Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stanley Erin stove or similar

• 11-09-2011 12:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭

Hi Im installing a stove and I see that the Stanley Erin Multi fuel stove is kinda pricey. The size is ideal for the room and im wondering if anyone has had the same experience and has found a similar stove which is way cheaper. Enamel or matt .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Have a look at Olymberyl and Mulberry stoves, they are cheaper than the Stanley but much the same specs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Stove Fan

francie82 wrote: »
    Hi Im installing a stove and I see that the Stanley Erin Multi fuel stove is kinda pricey. The size is ideal for the room and im wondering if anyone has had the same experience and has found a similar stove which is way cheaper. Enamel or matt .

Hi whats your budget:)?

Stove Fan:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭francie82

was hoping to spend a bit over the grand. if you have any links/ recommendations thanks in advance.....

Are you looking for a boiler or non boiler stove? If non boiler are you sure you need a15kw output stove?

Are you fitting it into a fireplace? If so what is the width and height?

Stove Fan wrote: »
    Are you looking for a boiler or non boiler stove? If non boiler are you sure you need a15kw output stove?

Are you fitting it into a fireplace? If so what is the width and height?

hey Stovefan,
    im looking for a boiler stove to head 9 rads so somethin similar to the stanley erin would be ideal. its goin into a house thats 10 years old and im taking out a standard wooden firepalce and taking out the cast iron bit and then putting the wooden part of the fireplace back in with a some kind of marble replacing he cast iron around the pipe

hey Stovefan,
    im looking for a boiler stove to head 9 rads so somethin similar to the stanley erin would be ideal. its goin into a house thats 10 years old and im taking out a standard wooden firepalce and taking out the cast iron bit and then putting the wooden part of the fireplace back in with a some kind of marble replacing he cast iron around the pipe

Depending on your room size and heat requirements these stoves are possibles. Very few boiler stoves for 1000

Dunsley highlander 10CH Good as it has low 4kw heat output to room and a good sized boiler with thermostatic control. Around the £1,500 price range. Very good make.

Charnwood country 16b although a good boiler output up to 7kw to room so could get too hot in room depending on the room size. £1,700

Arrow stratford EB range.

Arrow TF50

Aarrow ecoboiler SEB20.

Yeoman country 60hb and 80hb. High room output.

Stovax stockton 11HB and 14HB £1,400 and £1,500 High room heat output

If you have a large open plan room where the stove is to be installed you may be able to fit a high room out put stove. What is the room size?

fair play for the info thanks again. im lookin for somethin with 6 kw room output and 13 or 14kw boiler output. size must be similar to the stanley erin ....
    Height 750mm
    Width 565mm

Feck it maybe il just buy a stanley... :) really just lookin for a cheaper version . thanks again

fair play for the info thanks again. im lookin for somethin with 6 kw room output and 13 or 14kw boiler output. size must be similar to the stanley erin ....
    Height 750mm
    Width 565mm

Feck it maybe il just buy a stanley... :) really just lookin for a cheaper version . thanks again

Yep you could buy the stanley. How much is the stanley boiler stove?

The stove that would suit on size is.

Aarrow ecoboiler EB12HE Price in UK £1,275
    6kw to room and 12kw to boiler output.

H 603MM
    W 561MM
    D 412MM

OR,

Charnwood country 16B
    6.4kw to room and 13.2kw to boiler output

W 628mm
    H 751MM

Both are multifuel and have thermostatic control to water temperature.

If I had to choose the Charnwood is the better quality.

We had a villager ALI stove. 13kw to boiler but the stove size is bigger than you want and they now cost £1,100 for stove and boiler but the multifuel grate was extra. (£112) Produced around 6kw to room.

This stove ran 12 rads of differing sizes on wood only and we liked this stove very much. When we moved house we bought the smaller boilered villager berkley low canopy. The villager stove has no thermostat control:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 donzenettii

Hi, I have a large timber framed house built in the last 5 years, with 25 + (not sure whether some of them are doubles or not) rads, the house can be sectioned off into three sections with approx 8 rads in each section, I can have 1, 2 or all three sections on at the one time, the room that the stove will be sitting in is 30x30 with 9' ceilings, and I want to heat the water also, I was looking at the Aiden 22kw (oymberil) stove and am wondering if anyone can advise me if this would do the job or not, its supposed to have 15kw to boiler which to be honest means nothing to me....all help would be gratefully appreciated...thanks in advance :-)

Hi If you only want to heat up one zone only you would be able to use the aiden stove.

As you have a very large number of radiators you may well need a very large boiler stove like the AArrow stratford TF90 about a 82,000btu boiler on it or the Broseley Hercules 30B. Both have large back boilers.

You really need a stove centre or plumber to visit your home and calculate the output of the 25 radiators. Once you have this figure you can then find a boiler stove of the right size.

I feel that a standard utility multifuel boiler would be more suitable in an outbuilding as they are cheaper to buy. Rather than a decorative glass fronted stove that generally have medium sized boilers for the average home. The multifuel boilers have a larger capacity boiler to power the bigger home. Keeping the boiler in an outbuilding limits the mess to that room and if the fuel is stored there too it's more convenient than bringing in lots of fuel through the house. See http://kotly.com/product_info.php?products_id=2571;
    This company has many wood and coal boilers in lots of different outputs. Worth a trawl.
    http://kotly.com/index.php?cPath=36
    If you have lots of free wood and mixed with coal and can justify the cost a log and coal gasification boiler may suit.
    http://kotly.com/index.php?cPath=169_207

I think your house will require at least a 30kw boiler depending on rad sizes an insulation levels Your plumber will be able to give you the size of back boiler required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 donzenettii

thanks Stove Fan for your reply, you really know your stuff.. I have checked out loads of bits that you mentioned and will prob make a decision this week, the outside boiler is not really a go because i have no outbuildings and the added expense of building or erecting a shed is just too much but i think i will be going with a 30kw stove and have the oil kick in when the stove itself is off..again many thanks for your reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭creedp

I was looking at stoves early on in the year and was seriously considering the Clearview Vision 500 non-boiler stove for a 5m x 5.5m room with vaulted ceilings in a new build. Things on the building front slowed down in the meantime so I kind of got distracted but am now back looking as this issue again. I've seen a lot of recommendations for different brands of stoves on this thread but no reference to the Clearview. Is this because the brand is not as good or simply not as popular. I have MHRV installed and so no room vent but will have an external air vent.

Also for those who are familiar with Clearview how would the Vision 500 compare with the Solution 500 for a purpose build ope in a new build, i.e. the ope is 150cm (h) x 143cm (w) by 69cm (D).

Sorry: Intended posting this in the 'Sticky' thread but obviously didn't ..

creedp wrote: »
    I was looking at stoves early on in the year and was seriously considering the Clearview Vision 500 non-boiler stove for a 5m x 5.5m room with vaulted ceilings in a new build. Things on the building front slowed down in the meantime so I kind of got distracted but am now back looking as this issue again. I've seen a lot of recommendations for different brands of stoves on this thread but no reference to the Clearview. Is this because the brand is not as good or simply not as popular. I have MHRV installed and so no room vent but will have an external air vent.

Also for those who are familiar with Clearview how would the Vision 500 compare with the Solution 500 for a purpose build ope in a new build, i.e. the ope is 150cm (h) x 143cm (w) by 69cm (D).

Sorry: Intended posting this in the 'Sticky' thread but obviously didn't ..

Clearview are considered the best stove that money can buy and are a premium brand. You only need to look on ebay UK to see the used value prices:eek: Almost the price of new!!
    With regards to either stove you would be more than happy with either.

I prefer the Vision 500. More reviews and looks nice.
    See reviews by owners here http://www.whatstove.co.uk/reviews/stoves/stove-reviews/_c44_m9/

Also have a look at Morso reviews. Morso don't make a bad stove.

They generally don't get mentioned on here because of their premium price. Morso and Charnwood are also a very, very good make too and a bit cheaper than clearview.

Clearview are considered the best stove that money can buy and are a premium brand. You only need to look on ebay UK to see the used value prices:eek: Almost the price of new!!
    With regards to either stove you would be more than happy with either.

I prefer the Vision 500. More reviews and looks nice.
    See reviews by owners here http://www.whatstove.co.uk/reviews/stoves/stove-reviews/_c44_m9/

Also have a look at Morso reviews. Morso don't make a bad stove.

They generally don't get mentioned on here because of their premium price. Morso and Charnwood are also a very, very good make too and a bit cheaper than clearview.

Thanks Stovefan. Earlier in the year I was a bit more flush, relatively speaking obviously, but that has taken a hammering since with both resources and outgoings on this build have gone haywire. Will look at Morso and Charnwood to see what they have. Wondering if the Clearview is better from an airtightness point of view. I know all stoves take a certain amount of air from the room even with an external air supply (is this called secondary burning?) but which one of these 3 models would perform best in this regards?

Thanks for advice. All the complications and myriad of options are coming back to be:)

creedp wrote: »
    Thanks Stovefan. Earlier in the year I was a bit more flush, relatively speaking obviously, but that has taken a hammering since with both resources and outgoings on this build have gone haywire. Will look at Morso and Charnwood to see what they have. Wondering if the Clearview is better from an airtightness point of view. I know all stoves take a certain amount of air from the room even with an external air supply (is this called secondary burning?) but which one of these 3 models would perform best in this regards?

Thanks for advice. All the complications and myriad of options are coming back to be:)

Hi:) Hi yes the secondary burn is fitted at the back of the stove and lets air in to give an increased burn of the gasses. Produces some lovely swirling flames. All three makes are excellent with regards air leakage, ie very airtight. I quite like the charnwood island range:)

Thanks Stove Fan. I was looking at the Charnwood range and can see no reference to an external air supply option. Do you know if this option is availalbe with the Charnwood/Morso range. I know the Clearview does this option.

As I said earlier I posted on this thread rather that the Sticky thread by mistake. It might be cleaner if these queries were all posted on the sticky thread so that they are available from one source. Will post on sticky thread from now on. Thank again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭chasmcb

Hallo Stove Fan, could I also impose on your generosity and ask your opinion on the Nestor Martin range of stoves? We're planning on installing a stove in our living room and the retailer we're dealing with recommended the S23 after visiting us. After reading this thread am wondering should we maybe go for the Clearview 500. Thanks in advance for any insights you may have to share on comparisons between the two!

chasmcb wrote: »
    Hallo Stove Fan, could I also impose on your generosity and ask your opinion on the Nestor Martin range of stoves? We're planning on installing a stove in our living room and the retailer we're dealing with recommended the S23 after visiting us. After reading this thread am wondering should we maybe go for the Clearview 500. Thanks in advance for any insights you may have to share on comparisons between the two!

Hi:) Is this the stove? I think yours is an updated Harmony? Nestor martin Harmony 23
    http://www.whatstove.co.uk/reviews/stoves/stove-reviews/_c78_m9/

If this is the stove I was very surprised by the cost. Some reviews were not very favourable. Personally I would buy a clearview if this is the stove you were looking at and the price is about the same.
    Clearview have a very good reputation for making stoves, although slow to respond to questions.

Thanks for your reply StoveFan. The Harmony looks similar allright (albeit admittedly to my untutored eye, lol); for some reason the S23 model isn't listed on the whatstove.co.uk. Here is a link to it http://www.murphyheating.com/multi_nestor_wb_s_line.php. Same general price range as the Clearview; think I will deffo investigate the Clearview further. Thanks again for taking time to respond.

chasmcb wrote: »
    Thanks for your reply StoveFan. The Harmony looks similar allright (albeit admittedly to my untutored eye, lol); for some reason the S23 model isn't listed on the whatstove.co.uk. Here is a link to it http://www.murphyheating.com/multi_nestor_wb_s_line.php. Same general price range as the Clearview; think I will deffo investigate the Clearview further. Thanks again for taking time to respond.

It does look similar like the harmony but more rounded and square glass. Same design and build, but a more updated model .
    Have a look at the Clearview reviews:) As the price range is generally the same I myself would buy Clearview , they are highly regarded:D
    www.whatstove.co.uk

Yes I was reading all the reviews today, impressed by the large number of big positives from Clearview owners whereas I see the Nestor Martin range of stoves do seem to have a more mixed bag of responses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭theduffer

Hi StoveFan,

Can you recommend a stove with a back boiler for 6 rads (preferably insert) that would suit a small room 10ft x 8ft x 9ft. Am i dreaming that such a thing exists or is the room to small? Budget around €1k ish...

theduffer wrote: »
    Hi StoveFan,

Can you recommend a stove with a back boiler for 6 rads (preferably insert) that would suit a small room 10ft x 8ft x 9ft. Am i dreaming that such a thing exists or is the room to small? Budget around €1k ish...

PM sent:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭SC024

PM sent:)

Can I get a copy of hat PM aswell please ? hoping to fit a boiler stove @ home here to do 9/10 radiators budget permitting of course

Thanks,

Sc024

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,473 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I fitted (well, paid to be fitted) an enamel Erin this time last year (ploughing voucher season) and not regretted the decision, one fire pretty much heats the house (1900 sq.ft. semi) and in the really bad weather a bucket or so of coal has the house nice and comfy. Fitted in our front room (27X12) and have both rads in this room permanently turned off as the stove itself is enough to keep all well and cosy. Also, easy to clean the outside and no nicks on the finish (yet!!!). Start the fire with wood and then use coal, mixture of cosyglo and doubles, rads start to heat up after about 20minutes.
    In the wicked bad weather last winter used ecobrite and the stove was hopping, tee-shirt climate in the house.
    Did look at all the other options, perhaps some were better/cheaper but all I can say is that I've zero purchaser's regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Brianne

We're thinking of changing to a stove also. With 6 rads would the Erin Stanley be ok or should we go with a slightly smaller one?

Brianne wrote: »
    We're thinking of changing to a stove also. With 6 rads would the Erin Stanley be ok or should we go with a slightly smaller one?

Hi:) What size are your 6 rads length x height? Are they singles or doubles?

I will then be able to give some recommendations as regards a stove suitable.

All single new rads. 5'3'' X 1'8 in living room, kitchen and larger bed rooms. The other two a bit smaller. Living room 16 x 12 One rad in living room so I need this stove to throw nice heat out into this room also Any advise would be great.

Hi:)

Is the rad sizes?

4 radiators each 5ft 3 inches x 18 inches heigh?

2 X ???

Living room 16ft x 12 ft? Which rad size is this and is it the one of the 4 rads above?

Could you state the other two sizes and if the above is correct?:)

Sorry Stove Fan, I did'nt make myself clear atall and my measurements were slightly out so here goes. 3 rads each 5'3'' by 20'' high and 3 rads 4'4'' by 20'' high. The room where stove will be is 16' X 12' and on north side of house. I looked at an Erin in a store yesterday evening and it looked good, really big grate.

Hi:) I have calculated the output needed based on your single rad sizes and room size.

Boiler output 10.5kw. This includes the domestic hot water to be heated from the stove.

Room output required.

Max 3kw. This is allowing for a north facing room.

The stanley erin in my opinion is too large a room output at 6kw but the 13kw boiler is fine as it has the extra capacity if you ever extend and need to install further rads.

I have had a look online and have drawn a blank as a suitable candidate:rolleyes:

Thanks Stove Fan,
    Is it the fact that the room will get too warm is the main problem then? I looked at another stove called Blacksmith Bellows which guy said is very popular but I can't get much info about it online. 5KW to room and 6KW to water and says it heats 5 to 6 rads. Does that sound good?

Thanks Stove Fan,
    Is it the fact that the room will get too warm is the main problem then? I looked at another stove called Blacksmith Bellows which guy said is very popular but I can't get much info about it online. 5KW to room and 6KW to water and says it heats 5 to 6 rads. Does that sound good?

Yes the main problem is too warm for the room with stove.

The blacksmith bellows is too little output to water and too much to room.
    I would consider an inset stove if this is an option.
    http://www.esse.com/multifuel-stoves/350gs/ 3.6kw to room and 11kw to water.

If anyone has seen an 11kw boiler stove with low output to room post here please.

Thanks very much Stove Fan for all that information. I would love an insert stove but I have seen a lot written about the heat not coming out into room as much as from the other stoves. I met somebody tonight that had got in a Mulberry stoker and was thrilled with it heating 8 rads and also room. Do you know anything about these or are they similar to fireplace doors? Again I did'nt get to asking what size rads she had.

It really depends on the make of inset stove and how well it's been installed. The well known quality brands are better.

I had a look at the mulberry website and it didn't mention what the boiler and room outputs were.

There was one on a website and it said 11.5kw to boiler:) and 3.7kw to room.
    http://www.stovecentre.ie/product.php?id_product=249

I was amazed at the cost!! Nearly the price as the esse.

http://www.stovecentre.ie/product.php?id_product=77

I dont know anything on mulberry:( Personally I would go with the esse if nothing better comes up.
    A link discussing mulberry.
    http://www.askaboutmoney.com/showthread.php?p=1012879

Thanks very much Stove Fan for all the info. The important thing I know now the exact heat output I need in the stove. Appreciate your help.

Stove Fan what I totally forgot to mention is that we have a fantastic firebird back boiler which heats up the rads really hot. We got all new rads last year and they are fantastic compared to the old ones we had so just another question. The fact our boiler is working so good would something like a stoker stove work well for us. Mulberry and Croi amongst others seem to make them. Also if going that route it says no flue liner needed, does that sound ok?

Hi:) Is this firebird back boiler a gas fire with boiler behind inset into a fireplace or an ordinary wall/floor mounted gas boiler? Or an open fire with back boiler? Is it open vented with tanks in the loft and hot water cylinder in hotpress?

If its an open fire back boiler then fitting a boiler stove will really make it far more efficient on fuel use and heat.

Yes its an open fire back boiler, cylinder in hot press. Do you mean then that the stoker stove would be the one and keep our own back boiler or would we be still better to take out our boiler and go for the boiler stove?

Hi:)I was just clarifying what heating fuel you had/use as I thought you were adding a boiler stove to an existing oil/gas system.
    At least it's a straightforward job as the plumbing is already there:)

You would be much more efficient to remove the open fire boiler and fit a boiler stove in it's place:)

You will get more heat on less fuel using the boiler stove than open fire boiler:D.

Thanks a mil for all that info. Much appreciated again.

Back again Stove Fan! Still researching stoves. A guy who fits stoves called today. Now he says we dont need the flue lined. Our house built 1986. What do you think? I've read a good bit about lining them again anyway. What problems or dangers could arise if we don't line it? I'd like to get it right as just doing it once.

Hi, the main problems with installing a stove to a clay lined chimney is getting a tar tight join using a clay liner adapter. This joins the stove pipe flue to the clay liner. A clay lined flue absorbs a lot of heat so the further up the flue the cooler the gases and so more soot/tar formation.

It may not be possible to use a clay liner adapter as the clay flue
    liners base may not be flat or the liners supported on concrete lintels. You need a flat base to get a good seal to stop the tar and creosote leaking out.

An inset stove would be better to install into a clay lined flue as any tar would remain in the chimney/fire.

Personally though as it's a boiler stove I would fit a liner anyway. The flexible liner is a much better job all round and keeps the flue warm through it's entire length. It's much easier to clean.

Thanks for that Stove Fan. Is all flexible liner the same or is there any special type that is better?

Yes there is different grades.

316 grade stainless steel liner is more suited to woodburning and a bit of coal, but most installers would use 904 grade liner on a solid fuel boiler stove. It costs more but lasts longer.

Thanks very much for that Stove Fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 icom102

I have a stanley erin with back boiler but no matter what i do the glass always gets back i have tried just useing coal nothing changes it still goes black should this be the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ksexton82

Hi, ye seem to know about your stoves, I'm trying to heat an old church, with a vaulted ceiling, it's stone walls, with not a lot of insulation, the volume of the living room area is 232m^3 (I think!! I'm not a mathematician) I would like something with a back boiler to heat about 18 rads and the cylinder, and also heat the living space. Am I dreaming? The priority is to heat the living room, but I'd like to save on oil costs if I could get the stove heating the water while it warms the room.

I'm told I'll get no heat in the room if I have a back boiler, so I'm wondering is this true too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

You'll get reduced heat to the room aprox 40% of what you would get from an non boiler model (loosely speaking), to power that many rads you would need the likes of the Glenmore 30b from Hamco, not sure if the Stanley Reginald would do that many rads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ksexton82

So the stove will emit 60% to the room and 40% to the rads you think? Thanks for the reply.