Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.22-250 are they still used

• 05-09-2011 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

i'm just wondering is there many lads out there that still use the .22-250 for deer stalking and curious is there many of you on this site that have used one at any stage.i only started stalking last year and i had the rifle for fox's.thank god every animal i'v ever shot has dropped on the spot but i'm very selective of the animals i shot and never out over 150 metres.whats the heaviest grain bullets ye lads have came across for this calibre.i'm hoping to upgrade as soon as i can afford it.hopefully to a .270 or a .30-06

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Trade in the .22-250, get a .270 and it'll still make a good foxing rifle as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

as soon as i have the cash that i can hide from the missus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭natdog

nothing wrong with the 22.250 my father has his one over 30 years now and its still as good now as it was when he got it its a parker hale heavy barrel unreal gun.
    Seen him drop a big eight pointer sika at close on 400 yards stone dead but most shots we take are at 100 yard range no problems but then we dont take body shots and we mainly shoot sika now but we have taken some good red hybrids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

I wouldn't go 30-06, you're swapping an out-dated cartridge for an out-dated cartridge.

Go 6.5x55, .270 or .308 I find you're better swimming with the tide when it comes to choosing calibres... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Glensman wrote: »
    I wouldn't go 30-06, you're swapping an out-dated cartridge for an out-dated cartridge.

Go 6.5x55, .270 or .308 I find you're better swimming with the tide when it comes to choosing calibres... :)

He could rebarrel his .22-250 in .308 or .243 relatively easily either.
    just an option. if the Rifle was worn out it would prob be cheaper buy a new one.

After seeing the 200 yards groups out of Paulo's rebarrelled Sako it got my mind thinking.....
    His rifle stands him little over a grand and it is serious accurate

just an option. if the Rifle was worn out it would prob be cheaper buy a new one.

After seeing the 200 yards groups out of Paulo's rebarrelled Sako it got my mind thinking.....

I always think you're as well buying a facotry rifle (Howa, Remmy) shoot it for a few years and see what the accuracy is like, then re-barrel on that action. Helps paperwork etc as well as getting the use out of the gun...

I was just thinking if the OP wanted to hold on to his Rifle.
    I know of 2 or 3 guys that just swapped barrel and everything else stayed the same trigger feel, stock feel, foreend feel etc.

it's an ammendment as opposed to a new app as the serial number is the same on the action and both are classed as deer calibres so was relatively straight forward for the guys that i know that did it.

I was in 6 dealers north and South recently and none of them were interested in trade ins.

"IF" we could reload the .22-250 could be tuned up to run heavier loads, or rebarreled with a twist more suited to heavier loads and still stay teh same.
    Reports i have been given is 60 grain Factory ammo is teh upper limit on accuracy for the calibre.

perhaps HPS could also make heavier rounds on request, but I think all the twists available here do not like the heavier loads.

As previously said, it's just another option I would consider if in the same boat.

.30-06 outdated? Have you been drinking from under the sink?!

The first cartridge you then go on to recommend is even older!

.30-06 outdated? Have you been drinking from under the sink?!

The first cartridge you then go on to recommend is even older!

I wasn't going on age. The 30-06 has been replaced. The .308 is that replacement.

The 22-250 has been put in the shade by a number of cartridges.

What has replaced the .270? :confused:
    There are a number of carts in and around the 6.5, but I was trying to give a milder alternative to the .270- which would be my choice...

I was just thinking if the OP wanted to hold on to his Rifle.
    I know of 2 or 3 guys that just swapped barrel and everything else stayed the same trigger feel, stock feel, foreend feel etc.

it's an ammendment as opposed to a new app as the serial number is the same on the action and both are classed as deer calibres so was relatively straight forward for the guys that i know that did it.

I was in 6 dealers north and South recently and none of them were interested in trade ins.

"IF" we could reload the .22-250 could be tuned up to run heavier loads, or rebarreled with a twist more suited to heavier loads and still stay teh same.
    Reports i have been given is 60 grain Factory ammo is teh upper limit on accuracy for the calibre.

perhaps HPS could also make heavier rounds on request, but I think all the twists available here do not like the heavier loads.

As previously said, it's just another option I would consider if in the same boat.

(I should have multi-quoted) sorry for 2 posts

You're right there Tack, I was looking at it from the wrong direction.
    The OP probably would be as well re-barrelling the rifle. I was thinking from someone purchasing a rifle starting out...

(I should have multi-quoted) sorry for 2 posts

You're right there Tack, I was looking at it from the wrong direction.
    The OP probably would be as well re-barrelling the rifle. I was thinking from someone purchasing a rifle starting out...

Don't worry

I can't Multi quote either!

I just remember seeing the state of paulos rifle when he got it held together with a gutter bolts and accuracy of a shotgun at 25 yards, and now almost 1 holeing @200.

There is more than one way to skin a cat after all ;)

I wasn't going on age. The 30-06 has been replaced. The .308 is that replacement.

The 22-250 has been put in the shade by a number of cartridges.

What has replaced the .270? :confused:
    There are a number of carts in and around the 6.5, but I was trying to give a milder alternative to the .270- which would be my choice...

The .308 is not equal to the .30-06. As a deer cartridge, yes, there's only about 100-150 fps with the 150gr bullets, but with 180s and above, it's a different league altogether and the .308 certainly has not surpassed it in any way. If I were to "replace" the .30-06 with something, I'd at least like it to do something better than what it's replacing! Hell, the .30-06 was replaced with the .308 which was supposed to be nearly as good in a shorter, lighter round. It was never meant to even equal it. Its very inception acknowledged that it was not going to be as good. Since then, in the same way, it's been "replaced" by the .223 (Since the only way in which any of these cartridges have been replaced is in military usage) and that's certainly not a trade up if you're talking about deer sized game shooting! As to the .22-250, very debatable. People don't like the big .22 centrefires so much anymore as they're loud and make big fireballs and eat lots of powder and don't kill crows and foxes any deader than a smaller bullet making less noise and mess, but they're still awesome rounds. What's truly put the .22-250 in the shade? I'm not convinced of the small bores, the .17 and .20 calibres. If they were so great, they wouldn't need to be constantly compared to the big .22s. Personally, I think the Swift is the daddy of them all, and would take one over any .204 or .17. I think bringing a wider, heavier bullet out to where you hit game is as important as the numbers stuff. Wind drift and drop can be learned, but all the education won't make the smaller bullet perform as well our there, retained energy and other such figures bedamned. So if I'm offered a 55gr .22 bullet at 500 yards or a 32gr or 39gr .20 bullet carrying the same energy, or even less for the .22 - doesn't matter - I'll take the bigger, heavier bullet every time.

Nothing wrong with the .270 at all. It's one of the best all rounders on earth, but, well, anything it can do on medium game, the .30-06 can do just as well, and on bigger game, the .30-06 is just a better cartridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

staghunter wrote: »
    i'm just wondering is there many lads out there that still use the .22-250 for deer stalking and curious is there many of you on this site that have used one at any stage.i only started stalking last year and i had the rifle for fox's.thank god every animal i'v ever shot has dropped on the spot but i'm very selective of the animals i shot and never out over 150 metres.whats the heaviest grain bullets ye lads have came across for this calibre.i'm hoping to upgrade as soon as i can afford it.hopefully to a .270 or a .30-06

308 308 308:D

The .308 is not equal to the .30-06. As a deer cartridge, yes, there's only about 100-150 fps with the 150gr bullets, but with 180s and above, it's a different league altogether and the .308 certainly has not surpassed it in any way. If I were to "replace" the .30-06 with something, I'd at least like it to do something better than what it's replacing! Hell, the .30-06 was replaced with the .308 which was supposed to be nearly as good in a shorter, lighter round. It was never meant to even equal it. Its very inception acknowledged that it was not going to be as good. Since then, in the same way, it's been "replaced" by the .223 (Since the only way in which any of these cartridges have been replaced is in military usage) and that's certainly not a trade up if you're talking about deer sized game shooting! As to the .22-250, very debatable. People don't like the big .22 centrefires so much anymore as they're loud and make big fireballs and eat lots of powder and don't kill crows and foxes any deader than a smaller bullet making less noise and mess, but they're still awesome rounds. What's truly put the .22-250 in the shade? I'm not convinced of the small bores, the .17 and .20 calibres. If they were so great, they wouldn't need to be constantly compared to the big .22s. Personally, I think the Swift is the daddy of them all, and would take one over any .204 or .17. I think bringing a wider, heavier bullet out to where you hit game is as important as the numbers stuff. Wind drift and drop can be learned, but all the education won't make the smaller bullet perform as well our there, retained energy and other such figures bedamned. So if I'm offered a 55gr .22 bullet at 500 yards or a 32gr or 39gr .20 bullet carrying the same energy, or even less for the .22 - doesn't matter - I'll take the bigger, heavier bullet every time.

Nothing wrong with the .270 at all. It's one of the best all rounders on earth, but, well, anything it can do on medium game, the .30-06 can do just as well, and on bigger game, the .30-06 is just a better cartridge.

Your points are all valid...

But replaced it has been! If I were buying/re-barreling a deer rifle I would want it to last me 20+ years. The gravitational pull of the .308 will mean better economy as well as bullet availability now and more-so into the future.
    People who want more punch seem to be buying 300 WIN Mags...

As I say, I'm not argueing on ballistics per se. As I see it, the 17hmr is in the process of killing off the WMR. There is no doubt in my mind that the WMR is the superior cartridge!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

I agree that the 30-06 is a great cailber and still popular in the states for long range matches .Would pick it over the .308 for deer hunting but neither of them are a match for the .270 for irish deer shooting ,imo.A bigger heavier .22 round @500 yards :rolleyes::P

tomcat220t wrote: »
    I agree that the 30-06 is a great cailber and still popular in the states for long range matches .Would pick it over the .308 for deer hunting but neither of them are a match for the .270 for irish deer shooting ,imo.A bigger heavier .22 round @500 yards :rolleyes::P

no argument on the deer side of things. .270 is just incredible, but the '06 is more versatile on the upper end of things.

On the .22CF vs .17 vs .20 front, I don't have a horse at this race. I don't own any of them, but that's the way I'd lean. either will do the job and it's down to personal preference. Just different schools of thought.

no argument on the deer side of things. .270 is just incredible, but the '06 is more versatile on the upper end of things.

On the .22CF vs .17 vs .20 front, I don't have a horse at this race. I don't own any of them, but that's the way I'd lean. either will do the job and it's down to personal preference. Just different schools of thought.
    The 130gr .270 just seems bang on speed and energy wise for knocking irish deer! This is my first deer season using with the xc and am very happy with the results.The .22-250 is a great round but it looks like its going to be demoted to a fox caliber in the coming years ,imo.Maybe not such a bad thing .

It burns barrels too fast to be a foxing calibre.
    the 22-250 is in a strange bracket were it's too small for deer, too big for rabbits, crows and probably foxes... Whereas a .223 would service all 3.

I am using 130gr SSTs in my .270 and the results are stunning.

It burns barrels too fast to be a foxing calibre.
    the 22-250 is in a strange bracket were it's too small for deer, too big for rabbits, crows and probably foxes... Whereas a .223 would service all 3.

I am using 130gr SSTs in my .270 and the results are stunning.
    The .22-250 has some draw backs but it case design is far better the the .220 or .223 so if it was to become a varmint legal round here ,id have it hands down over either of the other two .The .223 performance just wouldnt hold a candle to a .22-250 ,imo.

Would you not advocate the 6XC then as a hunting round?
    I have never killed with it, but the .308 has serious knock down power so I am assuming the 6XC would be similar.

The 6XC is less potent than a .243. It's going to have nowhere near the thump of a .308.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

pick the calibre to suit your deer terrain,if your sayin you wont be shooting any further than 150yrd why are you going for the bigger calibre rounds when there wont be any need for,
    for the distances you are talking about the 22-250,243,6.5x55,308 will all do the job very effectivly and more, but unless you are out where you need the likes of a 270,30-06,300win mag when you cant cover gound and need a heavier bullet to make up that ground and keep its knock down power,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭.243

The 6XC is less potent than a .243. It's going to have nowhere near the thump of a .308.
    by the looks of the numbers id be agreeing,i too would be putting the 6xc under the .243 power band but for hunting i wouldnt rule it out either it looks to be a go between for the 22-250 and the .243

It'll do everything a .243 will do for hunting and be a better target cartridge, which is what I suspect tomcat wants from it, and that's perfect, but he's got a .270 itch that obviously needs scratching too! :D

How is that ?

I'm not familiar with one, having never fired one.
    But, I'd imagine that the 100+ Grain rounds would be deadly on deer.

that sounds like a very good option to me.the rifle is in perfect condition.would this be a less expensive option than buying a heavier calibre.is there many places in ireland i can get this done.an like you said no one wants trade in now.and a dealer was telling me hes finding it impossible to move on a perfect .22-250.when i was inquiring about a trade he bassically told me i wouldn't get a quater of what the rifle was worth

staghunter wrote: »
    that sounds like a very good option to me.the rifle is in perfect condition.would this be a less expensive option than buying a heavier calibre.is there many places in ireland i can get this done.an like you said no one wants trade in now.and a dealer was telling me hes finding it impossible to move on a perfect .22-250.when i was inquiring about a trade he bassically told me i wouldn't get a quater of what the rifle was worth

I'm considering rebarrelling my .308 with a custom barrel and it is so much less hassle when you have 2/3's the gear already than going off buying an over priced new rifle.

And I do "try" to give good advice :D

What would be ,in your opinion would be the min speed and energy of a bullet for deer ?So far ive been very happy with the xc as a hunting caliber!

I'm not familiar with one, having never fired one.
    But, I'd imagine that the 100+ Grain rounds would be deadly on deer.
    115gr @3045fps ;)

With a Berger VLD, Awesome even ;)

Must meet up over the season for a shot :)

With a Berger VLD, Awesome even ;)

Must meet up over the season for a shot :)
    No prob ,bud ...we will meet up for a shot and chat soon ;).How does the 115 gr compare with your .308 150gr superformance figures ?

I was getting an average of 2870fps out of my 20" barrel.
    however, I only tested 3 rounds as I was running low on them.

I never figure out where all my ammo goes, I only bought 140 rounds recently and now I am down to 7 :eek:

so 7 deer and I have to buy more, must have self control and stop shooting corvids and foxes with the .308 when out stalking

I was getting an average of 2870fps out of my 20" barrel.
    however, I only tested 3 rounds as I was running low on them.

I never figure out where all my ammo goes, I only bought 140 rounds recently and now I am down to 7 :eek:

so 7 deer and I have to buy more, must have self control and stop shooting corvids and foxes with the .308 when out stalking
    Yea ,but your getting good trigger time .Most important for tight shooting;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

i thought the 30-06 was still the most used deer hunting cartridge in north america, and one of the most used calibers in africa

The 6XC is less potent than a .243.

taking like for like there is hardly anything between them from what i've seen
    heres a comparison of 100gr norma rounds in both calibers

the .243 caries slightly more energy but the 6xc is slightly flatter and bucks wind better, so really not much between them

http://www.norma.cc/en/Products/Hunting/6XC/Oryx/
    http://www.norma.cc/en/Products/Hunting/243-Winchester/Oryx/

when ever i get the money to get into deer hunting i'll try keep my .223 and buy a .270 for stalking, as a gun for just stalking i dont think you can go far wrong with a .270, if i was going to be doing target shooting then maybe a .308 but i'd prefer to get a lightweight rifle dedicated for stalking, and a light weight rifle wont be much use for targets anyway and if i was getting rid of my .223 it would be a toss up between 243 6xc and .25-06 but i'd prob go with 243 just for availability of ammo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

The 22-250 is a varmint calibre really. But if you are looking for one and think it is up to you needs there are excellent deals in second hand rifles in that calibre. Seen a sako 75, like new, for about 800 recently.

My self and Paulo tested our 450 yard zero with .243 and .308
    1/2 MOA of our reticles was the difference in hold over, which in real terms was nothing as Paulo and I stuck within an inch of one another.

Still a dead deer if need be.
    I am not a fan of recoil and without a mod a .270 is serious recoil in a light rifle, and a serious bang.

If the OP is used to the recoil of a .22-250 they will think a .270 is awful in comparison.

ormondprop wrote: »
    i thought the 30-06 was still the most used deer hunting cartridge in north america, and one of the most used calibers in africa

So it is, but it's still being left behind in Ireland...
    I think Europe tends to be ahead of the curve when it come to the adoption of new calibres...

It's the most prevalent and versatile big game cartridge on earth. I really wouldn't think of Ireland as a metric for what's actually useful.

Useful, maybe not. Popular, fit for (Irish) purpose, yes.

You still have to buy your bullets in Ireland.
    and when you go to sell it on, that will be in Ireland too!

The Ford F250 is one of the best selling vehicles in the States, hands-up who has one ;)

Useful, maybe not. Popular, fit for (Irish) purpose, yes.

You still have to buy your bullets in Ireland.
    and when you go to sell it on, that will be in Ireland too!

The Ford F250 is one of the best selling vehicles in the States, hands-up who has one ;)

I'd prefer a Toyota Thundra 5.7 V8 Petrol and my Trusty .308 in Ireland :D

IMHO the .30-06 is not required for Ireland.
    Does the average Irish deer require more than 150 grains hitting him in excess of 2800 fps?

I know of one man that openly said he is getting rid of a .300 win mag as his .270 is more than up for the job.

Although I think what the OP is asking is getting lost in translation here.
    He has a .22-250, likes it but like all owners is having issues sourcing ammo approved by NPWS that runs well.

IMHO the easiest and most cost effective solution is to rebarrel a short action round with another larger calibre short action.

Same rifle, same serial number, same scope, same mounts, same stock, same trigger and just a shiny new barrel and a bit more punch. and not be insulted by RFD's offering peanuts for his pride and joy.

Yep, agreed. Best option is to rebarrel in .308.

It'll do everything a .243 will do for hunting and be a better target cartridge, which is what I suspect tomcat wants from it, and that's perfect, but he's got a .270 itch that obviously needs scratching too! :D
    If it was just a pure stalking rifle then yes a light .270 with a short barrel would do the job ;).But the caliber just doesnt cut the mustard in terms of ballistics or accuracy much past 350 yards :(:(.

.270? It's been the classic light game long range round since 1925. More than capable to five hundred yards and beyond if the shooter is. Personally, I'd rather something with a big more wallop for bigger game or longer range than maybe 300 or so, but those are the minority of situations. If you could only have one rifle for non-dangerous game, it's going to be a .30-06 or a .300 mag more than likely. Restrict it to Ireland or Ireland and the UK and it'd be a .270 or a .308, and for me it'd be the .270 every time. It's also nice and light kicking, perfect for lightweight guns, though I don't like short barrels either myself. I can see good arguments for all of them, the real problem is I can't afford to license them all even if the powers that be would give me the certs! Out of curiosity, did you ever get that 7mm mag built?

I'd prefer a Toyota Thundra 5.7 V8 Petrol and my Trusty .308 in Ireland :D

IMHO the .30-06 is not required for Ireland.
    Does the average Irish deer require more than 150 grains hitting him in excess of 2800 fps?

I know of one man that openly said he is getting rid of a .300 win mag as his .270 is more than up for the job.

Although I think what the OP is asking is getting lost in translation here.
    He has a .22-250, likes it but like all owners is having issues sourcing ammo approved by NPWS that runs well.

IMHO the easiest and most cost effective solution is to rebarrel a short action round with another larger calibre short action.

Same rifle, same serial number, same scope, same mounts, same stock, same trigger and just a shiny new barrel and a bit more punch. and not be insulted by RFD's offering peanuts for his pride and joy.
    couldn't have put it better myself

.270? It's been the classic light game long range round since 1925. More than capable to five hundred yards and beyond if the shooter is. Personally, I'd rather something with a big more wallop for bigger game or longer range than maybe 300 or so, but those are the minority of situations. If you could only have one rifle for non-dangerous game, it's going to be a .30-06 or a .300 mag more than likely. Restrict it to Ireland or Ireland and the UK and it'd be a .270 or a .308, and for me it'd be the .270 every time. It's also nice and light kicking, perfect for lightweight guns, though I don't like short barrels either myself. I can see good arguments for all of them, the real problem is I can't afford to license them all even if the powers that be would give me the certs! Out of curiosity, did you ever get that 7mm mag built?
    No question a good .270 in the right hands will work ok out to 500+ yards . But at them distances accuracy will only be ok for hunting ,at best ! Between 30-06 or 300 win ,30-06 should prove to be more accurate at longer ranges ,imo.As for the 7mm rem mag ,ive seen too many custom built belted mags with questionable accuracy @ long distance shooting to put me off them for now:eek:.

What do you find questionable?

Lets just say i have yet to see a belted mag shoot consistant (10+ shots) @ long medium -long range .Thats just my opinion on what ive seen !

Maybe it's just me, and the fact that I don't care about string shooting at long range. I'm thinking of them in terms of hunting rifles. Certainly no flies on them for that!

Thats excatly what they are ... pucky ,hard hitting hunting round ,with hunting accuracy !Notthing more or notthing less ...just not for me .And as you say ,no flies on then for that job:cool: