Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Much Better Off Would You Be?

• 10-09-2011 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Say you won just enough on the lotto to clear your mortgage or buy the house you are renting. How much more expendable income would you have each month to play with?

Me? €1600 a month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Say you won just enough on the lotto to clear your mortgage or buy the house you are renting. How much more expendable income would you have each month to play with?

Me? €1600 a month.
    So... "How much is your rent/mortgage", then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

It depends, how much is the lotto?

If I were to buy the apartment I rent after winning €1m, then I think I'd have about €580,000 after the price of the apartment as it was when my landlord bought it, allowing for some depreciation. Then again, would you be foolish enough to buy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

€1670 per month.

What an amazing concept for a thread, OP. So well though-out...

later10 wrote: »
    It depends, how much is the lotto?

If I were to buy the apartment I rent after winning €1m
    , then I think I'd have about €580,000 after the price of the apartment as it was when my landlord bought it, allowing for some depreciation. Then again, would you be foolish enough to buy?

Read the fooking post - DUH!
    Say you won just enough on the lotto to clear your mortgage or buy the house you are renting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I haven't won the Lotto, but I'm extremely glad that I'm not paying €1600 a month on rent or a mortgage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Oh right, misread the question. It's Saturday evening. Relax.

I haven't won the Lotto, but I'm extremely glad that I'm not paying €1600 a month on rent or a mortgage!

It's all relative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Say hello to your ma for me! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I wouldn't be any better of as I would be spending the mortgage money on shoes instead.
    In money terms (cos the OP is a nosey fecker) that's 1 1/2 pairs of Christian Loubitins :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 kellsbells73

2800 better off a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

€0. Thanks mammy and daddy. I'd win the lotto and still be a loser.

2800 better off a month.

Feck that, I thought I was bad! :eek:

That must service a €700k mortgage!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Quote:

2800 better off a month.

Feck that, I thought I was bad! :eek:

That must service a €700k mortgage!

He bought during the boom,

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/__5qVJorX4hQ/RyCNSOocAyI/AAAAAAAAAkk/d9OmVErtA2Y/s400/071025+****+house+Kalimantan.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 kellsbells73

argosy2006 wrote: »

He's a She and bought before the boom goodish price but instead of a 25 yr mortgage doing over 15.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    So... "How much is your rent/mortgage", then?

Dime Bar! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

It's impossible to put a figure on how much better off I'd be because if I won enough money to buy the apartment I'm renting the first thing I'd do would be to sell it and use the money to buy a plot of land to build a house on.

So I may not be any better off in the short term financially, but in the long run I'd have much higher expendible income because I'd have lower living costs than I do now as I'd have a much more self-sufficient lifestyle on a farm.

So tl dr;-no idea :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I don't have a mortgage.

Or don't rent either?

Live with the ma or in a box of Camden St?

Say hello to your ma for me! ;)

You are aware that you can pay less than €1600 a month on rent, no?

I could afford more but why bother when I can get somewhere decent for much less?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Or don't rent either?

I own my house.

What is with all the snide remarks about "living with ma"? Not everybody is either paying a fortune in rent/mortgage payments or living at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

I own my house.
    I do to. Can't get my head around mortgages. Can't really get my head around renting either. How the feck do people class themselves as "homeowners" when the bank owns 98% of It??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Solnskaya wrote: »
    I do to. Can't get my head around mortgages. Can't really get my head around renting either. How the feck do people class themselves as "homeowners" when the bank owns 98% of It??

For the vast majority of people the only way to home ownership is through taking out a mortgage. A lucky few will inherit a house or enough money to live mortgage free, or win the lotto.

For most "homeowners" of a certain age, the bank holds the deeds.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Solnskaya wrote: »

Most people aren't fortunate enough to inherit a house, have their parents buy it or make enough money to buy it outright. How can you not get your head around that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I own my house.
    So you think that people who can't buy property outright should just live in a tent or something?

I know there are many people having a tough time right now, but surely mortgages are a large part of what keeps our economy going???

Money makes the world go round and all that.

buying 1 house seems straightforward enough. earn dosh, buy house. Buying five or six is where it gets tricky. Anyway, I'm not gonna argue, everyone has a different mindset. To me, you buy a house with money. To get money, you work. I work a lot. Go figure.

God, you're worse than Gwyneth Paltrow at relating to the masses. On what planet is it normal to earn enough money to buy your own house outright? Did you buy the house in 1978? Save up your salary from a well-paid job while living at home for years? Are you an A-List movie star or a footballer? Did you build yourself a house out of Lego blocks?

The average person even struggles to get a mortgage today. The average age for first-time buyers is around 38. A recent college graduate in 2011 is doing well to even find an entry-level job, rent a room and support him/herself. If you really can't understand why the majority of people can't just buy their own house without ever renting or paying a mortgage, you're in cloud cuckoo land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Can't get my head around mortgages. Can't really get my head around renting either. How the feck do people class themselves as "homeowners" when the bank owns 98% of It??
    God, you're worse than Gwyneth Paltrow at relating to the masses. On what planet is it normal to earn enough money to buy your own house outright?

No need to fight :)

There might be a cultural difference at play here. In eastern europe, there typically are no mortgages. You work hard and save up, and then you buy your house outright. In most of the western capitalist world, you get a long term loan (mortgage) from a bank otherwise you would not be able to buy a house

That said, strange as it may seem, the vast majority of houses in Ireland do not have a mortgage on them. Some have the mortgage paid off, some were inherited, some were bought from the county / city council for a few pounds, courtesy of the ever generous tax payer (civil servant salaries are still going up I read today :eek: but that's for another thread)

Me, I'm struggling on to pay my mortgage :(

unkel wrote: »
    No need to fight :)

There might be a cultural difference at play here. In eastern europe, there typically are no mortgages. You work hard and save up, and then you buy your house outright. In most of the western capitalist world, you get a long term loan (mortgage) from a bank otherwise you would not be able to buy a house

That said, strange as it may seem, the vast majority of houses in Ireland do not have a mortgage on them. Some have the mortgage paid off, some were inherited, some were bought from the county / city council for a few pounds, courtesy of the ever generous tax payer (civil servant salaries are still going up I read today :eek: but that's for another thread)

Me, I'm struggling on to pay my mortgage :(

60% of Irelands houses have no mortgage the remaining 40% percent carries a debt of 148 billion euro.

I dont want to get into a petty argument but 60% could hardly be seen as a vast majority. The point is also that mortgage debt effects a certain demographic disproportionately.

Yes retirees in their 60s and 70s live in mortgage free houses. But the majority of current taxpayers are more likely than not still paying a mortgage.

http://www.economist.com/node/18176072/comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

buying 1 house seems straightforward enough. earn dosh, buy house. To me, you buy a house with money. To get money, you work. I work a lot. Go figure.

I figure you might be missing out on important things in life with all this work you're doing just so you can lay claim to a pile of bricks. I understand the motive behind wanting to be a homeowner but there are a lot of people who require much more than the deeds of a house to say they've lived

Jess16 wrote: »
    I figure you might be missing out on important things in life with all this work you're doing just so you can lay claim to a pile of bricks. I understand the motive behind wanting to be a homeowner but there are a lot of people who require much more than the deeds of a house to say they've lived
    okey dokey, here we go. 1. I'm Irish. 2. A house is the least of my problems and the least of my expenses. It costs me far more to pay wages/materials in a year than it costs me for my/a house. A lot of people on boards seem to be either in a job or unemployed. Very few seem to be business people. Heres the news lads-a lot of people own their own business and earn a fair chunk of change in a year. That chunk of change is often a lot more than the price of a house. It comes down to perspective. To some, a car is a big deal. To others it's a house. To some, it's a yacht. Why the feck do people assume everyone who posts on boards is either broke/unemployed?? There are a lot of very wealthy people in Ireland, a hell of a lot would regard me as a pauper, not all Irish people are operating hand to mouth, or did ye not notice?? Since when did owning a house outright mean you don't live a life?? I would have thought the opposite applied??

Since when did owning a house outright mean you don't live a life?? I would have thought the opposite applied??

When you spend large amounts of your time working to pay for said house, like you mentioned. And no, owning a house outright isn't a hallmark for having a life. And what has your nationality got to do with anything?!

okey dokey, here we go. 1. I'm Irish. 2. A house is the least of my problems and the least of my expenses. It costs me far more to pay wages/materials in a year than it costs me for my/a house. A lot of people on boards seem to be either in a job or unemployed. Very few seem to be business people. Heres the news lads-a lot of people own their own business and earn a fair chunk of change in a year. That chunk of change is often a lot more than the price of a house. It comes down to perspective. To some, a car is a big deal. To others it's a house. To some, it's a yacht. Why the feck do people assume everyone who posts on boards is either broke/unemployed?? There are a lot of very wealthy people in Ireland, a hell of a lot would regard me as a pauper, not all Irish people are operating hand to mouth, or did ye not notice?? Since when did owning a house outright mean you don't live a life?? I would have thought the opposite applied??

Nobody assumes everyone who posts on Boards is either broke or unemployed. I would just expect most people, even the mega-rich and the mega-famous, to realise that the vast majority of people just don't have the option of buying a house outright. A 'lot' of people earn enough to be able to buy a house in a year? You have got to be having a laugh. Even if you were earning a six-figure salary from the day you left school, who on earth has so few outgoings that they can just buy a house in a year or two? And where do you think these people live while they're saving up the money for this house? In a tent in Mammy's garden? Or had you built up your fortune by the time you were 16? :rolleyes:

Funny you say [HTML]A lot of people on boards seem to be either in a job or unemployed[/HTML]

Then you say [HTML]Why the feck do people assume everyone who posts on boards is either broke/unemployed?? [/HTML]

So what if you spend more on staff wages and materials each year than you do on your house? I would assume most business owners who employ staff do.

If you earn enough from your business to own a home without renting or having a mortgage then good for you. I would say that even for the highest earners it is very very unusual.

Great, you're rich. Well done.

You however posted this:
    Can't get my head around mortgages. Can't really get my head around renting either.

Which to me implies that you think everyone should be wealthy enough to buy their own home. That is ignorant and shows how little you know about how life works for the majority of people in the country. Your employees for example probably rent or pay a mortgage. Maybe you should give them a raise so they can all buy their homes.

May I ask where you lived while you were saving up for your own house? I assume the money didn't just fall out of the sky the day you turned 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

argosy2006 wrote: »
    He bought during the boom

What 'Boom'? We had a lending spree alright, but no 'Boom'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

phasers wrote: »
    So you think that people who can't buy property outright should just live in a tent or something?

How on earth did you arrive at that conclusion ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Carter P Fly

I have two mortgages, paying either off with a lotto windfall would save me between 5-600 a month, depending on current interest rates.

The problem with most irish folk is they thaught small and only extended themselves on one property. The smart money was taking a second mortgage out on the market value of your first property. (and by smart I do mean retarded).

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    How on earth did you arrive at that conclusion ?
    He doesn't understand why people rent or get mortgages. What is the other option I'm missing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    For the vast majority of people the only way to home ownership is through taking out a mortgage. A lucky few will inherit a house or enough money to live mortgage free, or win the lotto.

For most "homeowners" of a certain age, the bank holds the deeds.

some people work hard and save up for things

• Tigger wrote: »
    some people work hard and save up for things

And the question that has been asked, several times now, is where do these people live while they're saving up? If they don't rent or pay a mortgage, then presumably they're either homeless (unlikely) or living off someone else.

I work hard but I'd never be able to purchase a house without the mortgage option.

A girls gotta eat y'know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

If all your employees had your mindset,infact if everyone had your mindset we'd all be broke! we cant all be businessmen

EarlERizer wrote: »
    If all your employees had your mindset,infact if everyone had your mindset we'd all be broke! we cant all be businessmen
    how do you work that out? Why would we all be broke? And just for your info, I bought my first housekip at 18, with a 5k deposit and a 40k mortgage. I did that up, in my evenings and weekends, flogged it and used the money released to buy another bigger one, also a kip. Did that up, flogged it, etc etc until the money released was enough to buy one outright. Not exactly rocket science, but produced a house with no mortgage pretty rapidly. No great strokes involved and I was on absolutely crap money at the start doing crap jobs. Maybe you don't want to hear it, but hard work and saving up can actually produce a lot better results than being a spa and borrowing a fortune from a bank to impress the neighbours. I always did, and still do, drive a crap banger of a car. Nice house, crap car, thems the rules unless you're Steve Jobs.

Yeah, that's really realistic. Everyone in Ireland is in a position to take on a massive renovation project. :rolleyes: Yes, we should all buy a rundown shack and do it up, that's something that really works for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

Just wondering how you managed to save the 5k at 18yo, because you say you were on 'absolutely crap money' and doing 'crap jobs'
    To do this you must have saved every penny and being really focused on getting a mortgage/house (fair play)- yet now you can't understand why people would buy/rent a home..:confused:

And just for your info, I bought my first housekip at 18, with a 5k deposit and a 40k mortgage

Right. So you're a hypocrite. You can clearly understand why you wanted a mortgage, just not why anyone else does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Simple really, we cant all be at the top of the ladder,if everyone had the mindet that they were going to buy a house outright by going into business for themselves there wouldn't be anyone to do the work! Your a business man surely you can see that? without those working for you you would either be working solo or not in business.

Im sure those working for you aren't earning what you do and so are unable to just go and buy their home outright, what I'm getting at is the general workforce (and there's more of us than there are business owners) use the little income we get to try build a life for ourselves (and our family),unfortunatley,for most that means getting a foot on the property ladder by way of mortgages.

Earlier you said you cant get your head around mortgages,did you get your 40k mortgage on the blind? how did you 'get your head around' that one?

I curse the day I took out a mortgage tbh,it's an albatross if ever there was one!

I'm not knocking you or your achievements,fair play to ya,your living proof that hard work earns dividends and I tip me cap to ya for that,I just found your earlier post somewhat obnoxious or at the very least a lame attempt at trying to come across as oh so clever,there is a saying "there's a fine line between confidence & arrogance" you've made your few bob not only through your own hard work but that of those you pay to work for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

feck paying the mortgage i just won the lotto im out of here