Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

McGuinness - Will accept only average industrial wage and give rest back to public.

• 18-09-2011 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

Martin McGuinness was recently on RTE Radio, where he confirmed that he will only be accepting an average industrial wage for the position of president. He also confirmed that the rest of the wage would go back to the Irish public, rather than the party.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0918/president.html

This is a brave move by McGuinness and demonstrates he has the courage to put his money where his mouth is, especially in times of severe economic hardship. There is absolutely no ambiguity about this - The bulk of the wage will go back to the Irish public.

I doubt any other candidate has the courage to make a similar move.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

This is a positive move given state finances, and will generate good publicity allowing Mr. McGuinness to gain a boost in the polls. In the longer run, the other candidates may argue that as the position of President is such a prestigous post, the first citizen of the nation, that by failing to provide proper wages for the post would fail to attract the higher caliber of candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Interesting to see if any of the other candidates would be brave enough to do this.

He'll win some votes with this tactic. I would have thought that the rest would have gone to SF, not the public. Thats what they do in NI I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

NIMAN wrote: »
    He'll win some votes with this tactic. I would have thought that the rest would have gone to SF, not the public. Thats what they do in NI I think.

In this case, it will go back to the public directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Don't all SF TD's claim they only take the average industrial wage, but i belive the rest goes back to the party rather than back to the tax payer. Also the quote says he'll "donate the bulk of the president's salary to the Irish people" how is he going to do that, unless donate is used in place of "claim".

To me it sounds like he'll still claim the money but donate it to some charities, thus still keeping his full pension.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭jbkenn

dlofnep wrote: »
    Martin McGuinness was recently on RTE Radio, where he confirmed that he will only be accepting an average industrial wage for the position of president. He also confirmed that the rest of the wage would go back to the Irish public, rather than the party.

This is a brave move by McGuinness and demonstrates he has the courage to put his money where his mouth is, especially in times of severe economic hardship. There is absolutely no ambiguity about this - The bulk of the wage will go back to the Irish public.

Campaign horse****, unfortunately, there is no process in place for him to do this, he should know this and if he does'nt , well, he had better bring himself up to speed, one Sinn Fein duffer from Northern Ireland is enough thanks.

Don't all SF TD's claim they only take the average industrial wage, but i belive the rest goes back to the party rather than back to the tax payer.

They are paid an average industrial wage by Sinn Féin - the rest of the salary is invested into the party. In this case however, McGuinness will directly donate the rest of the wage back to the Irish public.
    Also the quote says he'll "donate the bulk of the president's salary to the Irish people" how is he going to do that, unless donate is used in place of "claim".

To me it sounds like he'll still claim the money but donate it to some charities, thus still keeping his full pension.

There's no winning with some people is there? He has clarified very clearly that he will only accept the average industrial wage. That shows to me that he is willing to lead by example. It will not be donated to charity - but rather directly back to the state.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Why should they?

I think he is only making that promise because he knows he will not be elected.

jbkenn wrote: »
    Campaign horse****, unfortunately, there is no process in place for him to do this, he should know this and if he does'nt , well, he had better bring himself up to speed,

If you are suggesting that he will not be able to work out a method to give it back to the state, then you're stretching hard to try and discredit this obviously courageous move. It's not campaign 'horse****' - It's leading by example.
    one Sinn Fein duffer from Northern Ireland is enough thanks.

That's for the people to decide collectively, not you as an individual.

Why should they?

They don't _have_ to - But at a time when the state is crippled economically, it demonstrates leadership to take the average industrial wage. Anyone willing to accept a wage that surpasses the president of the United States in the current economic climate is a career politician.
    I think he is only making that promise because he knows he will not be elected.

Nonsense, he's one of the favourites to win it according to the bookies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

How very generous of him seeing as he's never contributed a penny to the Irish state in tax. How much money did his terrorist campaign cost the country?

latenia wrote: »
    How very generous of him seeing as he's never contributed a penny to the Irish state in tax.

Living in Derry, I'd expect that might prove to be difficult - given that it's under British jurisdiction. Typical anti-SF brigade out in force looking for anyway to spin this from a positive story of leadership into something negative.

If you are suggesting that he will not be able to work out a method to give it back to the state, then you're stretching hard to try and discredit this obviously courageous move. It's not campaign 'horse****' - It's leading by example.
    Then I suggest he get this magic method in place before election day, otherwise it's horse****, end of, but then, after 30 odd years of telling porkies, what's another one.

That's for the people to decide collectively, not you as an individual.
    True, and the people of Louth have decided, but, he is still a clueless duffer, and I, unfortunately, as a taxpayer, have to pay his wages

That's democracy. Deal with it.

Living in Derry, I'd expect that might prove to be difficult - given that it's under British jurisdiction. Typical anti-SF brigade out in force looking for anyway to spin this from a positive story of leadership into something negative.
    Not typical anti Sinn Fein brigade, just Republican taxpaying realists

Realists? Perhaps you'd like to explain under what reality someone living and working in the north which is under British jurisdiction could pay tax in the south?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I'm really at a loss as to why people are having a go because a candidate is prepared to give up the majority of the presidential salary if elected... After years of politicians creaming it, and continuing to line their pockets to this very day, when someone says they will only take a fraction of what's on offer and give the rest back to the Irish people, they get slated for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

flash1080 wrote: »
    I'm really at a loss as to why people are having a go because a candidate is prepared to give up the majority of the presidential salary if elected... After years of politicians creaming it, and continuing to line their pockets to this very day, when someone says they will only take a fraction of what's on offer and give the rest back to the Irish people, they get slated for it?

Shinner bashing. Unlike various field games, its a year round activity, entirely independent of weather conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Shinner bashing, mixed with a little bit of 'anti-Northerner' thrown in for good measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Nodin wrote: »
    Shinner bashing. Unlike various field games, its a year round activity, entirely independent of weather conditions.

Lol leave the bitter anti SF poster alone. He's probably a Sindo reader, we should have sympathy for him and his simplistic viewpoints as he probably knows no better.

So the "average industrial wage" includes the use of a Georgian mansion on its own grounds, a private jet, chauffeur driven limos with police escorts, servants, personal assistants, chefs etc? Viva la revolucion comrades!

And those are all McGuinness' fault? Have you objected to any other president candidate availing of these services - Or is it only to one who has made a stand to save the Irish tax payer approximately one-quarter of a million euro? Interesting choice.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Well there are savings to make on the security side, I'm sure Mr. McGuinness had the ability to take of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fair play to him, I'm not surprised at all to hear that he made this decision. The rest of the candidates? well I wouldn't hold my breath.

And those are all McGuinness' fault? Have you objected to any other president candidate availing of these services - Or is it only to one who has made a stand to save the Irish tax payer approximately one-quarter of a million euro? Interesting choice.

You said yourself that this is a brave move and hint that it's some kind of display of solidarity with the working man when the reality is that he will be living a life of luxury regardless of what salary he draws down. I doubt the president ever has to open their wallet while they're in office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Are people seriously considering voting this man to be president? Seriously? A man who was arrested in 1973 and charged to six months when he was caught with 250 pounds of explosives and 5000 rounds of ammunition?? This man who was one of the commanders of a terrorist organisation. Is this for real, what is this country coming to?? I don't care if he takes no salary for the job I think its a disgrace that he is even been considered.

You said yourself that this is a brave move and hint that it's some kind of display of solidarity with the working man when the reality is that he will be living a life of luxury regardless of what salary he draws down. I doubt the president ever has to open their wallet while they're in office.

The role is ceremonial. Would you rather he invited world leaders to his home in Derry? It is a brave move, because it demonstrates that he is leading by example. The fact that you refuse to acknowledge that this is indeed a positive move, is evident of your bias.

pconn062 wrote: »
    A man who was arrested in 1973 and charged to six months when he was caught with 250 pounds of explosives and 5000 rounds of ammunition??

A number of our taoisigh and presidents have been members of the IRA. McGuinness doesn't distance himself from the reality that he took up arms against a British state that would not afford them a political outlet, a state that upheld civil equality, internment without trial, and a state that routinely colluded with loyalist terrorists in the state murder of Irish civilians. Much like Dev and Seán T. O'Kelly didn't distance themselves from taking up arms against the British state.

So bear that in mind before you judge people who took up arms in an unjust period of extreme inequality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

Are people seriously considering voting this man to be president? Seriously? A man who was arrested in 1973 and charged to six months when he was caught with 250 pounds of explosives and 5000 rounds of ammunition?? This man who was one of the commanders of a terrorist organisation. Is this for real, what is this country coming to?? I don't care if he takes no salary for the job I think its a disgrace that he is even been considered.
    and Nelson Mandela was the leader of a terrorist organisation who was also sent to prison and I believe he is seen as having been a good president.

I don't care if was using those devices in what he believed was the good of the state, I don't think its right to have a president with a criminal record like his in a supposedly modern 21st century first world country no matter what he was fighting for. This president would be our representative around the world and it is not suitable for a man with a record like his no matter what he was fighting for to be the figurehead of the country.

UDP wrote: »
    and Nelson Mandela was the leader of a terrorist organisation who was also sent to prison and I believe he is seen as having been a good president.

I don't think I can talk to you if your going to compare Martin McGuinness to Mandela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

You do reaisie that there are Sin Fein TD's in the dail do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭sparkling sea

Pity he didn't read his remit and the duties of the President governed by Bunreacht Na HEireann - the President under Art 12.11.3 cannot nor doesn't have a say in where he will live, what he earns and how much he keeps.
    The office of President is apolitical - and even if legislation was to be brought after he came in to office, it could not be applied retrospectively.

You would think he would be versed in the laws or at least the Constitution of the Republic before he applies for the for the President job - its not a dictatorship and he cant just do as he feels (as he should) ad probably does know. Out and out publicity stunt

11. 1° The President shall have an official residence in or near the City of Dublin.
    2° The President shall receive such emoluments and allowances as may be determined by law.
    3° The emoluments and allowances of the President shall not be diminished during his term of office.

You do reaisie that there are Sin Fein TD's in the dail do you?

I do but I didn't vote for them, I live in Louth where Gerry Adams was elected, this is a much more public office than a TD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭30Min

I do not want him as my President. What a pathetic way to try and win people around. I may have lost my job in this recession but having him in the Áras will not improve matters. I am not going to the polls to vote in the person who will "do it for the cheapest rate". What's he thinking- what an idiot !! :confused:

Nonsense, he's one of the favourites to win it according to the bookies.

totally irrelevant

30Min wrote: »
    I do not want him as my President. What a pathetic way to try and win people around. I may have lost my job in this recession but having him in the Áras will not improve matters. I am not going to the polls to vote in the person who will "do it for the cheapest rate". What's he thinking- what an idiot !! :confused:

No matter who is in the Aras, matters in that regard will not improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

The formal powers and functions of the President are prescribed in the Constitution. The President, who does not have an executive or policy role, exercises them on the advice of the Government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭UDP

I don't think I can talk to you if your going to compare Martin McGuinness to Mandela.
    I know, I mean its not like both were the leaders of terrorist organisations fighting against oppression by the state in which they live and both imprisoned as a result.

So where is this difference between the two that makes one acceptable to be president and represent their countries abroad and the other not acceptable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭sparkling sea

realies wrote: »
    The President, who does not have an executive or policy role, exercises them on the advice of the Government.

You need to clarify what you mean by this, please?

No matter who is in the Aras, matters in that regard will not improve.

Untrue- for one-in representing us abroad, our previous Presidents have strengthened our relations with various other countries. Depending on the countries in question, this has been extremely positive in relation to maintaining and improving the quality of our economic relations with them.

There are other candidates who can continue this and can do it far better than Martin McGuinness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

I see the Sinn Féin political campaigning is well under way so. Its a nice, if rather pointless thing to do. In that it will have exactly no bearing on the public finances whatsoever (If all politicians worked for free we would still have a gigantic budget deficit) but at least it will let Martin feel better about himself. And it'll go down well with the public. Maybe I'm being cynical but I'd almost prefer him to take his 200k salary and blow it all on coke and hookers.

He's preying on the most vulnerable aspect of peoples lives (financial worries), so he can scrape a few extra votes.

The fact that he has chosen this 'easy route', shows he is not fit for the job.

The whack o' desperation off him !!

Its not gonna work.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Maybe he could start by giving back the £26m his buddies took from the bank? That'd ease the bailout cost a little...

He's preying on the most vulnerable aspect of peoples lives (financial worries), so he can scrape a few extra votes.

No he isn't, because it's not being done to correct financial worries. It is done as an act of solidarity with the people of Ireland who have had to accept cuts across the board.

I love how a voluntary reduction in pay to the tune of a quarter of a million euro can be spun as 'preying on the most vulnerable'. You'd be a shoe-in for a job in the Sindo with spin like that ;)

Denerick wrote: »
    I see the Sinn Féin political campaigning is well under way so. Its a nice, if rather pointless thing to do. In that it will have exactly no bearing on the public finances whatsoever (If all politicians worked for free we would still have a gigantic budget deficit) but at least it will let Martin feel better about himself. And it'll go down well with the public. Maybe I'm being cynical but I'd almost prefer him to take his 200k salary and blow it all on coke and hookers.

In fairness, this has been standard SF policy re, it's public representatives for some time, it's not some new gimmick for this election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

I would not be political at all and certainly not Sinn Fein but I commend martin McGuinness on this committment.

In my opinion Mary McAleese has shown a distinct lack of leadership by not doing something similar. She has been president for approx 14 years. Salary is approx €250,000 per annum so she has probably earned over 2 million euro in her time as president. On top of that she must have very little expenses etc so she has done incredibly nicely for herself out of her term as president. I think she took a cut from €250,000 to €200,000 - not very much in the context of the financial state the country and so many citizens are in. I think she could easily have taken a cut back to €100k or even €50k for the last 2 years since the recession hit home without much effect on her considering her prior earnings and her prospective pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Exile 1798

The fact that he has chosen this 'easy route', shows he is not fit for the job.

The whack o' desperation off him !!

Its not gonna work.:rolleyes:

Errm... you are aware that all Sinn Féin elected officials from councillors to TDs/MLAs take only the industrial wage as pay?

It's a very good model for a centre-left party. A good way to keep their officials bonded to their communities, while at the same time funding the party itself.

McGuinness' variation of this model - accepting only the industrial wage and returning the rest to the state - is a right and appropriate alteration to this policy in the event that he becomes President, as the office is meant to be above party politics, it would seem inappropriate for him to send the majority of his wage to Sinn Féin rather then back to the Irish taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Although I wont be voting for him, I will make the point that he also is not entitled to multiple defined benefits pensions payable by the taxpayers in the Republic - unlike some of the candidates who were very happy to parade their humanitarian ' record'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Foghladh

It's a move that won't do him any harm in the presidential race that's for certain. It won't have any influence on my voting for him I'll admit but I can see that it may draw him some support.