Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Ya prick; I'll kick the shít out of ya" - You will not believe this

• 16-09-2011 3:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12 GaryHuntley

Very long time reader, first time-to-bother-setting-up-an-account-to-post-er

After Hours might get a laugh out of this. I could do with some advice too though.

The too-long-didn't-read-version: an eircom salesman took exception to my 100mb UPC broadband, called me a prick and threatened to "kick the shít out of" me.

So today I got a knock on my door, and a guy proceeded to ask me questions such as the following:

- do you have a telephone line in the house
    - do you have internet and who with

These were all asked without him showing me identification of any kind.

I refused to answer any of his question because why should I answer a random person who knocks on my door. I proceeded to tell him that I "have no idea who you are so I'm prefer not to talk about it".

He then said "okay, I'm from Eircom, just let me tell you a bit about our deal".
    So as not to be rude, I said okay and began to listen. He mentioned that Eircom have a new 8mb broadband and he "has a special deal for me today".

I proceeded to tell him that I have 100mb broadband so 8mb would be no use to me. This was when he got agitated and said in an angry tone "so your with UPC then yeah" with a smirky tone on his voice also.

He knew I was apprehensive (in fairness, random guy I do not know asking me personal questions about my house and services) and said "it's not like I'm asking for your bank account details" to which I replied "well that will probably be the next step won't it".

With this he called me a prick and began to walk down my driveway. Gobsmacked, I too, in fairness, called him a prick and told him not to knock back here again. He then said, and I quote word for word here, "...I'll kick the **** out of ya".

What the **** like?

He proceeded to knock on my neighbour's door (two doors away) and when he came back I asked him for his name/staff number. He point blank refused to give me this information, saying he didn't have to(I don't know the ins and outs; maybe they are not obliged to give this info).

I understand that these guys work for a company called CPM on behalf of Eircom. To Eircom I ask, why the hell are you employing hotheads like this? And I want something done about this.

This guy has a serious attitude problem. This here is a rough area, and there will come a time when he will be unlucky and get cheeky with the wrong person and get the **** kicked out of him. I explained this to him, which appeared to fall on deaf ears.

I rang Eircom, explained everything, and they said "can we just put you on hold please". I was then cut-off!

I look forward to hearing from you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Phone Jim!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Eircom bashing. There's a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

No surprises there.

Eircom are rubbish from their prices to the service itself. I don't see why you'd expect their salespeople to be any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 GaryHuntley

chin_grin wrote: »

Em, don't you think it's warranted in this case? At least read the OP first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

They should put that guy in their ads instead. It'd be far more entertaining and there'd be no more Jim.

Actually just put him kicking the **** out of Jim and that will boost their business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

well, technically its not eircom but the other company who hired him. he IS representing eircom and all that, but i wouldnt level the blame with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭booboo88

Eh hello, report him. Send it a registered letter to head office, its a damn shame you didnt get his name but what a dick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Em, don't you think it's warranted in this case? At least read the OP first.

I did. And to be honest he should've kept his cool and not resorted to calling yer man a pr!ck.

Helix wrote: »
    well, technically its not eircom but the other company who hired him. he IS representing eircom and all that, but i wouldnt level the blame with them

Why not?
    Any employee represents the company they work for. This prick works on behalf of Eircom - same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Post this on eircom forum. Ask them for an explanation and an apology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Phone Jim!

And Joe, don't forget Joe!

Why not?
    Any employee represents the company they work for. This prick works on behalf of Eircom - same thing.

he's representing them and he works for a company on behalf of them. the hiring of him wasnt actually eircom's doing. you can by all means complain to eircom, and that's exactly what i'd be doing, but the only reason you'd do that is so that they come down on the company who actually hired the guy like a ton of bricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Doesn't this guy realize that there's nearly 15% unemployment in Ireland? Jobs are valuable.

Post this on eircom forum. Ask them for an explanation and an apology

Have posted it there - waiting for feedback. Have a feeling I'll be waiting awhile.
    he's representing them and he works for a company on behalf of them. the hiring of him wasnt actually eircom's doing. you can by all means complain to eircom, and that's exactly what i'd be doing, but the only reason you'd do that is so that they come down on the company who actually hired the guy like a ton of bricks

I'm considering sending an email/phone call off to CPM (the company who works on behalf of Eircom).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Peadar_85

I rang Eircom, explained everything, and they said "can we just put you on hold please". I was then cut-off!

Well that's not a first either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Bang goes his commision ...and his job by the sounds of it .

I'm considering sending an email/phone call off to CPM (the company who works on behalf of Eircom).

id try to get eircom to do it first

they'll be a hell of a lot more worried if its direct from eircom and theyre at risk of losing the contract than they will be if its from joe punter with no pull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Ever see the ads for jobs that say "15 VACANCIES, IMMEDIATE START, NO EXPERIENCE REQUIRED!!"? Well this is what they are. Door to door selling for dodge sales companies that aren't far off pyramid schemes. Yes Eircom do hire them to do sales, probably because it's dirt cheap for them. These guys only get paid on commission. It's a ****ty job and the guys and girls who say they like it have an air of being brainwashed about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You said yourself you live in a rough area, maybe he was getting abuse all day

People have breaking points and eventually will snap

And if your comment about what's coming next was said in a sarcastic tone it would have tipped him over the edge

Give him a break, no reason to get the man fired

They are on commission so under pressure

mikemac wrote: »

threatening to kick the shìt out of a customer is very much reason to get fired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

This guy had no ID, no staff number or anything to prove who he was or who he was claiming to work for. He could have been anyone. For that reason alone, I'd be very reticent to start slating a company on a public forum, based only on word of mouth from a nutbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Man thank god I didnt get any of those guys around.

Jess16 wrote: »
    This guy had no ID, no staff number or anything to prove who he was or who he was claiming to work for.

he'll be one of those rogue eircome salesmen then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Dem bastards.

Weren't there problems with Eircom of a similar nature earlier this week?

I believe people have had trouble cancelling their landlines with them and had incurred some additional unexplained charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well don't keep us in suspense. Did you switch to Eircom or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Maybe he was just a local crim looking to case your house ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

You're right, i dont believe it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Maybe he was just a local crim looking to case your house ?

"100meg UPC?? This house offers me NOTHING!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

You are right. I don't believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Reckon he was a scammer OP. Just some scumbag out to get bank details from the public. Lucky he didn't call to this house < insert internet hardman stuff> .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

ah you got a good story out of it, few of us had a bit of a giggle while burning off the last remnants of the week, leave it at that i say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

This here is a rough area, and there will come a time when he will be unlucky and get cheeky with the wrong person and get the **** kicked out of him. I explained this to him, which appeared to fall on deaf ears.
    You ended it by warning him he would get the **** kicked out of him?

From reading it I got the impression you were being a smartass instead of just saying no thanks and closing the door, so he called you a prick. You then returned the insult. He apparently said he'd kick the **** out of you and went to the next door. On his way back, you warned him the same would happen to him.

Pair of ye in it, you could have asked for his ID at any time before calling him a prick back. I've read in a number of places already about people knocking on doors pretending to be selling for eircom or UPC, just to get a look inside at what to nick. If that was the case, then you're shouting down the phone at Eircom for something they had nothing to do with.

Tbh thoguh OP, it sounds like a load of bull.

fedor.2. wrote: »
    You're right, i dont believe it

I don't blame you for not believing it. Because if it was the other way around and I was reading this on boards I sure as hell wouldn't believe it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

mikemac wrote: »
    You said yourself you live in a rough area, maybe he was getting abuse all day

People have breaking points and eventually will snap

And if your comment about what's coming next was said in a sarcastic tone it would have tipped him over the edge

They are on commission so under pressure

B*llocks to giving him a break - cnut should be fired for that behaviour. You don't threaten to beat the s*it out of a customer no matter what they do. (Granted you might fantasize it but thats as far as it goes!)

If I was his manager, I'd f*ck him out on his ear and get in someone who might actually appreciate the chance!

You ended it by warning him he would get the **** kicked out of him?

From reading it I got the impression you were being a smartass instead of just saying no thanks and closing the door, so he called you a prick. You then returned the insult. He apparently said he'd kick the **** out of you and went to the next door. On his way back, you warned him the same would happen to him.

Pair of ye in it, you could have asked for his ID at any time before calling him a prick back. I've read in a number of places already about people knocking on doors pretending to be selling for eircom or UPC, just to get a look inside at what to nick. If that was the case, then you're shouting down the phone at Eircom for something they had nothing to do with.

Tbh thoguh OP, it sounds like a load of bull.

Read my OP again. I never said I would kick the **** out of him - I clearly explained that with an attitude like his it will not be long before a scumbag or person with less self control than me takes him up on his offer of "I'll kick the **** out of ya". No threatening on my behalf at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭paddydriver

^^ Are you Ian's brother? - He wouldn't have taken that crap; he would have "buried" him one:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Sales is a subtle art.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

chin_grin wrote: »

They deserve all the bashing they get, shower of cúnts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

he'll be one of those rogue eircome salesmen then?

I'm not really interested in being pedantic on the internet to be honest. You can call him that, I just think the man sounds like a generic nutbag type. Either way, there's no proof of him having any involvement with Eircom so until then I don't see the point in attacking them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭minotour

...... I got the impression you were being a smartass instead of just saying no thanks and closing the door........

here, if you cant be a smartarse at yer own door to some randomer then what have we left.

I told yer man Shane Ross to piss off as he already had me vote, he wouldo nly spoil it by talking to me, not sure he got it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

Just have to jump in here (a couple of pages too late perhaps) and say that I actually know Jim from the Eircom Ads, he's an absolutely lovely guy and really really sound and has been threatened on the street because of the ads. Just remember he's a real person and he doesn't make up the ads he just reads them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

curlzy wrote: »
    Just have to jump in here (a couple of pages too late perhaps) and say that I actually know Jim from the Eircom Ads, he's an absolutely lovely guy and really really sound and has been threatened on the street because of the ads. Just remember he's a real person and he doesn't make up the ads he just reads them.

You know Jim! You legend you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Does he freeze up when he gets threatened....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Did you sign up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

You mean Jim doesn't really work for eircom at all? What?

Surely that's dishonest.

Why does he keep going on the tv and pretending to work for eircom? Is it to tell funny stories? Is it for money?

If he's telling lies and pretending to work where he doesn't, then maybe threatening him is OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

booboo88 wrote: »
    Eh hello, report him. Send it a registered letter to head office, its a damn shame you didnt get his name but what a dick

With 100M broadband, take a pic and email quicker than licking a stamp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

Classic Eircom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭KevArno

Standman wrote: »
    Ever see the ads for jobs that say "15 VACANCIES, IMMEDIATE START, NO EXPERIENCE REQUIRED!!"? Well this is what they are. Door to door selling for dodge sales companies that aren't far off pyramid schemes. Yes Eircom do hire them to do sales, probably because it's dirt cheap for them. These guys only get paid on commission. It's a ****ty job and the guys and girls who say they like it have an air of being brainwashed about them.

Erm no, you are wrong here. They are contracted sales people, trained to a decent level, and are (or at least not that long ago were) quite well paid. I used to do the same job, and they had decent enough basic and quite good commission. At the time we were even given brand spanking company cars.
    Now that may have changed since I did it, but they are not the type of scam sales jobs you are talking about.

You do get serious **** at the door some times, but thats sales! I would approach some doors and be greeted by middle aged men (always the problem f*ckers) with a smirk on their face, and immediately start acting like pure cnuts! In future if you're not interested in what a sales person is offering just say so and say goodbye. If you waste their time, and act like a smartass then of course people will get an attitude! But still as a salesperson it's your job to keep your cool and not threaten to kick the **** out of someone... this guy is obviously just a hot head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

Is it crazy that I remember a time when eircom were a great company that would provide a reliable service? Thankfully UPC arrived today to switch over, unlike the 5mb(Advertised as 8) I would get if I was lucky and constant disconnections I'm getting 25mb reliably as advertised.

All I'm worried about now is that UPC will create a monopoly, if that happens I predict that we will see the same degeneration of the service provided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

If this happened while it was still state run Telecom Eireann, boards.ie would actually explode.