Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you get on well with your family?

• 16-09-2011 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

I've just come to the realisation that I dont enjoy the company of most of my family. We're just not compatable as people. I'd do anything for them but **** me they're like aliens. So are the rest of you close with your family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Get a game of "name the ads" going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭nicechick!

hmmm more like love/hate type relationship but that said I love them!! faults & all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Love my mother, love my sister, my dads is a knob but id still defend him if someone criticised him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Haven't seen mine in over 15 years. Couldn't care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

I love all my family! Don't think I can remember the last time that everyone was getting along with everyone else though! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Ha, good time this thread came up in...

Family - say Family ma, da, etc... I never had a real family as me da died when I was a kid and mother was not 100% capable of looking after me. I used to be bounced back and forth and been raised on the street among the scum. Sure that wasn't a bad thing as I can now look after myself well.

My OH and my son who's now 12.... I think even tho we fight sometimes they are all I have and they are most precious thing in my life I wouldn't hesitate to kill for. I know I've fooked up many times, so did she but looking at all that I think I get on well with people I love, I dont give a damn whether you call them family or whatever.. I have 2 people I love and thats enough for me, couldn't care bout all the aunties, etc. They're no use and only looking for money.

Excuse me, I have a bit of Captain in me :rolleyes: BUt I'm honest at least :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

EGAR wrote: »
    Haven't seen mine in over 15 years. Couldn't care less.

Dont worry you're mother is grand,she says hello by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Families are easy to love but can be hard to like

But I acutally really like mine, as I have matured, which showed me that, in my case anyway, I was only a moody little wanker if I had problems with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Ms. Pingui wrote: »
    I love all my family! Don't think I can remember the last time that everyone was getting along with everyone else though! :(
    I love mine too, they're just not people that I enjoy spending time with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Dont worry you're mother is grand,she says hello by the way.

Haha, if you got her you can keep her. Other than that: Meh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

When I met my wife about 10 years ago, I mentioned that my family were a bit 'all over the place'. Every family is was her response. 10 yrs later - she agrees that I have a fúcked up family.
    Families - the great conundrum - some fight all the time, some don't fight at all - but most will come together for grief or sickness - no explaining family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

"you can pick your friends, but you're stuck with your family". Get on well enough with mine mostly, but they all have their cnutish moments.

Just as an addition to my previous post: if someone hurted my family in any way I wouldn't give up until I blew their head off. Honestly I couldn't care about the Guards, jail, etc. - you ruin my house and family - you are a dead man, dead fukin man in the middle of O'Connell Street if it has to be that way. Nothing would stop me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭blackalicious

wolf moon wrote: »
    Just as an addition to my previous post: if someone hurted my family in any way I wouldn't give up until I blew their head off. Honestly I couldn't care about the Guards, jail, etc. - you ruin my house and family - you are a dead man, dead fukin man in the middle of O'Connell Street if it has to be that way. Nothing would stop me.

easy on the captain there cowboy :)

stop beating around the bush, whats your point? :D

easy on the captain there cowboy :)
    I'm fully relaxed chief :)

/reloads Glock 17 :)

I'm fully relaxed chief :)

/reloads Glock 17 :)
    I'd feckin hate to meet you when you were wound up so!:D Ya big sausage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

do you wear a shell suit?

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I'd feckin hate to meet you when you were wound up so!:D Ya big sausage!
    I'm a lovely guy. Now, lets have more drink yaay! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭p

It's nice that your loyalty to your family is more important than any small matters like right, wrong, legality and consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    So are the rest of you close with your family.
    Is that a question. Ever heard of question marks. They are used to close off questions? Don't you find this painful to read. :p

To answer the question: there's a difference between biological relatives and "family". I have some of the former, but they aren't my friends and ceased to be "family" many years ago. Sharing genes with you does not give someone a right to be a dick or dickette to you. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

bnt wrote: »
    Is that a question. Ever heard of question marks. They are used to close off questions? Don't you find this painful to read.

Really? You need question marks to identify a question? What happens when someone is conversing with you? Do they use sign language to signify that they're asking you a question?

are you saying, or asking.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭ahyeahok

I've just come to the realisation that I dont enjoy the company of most of my family. We're just not compatable as people. I'd do anything for them but **** me they're like aliens. So are the rest of you close with your family.

Ask Richard and Kirsty Finlayson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Tony10

I like my family.i suppose when it comes down to it, i love them.But sometimes they can p*ss me off. Close?depends on what you count as close.I don't tell them all the things i tell some of my friends.Then, i don't share some of the things my family know about with my friends either. But i cant say i love my friends the same way.There is this one girl though that i'd love to f....

*Tony10 will be right back after this toilet break* ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I'm lucky to have a great relationship with them all. Family is very important to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

I believe the old adage blood is thicker than water, my family has went through a lot of **** but I wouldnt exchange them for the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I'm 30 and still get a bit angsty with my parents. :o

Our family aren't particularly close but since my sisters recently had babies it has really brought us closer again which is nice but also serves as a reminder as to why we aren't close.

About an hour in the company of my family is all I can muster before I make my excuses and leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

ah me and the clan get on ok- my dad and stepmam and i get on very well

only really close to one of my family and thats my older sister, we get on brill we are best friends, when mam died its like she gave us a bond as we are very close and no one else in the family has it

the rest we all get on 1 way or another- we all have rows over stupid crap but sure they are my family and i have to love em :)

Ha, good time this thread came up in...
    Family - say Family ma, da, etc... I never had a real family as me da died when I was a kid and mother was not 100% capable of looking after me. I used to be bounced back and forth and been raised on the street among the scum. Sure that wasn't a bad thing as I can now look after myself well.
    My OH and my son who's now 12.... I think even tho we fight sometimes they are all I have and they are most precious thing in my life I wouldn't hesitate to kill for. I know I've fooked up many times, so did she but looking at all that I think I get on well with people I love, I dont give a damn whether you call them family or whatever.. I have 2 people I love and thats enough for me, couldn't care bout all the aunties, etc. They're no use and only looking for money.

Captain morgan aside, I get what your saying, throw your arms around your girl and baby, invest your time and emotions in them not your past. Im sorry you had it hard it can make you or break you, its really up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Um ... I don't know whether or not you're serious there. Is your accent totally flat, no vocal inflections to indicate a question? At least Japanese people put "ka" at the end of questions. The written question mark was invented to show in writing what was already happening in speech.

Of course, some nationalities do take it too far ... :pac:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

I know I've fooked up many times, so did she but looking at all that I think I get on well with people I love, I dont give a damn whether you call them family or whatever.. I have 2 people I love and thats enough for me, couldn't care bout all the aunties, etc. They're no use and only looking for money.

I think we have missed a major point here ....

You have money ????;););)

I know I've fooked up many times, so did she but looking at all that I think I get on well with people I love, I dont give a damn whether you call them family or whatever.. I have 2 people I love and thats enough for me, couldn't care bout all the aunties, etc. They're no use and only looking for money.
    I think we have missed a major point here ....
    You have money ????;););)

Fook off i was just about to ask him out lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

I love my Mam to bits, I'd do anything for her and she'd do anything for me. My Sister can be ok at times, she can be a fussy thing and a neat freak at the best of times but since she had her 2 kids we are closer.

My Dad is another story altogether, he can't talk to anyone he has to yell at them, not a very nice man to have a conversation with.

My Brother is a headwrecker at the best of times, but I think he just enjoys doing it.

But in my own way I do love them all and if anything ever happened I would be devastated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Only recently I've had to come out of my shell and start laying down the law, cos they're all phucking idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Get on well with my dad.

Me and my mam tend to go see things completely opposite to one another, usually leading to unnecessary tension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Yep, love them all. And like them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

Ah they bug me at times but 99% of the time we get on well. I'd be a bit different to the rest of my siblings but we rarely fight and see each other a lot.

I certainly wouldn't have chosen some of my aunts and probably one of my uncles but sure I don't see them too often anyway so it doesn't bother me too much.

Unless it's over something massive, I don't see the point in not getting on with family. Obviously there'll be times you don't get on, but I do think sometimes people can be a bit petty in arguments. Just be civil at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I love my family. Even if we're not getting on well or they are bugging me beyond belief, they are the ones who are always there no matter what and at the end of the day, you only get one family. I wouldn't swap 'em for the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

My mam is the most important person in the world to me. She's not perfect but she's done so much for us and I'm sure any of us would do anything for her.

I love all my sisters but would only consider 2 of them friends, the other 5 I'm really close to but wouldn't really socialise with outside family events.

My brother's a little ****, quick tempered and blind ignorant but his heart's in the right place and I do love him.

My dad's messed up and alienated a lot of his kids but I keep a casual relationship with him and still enjoy having a pint with him once in a while.

Families are very complicated at times but simple fact is you can't change 'em so you just gotta love 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'm a Daddy's girl. The hen is bat-shit crazy, she'd drive the sanest person up the wall. Bro's I get on well with, sister in small doses. We've nothing in common really. Love them all though, and would do anything for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Like and love them all. My sister and I get on like a house on fire.
    My parents have always been there for me when I needed them even when they didn't know how to approach me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

I used to think my family was a bit fecked up but then i got talking to mates about theres and realise I probly have the most normal family, I get along with all my aunties/uncles/cousins (father has 17 brothers and sisters so theres alot) and very well with my immidiate family.

We arent emotional people, we don't hug and do all that yank feeling bull**** but we have the craic and get along well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

My parents never should have had children. They aren't the nurturing kind. We never went hungry or wanted for any necessities. We were got good stuff when the money was available. But we just never felt loved or and real strong bond, especially with our father.
    My mother has 6 siblings and only talks to one. My father has about 9 living siblings (was 13) and speaks to none.
    I don't really speak with my brother cause he's a total headcase at his worst and an oddball at his best.
    My sister though I'm very close with. 7 years younger than me she was always special to me. I felt like a father to her long before I became a father myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I love my father and I love my brother. Rest of them, meh. Don't wish any harm on them but I dont really have anything to do with them.

Would consider my father to be one of my best friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Dont really talk to them that much. I dont not get on with them, we just have no reasons to talk to each other. I do give my respect to my parents for paying for stuff for me when i was young. If i were getting married tomorrow i would invite them just for the sake of it, it wouldnt really mean much to me of they were not there. My sister wouldnt get an invite because i hardly ever talk to her. Nothing against her but she is as close to me as a random bloke on the street. I havnt had a conversation with her in years. I talk to my dad briefly about football or horse racing for a max of 20 seconds a week. My "conversations" with my mother would be nothing but yes and no questions. They are all very cold relationships mainly due to myself.

The strange thing is, we all live together :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,399 ✭✭✭sonic85

love my family - there the only people in the world i can rely on to be honest. my da wrecks my head at times but i get on grand with him. my ma is fantastic really - i can always have a laugh with her. my sister is 13 years younger than myself but much the same as my mother we get on great. my brother is mental really and i dont talk to him that much but we get on ok when we do talk or get together.

id do anything for my family to be honest and i wouldnt change any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

can't relate to my mother any more she comes across as cold and distant, we have about 10 minutes of conversation a week, father got thrown out of the house for drinking constantly, I think that destroyed what was left of our family, I have better conversations with strangers on the street, get on with my brother very well and his family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

From a large family and love them all. We get along great, they've all got a great sense of humour and have massive hearts, but 3 of us live outside the country and don't see each other much...we'll all be home for Chrimbo this year which warms the cockles of my heart thinking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

My parents drive me mad in some ways but since I moved out I find I do get on better with them. They came to visit me one weekend and we had a fantastic time. So yeah I do get on with my family.

I've still got family in South Africa whom I rarely ever see but I'm still incredibly close to. We always make sure we talk at least once a week. Not hugely close to my Dad's side of the family though ironically.

Looking forward to visiting them at Christmas though!