Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Melee Weapons in Irish Airsoft???

• 10-09-2011 1:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭

I have never come across the use of these in a game nor have I heard a proper discussion on the topic as people just laugh it off as a silly way of people trying to re-enact the Ubber Pwning of Noobz from the previouse nights C.O.D marathon which I would agree is very likely in most cases

BUT

Lets say your engaged in a scenario wherein you must actually physically sneak your way to accomplishing you Goals? No matter how much work you do on an aeg or a gbb its still going to be heard and from my mediocre experience and from the multiple discussions I've read through silencers have very litle or no effect.

So???

Could melee weapons actually be considered as a valuable peice of your kit with the above observation in mind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭touge_drift

wouldnt trust most people with even the softest of training knife's.

i was at a skirmish a few weeks back and seen a rubber training knife on a guy, asked him was it just for looks and he said no i'd give you a "good jab with it like" i then proceeded to tell him what would happen if he tried such act.

personally if you want to simulate a knife kill etc or the likes whats wrong with all the sneeking then using your hand to deliver the kill or something to that effect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭F.U.B.A.R

I had not thought of that but say if your someone like me with boney fingers and you were to give some-one a jab surely it would be more uncompertable then a training knife? also Iam not talking about these heavy weight martial arts training knifes but ones that you would associate the word "Nerf" with :) as in spongy in texture :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Here's the etiquette for how a "sneaky kill" works:

Sneak up on your opponent.
    Tap them on the shoulder/back/leg.
    Inform them of their imminent demise while training your gun on them.
    Move on.

Here's the etiquette for receiving a "sneaky kill":

Notice the sudden tap of a body part.
    Make no noise.
    Quietly acknowledge the "hit" with a nod or whisper.
    Remove the magazine from your gun.
    Walk off without noise or fuss.

I cannot see how a foam axe would fit into that perfectly formed system. Frankly, the idea of "melee weapons" is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

this thread is as stupid as the "would you take a hit from a non-airsoft projectile" one from a while back.

there is no need for melee weapons in airsoft, when most sites use a knife kill rule or something to similar effect.

also touge_drift did it occur to you that there was a chance this fella could have said "i'd give you a good jab with it" in jest?? congrats on making yourself look like a tool by giving him a lecture on "what would happen".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

I carry a rubber bayonet/knife on my leg but its mostly for show, to be honest.

I'd love to give someone on the other team a tap with it but honestly, having to draw it would just be an inconvenience and in any case I'd have to have my 1911 out as well so they couldn't just chance shooting me.

And, you know yourself, if the 1911 is out too I'd be better off just saying 'bang bang' from a few feet away, less chance of giving myself away by trying to sneak right up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Myself and a few of the guys I game with have those rubber bayonets, only really for silliness and a laugh. Using them for a knife kill is just a light tap on the shoulder, not stabbing them.

AFAIK, we all got them just for sh*ts and giggles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I'm atleast happy to see people have untwisted their nickers and let players have them for display purposes, or to be used to tap on the shoulder.

Telling people to remove their fake bayonets from their kit was just embarrasing and cringy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

i was told there was a lad at h.r.t.a throwing rubber knifes at people one of the days:D

NakedDex wrote: »
    Here's the etiquette for how a "sneaky kill" works:

Sneak up on your opponent.
    Tap them on the shoulder/back/leg.
    Inform them of their imminent demise while training your gun on them.
    Move on.

Here's the etiquette for receiving a "sneaky kill":

Notice the sudden tap of a body part.
    Make no noise.
    Quietly acknowledge the "hit" with a nod or whisper.
    Remove the magazine from your gun.
    Walk off without noise or fuss.

I cannot see how a foam axe would fit into that perfectly formed system. Frankly, the idea of "melee weapons" is ridiculous.

Jaysus iam not saying F*** the lot of yee i want Melee weapons I only asked for an opinion on the subject Not for anyone to jump down my throat!

Also anyone who has played in Cork or against wiskey delta knows that the honer sytem of I can shoot you but you should probably surender either ends up with your face getting filled with bb's or the person you have silently killed yelling "A FECK I GOT KILLED" as a way of signalling everyone

joe stodge wrote: »
    this thread is as stupid as the "would you take a hit from a non-airsoft projectile" one from a while back.

there is no need for melee weapons in airsoft, when most sites use a knife kill rule or something to similar effect.

also touge_drift did it occur to you that there was a chance this fella could have said "i'd give you a good jab with it" in jest?? congrats on making yourself look like a tool by giving him a lecture on "what would happen".

I see your just mostly bitching about the thread and other peoples comments
    So... if you dont want to discuss the topic go moan somewhere else :D

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    i was told there was a lad at h.r.t.a throwing rubber knifes at people one of the days:D

Indeed I heard that also and they were sourced from here! Something also mentioned about a certain team beginning with S is to blame :eek: :D

But those bits of metal covered in rubber are a bit much even in my unbalanced and disturbed books! :D

F.U.B.A.R wrote: »
    Jaysus iam not saying F*** the lot of yee i want Melee weapons I only asked for an opinion on the subject Not for anyone to jump down my throat!

Perhaps you should stop taking Internet threads so personally and re-read the post. I gave my opinion without personalisation or aggression. Cool your jets.
    Here's the synopsis: I'm ok with people displaying rubber knives on their person for the sake of a loadout, but I'm not comfortable with their use. I don't trust the majority of skirmishers to even toss a grenade safely, never mind surprise me with a sharp object.

NakedDex wrote: »
    Perhaps you should stop taking Internet threads so personally and re-read the post. I gave my opinion without personalisation or aggression. Cool your jets.
    Here's the synopsis: I'm ok with people displaying rubber knives on their person for the sake of a loadout, but I'm not comfortable with their use. I don't trust the majority of skirmishers to even toss a grenade safely, never mind surprise me with a sharp object.

Theres the rubber knifes again :rolleyes: I dont advocate the use of rubber knifes as melee weapon either and I personally would not go as far as getting one for the sake of a loadout :) Iam discussing the use of Foam or "Nerf" weapons as the yanks refer to them and sorry I had'nt had my morning cup of tea :D

Rubber, foam, Nerf, plastic... whatever. Synonyms and semantics. Regardless, they're display pieces, not something I'd like to see use in a gaming role.

Ok :) But I wouldnt mind giving it a go and I certainly wont be throwing them as that is ridiculous :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

i havnt a clue why people are goin mad about the whole rubber knives thing i think its just for a bit of fun and added realism but i could never get into it i rather bang kills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭Arkslippy

The problem with them is who and where is the line drawn.

All aegs work in the same principal and they are the tools of the game. If you want to play knives and swords, go larping instead.

Arkslippy wrote: »
    The problem with them is who and where is the line drawn.

All aegs work in the same principal and they are the tools of the game. If you want to play knives and swords, go larping instead.

Eh no :D These can be marshalled in the same manner One quick breifing at the start of a game on how not to use it would suffice and if there is people out there that really shouldnt have a rubber knife well tough sh1t as there are plenty out there that shouldnt have an aeg :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

I play most weeks at the site mentioned above and have never seen one thrown or being thrown.

So care to mention your source you can pm me about it.

Also to the fact that it is not true.

I have to admit it is one of those things that people would be ranting and raving about it and there would probably be Gardai involved aswell :D

the person that told me about it was fairly reliable in fact hes one of the mods so i doubt he'd be bothered to make up a lie like that but i could be wrong ill ask my friend he was there when we were being told about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭lucozader

billy+predator+knife.jpg

me with a knife at last weeks airsoft game

knifes are great fun

lucozader wrote: »
    billy+predator+knife.jpg

me with a knife at last weeks airsoft game

knifes are great fun

Okay................

any seriouse thoughts on the topic at hand???????

i think knifes should be 100% acceptable theyre just for a bit of a laugh and to me thats all airsofting is about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

Okay................

any seriouse thoughts on the topic at hand???????

At a milsim, ok I suppose. Still should only be used as a tap on the shoulder.

Using training knives at your average Sunday skirmish? No way in hell.

Eh no :D These can be marshalled in the same manner One quick breifing at the start of a game on how not to use it would suffice

"Eh no", as you put it. There's more than a few Missing Links in this game that can't even handle basic AEG's safely and responsibly, regardless of briefings or marshalling. Having same people running around thinking they're about to re-enact Commando is a prospect that would turn me off participating.
    Conversely, if I know the player and trust them, I'd have no issue. For example, if Doc decided he was going to use his +10 Bayonet of Milsim (+3 strength, +4 attack, -2 accuracy), I'd have no quibble. If the random guy in the safe zone kitting up with a strange grin, one pistol and four Nerf axes in a bag is intending on using said foam devices, I'll sit that out.

Ok Iam beggining to see your argument Dex and yes swiftblade a tap on the shoulder will do I personally would prefer it to a slashing motion that I might react to in a violent manner ie disarming the poor deluded sod But that would also make me a poor deluded sod.....:eek:

So average joe soap with a training knife is a nono

and a couple of experienced level headed lads in a milsim with foam knifes is ok?

I think thats a reasonable result :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Alan b.

too many idiots in the sport to trust with them, not to mention the idiots that have the attitude of "If i saw a knife instinct would kick in and....bla.....bla....ego stroking....bla bla"
    that has been shown on this forum in the past.

no reason you cant grab somebodys shoulder or leg and said you're dead.
    cheaper too as ya dont need to go buying a fake knife.

if people could be trusted, which they cant, then i think it could add to a game alright.
    as of now, bestas a decorative piece on your kit.

as for the bang/stealth kill and people shooting you, unload a full mag into them at close range and they'll learn for next time that taking the bang kill hurts less.

Alan b. wrote: »
    as for the bang/stealth kill and people shooting you, unload a full mag into them at close range and they'll learn for next time that taking the bang kill hurts less.

Irony? You just said about how many ego idiots would try dissarming someone, yet you say you would unload a full mag into someone at close range? :confused:

i stand by my comment. if somebody prefers to be shot at close range, so be it.

i dont consider that at all the same as somebody attacking somebody because of "instinct" after seeing a knife.

But what your saying is you would cause harm to somebody to "teach them a lesson" . How isn't that the same?

Nice to know you have courtesy. As is said at all sites and presumably well enforced, if you have an issue with a player tell a marshal or the site owner, you're not incharge, nor are you judge, jury and executioner. Report foul play to marshalls and let them do their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

Indeed I heard that also and they were sourced from here! Something also mentioned about a certain team beginning with S is to blame :eek:

i was at HRTA and i saw a 4ft octopus playing twister with a 6ft spider

unless you witnessed it....IT DIDNT HAPPEN

moggser wrote: »

Who won?

**serious question** :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Zomg Okay

While I see your point, you could have worded it a little better. :p

By your logic, WW2 didn't happen because I didn't witness it. :pac:

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Nice to know you have courtesy. As is said at all sites and presumably well enforced, if you have an issue with a player tell a marshal or the site owner, you're not incharge, nor are you judge, jury and executioner. Report foul play to marshalls and let them do their jobs.

thats the ideal situation but life isnt like that. offer somebody a courtesy once, if they decided to turn it down, they wont be offered it a second time.

especially if as the comment i was originally answering said, they open up on you as you are offering them said courtesy.
    Zomg Okay wrote: »
    While I see your point, you could have worded it a little better.

By your logic, WW2 didn't happen because I didn't witness it.

dont say that in germany whatever you do. lol

Zomg Okay wrote: »
    While I see your point, you could have worded it a little better. :p

By your logic, WW2 didn't happen because I didn't witness it. :pac:

under that logic it would be easy for me to bang Lindsay Lohan

WW2 happened ...there is proof pictures videos people who where THERE

now all you have to do is find the person(s) involved in lamping the rubber knives about the place and you have a case

other then that it didnt happen ....just the spider and the octopus

Well I wasnt at 9/11 but it happened..... :eek:

again there was people who saw that and witnessed the atrocity and aftermath so there is no proof that there was headcase's who have the madness only dripping off them to be lamping rubber knives around HRTA....

IT DIDNT HAPPEN

but the octopus and the spider...........

Moggsy - it's a lost cause, you're point is obviously lost upon them.

Oryt look I didnt start the thread to discuss spiders and octopuses so do you have an opinion on their use in a game ?
    If not exit is that-a-way
    >

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Moggsy - it's a lost cause, you're point is obviously lost upon them.

His point is based upon one post thats barely related to what I had hoped to discuss so its lost upon me Iam just going to ignore it :D

I.T.T. people showing everyone whats wrong with airsoft in this country, it always comes to to some pathetic p1ssing contest.

well i seen,
    no you didn't,
    my friends aunt was there,
    blah blah blah and so on.

we have knife kills in the game, no need for melee weapons. it'll just start a whole new round of arguements just like the bang kill rule.

Oryt look I didnt start the thread to discuss spiders and octopuses so do you have an opinion on their use in a game ?
    If not exit is that-a-way
    >

the octopus and the spider and of course myself all agree that there should be no melee "weapons" used at all...as already pointed out a quick tap on the shoulder and a whisper of gotcha will suffice ya start throwing things about the place just gets silly specially when there is a octopus and a spider about

joe stodge wrote: »
    I.T.T. people showing everyone whats wrong with airsoft in this country, it always comes to to some pathetic p1ssing contest.

well i seen,
    no you didn't,
    my friends aunt was there,
    blah blah blah and so on.

we have knife kills in the game, no need for melee weapons. it'll just start a whole new round of arguements just like the bang kill rule.

OK lads please can we drop the stupid discussion about the eejit who decided to lob things at people??????????

Also is knife kills without the knife not the same as the Bang rule? Which isnt a rule per say but more of a courtesy. If you have an implement to inflict the hit then a rule of takeing the hit without question can be enforced :)

the octopus and the spider and of course myself all agree that there should be no melee "weapons" used at all...as already pointed out a quick tap on the shoulder and a whisper of gotcha will suffice ya start throwing things about the place just gets silly specially when there is a octopus and a spider about

Rite what iam getting at is useing the FOAM AND NOT RUBBER!, blade to tap the person Not jab slash or throw it at someone :)

whats so wrong with just using your hand??

bang kills cause more arguements then they solve. alot of people just cant seem to understand the fact that its a courtesy and it doesn't have to be taken, plus bang kills are for sissys.

even at that....why... if ya wanna run round with a tactical concert foam finger for poking folk for stealth kills go nuts be the first to try it and give us all your feed back..hopefully no one will laugh at you or try have you committed :)

ok seriously for a min

have you really thought it through? if you fashion a axe or knife or baton owa foam how are you goin to go about concealing it and who defines the rules of its usage or keeping it dry and sturdy for use will fall apart and you will get frustrated with it and **** it in the bin

OR we are all wrong and you will make the firt one and the next thing you know theres a MUGPUL logo on there and they retail for 50 snots a pop who know's

knock your self out but do ask the site owners permission before hand to see if that type thing is allowed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

I find these topics and trains of thoughts very interesting...mostly because of human-natured hypocrisy. We as Airsofters enjoy a very austere hobby/sport, which the vast majority of people say and think "sure why would you want to do that, just play paintball" etc.
    Yet many others (myself included) who understand and enjoy this sport/hobby think that further permutations (involving melee weapons) is an extremely bad idea...tis interesting.

I will be very clear here. I do not think it is a good idea for open/public games. At all. Period. Would I be open to it in private games? Yes.

Bringing aspects of physical contact into Airsoft is dangerous. I mean, do you HAVE to accept a knife kill? What if you hear them...are they allowed lunge at you to get the kill? Are you allowed disarm them? Could you use your gun as a melee weapon? I don't think there is enough of a clear-cut line in the sand to allow ANY physical contact. Too much grey area, too much trust involved.

I do understand what you're saying about the use of more stealthy means...and it'd be interesting to only allow knife kills if you, you know, actually had a knife on you. Either a tap on the shoulder with the knife or even still a hand, but that you needed a knife...similar to the bang kill requiring you to be able to fire.