Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 days to replace seal

• 15-09-2011 8:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭

As my title suggests my car was leaking oil, so took it to the garage on monday and was told a seal had gone and car wouldn't be ready until friday? Is this really how long it takes, is this the norm? :confused::confused: Fed up of getting bus now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

What seal? They're either very busy, can't get it for a few days, or a useless shower of wasters :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 989 ✭✭✭piperh

Don't know they just said they had to take timing belt off to get to it. They told me at 9am this morning that they had the seal but car wouldn't be ready until friday and no i couldn't take it back because engine was stripped???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

Make, model. engine?

Make volvo, model s40, engine 2.0 petrol, year 2005, transmission manual.

In fairness you took in it Monday, they may have been busy all well, most garages do have bookings and many wouldn't be carrying too much extra staff these days so are rarely slack. Silver lining wise tomorrow is Friday :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Did you take it to a Michael Mouse & Sons Ltd garage or a Volvo main dealer? A 2.0 litre manual S40 would be pretty common, it's not a Veyron.

Very true about tomorrow being friday so hopefully it'll be sorted. I just didn't realise it would be such a big job, not looking forward to the bill now :rolleyes:

I took it to the local garage but to honest that was because i'd seen them working on mercs and bmws and thought well they can't be that bad if people were taking their really expensive cars to them :-/

Bloody car has cost us fortune over last couple of yrs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Did you take it to a Michael Mouse & Sons Ltd garage or a Volvo main dealer? A 2.0 litre manual S40 would be pretty common, it's not a Veyron.

Not in Ireland its not. Newer S40's didn't come in 2 litre petrol here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭stealthyspeeder

The last seal I got replace took about 5 days to arrive in the country and was an afternoon to fit.... Whats the issue here?

Sorry no issue i was just asking if it normally took 5 days as i hadn't realised it would be a big job. Curiousity thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

EPM wrote: »
    Not in Ireland its not. Newer S40's didn't come in 2 litre petrol here...

My bad, thought they came in 1.6, 1.8 and 2 litre and shared the S60 2 litre engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

It depends entirely on their bookings.

If your car was booked in to be diagnosed on Monday morning and a larger repair was found to be needed then it would have to wait until they have a free slot in the bookings to carry out the repair.

Its just sometimes the way it works out unfortunately. If they get your car in early then they delay the rest of the booked in work so that isn't fair either. Its a bit of a balancing act sometimes.

Well i got my car back on Friday as promised, but with the engine light on dash, garage said it was fine and they needed a special tool to get light off as they'd had to take timing belt off so they'd get the tool in and give me a call this week and have the car back for the 5min job. Driving it today it started making a horrid rattling noise and the oil pressure low stop engine immediatly message came on. stopped checked plenty of oil so called AA. Engine making a horrible knocking noise now that wasn't before this message came on. Guy towed car back to garage for them to hopefully have a look at tomorrow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

piperh wrote: »

Well i got my car back on Friday as promised, but with the engine light on dash, garage said it was fine and they needed a special tool to get light off as they'd had to take timing belt off so they'd get the tool in and give me a call this week and have the car back for the 5min job. Driving it today it started making a horrid rattling noise and the oil pressure low stop engine immediatly message came on. stopped checked plenty of oil so called AA. Engine making a horrible knocking noise now that wasn't before this message came on. Guy towed car back to garage for them to hopefully have a look at tomorrow :(

No good, probably they didnt do timing properly, or after repairs didnt top up oil, which might fecked engine. wondering where exactly oil leak was. camshaft seals ? crankshaft seal ? i am not really familiar with volvo engines, but usually for such repair battery fully need to be disconnected(ecu no need to know that some sensors have been disconnected) . best of luck now .... lovely cars are those volvo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Driving it today it started making a horrid rattling noise and the oil pressure low stop engine immediatly message came on. stopped checked plenty of oil so called AA. Engine making a horrible knocking noise now that wasn't before this message came on. Guy towed car back to garage for them to hopefully have a look at tomorrow :(
    I thought the garage was supposed to put the engine back together when they were finished.:eek:
    Sounds like they didnt put the timing back right. You could have done a serious amount of damage. I would be on there case from 9am in the morning. If you are getting fobbed off I would find yourself a solicitor by midday. If they timing was out and you drove it AFTER the garage gave you the car back in supposedly good condition then you could be looking at new engine/engine rebuild. Not cheap

So do you reckon i should looking at the garage to be putting this right :confused: bit useless when it comes to cars and tend to take garages at their word, so never thought it could possibly be their fault :o

More likely their fault. Cars not breaking so quick like yours , unless you were abusing and joyriding your car.

Mar4ix wrote: »
    More likely their fault. Cars not breaking so quick like yours , unless you were abusing and joyriding your car.

Er hardly, car only serviced and passed nct last month, serviced as regular as clockwork, sad to say it but its a lovely car with a big engine wasted on me, Was doing 80km with my pup in back down a by pass. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Well if it wasnt making noise before they got it, and it is now, then yes they are at fault.

by the way, how do you know you had low oil pressure, have you a gauge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

jimmyw wrote: »
    Well if it wasnt making noise before they got it, and it is now, then yes they are at fault.

by the way, how do you know you had low oil pressure, have you a gauge?

im guessing thats what they are going on

sean1141 wrote: »
    im guessing thats what they are going on

Thanks Sean, yes theres a message system on the dash that tells me allsorts even if the boot is open. If its engine wise it tells you whats wrong and to stop engine immediatly if its serious. Only ever had it tell me once before to stop engine and that was when the water coolant was low. I know to check water coolant more regulary now when i've had the a/c on.

If they had to remove the timing belt to replace the seal, then it was obviously the crankshaft oil seal, which is fitted into the oil pump housing normally so if you now have low oil pressure and a very noisy engine it sounds like they've made a balls of re-assembling something...and by the sounds of your description, major engine damage has already been caused.

I went and saw the garage and they were great, asked what had happened and when i told them said they'd put it right asap. Gave me a courtesy car while they repair mine, so fingers crossed it'll turn out ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

If they had to remove the timing belt to replace the seal, then it was obviously the crankshaft oil seal, which is fitted into the oil pump housing normally so if you now have low oil pressure and a very noisy engine it sounds like they've made a balls of re-assembling something...and by the sounds of your description, major engine damage has already been caused.
    I went and saw the garage and they were great, asked what had happened and when i told them said they'd put it right asap. Gave me a courtesy car while they repair mine, so fingers crossed it'll turn out ok.

Hope this works out ok but you will possibly have a struggle on your hands depending on what kind of business they are running.
    It sounds like your engine might be scrap now so there is a fair chance that they will try to say that this is just a coincidence and had nothing at all to do with them.

Oh hope not :( They have been pretty good the past few yrs and i went into them yesterday morning and called them today to ask a question about something else and he said they'd looked at the car and it'd take a few days but no mention of it not being their fault/responsibilty and surely if they were going to try that one they'd do it before they started work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

How much did they charge you for the original work OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

mickdw wrote: »
    Hope this works out ok but you will possibly have a struggle on your hands depending on what kind of business they are running.
    It sounds like your engine might be scrap now so there is a fair chance that they will try to say that this is just a coincidence and had nothing at all to do with them.

Ah they seem to have reacted in the right way, if the garage I worked for made a balls of something we'd bend over backwards to put it right with as little inconvenience to the customer as possible. At the end of the day the mechanic is only human.

My attitude is, it's not the mistake it's how you react to them

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    How much did they charge you for the original work OP?

Believe it or not i haven't paid them yet as my hubbys car is due into them tomorrow for a service and when i went to pay on friday the bill wasn't ready so they said they'd sort it out on wednesday at the same time as his and we'd just pay the 2 bills together.

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Ah they seem to have reacted in the right way, if the garage I worked for made a balls of something we'd bend over backwards to put it right with as little inconvenience to the customer as possible. At the end of the day the mechanic is only human.

My attitude is, it's not the mistake it's how you react to them

I agree, there was no point in me going in there shouting and screaming they've always been good to us and it wasn't done on purpose. They didn't wait for me to say it was their fault but straight away they said they were sorry and they'd put it right and i really can't ask for any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I agree, there was no point in me going in there shouting and screaming they've always been good to us and it wasn't done on purpose. They didn't wait for me to say it was their fault but straight away they said they were sorry and they'd put it right and i really can't ask for any more.

Fair play. It's great to have customers that are understanding, although I'm sure you'd rather it didn't happen but hopefully it'll be sorted asap

Quick update, Garage have said its the crankshaft:confused::confused: And thats what caused the low oil pressure, and it was just unlucky that they'd done work on it and it was nothing to do with what they've done BUT they will still repair/replace car.

This smells IMO. It was surely a result of their work.
    What if they now repair it as cheaply as possibly taking short cuts and it goes to pot in 2 months time, will you have a leg to stand on?

Yeah so they made a balls of the oil pump when changing the seal!

1, A crankshaft doesn' just fail, they only get damaged by other parts failing such as the oil pump, big end/main bearings etc etc. The crank shaft also cannot fail in any way whatsoever that would cause the oil pressure to drop but still alow the engine to run correctly.

2, A replacement crank is likely to cost 1500-2k+ just to buy so there is no way they would be sorting this out for you if they hadn't caused the problem.

On the plus side, it sounds like the are sorting it without arguement but try to get a detailed explaination/description of what has failed and what is getting replaced.

OP, do you know what is crankshaft ? and what it does ? i wouldnt take so easy after such news.

Yeah so they made a balls of the oil pump when changing the seal!

1, A crankshaft doesn' just fail, they only get damaged by other parts failing such as the oil pump, big end/main bearings etc etc. The crank shaft also cannot fail in any way whatsoever that would cause the oil pressure to drop but still alow the engine to run correctly.

2, A replacement crank is likely to cost 1500-2k+ just to buy so there is no way they would be sorting this out for you if they hadn't caused the problem.

On the plus side, it sounds like the are sorting it without arguement but try to get a detailed explaination/description of what has failed and what is getting replaced.

Yes i'll try later.
    Mar4ix wrote: »
    OP, do you know what is crankshaft ? and what it does ? i wouldnt take so easy after such news.

No no idea what the crank is or what it does :o The garage tried to explain it and said that when that goes it doesn't pump oil around the engine properly :confused: He offered to put €1,500 towards another car if we didn't want him to repair it.

I know i sound very stupid but i've always just taken cars into garages for any work.

1500 off a car on his own forecourt? or 1500 cash

How old is your car OP?

mickdw wrote: »
    1500 off a car on his own forecourt? or 1500 cash

How old is your car OP?

Oh i don't know i assume off his forecourt, :o. My car is 6yrs old.

@ op
    The garage ,due to whatever reasons, have killed or seriously maimed your car.
    They should replace the car with a similar one or replace the engine with a guarenteed engine.
    If they dont then get yourself a solicitor.

Yes i'll try later.

No no idea what the crank is or what it does :o The garage tried to explain it and said that when that goes it doesn't pump oil around the engine properly :confused: He offered to put €1,500 towards another car if we didn't want him to repair it.

I know i sound very stupid but i've always just taken cars into garages for any work.

The crank is not directly responsable for pumping oil, the crank is the main rotatin part of the engine. the pistons, rods etc are attached to it. It is also the strongest part in an engine.

Unfortunatly I think they are using your lack of knowalage and trust of them to their advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Click here for an animation of the crankshaft:
    http://ie.vehiclevisuals.com/common-parts.php?mailsent=1&mailsent_id=101&id=53&lang=en

-Chris- wrote: »

Thank you, it helps being able to visualise it working.

Just an update we've still not got the car back 2 months later. :mad::mad: They've tried selling us another and we'd have to make up the difference between ours and the other. We do have a loaner off them but as its a 2.5 its very very expensive to run and we're getting fed up waiting for our back now.

There is no stretch of any imagination where by that is acceptable.

Solicitors letter IMO...

The post below about the seal is mine. The garage had my car to fix oil leak and after giving it back with timing belt not right the engine was wrecked. The garage have had my car over 2mnths now and are telling me its still not right and it'll be another 2 wks or so. Getting very peed off now :mad::mad:

Just wanted to rant sorry.

From the original thread posted by me!

'Sounds like they didnt put the timing back right. You could have done a serious amount of damage. I would be on there case from 9am in the morning. If you are getting fobbed off I would find yourself a solicitor by midday. If they timing was out and you drove it AFTER the garage gave you the car back in supposedly good condition then you could be looking at new engine/engine rebuild. Not cheap'

Do yourself a favour and get a solicitor and explain the situation.

They are messing you about. right from when they told you it was only coincidence that the fault occured. Solicitor required without doubt.

Well i got my car back on saturday, he dropped it off and reminded me i still owed him for the oil leak repair it first went in for, told him my oh would be dealing with it. The car seems to be running ok so fingers crossed its all sorted. 11wks in total to get it sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Well i got my car back on saturday, he dropped it off and reminded me i still owed him for the oil leak repair it first went in for, told him my oh would be dealing with it. The car seems to be running ok so fingers crossed its all sorted. 11wks in total to get it sorted.

Good to hear its back with you. Hope its a lasting repair.