Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running During Winter Months

• 09-09-2011 9:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭

I'm just wondering what type of running people do over the coming months with the weather getting worse(r).

I'm training for DCM in October and am looking to improve my fitness over the winter.

Would it be worth focusing on shorter stuff? Maybe a 10k programme?

Do many people do cross country running? If so, is there a website with a list of upcoming events?

All feedback / suggestions welcome.
    Dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

I can't wait, much prefer running in the cold than the (relative) heat. Once the DCM is over, I am going to take a little break, do some anti-gravity yoga classes to tone up a bit and then hit the hills and trails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Yeah, it might be worth looking into some strengthening after DCM.

I have a yoga DVD that I might dust down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

I love the Winter. The real runners come out and the wimps retreat to the couch and make excuses.

Best to target a goal race in the Spring to help get you out the door every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Champions are made in the winter, as they say. BHAA run a bunch of cross-country races, and their website is back up

Thanks lads.

A goal marathon in spring, Paris maybe, might get me out the door.

I would like to focus on some of the shorter stuff as well to improve speed.

Are there any stand-out 10k programmes out there?

I have Daniel's "Running Formula" and was going to follow his 10k plan.

He specifies three quality sessions per week. Would it be worth supplementing them with a LSR at the weekend to maintain endurance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Ultra training begins in the winter. Can't wait to be running by cars stuck in traffic during the next big freeze :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Scholesy1981

Love winter running, cant beat the frosty early morning weekend LSRs, etc etc! Find it easier on the body, not melting and overheating. Once I get Dublin and recovery outta the way, ive a few 10ks and a half spread over the winter months to see me through them months into the Spring and keep my motivation ticking over. Which reminds me, need to go and pick up a pair of long warm leggins for meself in the next few weeks :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

actually from the sounds of it, winter might happen before the DCM :eek:. I like the cold, but I wouldn't fancy running 26 miles through slush!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Winter is the time for big mileage. Can't wait. :D

Btw, it's not as if the temperatures in Ireland are that different between summer and winter, apart from the Big Freeze weeks, of course.

True.

I suppose I'm interested in what type of running people focus on in the "off" season, when there are not as many goal races or PB targets.

dev123 wrote: »
    True. I suppose it's not so much about the weather but more about what type of running do people focus on in the "off" season, when there are not as many goal races or PB targets.

Sure. That's exactly why winter is the time for big mileage. Lay the foundations.

When you talk about big mileage are you looking at doing all running at an easy pace with no focus on threshold or VO2Max? Just get out there and clock up the miles?

Would you then start a race-specific plan be it a goal marathon or 10k next year?

When you talk about big mileage are you looking at doing all running at an easy pace with no focus on threshold or VO2Max? Just get out there and clock up the miles?

That's what i'll be doing, it's very difficult to run at pace with ice and snow on the roads anyway...

Would you then start a race-specific plan be it a goal marathon or 10k next year?

Yes. I'll be doing the vast majority of my running at easy pace. I will throw the odd tempo or hill run in there, mostly to keep things interesting, but the focus is very much on easy running and high mileage.

Race specific training starts about 12 weeks before the event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

There are some good races during the Winter. Waterford half on the 10th of Dec can be target for many.
    Cross country is also another option with loads of races. Many county board websites will list their Novice, Intermediate and Senior County championships (Dublin Novice being on 2nd of Oct) also the Gerry Farnan is another great Cross Country race three weeks after that and there is the Star of the Sea race in meath which is the same day as Rathfarnham (25th of September)

Other races options include Raheny Winter leagues and the ALSAA Winter track leagues

In terms of training while the emphasis is on strength I would keep in touch with speed. Tempo running is a popular one as well as fartlek and hills. These will benefit you greatly and come back strong in the spring however if you look hard enough you very rarely see a week go by without some kind of race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Thanks lads.

A goal marathon in spring, Paris maybe, might get me out the door.

I would like to focus on some of the shorter stuff as well to improve speed.

Are there any stand-out 10k programmes out there?

I have Daniel's "Running Formula" and was going to follow his 10k plan.

He specifies three quality sessions per week. Would it be worth supplementing them with a LSR at the weekend to maintain endurance?

I think you have the right idea about following a 10K program before getting back into the marathon cycle again. Pick a target race and work back from there. Perhaps start with some easy/recovery stuff until the marathon is out of your system.

I do not have Daniels book but I am sure his 3 quality sessions includes an LSR - maybe someone else can confirm? THat would be normal in a 10K program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭househunter

Slightly off topic but what do people do about longish runs mid-week when the evenings are darker? I'm training for my first marathon (Dublin) and as its starting to get darker in the evenings I'm running out of route options. I guess its gonna have to be laps of the town etc. so that I can stay on paths?

dna_leri wrote: »
    I do not have Daniels book but I am sure his 3 quality sessions includes an LSR - maybe someone else can confirm? THat would be normal in a 10K program.

I had a quick look over the Daniels 10k programme last night. I was looking through Phase III of the programme which I think had mainly reps, interval and tempo quality sessions. Phase III is usally the most demanding so it could be that he drops the LSR as a quality session during Phase III in favour of the higher intensity stuff.

Slightly off topic but what do people do about longish runs mid-week when the evenings are darker? I'm training for my first marathon (Dublin) and as its starting to get darker in the evenings I'm running out of route options. I guess its gonna have to be laps of the town etc. so that I can stay on paths?

I have a high-viz jacket that I wear when it gets dark. Will be investing in a head torch as well to avoid the potholes and to still be able to run on grass during the evenings.

Thanks, I have the high-viz jacket. Have a head torch too but wouldn't trust myself not to be scared sh1tless running on country roads in the dark (of cars or men jumping out of bushes :) ) or anywhere off road that's not lit. I suppose if I was running with a group it would be ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I ran more miles over winter than most other months, no real difference to me.

I stick to the smooth tamac and grass of the parks and wear a head torch.

Thanks, I have the high-viz jacket. Have a head torch too but wouldn't trust myself not to be scared sh1tless running on country roads in the dark (of cars or men jumping out of bushes :) ) or anywhere off road that's not lit. I suppose if I was running with a group it would be ok.

May I suggest a can of mace or a Tazer to put your mind at ease

:D maybe I'll just stick to running with company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

menoscemo wrote: »
    Ultra training begins in the winter. Can't wait to be running by cars stuck in traffic during the next big freeze :D

Yep ultra training all the way :D.... Tough there's no way Im sticking screws into or wearing them other yokes under my runners.... Im not that mad....Think I'l hire a treadmill :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭dernipper

I am thinking of doing cross country this winter and whilst I intend to keep in shape and train with the focus of Raheeny 5 mile and Ballycotton 10 next spring I also intend to ease off a bit and catch with those friends of mine who don't run I.E. go to the pub !

I know very little about Cross country other than the muck and Sonia's interview after she won her maiden event way back when, so what is the range of distances involved? how different is it from road racing (spare me the obvious !) and is it very tough I.E. is it possible that a winter of cross country after DCM will actualy leave me tired and fatigued in the New Year when I want to do specific training for road races?

ecoli wrote: »
    There are some good races during the Winter.
    Waterford half on the 10th of Dec can be target for many.
    Cross country is also another option with loads of races. Many county board websites will list their Novice, Intermediate and Senior County championships (Dublin Novice being on 2nd of Oct) also the Gerry Farnan is another great Cross Country race three weeks after that and there is the Star of the Sea race in meath which is the same day as Rathfarnham (25th of September)

Other races options include Raheny Winter leagues and the ALSAA Winter track leagues

In terms of training while the emphasis is on strength I would keep in touch with speed. Tempo running is a popular one as well as fartlek and hills. These will benefit you greatly and come back strong in the spring however if you look hard enough you very rarely see a week go by without some kind of race.

dernipper wrote: »
    I am thinking of doing cross country this winter and whilst I intend to keep in shape and train with the focus of Raheeny 5 mile and Ballycotton 10 next spring I also intend to ease off a bit and catch with those friends of mine who don't run I.E. go to the pub !

I know very little about Cross country other than the muck and Sonia's interview after she won her maiden event way back when, so what is the range of distances involved? how different is it from road racing (spare me the obvious !) and is it very tough I.E. is it possible that a winter of cross country after DCM will actualy leave me tired and fatigued in the New Year when I want to do specific training for road races?

Give yourself plenty of time to recover after DCM before you start back doing anything too strenuous and you should be fine. As long as you train smart there is no reason why most of us cant train 48-50 weeks of the year (dont always have to be hard weeks mind you and the few nights out etc can be included). The XC training will also benefit you once you come back to Road races in the New year as you will still be developing your aerobic capacity and not experiencing decondition that you would with no exercise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭plodder

dernipper wrote: »

If you're anywhere near the Dublin area, I'd recommend the BHAA cross country races. They are typically 4-5 miles for men, and 2-3 for women. The courses aren't tough at all. Though that depends on the weather. The last few years i don't think it's been that bad. I have to say I enjoy the muck though. CC is not about times. It's just about where you finish (position).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

The Athenry 10k on Stephen's Day is a great, well run event. Hopefully not deferred by the weather this year. Over 1000 participants and everyone gets a wolly hat.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

RayCun wrote: »
    Champions are made in the winter, as they say. BHAA run a bunch of cross-country races, and their website is back up

+1 I ran the BHAA cross country series last winter, there's a great mix of events. The Smart XC in The Ward was the highlight by far, running through a stream on each lap and cracking the ice on the puddles, unforgettable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Ordered my YakTrax yesterday, after seeing reports of potential cold weather for end of October :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Ordered my YakTrax yesterday, after seeing reports of potential cold weather for end of October :)

I've heard they're great for walking but are they stable enough for running?

I've kept an old pair of runners to put screws in this winter. Hoping to work through my first decent winter of running after years of switching to rugby every September.

hardCopy wrote: »

I've kept an old pair of runners to put screws in this winter. Hoping to work through my first decent winter of running after years of switching to rugby every September.

I used the standard Yak Trax (walkers not 'pros') last winter and never had any issues.

I still have my old trainers with screws/cheese grates form a few winters ago but the yak Trax deinitely trumps them for running in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

menoscemo wrote: »
    I used the standard Yak Trax (walkers not 'pros') last winter and never had any issues.

I still have my old trainers with screws/cheese grates form a few winters ago but the yak Trax deinitely trumps them for running in.

your all bloody mad :eek:... Dreadmill the way to go :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭2 Miles From Narnia

I don't mind running in the winter weather, but I don't feel safe on some of my regular routes in the dark. The stretch between now and Halloween is the worst when teenagers with bangers see a lone runner as target practise. :eek:

This year, my plan is to do a couple of mid-week spinning classes for my general fitness, and then get in a longish run each weekend to keep up with running and get a bit of fresh air into the lungs.

The Irish Times has an offer on Ice Grips here.

They seem a bit cheaper than what people were paying for them last year IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

I bought the running ones last year and ran no problem in them.

The difference is that the running ones have a velcro strap across the top to avoid slippage.

I believe a lot of people had problems with them not being secure but buyng quality ones and making sure they fit well probably reduces the risk of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

I love September.

I am simultaneously reading threads about sweat in your eyes and preparing for running in snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

After Dublin last year I jsut continued training for Clon marathon in dec and then one in Holland in feb and one in Rome in march 1 So trainingg for marathons in winter isnt a problem - in fact I have gotten soaked more often running this summer than last winter.

anymore wrote: »
    After Dublin last year I jsut continued training for Clon marathon in dec and then one in Holland in feb and one in Rome in march 1 So trainingg for marathons in winter isnt a problem - in fact I have gotten soaked more often running this summer than last winter.

4 Marathons in 6 months must have been hugely taxing on the body.

There are a few different approaches that can be taken. Just because winter is here does not mean running stops there are a few options which can be done:

Find another target: There are plenty of races from 3k- Marathons over the winter so you can always find a race to aim for.

Get strong and forget about times: Cross country is a great chance to get away from the watch and focus on training and racing away without having that hanging over you. In this country XC races are very rarely unified distances (or accurate) and the profiles of the course range so much its nearly impossible to focus on fast times as a result many people come out of the winter in great shape ready to tackle their PBs because they have so much training under their belts without a constant gauge of race shape so allow for big improvements

Focus on your weaknesses: A Runner is only as good as their weakest link be it speed, speed endurance, strength, hills etc. Track guys look to get strong with XC and road races while some Marathon runners focus on improving their speed over the shorter distances. All this is done with their goal targets in mind so can be a mental break from the reality as well as creating mental break from their usual race training.

Try something new: Many people so hung up on their normal race schedule often ignore other aspects of the sport and the benefits that they can bring. Stuff like XC, Hill Races, Road races are options to get out of your normal comfort zone. I myself am looking at maybe a Hill race or two to help benefit strength wise even though I am a track/Road runner normally

What matters is to keep your overall running in mind with what ever decision you make

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

ecoli wrote: »
    4 Marathons in 6 months must have been hugely taxing on the body.

There are a few different approaches that can be taken. Just because winter is here does not mean running stops there are a few options which can be done:

Find another target: There are plenty of races from 3k- Marathons over the winter so you can always find a race to aim for.

Get strong and forget about times: Cross country is a great chance to get away from the watch and focus on training and racing away without having that hanging over you. In this country XC races are very rarely unified distances (or accurate) and the profiles of the course range so much its nearly impossible to focus on fast times as a result many people come out of the winter in great shape ready to tackle their PBs because they have so much training under their belts without a constant gauge of race shape so allow for big improvements

Focus on your weaknesses: A Runner is only as good as their weakest link be it speed, speed endurance, strength, hills etc. Track guys look to get strong with XC and road races while some Marathon runners focus on improving their speed over the shorter distances. All this is done with their goal targets in mind so can be a mental break from the reality as well as creating mental break from their usual race training.

Try something new: Many people so hung up on their normal race schedule often ignore other aspects of the sport and the benefits that they can bring. Stuff like XC, Hill Races, Road races are options to get out of your normal comfort zone. I myself am looking at maybe a Hill race or two to help benefit strength wise even though I am a track/Road runner normally

What matters is to keep your overall running in mind with what ever decision you make
    Yes it was and there were visits to physios but I figured at my age ( 53) it was worth the risk given the enormous satifaction and benefots runnin has given me over the last year. It also seemed easier to just maintain training for marathons than stop and restart.
    If anyone lives near to a running track with lights, then joining a running club and using the track is a very good option for night training for most of the winter, bar very frosty nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Tec Diver

Got to agree, I trained right through last winter to prepare for the Conn marathon and managed to get in a good deal of my runs outdoors. Only a few had to be done on the dreadmill due to ice on the paths/roads etc.
    There's also the Waterford HM in December, unless it gets put of to January again (due to bad road conditions).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭poconnor16

I'm fairly green in terms of how many events I have done, but am training for my first half in Dec. I am interested in x country though - how do you get into it? Do you need to run with a club or something? I dont know anyone who takes part so any tips on getting more info would be great. (Location, Rebel county).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

as a purely recreational runner who plans to put the feet up after mid november for a month or 2 , im curious as to what kind of mileage the more serious runners here put in per week over the winter.. i know there are headlights and yaktraks and whatnot but surely no one is getting up at 6 in the morning and heading off for an hour and a half or 2 hours..or at nite for that matter.. i presume the really long runs are left for weekends..
    and that ye are doing at most an hour in the morning / late evening during the week..
    looked out the window at 6 this morning..and went back to bed but will have to find some resolve some morning soon and get into it..:)

not related to winter running, curious what sort of mileage i should be aiming for per week, running 5ks 10ks and maybe 2 half marathons next year.. training is very scatty at the moment ..wouldnt mind having a rough figure in mind to aim for and maybe make it more organised..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

How long is a piece of string?
    Right now I'm marathon training, so I have one club session (faster running), one long run, and one medium long run a week, plus 3 recovery runs - 6 runs and 60-80 km a week.
    After the marathon I'll replace the long run with something shorter and faster, but everything else will stay the same - 6 runs and up to 60k a week. Probably.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I'm not a serious runner, and my mileage dropped dramatically last winter. Mostly because I can barely walk on snow and ice without falling over so running would be insanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Once there is no snow my mileage should stay basically the same, somewhere in the 40/50 range over the winter if possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

It depends how obsessed you are.
    Some guys are bashing out 100miles/week, others 60, other 40 while others mightn't get out of bed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭woody1

yeah well thats the thing i was curious about how obsessed people are..
    as obviously its much easier to motivate yourself to put in the miles when its bright early in the morning and late in the evening..
    as for getting up in the morning..i generally would get up at 7 odd days and weekends in order to get the running done and out of the way but 6 was a step too far..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭ocnoc

woody1 wrote: »
    yeah well thats the thing i was curious about how obsessed people are..

One of the guys in my group in the last 7 days has 98miles with 4 morning runs (he's a complete tank).
    Other has 64 miles and 1 morning run (cause he's a wimp!).
    and another has 30 miles and no morning runs (no comment).

Horses for courses. Don't get hung up on what other people are doing.
    If you don't want to get up at 6am to do a session, then don't.

The other option is to join a club and train with them. Training with a group is a lot easier than going out yourself :D