Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dubs only buy D reg cars??

• 10-09-2011 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Jack Daniels I

ive heard this said many times before.are Dublin people that scared of being called a culchie that they would pass up on a better deal just to have the D reg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

ive heard this said many times before.are Dublin people that scared of been called a culchie that they would pass up on a better deal just to have the D reg

Yes. Every last one of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

But everything is in Dublin, why would you ever need to go anywhere else in the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Those silly Dubs :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Same reason why everyone outside of Dublin dont buy D plates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

absolutely, D reg or nothing!

Ewwww hillbillys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

irish-stew wrote: »

Bull****, i'm from Offaly with D reg car. Only time i ever heard of the reg mattering in the sale of a car was from dubs, i've better things to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

There is an urban myth that Dub car thieves are more likely to rip off a car with country plates. I don't believe it but I've heard it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i also know kerry people who would not have any other counties number plate, they also like their own KY number, i always buy second hand, and i dont care what plate is on it, once i get a good car for a good price, i would say cork is also like that,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'd actually avoid D reg cars or cars that are used predominantly in cities as they spend so much time at low speeds, constantly stopping and starting that theyre no Lund to have increased wear and tear that isn't reflected truly in their milage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Guill wrote: »
    Bull****, i'm from Offaly with D reg car. Only time i ever heard of the reg mattering in the sale of a car was from dubs, i've better things to worry about.

Guill, are you a guard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

A D reg is actually worth more. The cars are usually better maintained and the roads are better so the cars aren't as worn. There's also a bigger market for people who want a D reg. In saying this, there's still a lot of crap cars where the owner thinks it's good just because of the D reg. A Kildare, Wicklow, Meath reg wont really devalue but there's counties like Donegal... most dealers wont touch a DL reg car. Still, I currently have 2 C reg cars and a D reg. Couldn't care less where the car is from as long as it's good. I also have less of a chance of getting keyed when I leave Dublin now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Are we REALLY going to have a thread on this? I mean seriously guys....

DoneDL wrote: »
    Guill, are you a guard

No, why??:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I bought a D reg car so that I wouldn't look like a potatomuncher

No, why??:confused:
    All Garda cars are D reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I'm from Dublin and have a WH reg. So not all Dubs buy D reg cars. What does it matter where your car was regged? :confused:

Kiera wrote: »
    What does it matter where your car was regged? :confused:

Like I said, cars from some counties have a hard life. Same way a lot of people avoid cars that have a tow bar fitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

smash wrote: »
    A D reg is actually worth more. The cars are usually better maintained and the roads are better so the cars aren't as worn. There's also a bigger market for people who want a D reg. In saying this, there's still a lot of crap cars where the owner thinks it's good just because of the D reg. A Kildare, Wicklow, Meath reg wont really devalue but there's counties like Donegal... most dealers wont touch a DL reg car. Still, I currently have 2 C reg cars and a D reg. Couldn't care less where the car is from as long as it's good. I also have less of a chance of getting keyed when I leave Dublin now :D
    cars that come from inland, is what i would look for, because of the rusting of cars by coast, my cars start to rust within 2 yrs of getting it, no matter what i do because i live close to the cliffs,

being called a culchie ffs

and i'm a dub with a non-d plate so there you go

Like I said, cars from some counties have a hard life. Same way a lot of people avoid cars that have a tow bar fitted.

Really? Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

If you gave me a top of the range exec car for free, I wouldn't take it if it had a "C" reg. Nor would I buy a car with DL plates, roads are sh1te up there, drivers are lunatics and most of them use IRA diesel. In fact with the exception of Wicklow (at a push, I'd really really have to want the car badly), I wouldn't buy a car with any reg plate on it except a true blue "D".

Opens up the whole issue actually, why can't I re-reg a car to the county I live in?

Andrew33 wrote: »
    If you gave me a top of the range exec car for free, I wouldn't take it if it had a "C" reg. Nor would I buy a car with DL plates, roads are sh1te up there, drivers are lunatics and most of them use IRA diesel. In fact with the exception of Wicklow (at a push, I'd really really have to want the car badly), I wouldn't buy a car with any reg plate on it except a true blue "D".

Opens up the whole issue actually, why can't I re-reg a car to the county I live in?

So many under informed opinions in this post, the last bit made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭KilOit

I'd hate to have a non D reg car, hate to be mistaken for a culchie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

There was a proposal to allow people to change the local-authority letters on their reg-plates (http://www.independent.ie/national-news/car-industry-says-changing-reg-letters-could-net-euro20m-2297967.html) although you'd wonder how many people would spend good money on this, it hardly matters where strangers think you are from. Although I have heard it said that a D-reg car can usually sell quicker than another, not necessarily for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Same thing seems to apply to C regs in Cork. I know someone who found that buying a non-C reg car reduced the resale value in Cork. They got a bargain on a KK car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭mark17j

I bought a KE car and I live in Dublin.. I really set out for a D but couldn't pass up a great deal, car was and still is immaculate - but I wanted a D !!!!!!!!!!!! :s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

When I see a country reg I make the assumption (usually correct) that the driver can not drive in traffic and will do idiotic things.. Worse if its a country reg with a woman driver.

I've never owned, 'nor will, a country reg car or woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

So many under informed opinions in this post, the last bit made me laugh.

Would you care to elaborate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My last car was MH and my Sister drives a WW car...

But we have huge bumper stickers that say "not a culchie, just a woman driver. Stay back."

Would you care to elaborate?

Not really.

Also, tis nice to see mods weighing in with the opinion that geography defines your ability to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

well i had no problem with buying a car with DL/ donegal plates. makes no difference where it's from once it is in good nick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

craggles wrote: »
    But everything is in Dublin, why would you ever need to go anywhere else in the country?

Maybe some fresh air..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

patwicklow wrote: »
    Maybe some fresh air..
    We have beaches and mountains too. And the Phoenix park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I'm from Dublin and have a WH reg. So not all Dubs buy D reg cars. What does it matter where your car was regged? :confused:

I know it shouldn't but I really like to have my own county reg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

I drive a D reg car and Im from/living in Co Wexford - I bought it in Carlow - does that mean theres a Dub going around with CW plates:eek::eek::eek:?

I need a cup of coffee now.....:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,314 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

When I see a country reg I make the assumption (usually correct) that the driver can not drive in traffic and will do idiotic things.. Worse if its a country reg with a woman driver.

Such ignorant views. I'd hate to be as bigoted as your posts portray you to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

Jesus Christ, it's a bloody numberplate! It's as stupid as getting hung up on your mobile phone network prefix :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

irish-stew wrote: »

Us culchies would not want to be mistaken for city folk

It's great when we go the the big smoke, ye all make allowances for our driving.
    We just play along with that and get places faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Really? Why?

A car with a towbar fitted would be assumed to have been under load for at least some portion of it's mileage.
    I'd certainly be wary of buying a car that's been pulling trailors or caravans round the country.

As for the Reg of a car affecting my decision? I'd be inclined to stay away from west or south coast Reg cars based just on the quality of the roads. But a D-Reg wouldn't necessarily attract me to a car over a Wicklow or Louth Reg car for example.

Quazzie wrote: »
    Such ignorant views. I'd hate to be as bigoted as your posts portray you to be.

You said it a lot better than i could have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

for me wexford, wicklow and even meath would be an acceptable reg to have for a dub. the rest can **** rite off id rather have a northie reg than a culchie reg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,127 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

cant see the point in being a reg snob if your ont a badge snob. Higher end cars yes it would put me off, not so much if at all if it were a normal car...

ive heard this said many times before.are Dublin people that scared of being called a culchie that they would pass up on a better deal just to have the D reg

People avoid reg's that aren't D because the cars will more likely have been driven on worse roads with potholes etc, be scratched from driving country roads ith brambles etc and the interiors are more likely to be worn.
    Dealers also will never pay as much for a non D reg car.

Speaking as a Dub with relations in the country, the cars there seem to generally be wrecked even after a few years of being new.

Obviously you will get people who will keep there cars in great condition but from what i have seen its less common.
    Really? Why?

Pulling a trailer is just putting more wear on the car, I wouldn't touch a car that has a tow bar fitted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

:o I just bought a DL car two weeks ago,must check it for semtex and IRA diesel :o But its going grand so far them IRA mechanics must be good:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

craggles wrote: »
    But everything is in Dublin

Delusional or what? It's not a proper city you know, say like Paris, London, New York ect.

Its the closest thing we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

My last 3 cars have been D reg and all bought in Dublin.Not that I gave a sh1t about the reg but all the best deals to be found are in Dublin
    I live in Tipp and saved between 500 and 1000 by buying from Dublin dealers on each occasion.
    Check out carzone or cbg and compare.Us woolybacks are being ripped off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Many years ago I had a MN reg car and was constantly stopped by the Garda all over the country. I asked a Garda friend to check for me as to why I was constantly stopped and it turned out to be previously an I.R.A. mans car and was on the system. Pain in the hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Well, it works both ways, I was speaking to a car dealer about this.

Apparently cars from Dublin and Cork cities in particular are more likely to have clutch and gear damage due to constant changing of gears and holding in traffic. They're also more likely to have minor body damage and scrapes than 'country cars' due to interaction with other cars on the road.

I think the usage pattern of a car has far more to do with the driver than the letter on the plate.

If you consider that a D-reg car could be from North Co. Dublin, which is very rural, or from West Dublin or the mountains and spend its time driving down country lanes and through farm land. It could belong to someone who lives in the outer suburbs and be driven to death on traffic-bound commutes.
    Or, it could belong to some little old lady in Blackrock who only uses it to drive to Superquinn.

The same goes for other registrations. A DL car may never have seen much use outside of Letterkenny and its surrounds.

Other counties which contain large cities would also have a lot of cars that have exactly the same usage patterns as Dublin cars. So, I don't really see what the fuss is there.

Basically, you'd want to find out what the person who owns the car does and how they drove it rather than get fixated on the county of the reg plate!

There are times when you'd really have to wonder about the level of inter-county bigotry in this country though.

From what I can see, Ireland's got a large population of people who are fixated on being narrow minded geographic bigots.

I remember when I moved to Cork in my teens. I had grown up in the very far outskirts of the southside of Dublin. There were sheep, cows, and it was a really rural setting. We moved to gritty, urban city centre Cork when I was in my teens.

However, my Dublin ex-neighbours kept asking about how life was 'down the country'.

Dublin people (and some Cork people) please find out about areas beyond your own street!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Personally the next car i buy if its the right car for me and pushes all the buttons that i like in a car then i could not care what reg be on it.