Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vitali Klitscho VS Tomas Adamek, 10/9/11 in Poland

• 08-09-2011 11:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

This will be a good fight. Despite me being put off by Adamek's performance against McBride Adamek is still one of the best contenders out there. He is not some 3-4 stone overweight bum going into the ring for his payday and leaving with a loss.

I think Klitschko will win, but an upset could happen if Adamek ups his game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

It certainly adds up to a fantastic night on Sky Sports seeing as it's paired with the McCloskey-Prescott card. I'd like to finally see someone genuinely trouble the Klitschos so hopefully Adamek can make an impact after so many fighters washing out or being easily beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭boxer.fan

Adamek is a genuine opponent.

Whatever the result it will be great to see Vitali boxing again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Adamek will try and move all night and i've seen him try that in previous heavyweight fights but my problem is when he gets tagged he always looks in trouble. I'd love to see him put in a great performance as his attitude in boxing is great but i just think the size difference is far too much for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Vitali is going to beat Adamek like a red-headed stepchild. This contest will be very one-sided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 chubacca

a friend of mine who works in ladbrokes told me he took at least 1000 euro in bets on adamek to win at 9/2 from a couple of polish lads today,
    does he really have a chance or is it just patriotic money going on him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

chubacca wrote: »
    a friend of mine who works in ladbrokes told me he took at least 1000 euro in bets on adamek to win at 9/2 from a couple of polish lads today,

No chance. He has no power, and will be lost on reach. He's got a sturdy chin, but he won't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Wild_Dogger

Its patriotic money im afraid .
    If they were in the know they'd be getting 7/1 on the exchanges half an hour before the fight .

But I'm going to tell you this :
    Adamek is a warrior and has everything you'd look for in a champion . He wont be hiding anywhere tomorrow night . This guy has guts and fantastic attitude .

Its just a pity he isn't a heavyweight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

chubacca wrote: »

I think Adamek can do it, but I won't rank him the favourite. Adamek has held Light-Heavyweight and Cruiserweight titles before, so he will be more of a challenge than the vast majority of Vitali Klitschko's opponents. But I still think Klitschko will win, unless age is a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 chubacca

vitali is 40 years old now,he's gonna lose his world title at some stage if he keeps going,i know nothing about adamek only that kevin mcbride took him 12 rounds:confused:,but just for an interest im gonna have 10 euro on him seeing that he'll have 40'000 fans behind him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Vitali will destroy Adamek within a few rounds! That's my prediction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

His reach, size and power will have Adamek running after the first significant punch lands. He won't want another, and will move and try and pot shot all night but to no avail.

Does anyone know what time the actual fight will start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5jjKxcK6UJShmyA-CPQs-06Bqbm8A?docId=CNG.c790d5e97ad01b6ee27d932740b82a5e.901
    By Ryland James (AFP) – 2 hours ago

BERLIN — British heavyweight David Haye has said he will delay retirement plans either if he is given a re-match against world champion Wladimir Klitschko or the chance to fight WBC belt-holder Vitali Klitschko.

Haye had planned to retire before his 31st birthday in October, but having lost his WBA title to Wladimir on a unanimous decision in Hamburg in July, the British fighter will delay hanging up his gloves if he can face either sibling.

Vitali defends his WBC title against Tomasz Adamek in Poland on Saturday, while Wladimir, the IBF, WBA, IBO and WBO champion, has said he expects to fight again in December, but no opponent has been confirmed yet.

"If I am given a rematch against Wladimir -- which I do not believe I will -- or Vitali will fight me, I will postpone my retirement for six months," Haye told German daily Bild.

Haye said his decision to delay his plans was influenced by family and advice from Britain's former heavyweight world champion Lennox Lewis, who earned a sixth-round technical knock-out against Vitali Klistchko eight years ago.

"I've reconsidered everything after talking to my family and meeting with Lennox Lewis in Montego Bay, Jamaica," said Haye.

"We chilled out there and Lennox gave me some tips on how to beat Vitali, just like he did in 2003."

Haye said he will be watching Vitali fight Adamek on television and is hoping the 40-year-old champion keeps his title.

"I will keep my fingers crossed Klitschko wins, something I wouldn't normally do to save my life," said Haye.

"I want him to clean up this Polish plum Adamek and retain his title, so that he will fight me.

"Wladimir couldn't put me down and he had the referee, judges and fans on his side. I had no real chance.

"Vitali should give me the chance, if he dares.

"He is supposed to have a dangerous punch, which I doubt."

Haye resorted to trash-talking Wladimir in the build up to July's unification bout and Vitali has said he wants to fight the brash Brit to knock him out.

Having also blamed his defeat to Wladimir on a broken toe, Haye said he is is ready to fight again.

"Yeah, man - my broken toe is okay again," said Haye.

"Vitali is 40 and will stop at some point.

"For his finale, there is no better opponent than me.

"And I would send him into retirement, but without his championship belt."

Copyright © 2011 AFP. All rights reserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

CorkMan wrote: »
    Does anyone know what time the actual fight will start?

Around 10 pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Looks like Haye hasn't learned any lessons if he thinks he lost because the judges, fans and ref was against him. I'd love to see Vitali knock him out but in truth Haye doesn't deserve one last pay day and I can do without the months of sky hype and trash talking. The best thing the Klitschos can do is ignore Haye altogether and deny him a last pay cheque.

Looking forward to a decent night of non pay per view boxing tonight :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

I'd like to see Adamek win but i fear Klitscho will prove to much..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭FrankAmazing

come on klitchko i've got a 50 quid on him to win via ko :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

What was the name of the AC/DC track for Vitali's entrance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

sxt wrote: »
    http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/article/ALeqM5jjKxcK6UJShmyA-CPQs-06Bqbm8A?docId=CNG.c790d5e97ad01b6ee27d932740b82a5e.901

"I've reconsidered everything after talking to my family and meeting with Lennox Lewis in Montego Bay, Jamaica," said Haye.

"We chilled out there and Lennox gave me some tips on how to beat Vitali, just like he did in 2003."

So win by a cut stoppage, with Vitali winning the fight on the scorecards, and then retire to avoid ever having to fight him again. I reckon Haye liked that advice.

On topic, hoping for a good fight tonight and Vitali winning again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Any english streams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,374 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭djhaxman

Think your money's safe. I have that bet on too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Adamek looks like a child in there. If this goes past 6, I'll be surprised.

Will Jim Watt get off Klitschko's jock please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Adamek looks like he's being beaten up for his lunch money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

Fair play to Adamek for having balls and fighting against Vitali, but I don't see the fight ending good for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭goalie2

At least he is trying to earn his money not like haye!

Rd to Adamek IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

not a bad fight so far.
    Exceptional fight for a heavyweight fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

enjoyable fight but adamek is really struggling !

The reach is too long for Adamek. Vitali can hit Adamek standing still, Adamek has to jump forward and Vitali just jumps back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

That looked painful

Klitschko is like a machine, a terminator. Excellent performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

It was looking like a ko at the start but less so now.
    oh spoke to soon.:)

Vitali and Wladimir really must sleep in the same bed at night.

I'd love for a fighter with a 84" inch reach to fight Vitali so he doesn't jump backwards like a *****.

The ref should think about stopping this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

Adamek really is just surviving in there now. Can't see him making any real impact on Vitali at all

• Moderators Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭x PyRo

x PyRo wrote: »
    If this goes past 6, I'll be surprised.

I am surprised!

Stream just gone down, feck. :-(

Come on Klitschko, for the first time ever I want you to stop someone.

djhaxman wrote: »
    Come on Klitschko, for the first time ever I want you to stop someone.

Yes, because Adamek is so bad for the sport of boxing :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

PHANTOM PUNCH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,027 ✭✭✭✭titan18

You miss his post above saying he has money on

titan18 wrote: »
    You miss his post above saying he has money on

OK.

This fight is like a cruiserweight VS a super welterweight. The reach, the size is too much. If the reach was similar something could happen, but instead Vitali stays safe at the end of his pole.

No, because I have money on it :rolleyes:

Adamek has done well considering he's not really a heavyweight.

djhaxman wrote: »
    No, because I have money on it :rolleyes:
    I missed that post too :o

Round 10 - I'm amazed...

and that's all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

adamaek taking to much punishment, he is being picked off with the jab, one more straight right and he will go,
    he is some warrior staying in to the 10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

Yea the reach is really too much. Adamek takes a huge risk every time he tries to get in. Vitali's jab is destroying him at this stage.