Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NFL Week 1 Schedule/Predictions

• 06-09-2011 12:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭

Regular Season Week 1

September 8th - The Kickoff Game
    Saints @ Packers -- Live on SS2 (1:30 AM)

September 11 - 6:00 PM Games
    Steelers @ Ravens -- Live on on SS3 (Others on NFL Redzone on the Red Button)
    Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams
    Lions @ Bucs

September 11 - 9:15 PM Games
    Giants @ Redskins -- Live on SS3
    Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers

Sunday Night Football - 1:20 AM
    Cowboys and Jets -- Live on Channel 4

Monday Night Football - Double Header
    Patriots @ Dolphins -- Live on ESPN at 00:00 AM
    Raiders @ Broncos -- Live on ESPN at 3:15 AM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Right I'll give this a go...

Saints @ PackersI expect/hope the Packers win a shootout here with Aaron Rodgers continuing on his post season form from last year.

Steelers @ Ravens
    Oooh what a game, Ravens will be looking for revenge after the playoff loss. Steelers to win this one but it will be close and physical.

Falcons @ Bears
    What kind of affect will Julio Jones have on this game, there is a lot of pressure on the Falcons after that draft pick. Cutler to put in a stellar performance on silence the haters (for a lil while)

Bengals @ Browns
    Havn't liked the look of Andy Dalton at all in the pre season where as Colt Mccoy has been decent. Hard one to call here but I'll go with the home team.

Colts @ Texans
    Will Peyton Manning play? It doesn't look like it as of now. Will Arian Foster play? I'm going with the Texans to make statement in the AFC South here.

Titans @ Jags
    CJ2K might be a lil bit rusty after his holdout. MoJo will probably be rusty also. Both teams have a reasonable chance of making the playoffs this year IMO. I'll go with the Titans here

Bills @ Chiefs
    Chiefs to be too strong for the Bills here. I really like the look of their offense. Will be challenging SD for the division.

Eagles @ Rams
    Josh Mcdaniels the O.C says he has some plans on how to tackle the Eagles Dream Team corners. I don't think Vick looked too great in Pre Season and they have issues on the O Line still. Rams to upset the Eagles.

Lions @ Bucs
    The two up an coming young teams if the Media has you believe. Stafford was a beast in Pre Season but how will his shoulders hold up in the real thing. Love watching Suh play as well. Lions to win in a very good game.

Giants @ Redskins
    Game of great sentimental value to both cities. Hopefully in this and the SNF game they put on a great show for their fans. Rex Grossman is the starter officially now for the Redskins. I still think they are lacking any real punch offensively and even with the Giants diminished with injuries I still expect them to win.

Panthers @ Cardinals
    It's gonna be a long year for Newton I think, plenty of talent but he will need time. Kevin Kolb is overrated also but the Cardinals should take it with Larry menacing the Panthers secondary.

Vikings @ Chargers
    Probably way wrong here but I think a Chargers thrashing of the Vikes is on the cards here. Philip Rivers is my pick for MVP and SD for the Superbowl so I think they will get off to a flyer. Matthews looks great and VJax is back for the season with Gates fit.

Seahawks @ 49ers
    San Fran I think will have the Andrew Luck Pick next year in the Draft. It will be a tough season with them with poor QB play once again the main topic. Then again it could be Seattle getting that spot. They look a poor team but then again they looked a poor team last year :)

Cowboys and Jets
    Still really worried about the starting offence which wasn't all pre season. Im really hoping Sanchez makes the big leap forward and sometimes I think he will and others he looks absoloutely hopeless out there for multiple series. Still the Defence has been solid all preseason and hopefully is continues. Interesting to see how Romo gets on in this one. I think the Jets just about nick this.

Patriots @ Dolphins
    The Patriots will hammer the Dolphins. Too strong on offense and Belichick has shored up the D this year. Them two TE's are monsters, and along with Welker, Branch, Chad and a solid running game they are going to be hard to stop. 16-0? With some luck they could do it. Chad Henne stinks but the Dolphins will be better this year.

Raiders @ Broncos
    Will be recording this one (it's on at a crazy hour over here). I guess ESPN where hoping to give Tebow is Nationally Televised debut on MNF but alas Kyle Orton has looked good. Raiders lose Nnamdi and Miller and don't really replace them well. Darren Mcfadden is a machine and could be in for a huge year. Broncos to win, Von Miller to dominate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Delightful stuff Oscar, this should eat up half an hour at work :D I'm also going to include what way I think the spread will go for kicks.

Saints @ Packers
    A shootout with the Packers coming out on top, although I do expect the Saints to cover the +4 spread - I don't see more than a field goal in this either way. Both QBs could and probably should eclipse 300 yards in this one.

Steelers @ Ravens
    Joe Flacco has never beaten Ben Roethlisberger before, so I'll always predict the Steelers until he convinces me otherwise. Obviously the Steelers to cover +2.5 goes hand in hand with this.

Falcons @ Bears
    It's the Falcons, it's an outdoor game, and it's against the Bears who are underdogs despite being one game away from the SuperBowl last year. I like the Bears to win, and obviously cover +3.

Bengals @ Browns
    Both young, underperforming teams, although as Oscar says, the Browns QB situation is better. If the Bengals start Bruce Gradkowski, I'd give them more of a shot. I think they'll cover +6.5, but can't see them winning.

Colts @ Texans
    Texans to take it, but not with as much ease as is expected. Definitely not by anywhere near the -9 spread. Colts to cover, Texans to win (barely).

Titans @ Jags
    Titans have the better of the Jags in recent meetings, and I think Hasselbeck will bring some stability to their offence. Like them to both cover +3 and take the win.

Bills @ Chiefs
    Not that I rate Cassell too highly or anything, but I don't see the Chiefs winning without him. I don't think Jamaal Charles will be used anywhere near as much as he should be, I like the Bills to cover +5.5 and take the win.

Eagles @ Rams
    I'm not buying into the Eagles hype just yet, but I do think they'll ever so slightly edge this one. Like the Packers - Saints, I don't see anything more than a field goal in this. Eagles to win, but Rams to cover +4.5.

Lions @ Bucs
    If this were a home game, I might pick the Lions no matter who they were playing. Confidence is high, but I can't see them rolling into Tampa and taking home the win. Their coverage is soft and I think Josh Freeman has what it takes to take advantage of it. Mike Williams to have a huge game for me. Bucs with the win and -1.

Giants @ Redskins
    I found the Redskins a hilarious prospect before preseason, but Rex Grossman and Tim Hightower actually look pretty damn good. The Giants are ravaged with injuries too, so I like the Skins to pull the upset with the win and covering +3.

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Very little separating these two, I'm just gonna have to side with the fact Kolb and Fitz have been working out together all summer. That gives the Cards the edge, but not by -7, so I fancy Carolina to at least cover that.

Vikings @ Chargers
    Were this in Minnesota, I wouldn't hesitate on choosing the Vikings. But given that it's in San Diego, I think the Chargers have it in them. Chargers to win but Minnesota to cover +9.

Seahawks @ 49ers
    Seahawks took this on the opening day last year, but that was in Seattle. I like SF to take this one - neither team has a whole heap going for them right now but I think Harbaugh gets off to a winning start simply because he has more playmakers on his side.

Cowboys @ Jets
    Tony Romo on primetime television? It's been too long, and I think Romo reminds us all that he's a cracking QB by going to New York and taking the W. Cowboys to win, and covering +4 follows that.

Patriots @ Dolphins
    HOMER ALERT. Nah, the Pats should easily beat a poor Miami team. They still have a good defence, but Brady and his array of weapons shouldn't have too much trouble putting up points. NE will lead, which means Henne will be forced to throw the ball and this young Patriots defence could well eat him up. Pats to win and cover -7.

Raiders @ Broncos
    Raiders will struggle big time without Nnamdi, which is good news for the Kyle Orton + Brandon Lloyd combination. Denver will also went to avenge the stomping Oakland gave them at Mile High last year. Denver to win and cover -3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Icepickle

If you guys fancy pitting your prediction skills against fellow boardsies in a competition all the info you need is in this thread;
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056372283

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

New Orleans at Green Bay
    Cincinnati at Cleveland
    Detroit at Tampa Bay
    Buffalo at Kansas City
    Atlanta at Chicago
    Philadelphia at St. Louis
    Pittsburgh at Baltimore
    Indianapolis at Houston
    Tennessee at Jacksonville
    Carolina at Arizona
    Seattle at San Francisco
    NYG at Washington
    Minnesota at San Diego
    Dallas at NYJ

New England at Miami
    Oakland at Denver

excuse the different formatting just copied it from my boards pick em league...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Saints @ Packers: I could see a combination of the Packers super bowl hangover and the target they've becoming giving the Saints some incentive, but it could go either way really. Rookie to Watch: Ingram has a big shot to show why he was the most highly regarded back of the '11 class.

Steelers @ Ravens: In a game where two teams are as closely matched and scores will be so low it'll take one big play to change everything - I'm looking at Evans and Boldin to open things up for Ray Rice to do just that behind Vonta Leach. Rookie to Watch: Jimmy Smith may not play much, but he's expected to improve the poor secondary, if he can show some signs of that here he'll be a fan favourite immediately.

Falcons @ Bears: Julio Jones probably won't do much in week 1, but all the attention he's gotten really shouldn't distract from the fact that the Falcons are a lot better than the Bears, who appear to have gotten worse this off season. Rookie to Watch: Tackle Gabe Carimi might actually provide some protection for Cutler, that could massively improve the Bears offense.

Bengals @ Browns: The Bengals are about a year or two behind the Browns in the rebuilding process and the experience of (can't believe I'm saying this) Colt McCoy should give the Browns the edge. Rookie to Watch: AJ Green should be able to impress against the Browns, and might help Dalton look ok in his first real test.

Colts @ Texans: No Manning means the Colts become an average team at best. They can't stop the run, so even with Foster potentially out they should be easy pickings for the talents on the Texans offense. Rookie to watch: JJ Watt could give Kerry Collins a long day.

Titans @ Jags: The Jaguars have improved this off season, the Titans haven't. CJ2K has nothing much in Hasselbeck and sub-par receivers to keep defenses honest, so the Jags have a real chance to get a win early. Rookie to Watch: Gabbert and Locker should excitedly rush about with clipboards, while Akeem Ayers will get on the field and get a few tackles, if nothing else.

Bills @ Chiefs: Chiefs have the talent, Bills don't. It's a fairly simple call really. On both sides of the ball the Chiefs look better and should win easily. Rookie to Watch: Marcel Dareus needs to make life hard on the Chiefs weakest link - The QB. If he can, he might actually inspire the Bills to a win.

Eagles @ Rams: Dream team be damned, too many egos, too many expectations, too many risks. Bradford is a better QB than Vick, and with a year's experience should be able to compete with the potentially high-scoring Eagles, Nnamdi or not. Vick was mistake prone in pre-season, and has a lot less to prove, he could be the teams undoing. Rookie to Watch: Lance Kendricks has quickly become a favourite target for Bradford, and with the quality in the Eagles secondary, a safe throw to Kendricks every now and then will be key to a Rams victory.

Lions @ Bucs: I'm not convinced the Bucs can protect Freeman from Suh. A healthy Stafford is better than Freeman, and has better receivers. The Lions are just that little further toward being elite. Rookie to Watch: Adrian Clayborn can make a name for himself by putting Stafford on IR.

Giants @ Redskins: Eli has had an awful preseason, the Giants don't have a secondary and there's no Steve Smith to keep the pressure off Nicks. The Redskins look good running the ball, which could set up Grossman for a pass or two. Redskins by a score. Rookie to Watch: Ryan Kerrigan should put pressure on Manning, he'll hope to create some turnovers.

Panthers @ Cardinals: Newton isn't ready yet, simple as. Kolb on the other hand, is. He has Fitz, he has a healthy Wells and he has Todd Heap. He'll do fine here against what should still be a decent defense - Wells should have a long day though. Rookie to Watch: Patrick Peterson should be grabbing Cam Newton's passes if the preseason is any indicator.

Vikings @ Chargers: The Chargers and slow starts have become an early season staple, but the Vikings are looking pretty thin on defense, and unless McNabb changes dramatically from lat season, on offense too. Even with Peterson running the clock, there's no reason not to expect huge numbers from Rivers. Rookie to Watch: Corey Liuget will look to add some pass rush bite to an already formidable defense.

Seahawks @ 49ers: Suck for Luck, Round 1. Neither team has much to be happy about right now. Tavaris Jackson is terrible, and while I like Alex Smith and think he can do well, he won't in San Fran. The Niners have enough talent to edge this in Gore and Patrick Willis, but it won't be pretty. Rookie to Watch: Aldon Smith has been a solid pass rusher in preseason, not much to stop that in this game.

Cowboys and Jets: Romo's back, Austin, Witten, Jones and Bryant are a handful and Sanchez' offensive line has seen a lot of change. Even with the vaunted Jets D, Romo should be able to score. Revis covers Austin, throw to Bryant and vice-versa. Sanchez doesn't have the arm or weapons to exploit a poor Cowboys secondary. Rookie to Watch: Philip Tanner, just in case his helmet pops off (If he gets near the field that is).

Patriots @ Dolphins: Pats will dominate here, and probably all year. Their defense is better, their offense is arguably better with the addition of Ocho and Solder and the Dolphins lost Ronnie Brown and Ricky Williams. With Henne passing to a disappointing Brandon Marshall and little else, how will they score? Rookie to Watch: Daniel Thomas might be the best chance the Fins have of putting up points. Bush has the name, Thomas might just have the talent.

Raiders @ Broncos: Suck for Luck, Round 2. The Raiders have gone from one of the best, to one of the worst secondaries in the league thanks to the departure of one player - Zach Miller :p Losing top players is bad, but the mess in Denver with Orton almost traded and Tebow losing support is worse. Von Miller might be a big time talent, but he won't save the Broncos alone. Jason Campbell and his team of sprinters should help Run DMC win this one for Raider Nation. Rookie to Watch: Von Miller is the obvious choice, so I chose him. He's an elite talent and should upgrade the Broncos D immediately.

Patrick Peterson should be grabbing Cam Newton's passes if the preseason is any indicator.

If that happens, Cam will just decide to run the ball and embarrass Peterson's sorry ass again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

Regular Season Week 1

Packers in a huge scoring game

going to state the obvious here and say defense is going to be big here... Steelers to win by a score

Bears
    I reckon the Bears will pull this one but amn't really sure tbh - haven't seen much of either team in the preseason but gut says Bears will do it

Bengals @ Browns
    Browns should be good enough to with this one...

Colts @ Texans
    Texans to scrape a win here in a low scoring game... Texans won't cover the -8 point spread though... Colts aren't that bad even without Manning

Titans @ Jags
    once again don't know much about either of the teams but Jags should be good enough to get a win in this one
    Titans to win because the Jags have to get used to life with no Garrard now.. they really should have made their mind up on him earlier than this... Titans to edge it

Bills @ Chiefs
    Chiefs to cover the -5.5 pt spread easily enough if Cassel starts..

Eagles @ Rams
    the Eagles are good enough to win this one - but it won't be comfortable but they should cover the 4.5 point spread

Lions @ Bucs
    Lions - Stafford to shine.. just going on a hunch here

Giant have been poor and have injuries... we all know what the Redskins were shaping up to be at the start of the season but..... Giants to do it by a score

Cardinals
    Cardinals to win because of Larry Fitzgerald.. Cards mightn't be great but I reckon they'll do enough to cover the spread of 7 points... just about

Vikings @ Chargers
    Chargers with Rivers making huge numbers.. and they'll cover the -8.5 spread.. don't see anything in the Vikings offense that stands out and that will be able to keep them on the same playing field as the Chargers... if it was in Minnesota I'd still back the Chargers but in San Diego and first game o the season I see a 10-20 point victory here for the Chargers

Seahawks @ 49ers
    2 terrible teams - home field advantage to win it for the 49ers

Tony Romo will be out to impress and Cowboys are going to be a dark horse this season I think... at 9/5 to win straight it's definetly going to be worth a punt in my eyes...

Patriots easily, -7pt spread shouldn't be a problem for them

Raiders @ Broncos -- Live on ESPN at 3:15 AM[/QUOTE]
    This is going to be a close one... really hard to call.. Broncos home field to do it... no Asomugha means teams can now have more than 1 side of the field to pass too as well which isn't going to help the Raiders this season...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Lionbacker

Saints @ Packers
    Steelers@ Ravens
    Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams
    Lions @ Bucs
    Giants @ Redskins
    Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers
    Cowboys @ Jets
    Patriots @ Dolphins
    Raiders @ Broncos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭Spongey1975

Regular Season Week 1

Saints @ Packers - What a game to start off the season. This has the markings of a shootout and my gut says New Orleans, it also helps that as a Bears fan i like to see the Pack lose :D

Steelers @ Ravens - I would love to see the Ravens win this one just to get that monkey off Flaccos back but until he does i cant see them winning

Bears - Loving all the love for the Bears this week, especially going against one of the so called front runners for the NFC. In my mind the Bears are going 16-0 when predicting so going with them :D

Bengals @ Browns - Will take a while before Cincy's offense gets going so dont think they will do much against the Browns

Colts @ Texans - Was going for the Texans even if Manning was available so dont see any reason to change that.

Titans @ Jags - Was tempted to go for the Jags but then they released Garrard it swung it the Titans way

Bills @ Chiefs - Obviously depends on Cassel starting which i think is likely. Too much for the Bills here

Eagles @ Rams - The "Dream Team" will not be as dominant as lots of people think but they should win this one.

Lions @ Bucs - Got the making of another shootout but going for home advantage here or should i say non dome advantage

Giants @ Redskins -The Giants D is decimated by injury so this should allow Skins opportunities to score but just think the Giants will score more.

Cardinals - Not going for the Panthers until i see more of them. I think Newtons first attempt at a run could be met with a heavy hit from the Cards D. Oh yeah and Fitz to play havoc with Panthers secondary.

Vikings @ Chargers - Outside of AP not sure about the Vikes offense and the Chargers are stronger offensively than last year. Should be easy.

Seahawks @ 49ers - Not a pretty one but opening win for Harbaugh.

Cowboys @ Jets - I'd say the Jets will be slow out of the blocks and the Cowboys to take advantage of it.

Patriots @ Dolphins - Hard to see past the Pats here.

Raiders @ Broncos - Raiders secondary weakened and Orton will take advantage. Might be some hint of revenge from last year too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

Week 1 Predictions

Saints @ Packers
    Steelers @ Ravens
    Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams
    Lions @ Bucs
    Giants @ Redskins
    Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers
    Cowboys and Jets
    Patriots @ Dolphins
    Raiders @ Broncos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

Week 1 Predictions

Saints @ Packers
    Think a lot of people are sleeping on the Saints at the moment. Still a tonne of talent there, and hard to see if the Packers can be as hungry for success again. Nice additions to the Saints side, with Ingram & Jordan, and Rogers and Franklin on defence.

Steelers @ Ravens
    Think the Steelers are one of the best settled sides in the league, and are even more explosive on offense now than they've been in a couple of years with the improvement of Antonio Brown & Emmanuel Sanders. Like the additions to the Ravens too, but backing Big Ben over Joe Flacco.

Falcons @ Bears
    If the Falcons defense can perform well can see them having a huge year. Really explosive offense. The addition of Julio Jones should see Harry Douglas starring this year out of the slot. Bears seem unsettled because of a couple of players with contractual issues.

Bengals @ Browns
    Been really impressed with Colt McCoy and the Browns in pre-season. Can see Andy Dalton struggling for the Bengals.

Colts @ Texans
    Wade Philips looks to have made some progress with the Texans defense, and the addition of Watt & Brooks Reed makes them tougher up front. Jonathan Joseph is a good addition in the secondary. Colts without Peyton are a different team.

Titans @ Jaguars
    Influenced by the Jags decision to cut David Garrard earlier out of the blue, but also think the Titans are underestimated. Hasselbeck has something to prove, CJ2K is capable of scoring every time he touches the ball, and the defence looks relatively stout. MJD isn't 100% either.

Bills @ Chiefs
    Going for the Bills to upset the Chiefs. Not 100% sure how fit Matt Cassel is, and wouldn't have tonnes of faith in Tyler Palko. Even if Cassel does start, Kyle Williams and Marcel Dareus should test those injured ribs pretty early and often I'd imagine! Jamaal Charles hasn't been on form in pre-season, and think the Chiefs will struggle a little more this year anyway.

Eagles @ Rams
    Don't think it'll be a blowout by any stretch, because I think the Rams could have a good year, and the Eagles have problems on the O-line and at linebacker. However, the combination of Vick and his quality offense should be enough.

Lions @ Buccaneers
    Sadly (I'm a Buccs fan) I think we'll slightly underperform this year with the tougher schedule and the fact that not as many teams will underestimate the Buccs this year. Really impressed by the new-look Lions D, and if Stafford stays healthy they'd be a outside bet for a wild card playoff spot for me.

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Think Newton will struggle first time out. Running game will be good, but Kolb should be able to do enough.

Vikings @ Chargers
    Tempted to go Vikings here because Chargers are notoriously slow starters, but think the Chargers just have too much talent here. Should go far this year.

Seahawks @ 49ers
    Hard to call this one, because both teams looked in pre-season like they'd like to have Andrew Luck under center next year. Went for 49ers because of home advantage and a better defense.

Giants @ Redskins
    Think Shanahan might be on to something in Washington. Strong defense, okay system QB and think Hightower and Helu will have a good year running the ball. Giants keep losing players on defense, and the offense isn't as good as it was a year ago after losing Kevin Boss & Steve Smith (and a couple on the O-line).

Cowboys @ Jets
    Hard to call this one too, but have a feeling that the Cowboys could have a good season. Jets will find it tough to exploit the Cowboys biggest weakness (their secondary) unless Sanchez is showing significant improvement. They've lost some speed in their receiver corps too and are relying on possession guys like Burress, Holmes & Mason heavily.

Patriots @ Dolphins
    Think the Patriots are better, simple as that. Henne could struggle again, and Brady and the offense looks polished.

Raiders @ Broncos
    Depending on Kyle Orton having a good day, against a weaker Raiders secondary that has lost Asomugha. Broncos defense looks much better too with the returning Dumervil and the great looking Von Miller.

Broncos defense looks much better too with the returning Dumervil and the great looking Von Miller.

Or as they call them in Denver, Von Doom. :D

Was playing Madden with a mate last night, every time one of Miller or Dumervil sacked or tackled him, I just couldn't help but shout "Von Doooooooom!!!". It's fun, you should try it :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Saints @ Packers, don't dismiss the Saints, I can see the Packers not at their peak and losing this one

Steelers @ Ravens, game of the week. Ravens OC has stated he's learning from the Packers and Jets you best the Steelers by spreading out your WR's. I'm concerned the Ravens OL has not had time to gel but I'll pick Baltimore, goes without saying it'll be tight and close

Falcons @ Bears, Falcons good on both sides of the ball and Bears FO had a terrible offseason, the team has regressed.

Bengals @ Browns, Browns are up and coming and improving all the team, Bengals are not only the worst team in the AFC North but likely the entire NFL

Colts @ Texans. Wade Philips working his magic and we'll see a whole new D this year. Texans to win and realy, it's not a shock or suprise

Titans @ Jags. I hate this move to cut Garrard. Maybe I'm reading too much into it but I would think this will hurt team morale. Garrard is far better then McGown and Gabbert isn't ready. Jags made good moves on defence but stunk in the preseason, give me the Titans

Bills @ Chiefs, I like the Chiefs FO and their signings, I dislike Haley and very bad news over that lockerroom players fight. Chiefs will win but they are not going to repeat last years succuss

Eagles @ Rams. Eagles to win but it'll be close and certainly no domination from the Dream Team. Rams are good and getting better

Lions @ Bucs, momentum with Lions, two young teams but the Lions will take it. I forsee a shootout, cracking game

Giants @ Redskins
    Shanahan getting his running game going this offseason, Chris Chester a perfect signing for his zone blocking. Hightower was impressive and Redskins have a good defence, signing of Josh Wilson CB will help. I like the Skins

Panthers @ Cardinals, close game and tbh I think I'm just going for the home team, it'll be clsoe

Vikings @ Chargers, special teams worked on, I know it's early season but I like the Chargers to take this

Seahawks @ 49ers, hardest game of the week to call imo.

Cowboys and Jets, Cowboys in prime time. Romo, Witten, Bryant and more back. Cowboys will set out and make a statement and take this

Patriots @ Dolphins, I love the Dolphins D but it won't be enough, New England to take it and Henne to have a nightmare

Raiders @ Broncos Ignore the QB talk, Broncos main issues were defense and running the ball and no better man then John Fox to address that. Love the signing of McGahee and they've added DT's and have Dumbervil and Von Miller off the edge. While the Raiders needlessly sacked Tom Cable just as they were improving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Oh oh.... 100% for the Bolts so far. You now have me concerned. I'm worried about how our run D will handle AP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

Week 1 Predictions

Saints @ Packers: Hopefully this will be a cracker. Flip of a coin here for me.
    Steelers @ Ravens: Flacco to finally beat Big Ben.
    Falcons @ Bears: I think the Bears are much better than some think, and the Falcons may struggle to match last years record.
    Bengals @ Browns: If Cedric Benson struggles to run the ball the Browns will threaten 0-16.
    Colts @ Texans : Cannot see the Colts doing well without Peyton.
    Titans @ Jaguars: Too many question marks over the Jags to pick them here.
    Bills @ Chiefs: Tempted to pick the Bills here, I'll back Jamaal Charles to break a few big ones off limited carries.
    Eagles @ Rams: The Eagles OL could be their Achilles heel but they have too much for the Rams.
    Lions @ Buccaneers: I won't back the Lions until I see them delivering consistently. This is a huge game for both teams IMO.
    Panthers @ Cardinals: The Cardinals are the better team, Panthers will struggle for a year or two yet.
    Vikings @ Chargers: I'll back the better team, the Vikings won't be terrible this year but they might take a few weeks to get going.
    Seahawks @ 49ers: Toss of a not at all shiny coin. Seahawks just because they were better last year.
    Giants @ Redskins: Before pre-season everyone thought that the 'Skins would suck. I haven't changed my mind just because Rex Grossman beat out John Beck.
    Cowboys @ Jets: No other justification for this pick other than I do not like the Jets.
    Patriots @ Dolphins: I don't expect the blowout others are predicting, but the Pats should still win.
    Raiders @ Broncos: The Raiders look to have taken a couple of steps back, Broncos should be better this year.

Mr. Guappa wrote: »
    Cowboys @ Jets: No other justification for this pick other than I do not like the Jets.

Brilliant :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ah boards AF forum, where you come for in depth knowledge, inside information, statistics and permutations reviewed, historical records checked and every scenario judged :)

Which reminds me of this post from last year
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68271860&postcount=3

The gold standard of analysis :cool:
    You're getting there Mr. Guappa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Saints @ Packers
    Probably the 2 teams I fancy for a superbowl this year. I'm not sure this will be the shootout many are expecting, as I think both teams will be more committed to running the ball than last year and both defenses are stout. I'll go with the Packers, as I think the players they have returning from injury will make a big difference. Home advantage also. The Saints rookie's i'm expecting big things from (Jordan, Ingram), probably won't be ready to have a big effect in their first NFL game.

Steelers @ Ravens
    I think the Steelers are being written off too easy this year and can't understand why the spread isn't at most a point either way, even with the Ravens at home. A tough game played mostly on the ground, I think the Steelers D will win it for them.

Falcons @ Bears
    The Falcons offence looks brilliantly balanced this year, with WR, TE and RB all looking good. If this game was in December I might change my opinion, but on a warm sunny September I think Ryan will have no problems. I can't really see where the Bears have improved this off season. They've taken one step forward one step back with regards the problematic OL. This is coupled with the Falcons improving their pass rush. Falcons by 4-5

Bengals @ Browns
    The Browns were super inconsistent last year, but their vastly superior QB situation should see them take this over the mess in Cincinatti, who also have a decimated secondary.

Colts @ Texans
    I'm torn between thinking that the Colts are the worst team in the NFL without PM, and the fact that the Texans were 5-11 last year. One major CB upgrade isn't enough for me to think they're worldbeaters. Texans to win, but i'm salivating at the thought of the value that will be available on the Colts winning AFC south when Peyton comes back after 2/3 games.

Titans @ Jags
    I think they Titans might be decent this year. Hasselbeck is serviceable, and he has CJ and Britt to help him along. Garrards dropping has made this an easy decision.

Bills @ Chiefs
    Bills are better than advertised and I don't like the Chiefs this year. Despite this, I think Cassel starting and home advantage should see the Chiefs through.

Eagles @ Rams
    Despite my love of Bradford, I think the Rams are over-hyped and won't achieve as much as people think this year. They're going to have to run the ball because there's no way Bradford and that set of receivers will get anywhere against Asomugha, Cromartie and Samuel. The Eagles have enough talent on offence to take this comfortably.

Lions @ Bucs
    2 more teams who I think are overhyped. Both have talent but also key deficiencies. Confidence is huge in Detroit though and if Stafford can bring his pre season form in, I can see them edging this one.

Giants @ Redskins
    A few improved pre season performances isn't enough for me to think the Redskins will be in any way decent. Eli to bounce back from a poorish, but also rather unlucky season last year. I rate the Giants D highly

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Carolina will surprise a few this year. They should now be able to move the ball effectively, and have a decent D with a good secondary. Newton will have to play out of his skin to even get the Panthers to 5 wins. Cards comfortably

Vikings @ Chargers
    The Vikings won't be anywhere near as bad as people are making them out to be. However, SD are one of the teams im heavy on this year, and by all accounts they are determined not to make the usual slow start. The brillaint MVP in waiting Rivers could possibly decimate the Vikings weakish secondary. The Vikes will put up points however. Chargers by a TD

Seahawks @ 49ers
    People forget that the Seahawks were a playoff team last year. I'd feel more confident with Whitehurst starting, but I think either of the donkey QB's and a decent running game should account for the poor 49ers.

Cowboys @ Jets
    Romo has weapons all sides, but how will he cope on his return from injury with the bright lights bearing down. And if there is a D to stop this feared passing attack, it's the Jets. The Jets to take a low scoring one with Shonn Greene to have a big game.

Patriots @ Dolphins
    This is easy enough. I don't think the Pats are invincible but should be able to take this one easily. Brady with 4TD to 4 different receivers.

Raiders @ Broncos
    Orton is lighting it up these days and the Raiders have lost the one piece that made their D competitive. Add in home advantage and I'll take the Broncos to cover the spread[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

<snip>....it also helps that as a Bears fan I like to see the Pack lose :D
    Jealousy gets you nowhere... :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Icepickle

Out of interest...
    If you have made predictions here are you involved in the boards picks competition? Thank this post if yes. If not why not join up & see how you stack up against the rest of us. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Saints @ Packers - Returning champion hasn't lost the home opener since they moved it to prime time on a thursday

Steelers @ Ravens - Real toss of a coin here but the fact that it's at home for Baltimore, they want revenge and i expect a hangover year from the steelers, i'll go with the ravens

Falcons @ Bears - Think the falcons may edge this, Matt Ryan generally works best on short/intermediate throws, which is how you pick apart the Tampa 2 Defence that Lovie Smith generally runs. Could go either way though, depending on which Cutler shows up

Bengals @ Browns - Browns win a crapshoot with exclusive live coverage provided by Comedy Central

Colts @ Texans - No Manning. Houston's Defence will be much improved this year while Texans provide a repeat of last year's opener and gouge the Colts on the ground.

Titans @ Jags - Unsure about either team this year, havent been following what they've done this offseason bar Hasselbeck going to the Titans and CJ2K's holdout so i'll pull on the jags given that they were better than the Titans last year

Bills @ Chiefs - Should be a stroll for a good chiefs side at Arrowhead

Eagles @ Rams - Really like the look of the Eagles this year but it will be a tight affair with a good Rams side. Eagles can less afford to lose this game than the Rams as well so I'll give it to them

Lions @ Bucs - Should be a great match between two exciting young teams, i reckon Tampa will win due to some classic Detroit Lions luck

Giants @ Redskins - Giants are a better side, though Sexy Rexy will make a big difference by either playing really well or absolutely awful

Panthers @ Cardinals - I like the look of the Cardinals this year, not sure how much the panthers will improve this year tbh

Vikings @ Chargers - Chargers traditionally start slow but they should surely have enough to beat a poor Vikings side. Having said that, i'd imagine they wont play great and the Vikes will likely cover +9

Seahawks @ 49ers - 49ers have at least something of an offence. By the looks of things, Seattle don't

Cowboys @ Jets - Cowboys put up a great fight but the better team will edge this i would say

Patriots @ Dolphins - God help the dolphins because the Pats are going to effing murder them

Raiders @ Broncos - I'm backing us because we want revenge, it's our home opener (we have a good record in home openers, we even won ours last year) and the raiders have taken some hits this offseason to say the least. Good guys to edge it i think:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭jester1980

Week 1 Predictions

Lions @ Buccaneers
    Sadly (I'm a Buccs fan) I think we'll slightly underperform this year with the tougher schedule and the fact that not as many teams will underestimate the Buccs this year. Really impressed by the new-look Lions D, and if Stafford stays healthy they'd be a outside bet for a wild card playoff spot for me.

Shame on you ;)

I think we will shade this, we were missing a few players in the loss last year, some on our O line if i rememeber. Talib was injured too so he will be back to take on Megatron.

Should be a cracker though, very interested to see how our rookies do on our defence. Roll on Sunday.

jester1980 wrote: »
    Shame on you ;)

I think we will shade this, we were missing a few players in the loss last year, some on our O line if i rememeber. Talib was injured too so he will be back to take on Megatron.

Should be a cracker though, very interested to see how our rookies do on our defence. Roll on Sunday.

We were absolutely robbed last year! They ruled out Kellen Winslow's absolutely legitimate TD, which cost us that game! Had we won then, Packers would have missed the playoffs and that would have shaken things up a little bit!

I'd absolutely love to be wrong on this, but just feel that teams are more alert to how good the young guys are now and won't sleep on them like they did last season. Every time I read another source somewhere hyping them up I cringe because I feel it's putting a big target on their back!

We need McCoy to have a huge season, and if Brian Price can stay healthy and contribute too that'd be fantastic. A lot of pressure on Mason Foster too at MLB. If he shines this year, we could be all good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Ive been following the NFL since about 2005 and have been an Eagles fan so here are my first ever predictions on boards.

Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams Wont predict this one
    Bucs

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams
    Bucs

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers

Raiders @ Broncos -- Live on ESPN at 3:15 AM[/Quote]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Steelers @ Ravens-- Live on on SS3 (Others on NFL Redzone on the Red Button)
    Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams
    Lions @ Bucs

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers

Cowboys @ Jets -- Live on Channel 4

Can I also add:

WOOOOOOOOOOO :D It's back :p

I am a giddy little schoolgirl at the moment. Football is back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭ari gold24

Steelers @ Ravens-- Live on on SS3 (Others on NFL Redzone on the Red Button)
    Falcons @ Bears
    Bengals @ Browns
    Colts @ Texans
    Titans @ Jags
    Bills @ Chiefs
    Eagles @ Rams
    Lions @ Bucs

Panthers @ Cardinals
    Vikings @ Chargers
    Seahawks @ 49ers

Cowboys @ Jets -- Live on Channel 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Green Bay
    Atlanta
    Browns
    Kansas
    Eagles
    Detroit
    Ravens
    Tennessee
    Houston
    Patriots
    Ugh Jets
    Arizona
    Denver
    SFO
    San Diego
    GIANTS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

Is this a thread for general discussions on the the football or will I set up another one?!

ITS BACK!! Cecil Martin I never thought I'd be so happy to see your face!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Where the **** is Nick!? Huge shame if he is gone, the guy is far more knowledgable than even most on the American networks.

Very disappointed if he is gone permanently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭JohnnyRyan99

^^^
    Agreed, but I'd say he's just not on tonight, alot of games last year he wasn't there for! My biggest concern is the lact of Bradlee Van Pelt and his intense stares!

God I love these NFL Films!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

This current film is awesome. I'm slightly turned on. Only slightly.

^^^
    Agreed, but I'd say he's just not on tonight, alot of games last year he wasn't there for! My biggest concern is the lact of Bradlee Van Pelt and his intense stares!

God I love these NFL Films!
    Ha, yeah forgot about him! Also was watching 'The Pony Express' ESPN 30-for-30 documentary the other night and was stunned to see Jeff Reinebold is now an ass't coach at Southern Methodist University. If you haven't een the 30-for-30 docs, do! The USFL, Ricky Williams and 'The U' ones stand out the most for NFL stuff, but the random sports ones might be the best of them (including NASCAR of all things...)

I was tempted to throw a bit on the Saints to beat the handicap, but as a Packers fan I don't like betting against my own team. Couldn't ask for a better game on paper to start the season, mind.

Random, but Cecil Martin also reminds me of 'Randy' from seasons 4/5 of The Wire. :D

Bring back Bradlee and his enormous swooping turns to glare at whoever happens to speaking.

Packers win surely?

7 minutes, i feel like a child on christmas eve!:D

Guess we'll just have to put this on loop until Sunday at least...

Also, who/how/WHY do they think it's a good idea to call anything related to gambling "Rehab _____" ?

This video sums up how I feel with football back on our screens:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭carlcon

Just settled in for my first full NFL season, and typically, my sky box is down.

Anybody know any decent live streaming sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,443 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I've had a load of drink and I'm looking forward to the game even though I've no booze left.:( Anyways before I went out I decided that the Saints were a nightmare matchup for the Packers with the amount of receivers they use and how elusive Brees can be. So I'm in big on the Saints at 2/1 to win in nice weather which is very rare during football season in Lambeau Field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Scoobydooo

Anyone able to PM me a good stream, cheers

Here we go!

Packers running no huddle. I saw them play it on three drives during preseason, and each time they went over 70 yards for a touchdown.

God, Rodgers is just so good.

Always looks like he has so much time, even with the bad snap. Just one play after getting nailed on the sack!

Awesome completion down the sideline immediately after to Nelson, who is going to have a huge season!

love having NFL back!

Aaron Rodgers, stop being brilliant please. Not when I don't have money on you.

Great by Rodgers on 3rd down there! Then to Nelson!

Just feel like bragging: I saw his first NFL passes live in person (in a 48-3 loss to the Ravens - worst in MNF history). Well, barring one pass vs. the Saints earlier that season, that went for 0 yards (so it doesn't count! :D).

Jesus, they know what they're up to...

Flawless by Rodgers there... what a player