Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does it annoy you when the Gardaí are referred to as the Garda?

• 20-09-2011 11:54am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭

Personally I prefer peelers but honestly there is a difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

At least peelers are better than cops or feds imo.
    I prefer British slang to American slang.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Peelers? Are you from the 19th century?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

I do it because I can't find the fada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

no

i have enough to be getting on with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

The garda are know as the 'Big Denny Fry up Gang' were i come from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Sooopie wrote: »
    no

Like posting on Boards in a topic about how the Gardaí are referred to as the Garda saying you have better things to be doing than worrying about the Gardaí being referred to as the Garda...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

i use the term 'feds'. it makes them sound good at what they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I read something Brendan Kennelly wrote.

Us Irish to distract us from real issues we are obsessed with trivia. So true.

I usually refer to them as the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Up de Barrs

I find it even more annoying when they are referred to as "the police".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Edinduberdeen

It annoys me when they're referred to as the 'gorthee' on the news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I call them the "shades". A lot of people i know do. That or gards anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

'Doirty Gaaaaaaaards'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Ya, "Shades" is pretty popular around here too.

I'm going to start calling them "G-men".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Dionysus to AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Been shades in Limerick for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I call them guards. Or Gardai, it's sort of interchangeable. The fada is indeed a problem when typing.

I've also heard the busies, which I never understood, and the filth, which I don't agree with but it makes me laugh for sheer offensiveness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

no

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭jsd1004

I think it is an understandable error from non irish speakers. Most other countries 'police' is plural and singular. Natural assumption that in Irish it is the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It annoys me when people refer to the Gardai as "competent" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Sooopie

Like posting on Boards in a topic about how the Gardaí are referred to as the Garda saying you have better things to be doing than worrying about the Gardaí being referred to as the Garda...

Jesus, have you ever heard of a comma?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

I do laugh at the poor guards on the push bike, I do wonder what they did to upset the Sargent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Po Po

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭t1mm

Shades
    Federalis
    5-0
    LAPD
    The Fuzz

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

"the filth"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Policia Local

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Why would you ask us our opinion between two names then go off and use a completely different name yourself then?

Do you like jedward or do you hate them? Just wondering because I like stone sour.

See? Its odd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

The tax collectors !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Just refer to them as cuonstable and see how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

The Filth or 5-0 by most people I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

Well it does say Garda on the uniforms and cars, maybe the bobbys can investigate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The Rozzers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭Shreddingblood

Sketch! The shades man.

The Gestapo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Plod, Rozzers, Old Bill, Dibble.

/mockney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭superfish

Caveman1 wrote: »
    Well it does say Garda on the uniforms and cars, maybe the bobbys can investigate

jesus man calm down do you know what an investigation like that would entail we just dont have the resources or man power !

The Bizzies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

The Filth or 5-0 by most people I know

You must be living in a ghetto then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

kfallon wrote: »
    It annoys me when people refer to the Gardai as "competent" :pac:

It annoys me when people are too incompetent to use a fada.

Most people use Shades or Gards. Shades is a term that was mostly used by travellers but has spread out a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

The Pigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

Jesus, have you ever heard of a comma?

Is that your best reply? lol

There wasn't any need for a comma, BTW.

Ever heard of capitalising letters at the start of sentences?
    no

John Q Law.

I smell bacon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Cathaoirleach

One Garda, Two Gardaí
    One Taoiseach, Two Taoisigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

Po Po

Good memory. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Seachmall wrote: »
    Ya, "Shades" is pretty popular around here too.

I'm going to start calling them "G-men".

I called them G-Men for a while. Nobody understood the reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Protector´s of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

It annoys me more when they are referred to as the Police or the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I call them CTU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I called them the police because I could never figure out if they were called "The Guard", Guard-EYE, Guard-EEE, or Guard-AH. I heard so many pronounciations and I wasn't sure if one was plural or singular. :confused:

It's AN GEAR-DEE SHICKILONA