Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aston Villa v Newcastle, SSIRE, 3.00

• 16-09-2011 10:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭

A game with good irish contingency, I hope clark gets a run out, he's a player that could do well for ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

A win would see us one point off the lead.... At least until Sunday's proceedings. :pac:

Have a feeling we'll stick 5 in midfield as we were seriously over run at QPR.
    Krul

Simpson --- S Taylor --- Colo --- R Taylor

Obertan --- Tiote --- Cabaye --- Smith --- Jonas

Best

Wouldn't be surprised to see Smith start tomorrow. It's a very defense minded midfield though. Tiote and Cabaye will sit in front of the back four and Cabaye will pump balls up to Best who hopefully starts ahead of Ameobi.

We struggled for any sort of creative force against QPR and unfortunately I can't see anything changing. We've got pace in Obertan and Jonas but I've a feeling Jonas will be back helping R Taylor out for the majority as he struggled badly against QPR.

0-0

EDIT: Forgot about Gosling. Get the fook out of there Smith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

This is one of two games this season in which I'm hoping Bent can bang in a few goals. The other is the return fixture :pac:

Ha'way Villa, but I think it has a 0-0 or 1-1 draw written all over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

Hopefully Albrighton and Ireland start in midfield. N'Zogbia on the bench. Warnock to go missing on matchday and replaced with someone who is less of a liability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭wynters

Warnock is doing very well this season I thought! Looks reborn under McLeish. He's the very type of no-nonsense defender that fits McLeish's set-up. Same for Richard Dunne.

10 times the players they were last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

Doodee wrote: »
    Hopefully Albrighton and Ireland start in midfield. N'Zogbia on the bench. Warnock to go missing on matchday and replaced with someone who is less of a liability.

has ireland played this season even as a sub ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

gustafo wrote: »
    has ireland played this season even as a sub ?

He had 10 mins last week against Everton and played nearly a full game in the Carling cup. McLeish seems feeding him back into the team very gradually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

wynters wrote: »
    Warnock is doing very well this season I thought! Looks reborn under McLeish. He's the very type of no-nonsense defender that fits McLeish's set-up. Same for Richard Dunne.

10 times the players they were last year.

Don't agree. The only decent team Villa have played so far this season have been Everton and Villa looked very much second best, Warnock in particular looked iffy. He will be exposed as the liability that he is regularly during the season imo.

Having said that, I think Villa should have just about have enough to get the 3pts here but tbh, as mentioned earlier, this has draw written all over it. Benty in particular needs to find his shooting boots, without the decent wingers we had last season, he's been fairly isolated so far this season.

Hopefully we'll start seeing something from N'zog this game, he can't rely on the excuse's of not being match fit or still settling in forever ffs!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭JPA

VILLA: Given, Hutton, Collins, Dunne, Warnock, Bannan, Petrov, Delph, N'Zogbia, Agbonlahor, Bent.

Newcastle: Krul, Coloccini, Cabaye, Simpson, R Taylor, Gutierrez, Ba, Best, Tiote, Obertan, S Taylor.

JPA wrote: »
    VILLA: Given, Hutton, Collins, Dunne, Warnock, Bannan, Petrov, Delph, N'Zogbia, Agbonlahor, Bent.

Newcastle: Krul, Coloccini, Cabaye, Simpson, R Taylor, Gutierrez, Ba, Best, Tiote, Obertan, S Taylor.

Delighted to see Bannan get a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,173 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Is this on Sky ?

listermint wrote: »
    Is this on Sky ?

nope, setanta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

gabby and bent to score, and villa to win 3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,173 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Neil3030 wrote: »
    nope, setanta

Yep guessed that after the thread title

me = tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

My2p doesn't seem to be working for me,could someone possibly send me the link please?thanks

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,971 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Seannew1 wrote: »
    My2p doesn't seem to be working for me,could someone possibly send me the link please?thanks

myp2p is no more iirc, tis now http://forum.wiziwig.eu/forum.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Seannew1

myp2p is no more iirc, tis now http://forum.wiziwig.eu/forum.php

Cheers mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭bazual

Toon playing well, would worry about Villa on the counter though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Fack.

1-0 villa

gabby

Get in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Gabby!!!!!!

bazual wrote: »
    Toon playing well, would worry about Villa on the counter though

Typical , I spoke too soon, shocking defending

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭Patser

How many months before Gabby rings Rooney for his Hair Transplant Specialists number, do you reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Bent, what a miss

how did bent miss that?!?!

Ah Bent, too casual.

Obertan needs to come off, positional play is absolutely woeful. We are still in it though, just about....

newcastle having a better time of it, but they're missing too many chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Obertan did very well there.

Obertan again, 2 players in the box who are good at heading the ball and he plays it to feet.

He played it to a player that had time and space in the box, what more could you want?

poor choice I thought, when villa were stretched and played it behind ba giving him little change. Obertan improving though since the wingers switched.

and now they have switched back :confused:

villa still playing a dangerous game here

half time pretty even game tbh, just a poor piece of defending the difference.

As usual can't see where the toon goals are gonna come from.

Ye miss the bite Barton gave ye in the midfield.

Big time, and his odd goal or two like the one for QPR today.

Stats give us hope for second half

2 Shots On Target 6
    4 Shots Off Target 5
    5 Fouls (Conceded) 4
    1 Corners 6
    0 Yellow Cards 0
    0 Red Cards 0

gabby's looking a real threat this season

FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

9 goals in 12 starts for Leon Best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭Patser

Jaysus Lads. You had a wake up call from the crossbar shot.

Poor marking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Leon Bessi strikes again!

GET IN. LEON BEST IS MINT!!!!

Newcastle comfortable here apart from the counter, go on lads and get the winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

9 goals in 12 starts for Leon Best
    Leon Best is really underated imo think there were a number of raised eyebrows when Hughton signed him as well delighted for him :)

Another **** performance from Villa.

Have not seen much of villa this season but this looks to be a poor performance cos Newcastle have loads of time on the ball and are not the strongest outfit at the moment.

Ireland and Albrighton on, Petrov and Bannan off.

Positive anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭NufcNavan