Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LAPUA - Batch Testing in Ireland

• 13-09-2011 2:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭

Good News!!

I have just got confirmation that Lapua will be coming to Ireland to batch test .22 ammo in the same manner as it is done at the factory.

This will take place over three days in 2012, and the dates are going to be 23rd - 25th March. There will be limited places, so if you are interested book early!!

The venue has yet to be confirmed, but it will be in N.Ireland. The cost will be £45.00/€55.00 per barrel, and the ammo will be as per our current price list. Bookings will only be confirmed on receipt of the testing fee.

Any queries, just get in touch!

sam@intershoot.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭demonloop

And I'm sure anyone travelling up from Eire will be able to get a sponsor north of the border without too much trouble ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Shame that Lapua don't do pellets :(
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

Sam could I get an indication of what ammo is available and prices please. Also is it worth while since I'm only allowed 1000 rounds at a time???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Sam could I get an indication of what ammo is available and prices please. Also is it worth while since I'm only allowed 1000 rounds at a time???
    You're only allowed possess 1000 rounds at a time.
    Since ownership and possession are completely different things under the law, you could buy a million rounds of ammunition in one go, and so long as you never possessed more than a thousand at any one time, you'd be fully in compliance with the law.

So, for a real example, my licence for air pistol pellets (I know, I know, stop laughing down the back) is for 1000 pellets. I bought 5,000 pellets (aka 1 sleeve) from my local friendly RFD, and took 1,000 away with me, leaving 4,000 with my name on them in the lock-up, and when I finish a tin of 500, I go grab a new tin. It's handy since my RFD and my range are in the same place, granted, but if you really wanted batch-tested ammo, and your licenced ammo limit is playing silly buggers, that's one way to overcome the problem while you try to sort out the ammo limit with your firearms officer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭intershoot

Spark's outline of what is involved is spot-on!

We are only allowed 1000 of each calibre in the North, so most competition shooters do the same thing. A batch is bought and paid for, and then drawn out of as needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭FLOYDSTER

I'm deffo in!, great opportunity to get things sorted for next years season!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭fish slapped

and an idea of prices??

Price list attached!

OK folks, a little teaser to whet the appetite...

Can't say too much at this stage until all the details are ironed out but a little bird (!) has told me that there may be an opportunity at this testing session to do something that has never been offered outside Germany as far as I'm aware.

Even in Germany it's something only the top, top shooters have had the opportunity to do.

If Carlsberg did batch testing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

I'm in, have contacted Sam. Should be good! Now for the training to make it worthwhile part.

demonloop wrote: »
    OK folks, a little teaser to whet the appetite...

Can't say too much at this stage until all the details are ironed out but a little bird (!) has told me that there may be an opportunity at this testing session to do something that has never been offered outside Germany as far as I'm aware.

Even in Germany it's something only the top, top shooters have had the opportunity to do.

If Carlsberg did batch testing.....

The Germans are more open minded right enough!!:eek:, but its quite normal for westies!!:D

OK.....on a more serious note....this is starting to fill up now folks, so if anyone else is interested you need to let me know asap as you could end up dissapointed!!!

Both lanes are now completely full on Friday.

Some places left on the Saturday and Sunday!!

Anymore for anymore??:D

Pretty well booked up at this stage, and all sorted.

The testing is taking place at Dungannon Rifle & Pistol Club's outdoor ranges. The testing will be carried out from two concrete rigs as in Eley/Lapua, and will be on Meyton electronic measuring frames - this is what Lapua use in the factory! The two lanes will be completely covered/enclosed to ensure we get a good test session.

Hopefully we will be able to test with the full range of Lapua ammo, and maybe even some training ammo too ;)

With 32 firing points we can shoot from the shoulder, just to make sure you are happy with the ammo, or just a spot of training while yer at it! If you want to make a weekend of it you can get in touch for info on accommodation - we might even be able to have a coach present if there is interest! :)

intershoot wrote: »
    we might even be able to have a coach present if there is interest! :)

coach.jpg

Or

coach-yelling.jpg

Well you couldn't drive one, and you would probably huff and go home with the other, so either one wouldn't do you much good! :D

Anyway........her indoors probably won't let you go, ffs when's the last time you went anywhere? :p

Lets hope it doesnt snow so he can drive himself to the range!!:D

Final details are in place - this is a superb opportunity for any club shooter already buying this ammo of the shelf!!

That's great Sam. No minimum purchase might save my ass, funds depending. Is there a current pricelist online somewhere? Putting funds aside for this and IoM at the same time.

just added to the last post Dave! ;)

Cheers Sam! Makes my life a good bit easier now.

to be honest you'd be mad not to take 5k if you get a good batch, but it makes it easier for juniors especially.

Yeah, I plan to get at least that but if things are tight at the time with the Isle of Man coming up and all, it's good to know there are options.

Great news!!, and what an opportunity to get ammo that suits your rifle for the season ahead!!

Bump for this weekend!!, should be great craic!!:D:D

Definitely. Just hoping you clowns haven't nabbed all the good stuff by sunday now!

Muhahahahahahahha!!!:D:D

Turns out there was something good left for me! :D I took along a control batch of my own to use as a baseline, and I was frankly quite shocked at how poorly it performed, since I had shot some reasonably decent scores with it. It had a group size of 18.4mm at 50m, which is nowhere near competitive. It was also quite irregularly formed, with distinct flier shots.

Picture0003.jpg

We then got down to testing the stuff Lapua had brought with them and things weren't great to start out with. Heiko put it down to the tube I'm using. (He reckons a longish, narrow extension vibrates a lot more and is trickier to test ammo for). After we'd tested all the Centre-X there were a couple of batches around 15mm average and 16.5mm extreme diameters, which wasn't exactly what I was looking for either. The guys reckon anything around 15mm will allow you to shoot over 590+ without holding you back unduly, but we moved along anyway. Once we got into the Midas+, the difference was immediately apparent. There was much less stringing of shots and the groups tended to be much more regularly formed, and on the whole, smaller. Ultimately it came down to two batches to choose from. One group averaged 13.04mm, comprised of a 12.34mm and a 13.74mm group, while the other averaged 12.86mm, comprised of an 11.84mm and a 13.88mm group. However, the last group would have come in around 9mm were it not for one shot which didn't form quite so regularly. On the advice of the guys, I took the more regular group. It's the one with the cross next to it, while the other one is also highlighted.

Picture0004.jpg

I'm delighted with that. That shaves over 5mm off my control batch, which I found out wasn't remotely competitive. Frankly it would have been worth it just to find that out, but I got a really cracking batch of ammo as well, so I'm very pleased. For anyone who's at all interested in competing seriously, or even just not wasting their money on off the shelf ammo, you need to be doing this. In the Centre-X I tested, I had group sizes ranging from 13.2mm to 23.62mm, and there were more close to the higher than the lower. Frankly, except for the cheapest plinking stuff, I won't buy untested again. It's a total waste of money, as a batch I'd thought was decent (Shot all my personal bests with it) tested crap, and the batch I got, after one quick session from the shoulder, showed so, so much more potential. Definitely something I'd recommend to everyone.

Good result Dave!

Nice to see so many lads making the effort to try the testing this weekend, and hopefully it will be something we make better use of in the future. The testing conditions were damned close to factory standard, so I think we should have some excellent results.

I was delighted with the weekend, and the two lads from Lapua were superb.

I think we should make this a regular event ;)

Good result Dave!

Nice to see so many lads making the effort to try the testing this weekend, and hopefully it will be something we make better use of in the future. The testing conditions were damned close to factory standard, so I think we should have some excellent results.

I was delighted with the weekend, and the two lads from Lapua were superb.

I think we should make this a regular event ;)

I'd definitely be up for that anyway Sam. Wouldn't miss an opportunity to find new stuff now. Glad it was worth your while and hope the two lads had a good last night. They've had a long weekend but they worked brilliantly.

Nice write up Dave!!, and a great weekend it was!!:D, big thanks to Sam@ Intershoot for organising the visit from Lapua !!, and to Ryan for taking the money!! lol:D

Great weekend, and good to see the hard work done by Sam in the last few months paying off for the shooters.

As Dave has illustrated very well, buying ammo off the shelf is a lotto. Plain and simple.

No matter what standard you shoot at, everyone wants a few extra points per card. This is an absolute no brainer to guarantee that. You're buying the ammo anyway, so why not buy ammo to give you the best possible results. It's the same price, albeit for a small test fee, that's negligible over a few thousand rounds, and non existent if you buy 5000 rounds and get the 5% discount.

It was a tremendous coup to get Lapua here in the first place, and I think it shows a great commitment by them to us Irish shooters, and a willingness to work with us to progress our shooting.

Not everyone can afford to fly to the factory to test, and this was a golden opportunity to get the next best thing, as confirmed by the Lapua team when they saw the efforts (and expense) Sam had went to.

Hopefully this will be a regular event, and grow in size.

A special thanks to everyone who made the trip from "the south" as it's a fair drive, but I trust it was worth it.

Ryan (Intershoot)

demonloop wrote: »
    I trust it was worth it.

You could say that, aye! :D