Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EverytHing mUsT gO

• 06-09-2011 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭

So for the last Week i have been reading what the government want to sell ESB, Board Na Mona and now the lotto etc. So is this what the Imf/eu deal is all about lend us money knowing we cant pay back with out selling every asset we have?

Whats going to be the end result? we get pissed of with over government (yes men) again and decide to let EU (Germany) run things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

We could sell the government as well, but a fiver wouldn't get us far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Dwaegon

Why do you do that 12 year old girl 'randomcaps' thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

EHUTO?

FatherLen wrote: »
    EHUTO?

If you say it three times, a unicorn appears!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

orangebud wrote: »
    So for the last Week i have been reading what the government want to sell ESB, Board Na Mona and now the lotto etc. So is this what the Imf/eu deal is all about lend us money knowing we cant pay back with out selling every asset we have?

Whats going to be the end result? we get pissed of with over government (yes men) again and decide to let EU (Germany) run things

No. The EU/IMF deal is an attempt to extricate us from the massive black hole we merrily dug ourselves into.

"If your outgoings are more than your income, your upkeep will be your downfall"

Fact is fact, we aren't just broke, we're so deep in the red that being in the black is just a bloody theory.

Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭waffleman

Thought this was gona be about Will Ferrell's latest flick
    johngalway wrote: »
    No. The EU/IMF deal is an attempt to extricate us from the massive black hole we merrily dug ourselves into.

"If your outgoings are more than your income, your upkeep will be your downfall"

Fact is fact, we aren't just broke, we're so deep in the red that being in the black is just a bloody theory.

Deal with it.

This made me laugh tho - really? what did the European banks think was gona happen when they bought bonds in Irish banks willy nilly without assessing the risks?

Some shared blame at least - not to worry there will be a default or printing of euros soon enough no matter who dug the holes

On the OPs post yes that seems to be the plan - the Germans latest attempt to take over Europe will go unchallenged until someone makes them cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

waffleman wrote: »
    This made me laugh tho - really? what did the European banks think was gona happen when they bought bonds in Irish banks willy nilly without assessing the risks?
    It's nothing to do with the banks.

Remove all the bank guarantees and all that nonsense from the equation and you still have an issue where we spend €70bn a year and we bring in €50bn.

We can't blame the banks or the EU or the bondholders for that part of the mess. This is entirely our fault for simply blowing all our money and expecting the gravy train to last forever. Anyone thinking that this can be fixed by "standing up to the Germans" or going out on our own is kidding themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Dwaegon wrote: »
    Why do you do that 12 year old girl 'randomcaps' thing?

wtf is a randomcap :confused:

kingtut wrote: »
    wtf is a randomcap :confused:

Using caps at random places in sentences.

Please see thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭kingtut

Dwaegon wrote: »
    Using caps at random places in sentences.

Please see thread title.

AhA ThaNkS :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,639 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

All yore bank are belong to us.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

If I drive you to a cliff, it doesn't mean you have to jump off it.

Take responsibility and stop trying to pass the buck.

We're a burden on Europe, that's where that line of negotiation stops. We have no negotiation power any longer, our only options are to fix the country, or to destroy the country.

There is no third option. Get a clue.

OldGoat wrote: »
    All yore bank are belong to us.

AIB and BOI merged into Bank Of Nein - you go in, ask for your money and Hans sends you home with a stick to beat yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Saila wrote: »

Ironically this song is about cutting yourself loose from your recent history. This thread is a discussion of what the consequences are because of ours.

If I drive you to a cliff, it doesn't mean you have to jump off it.

Take responsibility and stop trying to pass the buck.

We're a burden on Europe, that's where that line of negotiation stops. We have no negotiation power any longer, our only options are to fix the country, or to destroy the country.

There is no third option. Get a clue.

Of course we need to fix the country now by sortin out our house account but thats not what I was gettin at - are you sayin the inflation is all our fault? end of story even from when all the craziness started...

Nothing to do with the low interest rates from the ECB? the money they lent us? would you have trusted another country with your citizens hard earned deposits?

I'm not sayin none of it is our fault but there has to be some shared blame surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

We're a burden on Europe.

How are we a burden? In fact we are a great asset to Europe. We are bailing out the German and French banks after all and covering the losses they should be taking. Sure they absolutely fúcking love us.

Of course we need to fix the country now by sortin out our house account but thats not what I was gettin at - are you sayin the inflation is all our fault? end of story even from when all the craziness started...

Nothing to do with the low interest rates from the ECB? the money they lent us? would you have trusted another country with your citizens hard earned deposits?

I'm not sayin none of it is our fault but there has to be some shared blame surely

The fact is we need Europe more than Europe needs us. Without European money we cease to function. Wages won't be paid, money won't be in ATM, a lot of business will fail.

Low interest rates, grand, no one forced us to borrow that money. People ran at it like lambs to the slaughter. Too stupid to see what they were getting themselves into. Mortgage amounts which couldn't possibly be repaid if anything bad happened, didn't stop them.

European Finance ministers warned Charlie McCreevy that the path he had put Ireland on would lead to nowhere good. He went and told them that they should all be like us.
    How are we a burden? In fact we are a great asset to Europe. We are bailing out the German and French banks after all and covering the losses they should be taking. Sure they absolutely fúcking love us.

Asset my eye, you need to look up the definition of that word.

Most of the populations of the European countries who've loaned us billions would much prefer that money be spent on them at home, and who could blame them.

We're another Greece, just not quite as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

No Eircom on that list, I see ... because it's not an asset, it's a liability. They're so far in to the red (€2.7 billion) that they're having to ask banks to waive debt conditions i.e. they're going to default on their loans. The govt. would have to pay some other company to take Eircom off their hands.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You are aware that Eircom are no longer owned by the state?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

We should sell, sell...the binmen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

bnt wrote: »
    No Eircom on that list, I see ... because it's not an asset, it's a liability. They're so far in to the red (€2.7 billion) that they're having to ask banks to waive debt conditions i.e. they're going to default on their loans. The govt. would have to pay some other company to take Eircom off their hands.

Holy Jaysus I hope this is a troll post I really do, Eircom was privatised in 1999 with a massive marketing campaign etc. It was massive news at the time, the only possible scenario I can see that you would not know about this is if you have been in a coma for the last 12 years or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

F*ck the Blarney Stone.

Yeah you heard me. It's a sh*te tourist attraction.

Give me the fort at Dun Aengus over some germ-ridden rock encrusted with the spittle of fifty thousand sweaty tourists any day.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I've got the moves like Jagger.

Surely that's worth a few bucks in the coffers.

Send me to zese Germans and I will dance upon their tables to free Ireland from economic slavery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

And we're good craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

We should sell Mary Harney to the German meat industry. Should clear of some debt

/old skool AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

If were a burden to Europe now, what are we going to be like in a few years when we have no assets left and still a sh1t load to pay off?

I know lets close all the hospitals f eck them there only sick anyways, survival of the fittest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭orangebud

the manics know there sh1t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

If were a burden to Europe now, what are we going to be like in a few years when we have no assets left and still a sh1t load to pay off?

I know lets close all the hospitals f eck them there only sick anyways, survival of the fittest

I think you have a good idea but don't realise it. Instead of closing hospital, we close some of our prisons.

We put the repeat offenders on an island and give them some random weaponry. We then film it and sell the TV rights.

Holy Jaysus I hope this is a troll post I really do, Eircom was privatised in 1999 with a massive marketing campaign etc. It was massive news at the time, the only possible scenario I can see that you would not know about this is if you have been in a coma for the last 12 years or so.
    Why would I (or anyone) troll about something like this? I haven't trolled before, and I'm not starting now. Yes, Eircom is currently a private company, technically, but it is grossly insolvent, and it's only a matter of time (IMHO) before the government has to guarantee the €2.7 billion in debts I referred to - if not their total debt (which is €3.75 billion). At which point they will be as much of a private company as Anglo Irish Bank is today. This is obviously not what they want, and they are approaching private investors. From an article today:
    Eircom’s debts are about €3.75 billion and it has about €400 million cash. It is in talks with its shareholders, Singapore-based STT and its employee share-option trust about a possible equity injection.
    I don't expect private investors to bite - which leaves only the government to keep Eircom alive.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

bnt wrote: »
    Why would I (or anyone) troll about something like this? I haven't trolled before, and I'm not starting now. Yes, Eircom is currently a private company, technically, but it is grossly insolvent, and it's only a matter of time (IMHO) before the government has to guarantee the €2.7 billion in debts I referred to - if not their total debt (which is €3.75 billion). At which point they will be as much of a private company as Anglo Irish Bank is today. This is obviously not what they want, and they are approaching private investors. From an article today:

I don't expect private investors to bite - which leaves only the government to keep Eircom alive.

Your whole post reeks of somebody who has realised they are wrong and instead of just admitting they were wrong you go on the offensive.

So, what IS the situation with Eircom, then, in your opinion? Secure? No need for the government to get involved? So far you've called me a troll, and referred back to events from 12 years (a lifetime) ago, but you've said nothing about the current situation. Do you have anything to add to this discussion besides name-calling? No? :rolleyes: