Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The quality of After Hours has declined horribly.

• 14-09-2011 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

All it is now is pathetic thanks whoring. Almost every post is a cry for love.

-Inb4 ironic thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

yeah it seems that way a bit alright. but i don't remember when it wasn't like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

how right you are

well said

if only more people like you would speak out, After Hours would be a much better place and the world would be one giant advert for tampons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

This Post is a CrY For THAnks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Dont threads like this further diminish the forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Let's not forget the dole threads:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Please love me pleeeeaaaasssseeee i cry:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

If you dont thank this ima hurt myself :pac:

Don't do it...we all love ya really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

I have something witty, insightful, helpful, possibly even life changing to say about this, but now I daren't lest I be thought of as a thanks whore, which is of course the worst posible kind of human being and not at all an insult which suggests a skewed perspective on the importance of both boards and thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Ever heard of feedback? It's for "Feedback"

You should try it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Yor ma loves a good post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

BLAST IT WITH PISS

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

We were better craic with cheap credit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

-Inb4 ironic thanks.

I know what you mean.
    With every thread you see the first few posts making a joke (such feckin thanks whores) But even then, most posts in a thread are whore posts too aswell.

Thank this post or the puppy dies

dont make me do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

-Inb4 ironic thanks.

If that's how you feel why post here ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Oh i forgot people were forced at gunpoint to read AH....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

If you thank this post I'll get the girlies out :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Oh i forgot people were forced at gunpoint to read AH....

*looks at your avatar* :eek: ow fk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

:eek::eek:

What age are they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

If I had a euro for every time I read a thread about the decline of AH in AH I still wouldn't have enough money to be a boards subscriber.

If you think the forum has gone donwhill then do something to change it, don't sit on the sidelines moaning. Either that or post someplace else and see if that place continues to meet your expectations after the novelty's worn off...

I'm just thanking you for the lads sake :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

hondasam wrote: »
    If that's how you feel why post here ?

Because it's fun but we all know there are certain posters that really can't help themselves.

OP, simple solution, just block them. I have. Muuuuch better :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

I remember when this was all fields etc. etc.

you had to go and ruin it didnt you

with your sensible view and your eloquent suggestion

all nice and fecking reasonable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭gargleblaster

I love how you get these types of posts on just about every forum. The ubiquitous lament for the olden days of the forum. lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

whatsamsn wrote: »
    I know what you mean.
    With every thread you see the first few posts making a joke (such feckin thanks whores) But even then, most posts in a thread are whore posts too aswell.

Yes, clearly if people stop saying funny, helpful or interesting things, just in case they might be thanked, that will improve things no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Is it just me or did it used to be sexier?

I remember flirting all the time and getting in trouble for it. But no opportunities have presented themselves lately :(

hondasam wrote: »
    What age are they?

I'd ask em but I cant bend down that low ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Is it just me or did it used to be sexier?

I remember flirting all the time and getting in trouble for it. But no opportunities have presented themselves lately :(

probably cause people are getting told off for doing it.
    I'd ask em but I cant bend down that low ;)

euuuwwwww

tan11ie wrote: »
    I'm just thanking you for the lads sake :D

And on behalf of the lads I'm thanking you for thanking me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Bet you 50 euro this thread gets closed.

You cant really say anything negitive about a forum, mods, the state of things on boards etc without it getting closed.

Instead of "boards.ie - now ye're talkin" - should be "boards.ie - careful what ye talk about" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Yahew

AH has been in decline from it's very first thread, which was titled, as I recall:

AH is crap these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

whatsamsn wrote: »
    Bet you 50 euro this thread gets closed.

You cant really say anything negitive about a forum, mods, the state of things on boards etc without it getting closed.

Instead of "boards.ie - now ye're talkin" - should be "boards.ie - careful what ye talk about" ;)

So c'mon mods...which one is going get in first :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Almost every post is a cry for love./QUOTE]

Someone hug me!! :(

WOMEN ONLY :mad:

In fairness, After Hours got more boring when the activist/political/anti-whatever trolling bores serious threads were started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

They haven't gone away you know;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Aye,tis shocking alright Joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

That time of the week again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

-Inb4 ironic thanks.

It has always been the same sort of vibe in AH since I've been posting here (2005 the little reg date tells me) so I'm not sure how I missed this golden period of enlightenment which occurred sometime between Aug 2010 and now.

If you feel the forum is lacking an intellectual vigour or the kind of hard hitting topical debate of Newsnight or Q&A then start a thread that will show us the error of our ways. Make an insightful 'non-cry for love' post. Do anything accept saddle up your high horse and fucking whinge pathetically. If you would be so kind...

No one's forcing you to read the forum.

=========

Or alternatively, nice trolling my good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

strobe wrote: »
    It has always been the same sort of vibe in AH since I've been posting here (2005 the little reg date tells me) so I'm not sure how I missed this golden period of enlightenment which occurred sometime between Aug 2010 and now.

If you feel the forum is lacking an intellectual vigour or the kind of hard hitting topical debate of Newsnight or Q&A then start a thread that will show us the error of our ways. Make an insightful 'non-cry for love' post. Do anything accept saddle up your high horse and fucking whinge pathetically. If you would be so kind...

No one's forcing you to read the forum.

=========

Or alternatively, nice trolling my good man.

I like your sig, it made me laugh. Best thing in AH in ages,

A hamster, heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

It's declined a bit more now you've started this thread OP. And ye can shove your love up your hole, and use your thanks as a lube. Is that enough not-cry-for-love-ish?? The variety of threads is huge, some repeat, but a lot are funny and original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

After hours is great, stfu op.

Thread needs a poll op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Hello,

I am a Nigerian Prince, and I have many many thankses which I want to give to all of you.

Unfortunately, due to my country's strict thank tax laws I am unable to access these thankses until I pay a fee of thankses in order to gain access to them.

Please give me thankses for this post, and I will then share all of my many thankses with all of you.

God Bless You, and thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I honestly think AH was seen a turn for the better lately.

Oh, and it was always a place with attempted thanks whoring.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

After hours fucking rocks tits.

And it doesn't fucking like you much either OP.

Hello,

I am a Nigerian Prince, and I have many many thankses which I want to give to all of you.

Unfortunately, due to my country's strict thank tax laws I am unable to access these thankses until I pay a fee of thankses in order to gain access to them.

Please give me thankses for this post, and I will then share all of my many thankses with all of you.

God Bless You, and thanks.

I really, really want to thank that, but I don't want my boards.ie forums to be replaced with pages on pages of MAKE UR PENIS BIGGER! posts....

Maybe its time to get around the negotiation table

The "After Hours has Declined Party" on one side and the "After Hours is Grand, Thanks Whores Alliance" on the other and settle this once and for and all with a game of Ker-plunk