Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chelsea -V- Bayer Leverkusen [7:45PM - SS2]

• 13-09-2011 2:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭

Originally from Goal.com[/SIZE][/B]

IMG]http://u.goal.com/109100/109192.jpg[/IMG] V 77832.jpg[/SIZE][/B]

Chelsea (4-3-3): Cech; Bosingwa, Terry, Ivanovic, Cole; McEachran, Lampard, Meireles; Mata, Anelka, Sturridge

Andre Villas-Boas made the controversial decision to drop Fernando Torres for Chelsea’s victory over Sunderland, with Daniel Sturridge and Nicolas Anelka stepping into the side, with the Englishman impressing.

The Portuguese boss could field the same side that won 2-1 at the Stadium of Light on Saturday.

Leverkusen (4-2-3-1): Leno; Castro, Reinartz, Toprak, Kadlec; Bender, Rolfes; Sam, Renato Augusto, Schurrle; Kiessling <H2>77832.jpg

Predicting the Bayer Leverkusen lineup may be somewhat more difficult given that manager Robin Dutt’s reign at the club is still in its infancy but much of his back four and midfield have been ever presents this campaign.

The coach has yet to declare whether he will use Michael Ballack in his starting line-up, but after being rested on the week-end, Andre Schurrle is expected to return to the first team.

AVB has come out and said there will be changes from the team that played Sunderland so the above team may or may not be the same that lines out.
    Should be a tight game with Chelsea winning 2-0 for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Well ive managed to f**k up this thread already. :mad: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Surely Ballack will start? Huge experience in the CL, not to mention with Chelsea also.

THFC wrote: »
    Surely Ballack will start? Huge experience in the CL, not to mention with Chelsea also.

He only played 60 minutes the other day for Bayer so I'd expect him to start. It woudl be ebtter for us if he does IMO, when he left us, I have seen milk turn quicker, so our midfield should bypass him if we play quick, still have some love for him though and he'll get a good reception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

gavredking wrote: »
    Well ive managed to f**k up this thread already. :mad: :pac:

Made my day.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Made my day.

Glad I could help. :D

It really was down hill from the moment I tried to set up the match thread, realsied I was into deep and panicked and posted anyway thinking " sure it wil be grand "

Boy was I wrong. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

gavredking wrote: »
    Glad I could help. :D

It really was down hill from the moment I tried to set up the match thread, realsied I was into deep and panicked and posted anyway thinking " sure it wil be grand "

Boy was I wrong. :(

I think you got too excited thinking that Luiz could be starting!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Chelsea-Football-Club+5.jpg

V

bayer-leverkusen-is-a-german-football-team-based-in-the-city-of--395x300px.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

^^^

That Chelsea badge is quite cool I must say.

Anyway, I expect Chelsea to win tonight. Torres to score tonight I think.

Blatter wrote: »
    ^^^

That Chelsea badge is quite cool I must say.

Anyway, I expect Chelsea to win tonight. Torres to score tonight I think.

We should win considering we've a very good record at home. Hope for a goof performance ahead of our OT trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Sturridge, Torres and Mata starting. Delighted.

Cech
    Bosingwa
    Luiz
    Ivanovic
    Cole
    Mikel
    Meireles
    Malouda
    Sturridge
    Torres
    Mata

Cech captain, Terry not in squad.

Subs, Hilario, Lampard, Ferriera, McEachran, Kalou, Alex, Anelka.

Johner wrote: »
    Cech
    Bosingwa
    Luiz
    Ivanovic
    Cole
    Mikel
    Meireles
    Malouda
    Sturridge
    Torres
    Mata

Luiz :eek: :pac:

would have loved to see macechran in for malouda or mikel.

Leverkusen : Leno, Reinartz, Rolfes, Bender, Schuerrle, Kiessling, Ballack, Sam, Toprak, Kadlec, Castro

big_snigger.gif

Leverkusen : Leno, Reinartz, Rolfes, Bender, Schuerrle, Kiessling, Ballack, Sam, Toprak, Kadlec, Castro

big_snigger.gif

In keeping with the sillyness of the thread ha :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Interesting Chelsea line up, looking forward to seeing how it fares out!:)

Panthro wrote: »
    Interesting Chelsea line up, looking forward to seeing how it fares out!:)

Im more interested in Charloette Jackson at the moment. :eek:

Cech
    Bosingwa
    Luiz
    Ivanovic
    Cole
    Mikel
    Meireles
    Malouda
    Sturridge
    Torres
    Mata

No Terry? Thats a big call. At least Torres gets to play with some fast players! No Lamps either

Hopefully we wont need Lamps and JT. The team is full of internationals and should see off Bayer no problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

If Terry's not in the squad he's being rested or has a slight knock me thinks.

Lukker- wrote: »
    If Terry's not in the squad he's being rested or has a slight knock me thinks.

Rested is my guess. We have luiz no need for jt at all. :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

Not often you see A Chelsea starting eleven without Drogba, Lampard or Terry.

Looking forward to seeing how the front 3 get on

Terry is being rested, was talk of it earlier.

thebison wrote: »

Going to be more and more likely in the next season or so unfortunatly.

Still, time goes on the squad is well able to handle those 3 out.

thebison wrote: »

A glimpse of the future - today! :eek:

iainmacintosh Iain Macintosh
    Leverkusen have a 19 year old in goal tonight. Bernd Leno, in on loan from Stuttgart with just four BL apps to his name. Parp!

SHOOT

Leverkusen have a 19 year old in goal tonight. Bernd Leno, in on loan from Stuttgart with just four BL apps to his name. Parp!

SHOOT

No wonder Torres is playing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

SHOOT

Saw him playing against Dortmund a while back and he was absolutely class. Hopefully it was just one good game.

Haha - gotta love the Luiz, walking out and pointing his arms out, fingers pointing up looking like he's lovin it!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,148 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Dont know why there goal was disallowed , but Raul was deffo interfering with play even if he didnt touch it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Detour

Hey Guys - has anyone got a link to an online stream?

Great finish from nando all the same , Raul M didnt get the touch , Great start from Torres in the mix for everything

Torres tried back heel - thinking anything Dasnny can do!

At least he looks lively!

Jessssssssus he cant buy a goal at the moment!

Good link up play with mata

Torres tried back heel - thinking anything Dasnny can do!

At least he looks lively!

Jessssssssus he cant buy a goal at the moment!

Really like what I see from him at the moment .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

The one wearing the Chelsea jacket is unreal :O

Is she one of their medics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,978 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Feck, thought Torres was in

Really wish I was there - stupid recession!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Detour

Keno 92 wrote: »
    The one wearing the Chelsea jacket is unreal :O

Is she one of their medics?

Think she's the assistant physio.

Danny never afraid to have a go ,

She is the team physio

Its great that we have a player in Mata that can beat the first man in a set piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Anyone know of a stream for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Will Torres get the full 90 if he doesn't score?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

Really hope Josh (or anybody) comes on for Malouda. He looks so slow and dead compared to Mata, Danny, Ashley and Raul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Masked Man wrote: »
    Really hope Josh (or anybody) comes on for Malouda. He looks so slow and dead compared to Mata, Danny, Ashley and Raul.
    Lampard i reckon will go on for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

Our bench looks hilarious.Like a bench of Stewards.Mata and sturridge looking beast :).+ Raul at times.Need a drogba on with the amount of crosses were getting in.Typical the one match we actually have width and no one to head the ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

amiable wrote: »
    Will Torres get the full 90 if he doesn't score?

My sources say yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

It's a bit unreal to say this, but Torres on the ball eerily reminds me of Shevchenko's time at Chelsea.

I do think he'll score tonight though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Jesus I thought thought Torres's speculative effort was in after the first 2 mins linking up well but touch at times poor.

My sources lead me to believe that he will be subbed between the 65th-75th minute if he does not bang one in.

I think if all else fails he should start hitting up a bit of strange on the sly ,

Has worked for :

Giggs , Rooney , JT , Lamps , Cole, Crouch ,the list is bloody endless !!!

That Physio would even do the job and this stage .

Bit o strange giving his ball a rubdown and he will be bursting the back of that net in no time ;)

Stupid challenge by Luiz , looks to have injured himself