likely hold it for another few years.

Facebook is crammed with **** I don't want or don't need in a social networking site, G+ is pretty light-weight. It does one thing and it does it well imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

I wish it would succeed, I detest Facebook, I detest Zuckerberg and I detest the way they treat people and their privacy. I dread to think what a world will look like with Facebook as the dominant social network.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Jaysus some load of ye on here hate facebook and Google + etc so much but still end up starting a load of threads about how much you dont like them. how about trying the tried and tested way of not talking about something you dont like.

Confab wrote: »
    Sad. Very sad. They're both just noise. Unless your antenna is picking up SETI or something.

If either are 'just noise' then you're doing it wrong.

Less automated messages about farmville, more people actually sharing stuff that's interesting.

Not that you couldn't have figured this out yourself if you though for a second or two.

Seeing as there's very little people on plus and you can block all that stuff on facebook then I'm not seeing the advantage.

Although you could have figured that out yourself if you thought for a second or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭geetar

the problem with google plus is thats its filled with people like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Seriously do not need another f*cking social networking site.

The reason I use them is because they encourage people to keep in contact. I have a lot of friends and family who live far/in other countries and Facebook helps us all to keep up to date with one another. That is literally what I use it for and nothing more. If everyone were to move to Google+ and Facebook were to go dead, then I'd switch because there'd be no point to Facebook.

Though honestly I hope people just stick to the one though it may not happen. I just want to keep in touch with my mates further afield, I don't care about all the other sh!tty, pointless features.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

It's way, way too confusing. Much like Facebook's new "lists" system.

Why don't they just let people make separate profiles for work, friends etc? Surely that'd solve the main privacy issue without making it so complicated that hardly anyone knows how to use it?

SV wrote: »
    Seeing as there's very little people on plus and you can block all that stuff on facebook then I'm not seeing the advantage.

You need something like fb purity to effectively filter it out, something Google+ doesn't need.

But please, do continue.
    geetar wrote: »
    the problem with google plus is thats its filled with people like you.

please don't embarrass yourself like that, it's needless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

It's way, way too confusing. Much like Facebook's new "lists" system.

Why don't they just let people make separate profiles for work, friends etc? Surely that'd solve the main privacy issue without making it so complicated that hardly anyone knows how to use it?

It only takes 20 minutes to get used to, and you can essentially have different profiles (via circles). That chat is a pain in the arse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Geekness1234

Not even a little.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I don't give a shite, but if I did Google+ would be the first thing I'd give it to.

Pointless load of pointlessness indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Oh wow. Surprisingly I see a thread full of people who hate social networking. I bet more than half on here have an account on either Google+ and/or Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

It has been open for ages you just had to go to their site and they gave you access. They are just trying to stir up some media notice.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Oh wow. Surprisingly I see a thread full of people who hate social networking. I bet more than half on here have an account on either Google+ and/or Facebook
    How else would people know how shit Google+ is unless they'd tried it? I don't hate social networking, I hate annoying things. Like that video someone posted earlier. Yes, I want to be cool like the dumbass who adds pricks to her network so she can put them in the circle she calls "pricks". WTgoddamnF. Annoying.

Why can't we go back to keeping touch with our friends by giving them a call once in a while, maybe popping down to their place some weekend, going out to watch a movie or get some food etc. Instead of jumping on the computer and checking out their status and leaving some inane comment on their profile...??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Why don't they add a feature where chrome just opens 10 different porn sites when I start private browsing?

This is actually a good idea

Not really when you've got your family or certain mates with you and you open chrome...bam!!! Oh shi-!!!:eek::eek:

Why can't we go back to keeping touch with our friends by giving them a call once in a while, maybe popping down to their place some weekend, going out to watch a movie or get some food etc. Instead of jumping on the computer and checking out their status and leaving some inane comment on their profile...??

I was gonna do that but then I get poked so y'know..live and learn, live and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Cossax

Google+'s problem, pure and simple, is that there aren't enough women on it.

Not really when you've got your family or certain mates with you and you open chrome...bam!!! Oh shi-!!!:eek::eek:
    No for private browsing only. The Ctrl+Shift+N thing.

But even then, what if someone accidentally pressed those keys. So yeah, not such a good idea after all.

Cossax wrote: »
    Google+'s problem, pure and simple, is that there aren't enough women on it.

True that:http://calvinayre.com/2011/08/26/lifestyle/still-not-enough-birds-on-google-plus/

No for private browsing only. The Ctrl+Shift+N thing.

But even then, what if someone accidentally pressed those keys. So yeah, not such a good idea after all.

Better would be if they could do a better job blocking all those adds and pops ups about 19yr old hot russian chicks who are desperate for a shag and live only 2miles away from my house or if I would like to try my luck at poker and win a million billion or that cuz of my extraordinary luck I've been selected to receive a free ipad as a gift from this website...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LostCorkGuy

I like the group video chat function its pretty well done !
    But theres not enough people on it to use frequently
    Plus the creep on people who live near you but you don't know is kinda funny but worrying at the same time , freaky neighbours will be snooping :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

hmmm wrote: »
    I wish it would succeed, I detest Facebook, I detest Zuckerberg and I detest the way they treat people and their privacy. I dread to think what a world will look like with Facebook as the dominant social network.

Am... exactly like the world right now?

hmmm wrote: »

But Google aren't exactly privacy gods either? :confused:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Not really feeling the shyte-giving vibe, I have to say. I'm not a major fan of people as a general rule, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭SirenX

I like google+
    facebook is way too cluttered with random crap and its just annoying