Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blood, Sex and Violence

• 17-09-2011 2:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Today I made the mistake of watching 'A Serbian Film'. Once again curiosity got the better of me and now I feel my soul has been thoroughly raped and molested. If anyone of ye are feeling curious to watch it, all I'll say it don't, seriously don't. When you first start watching it, it's dark but it looks like a slightly more extreme and violent version of 8mm which you might think is not that bad. But by the time you've finished watching it, you only wish that you hadn't watched it. Its not something that shocks you instantly but more of it lingers at the back of your mind while your force yourself from recalling any memories of what you've just seen!

Anyway, this got me thinking about why we are so fascinated with such extreme violence and perversion? And it is something unique to us humans. You don't see animals partaking in such behaviour. Yes I know its just a movie and none of it is real but what makes the whole thing even more terrifying is that this movie is not the most violent and extreme movie made because far worse stuff exists out there (some of which is actually real) and when you think about the people who create it and buy it, you have to wonder what's wrong with their psychology?

Take for example the what happened in Auschwitz and more recently to a lesser degree in Abu Gharib prison and other such concentration camps and scenes of genocide, you wonder what is it that drives us humans to such levels of inhumanity and insanity which makes us commit such unthinkable actions towards another human being while at the same time gain some sort of an enjoyment and gratification from it.

AH is probably not the best place to discuss such a topic but as this is the most popular forum on here, I'ld like to know what the rest of the boardsies think of why we enjoy such mindless and extreme sex and violence and at times what drives us into partaking in such acts of madness? Why do we as humans enjoy it and keep doing it?

Tl;dr: A Serbian Film is a truly messed up film, stay well away from it cuz you'll only regret watching it and why are we humans so freaking messed up?!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Now we have to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Sometimes I think I've gotten the hang of using chopsticks. Then, a week later, and there are prawns flying all over the place. I have not mastered chopsticks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

So Lee Harvey Oswald wanted to steal the Jack Ruby...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Some people are bad. But most are fairly good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

All boardsies enjoy mindless sex and violence? nope, not this one. I detest it. I heard about that film and others like it and have no cause to watch it after hearing about the contents.
    What has been seen cannot be unseen and I don't want those images polluting my brain thank's.
    The only reason I'd watch a film with any strong violence or torture in it would be because it comes with strong critical acclaim, like Oldboy for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭James T Kirk

You do realise that at least three more people are going to watch this film now, OP? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Xpsgamer

<Insert obligatory "Down with this sort of thing/Careful Now" Reference for many many thanks>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

all I saw was blood, sex and violence .. last poster james T. kirk. so what's this about then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Xpsgamer

I dunno, it sounds like a night out with a few Dublin girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

well.. the film is just depicting evil side of human nature right.. I don't like it to appear someone acting out their fantasy; sounds proper ott and gratituous

when's the rugby on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

WHATS THE NAME OF THE FILM DAMMIT???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I've heard it described as cannibal porn...

that being said, I'd still watch it to see if it's in any way shocking and/or awesome.

barone...the name of the film is A Serbian Film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

An aging porn star agrees to participate in an "art film" in order to make a clean break from the business, only to discover that he has been drafted into making a pedophilia and necrophilia themed snuff film.

source

if this is what the sex is Ill pass thanks, if its a legal girl made to look young though I might watch?

eh no i dont want to watch that thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

It has been noted that some animals do appear to enjoy violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Everything in A Serbian Film is really poorly executed, therefore its much harder to read about than it was to watch. I read the wiki and curiosity got the better of me......it's not pleasant, some utterly putrid ideas in it, but i've seen much, much bloodier and gorier in the cinema.

I still wouldn't recommend watching it though!

Everything in A Serbian Film is really poorly executed, therefore its much harder to read about than it was to watch. I read the wiki and curiosity got the better of me......it's not pleasant, some utterly putrid ideas in it, but i've seen much, much bloodier and gorier in the cinema.

I still wouldn't recommend watching it though!

SOLD! ffs thanks :rolleyes:

*shakes fist*

Saila wrote: »
    SOLD! ffs thanks :rolleyes:

*shakes fist*

You are welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 903 ✭✭✭Herrick

From it's Wikipedia article...
    Later, Vukmir shows Miloš another one of his projects: a film of Rasa helping a woman give birth to a baby girl; Rasa then proceeds to rape the newborn in what the director calls "newborn porn"

I actually feel like getting sick :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

I actually quite liked A Serbian Film, once ya get past all the nastiness I found it to be a pretty decent thriller, maybe thats because im perverted though :p

Herrick wrote: »
    Later, Vukmir shows Miloš another one of his projects: a film of Rasa helping a woman give birth to a baby girl; Rasa then proceeds to rape the newborn in what the director calls "newborn porn"

Thats the only really over the top bit! Absolutely gross

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

I actually quite liked A Serbian Film, once ya get past all the nastiness I found it to be a pretty decent thriller, maybe thats because im perverted though :p

Well...your from Bundoran...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bigwormbundoran

Herrick wrote: »

I like the bit where
    The protagonist escapes and is getting attacked in the alley, then the lad who was in that newborn scene kills the fellas attacking the main character, then proceeds to undo his trousers, but the maker of the movies stops him from riding the dead lads, found that quite funny I must say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

awful film, and not awful in the way its trying desperately to be, its just awful. shocking for the sake of being shocking, any film that shows a newborn baby being raped (really) is struggling pretty hard in the gore pron stakes.

Domo230 wrote: »
    Is it worse than the human centipede?

The human centipede is brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

My curiousity has been piqued, downloading it now. Doing nothing this evening so might as well. I won't eat before I watch though :eek:

good lord i read the wiki page - i'm going to have to watch a LOT of lighthearted stuff to get that out of my brain
    who the f* would make that disgusting stuff argh

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    My curiousity has been piqued, downloading it now. Doing nothing this evening so might as well. I won't eat before I watch though :eek:

Another one bites the dust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It's an allegory of recent Serbian history, apparently. I wouldn't sit through it meself though.

never got why people like horror so much, just more **** to come back and haunt you when you least expect it :confused:especially if you ever do acid

I dont want to see anything with eye/dick gore thanks, almost anything else goes now, it wasnt that way for a long time for me though..
    being scared does nothing for me, my imagination is enough and THAT good :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Seen it. Meh.

I don't really get how anyone can find something like that shocking or disturbing. I mean it's not real (obviously, I guess). I found the scene out of Casino where Antony Spilotro and his brother are beaten to death to be deeply disturbing to me, but that actually happened. A Serbian Film is just horribly acted make believe. I can be moved to plenty of emotions by well made, well written, well acted movies but movies like this are funny if anything surely? Am I alone in feeling like this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Read about it, had to download it to satisfy my curiosity and turned it off before the end. Not because I was shocked or disgusted or couldn't watch, it was just really really bad. No story, no characters, it was about nothing but 'shock' and for me when such scenes are so unbelievable I can't even be shocked or moved. I just think "Stupid!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

strobe wrote: »
    Seen it. Meh.

I don't really get how anyone can find something like that shocking or disturbing. I mean it's not real (obviously, I guess). I found the scene out of Casino where Antony Spilotro and his brother are beaten to death to be deeply disturbing to me, but that actually happened. A Serbian Film is just horribly acted make believe. I can be moved to plenty of emotions by well made, well written, well acted movies but movies like this are funny if anything surely? Am I alone in feeling like this?

Yes. Stop thinking, it's a movie. Look, Liam Neeson's daughter has been kidnapped by Jennifer Aniston, who just left her husband and hasn't been faring too well in the singles scene... until now. 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Seen it. Meh.

I'd be the same , something like Ralph Fiennes casually shooting at Jewish prisoners from his balcony in Schindlers List is far more chilling to me than Jigsaw putting peoples heads in bear traps and all that other sh1te that passes for horror these days.

Seen it. Meh.

Yeah but I wouldn't say funny, just sh1te
    Some films are so bad they're funny but I wouldn't even give this one funny, it's like a few perves on a forum got together to make something and tried to pass it as art

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

it's like a few perves on a forum got together to make something and tried to pass it as art

That gives me an idea... pm sent :p

/..........., it's like a few perves on a forum got together to make something and tried to pass it as art

AH - The Movie.....good jaysus....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Personally havent seen the movie itself but it seems to be one of those movies that you can approach from two sides 1) The social/political context of the movie - The national mentality of Serbia during the 90's or 2) Just a bunch of sick fooks behind a camera having great craic knowing that theyre going get a lot of notoriety.Ive heard both opinions - same when the human centipede came out which is all shock value really.Still,I'll prob end up watching it at some point soon.

Seen it. Meh.

Some things freak people out, some don't. I've seen "Men Behind The Sun" and didn't think it was that bad, but theres others just can't sit through it.

Seen it. Meh.

Read about it, had to download it to satisfy my curiosity and turned it off before the end. Not because I was shocked or disgusted or couldn't watch, it was just really really bad. No story, no characters, it was about nothing but 'shock' and for me when such scenes are so unbelievable I can't even be shocked or moved. I just think "Stupid!"

on second thoughts Ill give it a miss, I would only be watching it to see how the scenes are edited to see how it the baby was done
    is it more cut to your mans face front front shaking and holding a 'baby' or is it done well or :confused:

Let's do it, we'd have knackers fighting the unemployed and Bertie would be a kingpin then Georgia Salpa would blast them all with piss until a masked Biggins came in to save the day but would we ever learn his identity?

I guess once you've watched Alien at 12 years old in the middle of the night and had night sweats for a month you're pretty much immune to anything. Movies like Alien are far more terrifying than movies that set out to shock and awe. Hostel for instance, that was just boring!

Saila wrote: »
    on second thoughts Ill give it a miss, I would only be watching it to see how the scenes are edited to see how it the baby was done
    is it more cut to your mans face front front shaking and holding a 'baby' or is it done well or :confused:

You dont actually see the baby when its happening, you just hear it, but the cry is stomach turning

I guess once you've watched Alien at 12 years old in the middle of the night and had night sweats for a month you're pretty much immune to anything. Movies like Alien are far more terrifying than movies that set out to shock and awe. Hostel for instance, that was just boring!

or TheFog, damn that gave me the creeps for years I live by the coast :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,016 ✭✭✭✭klose

not as bad as the grifter though...

Haha, the Fog is such ****e, I love John Carpenter but The Thing is where he was at, not that rubbish :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Crackle

Watched it a few months back and just thought it was a shíte film. The shocking for the sake of being shocking scenes only added to it's shíteness in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Green Back

This seems to sum-up the plot.
    Miloš jams his erect penis into Rasa's empty eye socket, killing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

I liked irreversible. Dont wanna change the op's original post but anyone got any good shock films to recommend?

weedhead wrote: »
    I liked irreversible. Dont wanna change the op's original post but anyone got any good shock films to recommend?

The 1972 version of Last house on the left