Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxygen, ALL your bins (general, recycle, compost) for one year emptied for €199

• 07-09-2011 8:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Ok, had been with AES for the last few years, happy enough with the service, but found a few of their charges quite high.
    One thing that I always resented was being charged for my compost bin, (what incentive was their for me to separate food if I was being charged extra?)

With AES your option was 74€ service charge every six month (€148 total) or 49 online, 98 total per year.
    General waste bin, 6.40 per lift
    Compost bin €3 pet lift.

Oxygen, charge one off fee of €199, includes service charge for the year, and all my bins emptied.

Probably saving me 200 per year!

quite happy with the service also!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭paddyp

That sounds excellent, it that including your compost now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

paddyp wrote: »
    That sounds excellent, it that including your compost now?

Yes.

Basically, once you pay your 199, you can forget about anymore bin charges for the rest of the year, COMPLETELY.

The compost bin to me was a pain, it needed emptied every two weeks, otherwise it smelled unbelievably bad! This meant I was I was essentially being charged something every week, (3€ one week, €6.40 the next) roughly, 450 per year, plus the service charges!

Oxygen, 199€ all in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Only covers :
    Louth
    Cavan
    Meath
    Kildare
    Westmeath
    Offaly
    Laois
    Waterford

tk123 wrote: »
    Only covers :
    Louth
    Cavan
    Meath
    Kildare
    Westmeath
    Offaly
    Laois
    Waterford

No Dublin?

Surely out covers Dublin, the processing plants in Ballymount?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Yeah I would have thought Dub was covered too since our green bin is an Oxygen bin but that the list from their site. :(

http://www.oxigen.ie/areas-covered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭tweety76

where is it being avertised?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭toby2111

tweety76 wrote: »

Yeh,I'd be interested in this but can't see it anywere on their site?Were do we get info about this deal?

tweety76 wrote: »
    toby2111 wrote: »
    Yeh,I'd be interested in this but can't see it anywere on their site?Were do we get info about this deal?

Sorry guys, been out for a while.
    Just call them up, I rang to enquire about pricing initially, as there was no pricing on the site.
    The lady I spoke with told me about this deal, I paid with laser on Fri, had 3x new bins on Tues. :D
    AES weren't impressed when Io told them why I wanted to return my bins and cancel my account :pac:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Have to say, Im with Thorntons. Brilliant service. No service charge at all. Its a pay per lift charge, which is grand. Its €8.20 per lift, but I can generally get a months worth of rubbish in that. Plus, the recycling bin is free, so try and recycle everything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

antodeco wrote: »
    Have to say, Im with Thorntons. Brilliant service. No service charge at all. Its a pay per lift charge, which is grand. Its €8.20 per lift, but I can generally get a months worth of rubbish in that. Plus, the recycling bin is free, so try and recycle everything!
    In fact it's only €8 if you pay online :cool:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

In comparison Greyhound have just sent me a letter

€60 annual service charge from 1st of October

and they will now charge by weight
    31c/kg for black bin - so €6.20 based on 20Kg average
    - so no point trying to stuff another bag in the bin :(
    24c/kg for brown bin - so €4.80 based on 20Kg average
    - with new water charges it's probably cheaper than flusing it down the toilet :pac:

So if you are with Greyhound then check out how the new charges will affect you.

if you take into account the €60 service charge then €199 works out at €2.67 per week.

Pity they don't do Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭imtired999

toby2111 wrote: »

http://www.oxigen.ie/kildare-introductory-offer

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I got the same deal with AES 6 months ago. If you ring them, and tell them you're off, they'll match it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭daytob

doesnt do ashbourne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭danjo-xx

damn its only an Introductory offer:(

Do Oxigen not charge a one off fee for their bins?ACE dont,that's why I chose them.

I rang,was told its only for Kildare area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Stevo105

In comparison Greyhound have just sent me a letter

€60 annual service charge from 1st of October

and they will now charge by weight
    31c/kg for black bin - so €6.20 based on 20Kg average
    - so no point trying to stuff another bag in the bin :(
    24c/kg for brown bin - so €4.80 based on 20Kg average
    - with new water charges it's probably cheaper than flusing it down the toilet :pac:

So if you are with Greyhound then check out how the new charges will affect you.

if you take into account the €60 service charge then €199 works out at €2.67 per week.

Pity they don't do Dublin

I got the same letter. Going to switch to these guys since we only put the bin out every 5-6 weeks (only two of us in the house)

http://www.thorntons-recycling.ie/domestic-introduction

Black bin 7.50 per lift
    brown bin 4.20 per lift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Got an email from Thorntons today, stating the following:

From 1st September 2011 the Minister for the Environment has increased the landfill levy to €50 per tonne. This is a tax that will be paid into the Governments Environment Fund. This has necessitated a review of our pricing to customers as outlined below.
    As and from 1/10/2011 our new charges will be as follows:

Charge Type

Annual Service Charge
    Pay Direct Pay On-Line (**5% Credit price)
    €50.00 / €47.50

Black Bin – Lift Charge
    Was €8.40 Now €7.50 / Was € 7.98 Now €7.13

Brown Bin
    €4.20 (No Change) / €3.99 (No Change)

Green Bin
    Free (No Change) Free (No Change)
    ** 5% of payment value added as bonus credit to your account when you pay online.

The net effect of the new charges for a customer that leaves their black bin out every second week is just over €1 per lift .

As you can see we have reduced our lift charges to compensate customers for this additional annual service charge and will continue to bring a quality value for money service to you. We request that the annual service charge is paid before 1st October 2011.

Have to say I'm really p***ed off. I changed to them in May on the basis that they were cheaper than Greyhound & at no time did they mention they were going to start charging a service charge. I only put out my grey & brown bins every 5 to 6 weeks, so it's gonna cost me a lot more than €1 extra per lift.

Anyone know anywhere that'd work out better seeing as I don't use my bins that often!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

AFAIK every bin company is bringing in this charge, it's a direct levy from the government.

Greyhound are trying to get €60, shower of gangsters.

phasers wrote: »
    AFAIK every bin company is bringing in this charge, it's a direct levy from the government.

Greyhound are trying to get €60, shower of gangsters.

Well with Oxygen, that 195 got me prepaid labels to Oct 2012, so they can whistle for a service charge from me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Abother stealth tax by Fine Gael and the IMF.:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭groom

If you're a light waster or you can recycle/compost alot of your waste then Greenstar are cheap in Fingal. €88 per year and 6.40 per black bin. So if you only need to put out your black bin every 3 weeks you are doing better than Oxagen.

We only stick out our black bin every 6 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭groom

groom wrote: »
    If you're a light waster or you can recycle/compost alot of your waste then Greenstar are cheap in Fingal. €88 per year and 6.40 per black bin. So if you only need to put out your black bin every 3 weeks you are doing better than Oxagen.

We only stick out our black bin every 6 weeks

Edit: They're gonna start charging €6.88 per black bin now due to the levy - meant to edit my post not quote it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

is it only for new customers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Yeh it's not such a great deal for light users. We're with Panda and only pay €88 a year service charge and €6.40 a lift and free green and brown bins. Last year we put the black bin out 4 or 5 times in total so that's only €120 a year!

It should all be feckin free anyways!

Amount of bleeding taxes we pay

(Grumble grumble grumble) :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 cavanman112

We are with Panda.
    We were due for renewal and we were quoted €230.
    I rang them and told them about the €200 offer from Oxigen and they matched it.
    Black bin lifted every week and the recycling and cosposting bin lifted every other week.
    Long story short, if possible price around and always ask !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Anyone else think these yearly offers are a bad idea as it doesn't exactly encourage recycling!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

fletch wrote: »
    Anyone else think these yearly offers are a bad idea as it doesn't exactly encourage recycling!
    They are a bad idea for people who recycle so much they don't need to put out the black bin that often :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 cookingmama

the annual charge is not refundable, has anyone noticed? it means if we change the company during the year, we have to pay the charge again to the new company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 deyey

Surely that's an anti-competitive measure? Has anyone checked with the National Consumer Agency?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 jjanderton

the annual charge is not refundable, has anyone noticed? it means if we change the company during the year, we have to pay the charge again to the new company.
    If this is the case with yearly paid plans then surely it is not going to be a good idea at least for me as i do not want to take several headaches of paying another company full yearly charge again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

anyone read the small print in their terms of service that they send with their invoices? it says there is a 50euro cancellation fee in the event that the customer no longer wishes to use their service!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭pm.

best i can see is 18.50 a month but it does not say for how long http://www.oxigen.ie/westmeath-offer-switch-today-save-up-to-e100

http://www.citybin.com/cms/index.php?page=household
    Galway
    Fingal
    South Dublin

comparison.jpg

Pay per lift would be the cheapest if you use the bins infrequently.
    Otherwise they match the €199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 the red phoenix

aes p****d me off when i joined ,giving me a glass bin and telling me it would be collected every month , then when everything was set up it turns out it will be collected every 12 weeks , no point in having it , sorry i moved now , ill be moving as soon as i use up my credit , watch out for them and get everything in writing . . . .